Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 1/16/2023 Rulings Update

Catching up on a backlog of updates.

 

 

Q: The card names of A Legendary Ocean and Lemuria, the Forgotten City are always treated as “Umi” by their rule text, but when declaring a card name with Crossout Designator, etc, can I declare “A Legendary Ocean” or “Lemuria, the Forgotten City”?
A: When declaring a card name, you cannot declare “A Legendary Ocean” or “Lemuria, the Forgotten City”. Both A Legendary Ocean and Lemuria, the Forgotten City have the text “(This card is always treated as “Umi”.)” Their card names (original card names) will always be treated as “Umi” during a Duel.
Therefore, if you declared “Umi” when activating Crossout Designator, you can banish any card among Umi, A Legendary Ocean, Lemuria, the Forgotten City, etc. Regardless of which one you banished, all cards with the original name “Umi” including A Legendary Ocean, Lemuria, the Forgotten City, etc. will have their effects negated by Crossout Designator.
Furthermore, Cyber Harpie Lady and Harpie Lady 1 will be declared as “Harpie Lady”.
The same applies to the following cards that declare card names:
– Akashic Magician
– Alsei, the Sylvan High Protector
– Archfiend’s Oath
– Dirge of the Lost Dragon
– Engraver of the Mark
– Exosister Carpedivem
– Gishki Diviner
– Gravekeeper’s Trap
– Lullaby of Obedience
– Ma’at
– Mind Crush
– Prohibition
– Psi-Blocker
– Sales Ban
– The Suppression Pluto
– The True Name

Source

 

Q: If my opponent controls an Evilswarm Ophion with Xyz Material, can I Special Summon Cockadoodledoo with its own effects?
A: Even if the Continuous Effect of your opponent’s Evilswarm Ophion is applying, preventing players from Special Summoning Level 5 or higher monsters, you can Special Summon Cockadoodledoo from your hand with its own effect.

Source

 

Q: If the activation of the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Legendary Swordsman is negated, or if the effect is negated, can I perform my normal draw? Also, when resolving the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Legendary Swordsman, if I can no longer add cards from my Deck to my hand due to the effect of cards such as Mistake, or if there are no Ritual Spells left in my Deck, can I perform my normal draw?
A: When the activation is negated or when the activated effect is negated, you will still perform your normal draw. If an effect such as Mistake is applied, or if there are no Ritual Spells in your Deck when the effect resolves, you cannot add a Ritual Spell from your Deck to your hand and you also cannot perform your normal draw.
The resolution of this effect is what prevents you from performing your normal draw. Therefore, when the activation is negated or when the activated effect is negated, you will still perform your normal draw. However, if an effect such as Mistake is applied, or if there are no Ritual Spells in your Deck when the effect resolves, the effect resolves by making you unable to perform your normal draw.
For the following other cards, if the activation or the activated effect are negated, you still perform your normal draw, but if the activation or activated effect were not negated but the effect could not be performed, you do not perform your normal draw:
– Dark General Freed
– Flying Saucer Muusik’i
– Freed the Matchless General
– Iron Core of Koa’ki Meiru
– Magical Blast
– Meteor Flare
– Skull Flame
– Spirit Burner

Source

 

Q: I sent King of the Swamp to the Graveyard with the second effect of Tearlaments Perlregia. During this turn, can I apply the effect of King of the Swamp and treat it as Tearlaments Kitkallos when Fusion Summoning Tearlaments Rulkallos?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Tearlaments Perlregia prevents you from activating the effects of the monster it sends to the Graveyard, and the effects of monsters with the same name. Since the first effect of King of the Swamp is not an effect that activates, it can be applied even during the turn it was sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Tearlaments Perlregia. (King of the Swamp can be treated as Tearlaments Kitkallos for the Fusion Summon of Tearlaments Rulkallos, regardless of whether it is used from your hand or field as Fusion Material this turn, or if returned from the Graveyard to the Deck as Fusion Material using the effect of a “Tearlaments” monster.)

Source

 

Q: I control a face-up Defense Position Blackwing Armed Wing and Blackwing – Sharnga the Waning Moon. When my opponent’s Sky Striker Ace – Hayate attacks my face-up Defense Position Blackwing Armed Wing, the effect of Sky Striker Ace – Hayate is activated after damage calculation. Can I chain Blackbird Close from my hand by sending the Blackwing Armed Wing that has already been determined to be destroyed by battle to the Graveyard?
A: In this situation, you can still activate Blackbird Close from your hand, but you cannot use Blackwing Armed Wing as the cost.
Even if a monster is determined to be destroyed by battle during damage calculation, that monster does not leave the field at that time, and is destroyed and leaves the field at the end of the Damage Step. It remains on the field as a monster that has been determined to be destroyed by battle after damage calculation. However, a monster that has been determined to be destroyed by battle cannot be used as a cost for an optional effect.
Therefore, after damage calculation, the condition of controlling a “Blackwing” Synchro Monster is met, but it cannot be used as the activation cost.

Source

 

Q: I control a face-up Defense Position Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing. When my opponent’s Sky Striker Ace – Hayate attacks my face-up Defense Position Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing, the effect of Sky Striker Ace – Hayate is activated after damage calculation. I chain Nine Pillars of the Yang Zing, negate the activation of the effect, and return Sky Striker Ace – Hayate to the Extra Deck. When applying the effect that destroys a “Yang Zing” card I control, can I destroy the Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing that has already been determined to be destroyed by battle?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: I activate the second effect of Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus by banishing a “Tellarknight” or “Constellar” monster from my hand or Deck.
If the banished monster is Tellarknight Lyra (whose effect adds a “Tellarknight” Spell from my Deck to my hand), can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained to it?
Also, if the banished monster is Tellarknight Altea (whose effect destroys cards on the field), can the effect of Stardust Dragon be chained to it?
A: Neither can be used. The effect of Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus is one that applies the resolution of another card effect. Therefore, even if it was activated by banishing Tellarknight Lyra, it is not treated as an effect that includes adding a card from the Deck to the hand. Similarly, even if you banish Tellarknight Altea, it is not treated as an effect that would destroy a card on the field.

Source

 

Q: Can Mystical Refpanel be activated in response to the first effect of Time-Rending Morganite?
A: No, it cannot.

Source

 

Q: Can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be activated in response to the first effect of Time-Rending Morganite?
A: No, it cannot. (The effect of Time-Rending Morganite “● Draw 2 cards instead of 1 for your normal draw during your Draw Phase.” is one that changes the number of cards you draw for your normal draw. It is not considered an effect that adds cards from the Deck to the hand.)

Source

 

Q: If my opponent reveals Gunkan Suship Ikura-class Dreadnought from their Extra Deck with the effect of Gunkan Suship Chef’s Choice, which “Gunkan” monster’s name can I declare?
A: You can declare:
– Gunkan Suship Ikura (listed in the text of Gunkan Suship Ikura-class Dreadnought)
– Gunkan Suship Uni (listed in the text of Gunkan Suship Uni-class Super-Dreadnought)
– Gunkan Suship Shirauo (listed in the text of Gunkan Suship Shirauo-class Carrier)
The “Gunkan” Xyz Monster your opponent reveals does not affect which “Gunkan” monster’s name you can declare. Furthermore, the effect of Gunkan Suship Chef’s Choice states that you cannot declare Gunkan Suship Shari. Additionally, there are no “Gunkan” Xyz Monsters that list Gunkan Suship Shari Red, Gunkan Suship Ikura-class Dreadnought, Gunkan Suship Uni-class Super-Dreadnought, or Gunkan Suship Shirauo-class Carrier in their text, so their names cannot be declared either.

Source

 

Q: Expurrely Happiness and Expurrely Noir each have a Purrely Sleepy Memory as Xyz Material, which grants them each the effect “● Once per turn, during your opponent’s Standby Phase: You can draw 1 card.” During my opponent’s Standby Phase, how will each effect be activated and resolved?
A: You can activate the effect of either one as Chain Link 1, and draw a card. Afterward, you can activate the other monster’s effect as Chain Link 1, and draw another card. (These effects cannot be activated on the same Chain.)

Source

 

Q: Expurrely Happiness has 2 copies of Purrely Sleepy Memory as Xyz Materials, which each grant it the effect “● Once per turn, during your opponent’s Standby Phase: You can draw 1 card.” During my opponent’s Standby Phase, how will each effect be activated and resolved?
A: Since Expurrely Happiness has gained the same “●” effect twice, you can activate that effect up to 2 times during your opponent’s Standby Phase. If you activate it twice, the first one will be activated as Chain Link 1, and you draw a card. Afterward, the second one will be activated as Chain Link 1, and you draw another card. (These effects cannot be activated on the same Chain.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.