Cardfight Coalition

Double Summon List – or, “How does this Normal Summon effect work?”

Hi folks. This is actually Redshift, not Dan, here to help you understand effects that let you Normal Summon more than once per turn. A few popular Decks like Evilswarm and Harpies use these effects, so it’s a good idea to know how they work.

Updated: February 26, 2021

The purpose of this post is to go over all the different ways you can have more than one Normal Summon or Set per turn, and how they interact with each other. Players like to ask “do my Tensus stack?”, or “can I stack Castor and Kerykeion?” If you are one of those players, read this.

So basically, by looking at rulings, we can sort these effects into three groups with a common set of rules.

Group 1
Double Summon
Chain Summoning

All these 2 cards do is raise the normal limit on how many Normal Summons/Sets you are allowed to make in a turn. It’s like how monsters can usually attack only once per Battle Phase, but monsters like Cyber Twin Dragon can attack twice normally. They both set the limit to a fixed number. If you play Double Summon, that number is 2. If you play Chain Summoning, that number is 3. This means that you can’t play 2 copies of Double Summon in the same turn. If you play Chain Summoning after playing Double Summon earlier that turn, you still get 3 total (the bigger number of the two), not 5. Long story short, these will stack with the latter two groups, but not with each other.

Group 2
Ancient Chant
Angel O1
Aromage Jasmine
Atlantean Heavy Infantry
Balancer Lord
Blackwing – Nothung the Starlight
Brain Research Lab
Card Advance
Catalyst Field
Constellar Leonis
Constellar Pollux
Dark Beckoning Beast
Dverg of the Nordic Alfar
Eidos the Underworld Squire
Evilswarm Castor
Fire Formation – Tensu
Gem-Knight Seraphinite
General Grunard of the Ice Barrier
Ghostrick Mummy
Gouki Thunder Ogre
Holy Night Sky
Imduk the World Chalice Dragon
Karakuri Komachi mdl 224 “Ninishi”
Knightmare Goblin
Laser Qlip
Laval Archer
Legion the Fiend Jester
Madolche Salon
Mausoleum of White
Mithra the Thunder Vassal
Noble Knight Custennin
Performapal Hip Hippo
Red-Eyes Retro Dragon
Ritual Beast Tamer Elder
Scrap Raptor
Serenade the Melodious Diva
Simorgh, Bird of Beginning
Steelswarm Gatekeeper
Swap Frog
Symphonic Warrior Miccs
Synchron Carrier
Triamid Hunter
U.A. Hyper Stadium
Vampire’s Domain
World Legacy – “World Key”
Yosenju Kodam

That’s quite a list, isn’t it? These effects give you 1 additional Normal Summon (or Set) between all of them. That means they don’t stack with each other. However, they do stack with Group 1. So, if you activate Double Summon and the effect of Swap Frog, you can Normal Summon/Set twice normally, and also Normal Summon a “Frog” monster. You also aren’t forced to perform these in any certain order. For example, you can play Fire Formation – Tensu at the start of your turn, and use the additional Normal Summon granted by it to Normal Summon something like Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Bear. Then, even if Tensu isn’t on the field anymore (Bear may or may not be to blame here), you still have your regular Summon.

Group 3
Arcana Reading
Bahartiya, Skypiercer of the Light
Blackwing – Simoon the Poison Wind
Constellar Sombre
Counter Gate
Cry Havoc!
Cyberdark Inferno
Cynet Optimization
Dark Advance
Darklord of Delight
Disciples of the True Dracophoenix
Ehther the Heavenly Monarch
Elborz, the Sacred Lands of Simorgh
Escalation of the Monarchs
Evilswarm Kerykeion
Fairy Tail
Free-Range Monsters
Harpie Dancer
Hi-Speedroid Rubber Band Shooter
Gemini Summoner
Gizmek Yata, the Gleaming Vanguard
Mecha Phantom Beast O-Lion
Necrovalley Throne
Ritual Beast Ulti-Kimunfalcos
Samsara Dragon
Soul Crossing
Summon Dice
Supermagic Sword of Raptinus
True Draco Apocalypse
True Draco Heritage
True King’s Return
Ultimate Offering
Witch of the Blood Rose
Yosenju Kama 1
Yosenju Kama 2
Yosenju Kama 3

Last but not least. You can perform these as often as you are able to without regard to the usual limits. You can stack them with each other, and the other groups. You can spam nine Gadgets in a turn with the late Ultimate Offering or all the HUNDERS in your hand at once. However, some of them like Sombre, Kerykeion, and Dancer state that their effects can only be used once per turn.

Also, these, unlike the other effects, perform a Normal Summon when the effect resolves as well. You can’t activate the effect and then decide to Summon at some random point later in your turn.

Have fun.