Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] Structure Deck: Sacred Beasts of Chaos Rulings

Rulings for the Structure Deck and Enhancement Pack’s new cards.

 

SD38-JP001 Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist

  • The text that states this card cannot be Normal Summoned/Set and must be Special Summoned by Tributing 3 monsters is not an effect. (Tributing 3 monsters in your Monster Zone is part of the Special Summoning procedure. Tributing monsters and Special Summoning this card do not happen simultaneously.)
  • This card must be Special Summoned from your hand by the procedure written in its text. Even if this card is sent to the Graveyard after it was Special Summoned before, it cannot be Special Summoned by effects such as Monster Reborn.
  • This card’s effect that doubles the ATK of a Raviel, Lord of Phantasms on your field and allows it to attack all monsters on your opponent’s field is a Quick Effect that activates in the hand. (It targets 1 face-up Raviel, Lord of Phantasms in your Monster Zone. It can be activated optionally during either player’s turn, and if activated during the Damage Step, it can only be activated at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation. Discarding this card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds it to your hand is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target. Tributing a monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

Q: When I declare a direct attack with Raviel, Lord of Phantasms, can I activate the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist from my hand by targeting that Raviel, Lord of Phantasms?
A: You can activate the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist targeting a Raviel, Lord of Phantasms that declared a direct attack. (In that case, the ATK of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms is doubled, but afterward, it cannot attack all monsters on your opponent’s field during that Battle Phase.)

Source

 

Q: Phantom of Chaos is treated as Raviel, Lord of Phantasms due to its own effect. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist from my hand by targeting that Phantom of Chaos?
A: You can activate the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist targeting a Phantom of Chaos treated as Raviel, Lord of Phantasms. The effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist is applied normally, but since the effects of Phantom of Chaos are still applied, your opponent does not take any battle damage from battles involving it.

Source

 

Q: When I activate the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist from my hand during the Battle Step, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes the targeted Raviel, Lord of Phantasms to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: When the effect of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms – Heaven-Crushing Fist resolves, if the targeted Raviel, Lord of Phantasms is in face-down Defense Position, no part of the effect is applied. (The ATK of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms is not doubled, and it will not be able to all monsters on your opponent’s field during the Battle Phase.)

Source

 

SD38-JP002 Chaos Core

  • This card’s effect that sends Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, and Raviel, Lord of Phantasms from your hand or Deck to the Graveyard and places Phantasm Counters on it is a Quick Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be chained directly to a card effect that targets this card, or activated when this card is targeted for an attack, but cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • Sending the listed monsters from your Deck to the Graveyard, placing Phantasm Counters on this card, and making the battle damage you take this turn become 0 all happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that prevents it from being destroyed by battle or card effect by removing a Phantasm Counter from it instead is a Continuous Effect. (It can be applied during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: If Macro Cosmos is chained to the effect of Chaos Core, how does the effect of Chaos Core resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Chaos Core resolves while the effect of Macro Cosmos that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In that case, the copies of Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, and Raviel, Lord of Phantasms you choose from your hand or Deck are banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. The part of the effect that places Phantasm Counters on Chaos Core and the part of the effect that reduces the battle damage you take this turn to 0 are not applied.

Source

 

SD38-JP003 Dark Beckoning Beast

  • This card’s effect that adds a listed card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and can be activated optionally when this card is Normal Summoned.)
  • This card’s effect that allows you to Normal Summon an additional Fiend monster with 0 ATK and DEF is a Continuous Effect. (When performing the Normal Summon, the monster must be Summoned face-up.)

 

SD38-JP004 Chaos Summoning Beast

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, or Raviel, Lord of Phantasms from your hand is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. Tributing this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds Paradise Lost from your Deck to your hand is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

SD38-JP019 Cerulean Sky Fire

  • This card’s effect that allows you to Special Summon Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder by sending face-down Spell Cards to the Graveyard does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that negates a Spell/Trap effect activated by your opponent does not start a Chain. (It can be applied optionally when resolving an opponent’s Spell/Trap effect while Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder is in your Monster Zone in Attack Position, including during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents you from taking damage for the rest of the turn is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It must be activated when a Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, or Raviel, Lord of Phantasms leaves your field, including during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: Cerulean Sky Fire, The Seven Spirit Gates Unleashed, and an Artifact Moralltach that was Set as a Spell Card are in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, can I apply the effect of Cerulean Sky Fire and Special Summon a Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder by sending Cerulean Sky Fire, The Seven Spirit Gates Unleashed, and the Set Artifact Moralltach to the Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Cerulean Sky Fire allows you to Special Summon Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder by sending face-down Spell Cards to the Graveyard. (In this scenario, Artifact Moralltach is treated as a Spell Card in your Spell & Trap Zone, so it can be included among the cards sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder.)

Source

 

Q: Phantom of Chaos is treated as Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder due to its own effect. In this situation, if that Phantom of Chaos leaves my field, will the effect of Cerulean Sky Fire that prevents me from taking damage for the rest of the turn activate?
A: In this scenario, since a card treated as Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder left your field, the effect of Cerulean Sky Fire will activate.

Source

 

SD38-JP020 The Seven Spirit Gates Unleashed

  • This card’s effect that adds a listed monster from your Deck to your hand is the effect that applies by activating this card. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Fiend monster with 0 ATK and DEF from your Graveyard is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and can be activated optionally during your Main Phase. Discarding a card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a Continuous Spell Card from your Graveyard to your hand is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and can be activated optionally during your Main Phase.)

 

SD38-JP034 Hyper Blaze

  • This card can be activated at any time except the Damage Step.
  • This card’s effect that allows you to Special Summon Uria, Lord of Searing Flames by sending face-down Trap Cards to the Graveyard does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that changes the ATK and DEF Uria, Lord of Searing Flames is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally when an attack is declared involving your Uria, Lord of Searing Flames. Sending a Trap Card from your hand or Deck to the Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect. This effect can be activated as part of the same Chain Link as the card itself.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, or Raviel, Lord of Phantasms from your Graveyard to your hand, or Special Summons it from the Graveyard, is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally during either player’s turn, but cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Discarding 1 card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect. This effect can be activated as part of the same Chain Link as the card itself.)

 

SD38-JP035 Sacred Beast Awakening

  • This card can be activated at any time except the Damage Step.
  • The effects that are applied based on the number of Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, or Raviel, Lord of Phantasms with different names on your field do not start a Chain. (These effects are also applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a Continuous Trap Card from your Graveyard to your hand is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and can be activated optionally during either player’s turn, but cannot be activated during the Damage Step. This effect can be activated as part of the same Chain Link as the card itself.)

 

Q: My opponent activates Burst Rebirth and Special Summons a Pot of The Forbidden from the Graveyard in face-down Defense Position. In this situation, will I gain Life Points from the effect of Sacred Beast Awakening?
A: If your opponent Special Summons a monster in face-down Defense Position, as in this scenario, the effect of Sacred Beast Awakening is not applied.

Source

 

SD38-JPP05 Dimension Fusion Destruction

  • This card does not target.
  • Banishing monsters from your hand, field, or Graveyard and Special Summoning a “Chaos Phantom” or “Phantasm” Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck do not happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning a “Chaos Phantom” or “Phantasm” Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck. (The effect that prevents you from taking any battle damage from battles involving that monster starts applying immediately.)
  • The text that prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects in response to this card’s activation is not an effect.

 

Q: If Dimension Fusion Destruction is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, can the effect of that Dimension Fusion Destruction be activated during the Main Phase of my next turn?
A: You can activate the effect of Dimension Fusion Destruction that was sent to your Graveyard by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, and the effect that Special Summons a “Chaos Phantom” or “Phantasm” Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck by banishing its materials from your hand, field, and/or Graveyard, and prevents you from taking battle damage from battles involving that monster, is applied normally.
However, when you activate the effect of Dimension Fusion Destruction using the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, the text that prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects in response to the activation if you have Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, or Raviel, Lord of Phantasms on your field does not apply.

Source

 

 

Along with these, it’s worth noting that Imperial Custom has errata in this Structure Deck that changes its functionality slightly. It now states that it prevents Continuous Trap Cards on the field from being destroyed by battle or card effects, as opposed to just generally destroyed. This removes ambiguity regarding Continuous Traps with maintenance costs like Imperial Order, and changes a few rulings regarding Continuous Traps that destroy themselves after a certain amount of time, like Abyss-sphere.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.