Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] New Master Rule (April 2020 Revision) Rulings

This is not an April Fool’s Day post. Do not be alarmed.

A new Master Rule revision means new rulings and new ruling revisions. This update mostly involves the rule changes that have gone into effect in the OCG April 1.

As a reminder, there were changes to:
● How Fusion, Synchro, and Xyz Monsters are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.
● Effects of cards activating when they are no longer in the same place their effect triggered.
● Effects activating in the Extra Deck.
● How Summoning restrictions are applied.
● How Trap Monsters work.

Some are new rulings and reversals, but many are rulings that have stayed the same but removed any references to the previous ruleset in them.

Lastly, there are a few miscellaneous things that were posted, including updates pertaining to the Imperial Custom errata that came with the Sacred Beast Structure Deck.

 

Q: I am using the Extra Monster Zone on my left and my opponent is using the Extra Monster Zone on my right. In this situation, if Dark Hole is activated and both monsters in the Extra Monster Zones are destroyed, do I still have to use the left Extra Monster Zone the next time I Special Summon from the Extra Deck?
A: There are 2 Extra Monster Zones, and normally each player can only use 1 during a Duel. However, an Extra Monster Zone does not continue being treated as part of a player’s field even after that player is the first one to use it during a Duel. If the effect of Dark Hole is applied and there are no monsters in either Extra Monster Zone, the next player to Special Summon from the Extra Deck can decide which one to use.

Source

 

Q: My Link Spider is in the Extra Monster Zone, and a Honeybot was Link Summoned from the Extra Deck to the Main Monster Zone that Link Spider points to. Afterward, if Link Spider is destroyed by the effect of Raigeki Break, is Honeybot also destroyed at that time?
A: If a Link Monster is on the field, you can Special Summon Link Monsters and Pendulum Monsters from the Extra Deck to any Main Monster Zones that Link Monster points to. If that Link Monster then leaves the field, the Main Monster Zone it pointed to returns to being a zone where Link and Pendulum Monsters cannot be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck to. At this time, any monster that was already Special Summoned from the Extra Deck to that Main Monster Zone is not destroyed. (In this scenario, Honeybot remains in that Monster Zone.)

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning a monster with the effect of Ultimaya Tzolkin, can I Special Summon it to the Main Monster Zone?
A: Yes, you can. If you Special Summon a Synchro Monster from your Extra Deck, you can Special Summon it to either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. This includes the Special Summon performed by the effect of Ultimaya Tzolkin.

Source

 

Q: Can I target an Xyz Monster in my Main Monster Zone with Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force?
A: Yes, you can. If you Special Summon an Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck, you can Special Summon it to either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. This includes the Special Summon performed by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force.

Source

 

Q: If I activate Supreme Rage, when Special Summoning a “Supreme King Dragon” monster from the Extra Deck, can I Special Summon it to the Main Monster Zone?
A: If you Special Summon a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck with the effect of Supreme Rage, it can be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. When Special Summoning a Pendulum Monster from your Extra Deck, it must be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone, or a Main Monster Zone that a Link Monster points to. With a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster, you can choose arbitrarily whether to Special Summon it to an Extra Monster Zone or Main Monster Zone. When Special Summoning a Pendulum Monster, since the effect of Supreme Rage first destroys all monsters on your field, you will typically have to Special Summon to an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone that an opponent’s Link Monster points to.

Source

 

Q: Do I need to have an Extra Monster Zone available in order to activate Advanced Heraldry Art?
A: No, you do not. When Special Summoning an Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck, it can be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. The effect of Advanced Heraldry Art Special Summons the targeted monsters from the Graveyard and then performs an Xyz Summon using those monsters, so you can use the Main Monster Zones that were being used by the Xyz Materials to perform the Xyz Summon. Even if there are no available Extra Monster Zones, you can activate Advanced Heraldry Art.

Source

 

Q: When activating Cipher Spectrum, how many available Monster Zones do I need?
A: The effect of Cipher Spectrum is one that Special Summons an Xyz Monster that was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, and another Xyz Monster with the same name from your Extra Deck. Xyz Monsters Special Summoned from the Graveyard must be placed in your Main Monster Zone. Xyz Monsters Special Summoned from the Extra Deck can be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. Therefore, you can activate Cipher Spectrum as long as you have a total of 2 of the appropriate Monster Zones available to use.

Source

 

Q: In which situations can I activate the effect of Goyo Defender, and which Monster Zones can I use for the Special Summon?
A: When Special Summoning a Synchro Monster from the Extra Deck, it can be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. This includes the Special Summon performed by the effect of Goyo Defender, so it can be activated as long as there is an available Extra Monster Zone or Main Monster Zone. (Also, it is necessary that all monsters in your Monster Zone are face-up EARTH Warrior Synchro Monsters.) You choose whether to Special Summon the monster to an Extra Monster Zone or a Main Monster Zone when resolving the effect.

Source

 

Q: My Shaddoll Construct is in the Extra Monster Zone. In this case, if I want to activate the effect of Shaddoll Construct that Fusion Summons, can I perform the Fusion Summon without using Shaddoll Construct as a material?
A: Even if Shaddoll Construct is in the Extra Monster Zone, since Fusion Monsters can be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck to your Main Monster Zone, you can perform the Fusion Summon without having to use Shaddoll Construct as a material.

Source

 

Q: Can I Special Summon a Ritual Beast Ulti-Kimunfalcos from my Extra Deck with the effect of Spiritual Beast Tamer Winda?
A: Since Ritual Beast Ulti-Kimunfalcos is a “Ritual Beast” monster, it can be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck with the effect of Spiritual Beast Tamer Winda. Since Ritual Beast Ulti-Kimunfalcos is a Link Monster, it must be Special Summoned to either an Extra Monster Zone, or a Main Monster Zone that a Link Monster points to.

Source

 

Q: My Tri-Gate Wizard is in the Extra Monster Zone, and I have no monsters in my Main Monster Zones. In this situation, can I activate Recoded Alive?
A: In this scenario, if your Tri-Gate Wizard is in the Extra Monster Zone, you do not have any Main Monster Zones that a Link Monster points to, so you cannot Special Summon Link Monsters from the Extra Deck. Therefore, Recoded Alive cannot target any Link-3 Cyberse monsters in your Graveyard, but you can still target the Tri-Gate Wizard in the Extra Monster Zone. (The effect of Recoded Alive will banish the Tri-Gate Wizard in the Extra Monster Zone, and Special Summon a “Code Talker” from your Extra Deck.)

Source

 

Q: If my opponent chains Ojama Trio to the effect of Bujinki Ahashima, and Special Summons Ojama Tokens so that I only have 1 available Main Monster Zone, how does the effect of Bujinki Ahashima resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Bujinki Ahashima is not applied because you do not have enough available Main Monster Zones where you can Special Summon 2 monsters. (No monsters are Special Summoned.)

Source

 

Q: While there is a face-up Synchro Monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone, I Pendulum Summon an Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon from my hand and Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon from my Extra Deck at the same time. In this case, can I activate the “● Synchro” effect of Dreamland?
A: In this scenario, you can activate the “● Synchro” effect of Dreamland. However, since Xyz Monsters do not have Levels, only Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon will have its Level increased by 1. (The effect is not applied to Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon.)

Source

 

Q: I activate Icarus Attack by Tributing a Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon that has Raidraptor – Revolution Falcon as an Xyz Material. If the effect of D.D. Crow is chained and it banishes the Tributed Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon from my Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon that Special Summons a “Raidraptor” monster from my Extra Deck, after this Chain resolves?
A: As in this scenario, if Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon is banished from the Graveyard before activating its effect, its effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If a face-up Elemental HERO Absolute Zero returns from the field to the Extra Deck, or is banished from the field, will its effect activate?
A: When Elemental HERO Absolute Zero leaves the field and returns to the Extra Deck, or if banished from the field face-down, its effect will not activate. If Elemental HERO Absolute Zero is banished from the field face-up, its effect will activate.

Source

 

Q: If a face-up Stardust Warrior returns from the field to the Extra Deck by the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device, can its effect be activated?
A: If Stardust Warrior is returned to the Extra Deck as in this scenario, its effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If a face-up Imperion Magnum the Superconductive Battlebot returns from the field to the Extra Deck by the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device, can its effect be activated?
A: If Imperion Magnum the Superconductive Battlebot is returned to the Extra Deck as in this scenario, its effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If a face-up Frightfur Daredevil returns from the field to the Extra Deck by the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device, can its effect be activated?
A: If Frightfur Daredevil is returned to the Extra Deck as in this scenario, its effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: My X-Krawler Synaphysis is in the Extra Monster Zone. If that X-Krawler Synaphysis returns to the Extra Deck by the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device, can its effect be activated?
A: If X-Krawler Synaphysis is returned to the Extra Deck as in this scenario, its effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If Sun Dragon Inti in the Monster Zone is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, but returns to the Extra Deck by the effect of The Transmigration Prophecy before the next Standby Phase, will the effect that Special Summons Moon Dragon Quilla activate?
A: The effect of Sun Dragon Inti that Special Summons a Moon Dragon Quilla from your Graveyard does not activate in any particular location, such as the Graveyard, etc. In this scenario, even if Sun Dragon Inti was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, then returned to the Extra Deck by the effect of The Transmigration Prophecy, you can still activate its effect. (In that case, the Sun Dragon Inti in your Extra Deck is not treated as the monster activating the effect.)

Source

 

Q: When Elemental HERO Magma Neos returns to the Extra Deck by its own effect during the End Phase, its effect that returns all cards on the field to the hand activates. Can I chain Divine Wrath to this effect’s activation?
A: When the effect of Elemental HERO Magma Neos activates in the Extra Deck, you can chain Divine Wrath, in which case the effect’s activation is negated, but Elemental HERO Magma Neos is not destroyed.

Source

 

Q: When I activate Polymerization, my opponent chains Ring of Destruction. If the monster destroyed by Ring of Destruction results in there being no usable Fusion Materials to use for the Fusion Summon, and Polymerization resolves without effect, can I still activate The Monarchs Stormforth this turn?
A: You cannot Special Summon from the Extra Deck during the turn you activate The Monarchs Stormforth. In this scenario, since the effect of Polymerization was not applied and the Fusion Summon was not successful, you can activate The Monarchs Stormforth this turn.

Source

 

Q: When I attempt to Link Summon Sky Striker Ace – Shizuku, my opponent activates Solemn Strike. Since the Link Summon is negated, can I still activate The Monarchs Stormforth this turn?
A: You cannot Special Summon from the Extra Deck during the turn you activate The Monarchs Stormforth. In this scenario, since the Link Summon was negated by Solemn Strike, you can activate The Monarchs Stormforth this turn.

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning Wandering King Wildwind from my hand with its own effect, my opponent activates Solemn Strike and negates the Special Summon. In that case, can I still only Special Summon Synchro Monsters from the Extra Deck this turn?
A: In this scenario, since the Special Summon of Wandering King Wildwind was negated by Solemn Strike, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning any monsters from the Extra Deck other than Synchro Monsters for the rest of the turn does not apply. (You can still Special Summon monsters other than Synchro Monsters from the Extra Deck during that turn.)

Source

 

Q: During the turn a Pendulum Summon I performed was negated by my opponent’s Solemn Judgment, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Performapal Extra Slinger?
A: You cannot Pendulum Summon during the turn you activate the Pendulum Effect of Performapal Extra Slinger. However, since the Pendulum Summon was negated by your opponent’s Solemn Judgment in this scenario, you can still activate the effect of Performapal Extra Slinger this turn.

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Battleball or its activation was negated by Divine Wrath or Skill Drain this turn, can I still activate the effect of Fluffal Mouse?
A: If you activated the effect of Superheavy Samurai Battleball this turn, but the activation/effect was negated by Divine Wrath or Skill Drain, you did not Special Summon any non-”Frightfur” monsters from the Extra Deck this turn, so you can activate the effect of Fluffal Mouse.

Source

 

Q: When Graydle Alligator, Graydle Cobra, or Graydle Eagle are destroyed and their effects are activated, can they target a Quantum Cat treated as a monster by its own effect?
A: You can target an opponent’s Quantum Cat treated as a monster with the effect of Graydle Alligator, etc. (In order to activate the effect, you need 1 available Spell & Trap Zone to place the equipped Graydle Alligator in. You do not need at least 2 available Spell & Trap Zones.)

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Chain Energy is applying, I Pendulum Summon 2 monsters from my hand and 1 monster from my Extra Deck. In this case, how many Life Points do I pay?
A: While the effect of Chain Energy is applying, you must pay 500 Life Points for each monster you Normal or Special Summon from your hand. Therefore, in this scenario, if you are going to Pendulum Summon 2 monsters from your hand, you must pay 1000 Life Points before performing the Pendulum Summon. (You don’t have to pay Life Points for the monster Pendulum Summoned from your Extra Deck.)

Source

 

Q: If I target 5 Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monsters in my Graveyard with Pot of Avarice, how does its effect resolve?
A: If you target 5 Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monsters in your Graveyard with Pot of Avarice, those 5 monsters will be returned to the Extra Deck by its effect. After that, since no card was returned to the Main Deck, the Main Deck is not shuffled, but you draw 2 cards normally.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Crystron Prasiortle, Crystron Smiger, Crystron Thystvern, or Crystron Rosenix, which destroys a face-up card on my field and Special Summons a “Crystron” Tuner monster from my Deck, targeting a Crystron Token on my field. If my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness, how does that effect resolve?
A: Even if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying when the effect of a monster such as Crystron Prasiortle resolves, so that you cannot Special Summon, the face-up card that was targeted is still destroyed. Even though you do not Special Summon a “Crystron” monster from your Deck, you still can only Special Summon Machine Synchro Monsters from your Extra Deck for the rest of this turn.

Source

 

Q: When discarding for my hand size limit during the End Phase, Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss is sent from my hand to the Graveyard. In this situation, can I activate the effect of that Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss?
A: Even if you discard Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss for your hand size limit during the End Phase, you can still activate its effect. As an example, if you were to Special Summon Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss by that effect while you have a monster other than a “Burning Abyss” monster on your field, Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss will be destroyed immediately by its own effect, but you would not be able to activate its effect that Special Summons a “Burning Abyss” monster from your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: If Sanguine Swamp is activated while Imperial Custom is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, will Sanguine Swamp be destroyed during my second Standby Phase after its activation or remain on the field?
A: The text that destroys Sanguine Swamp during your second Standby Phase after activation is not treated as a card effect. Therefore, Sanguine Swamp will be destroyed during your second Standby Phase even if the effect of Imperial Custom is applied.

Source

 

Q: If Overdoom Line is activated while Imperial Custom is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, will Overdoom Line be destroyed during my second End Phase after its activation or remain on the field?
A: The text that destroys Overdroom Line during your second End Phase after activation is not treated as a card effect. Therefore, Overdroom Line will be destroyed during your second End Phase even if the effect of Imperial Custom is applied.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.