Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 11/25/19 Rulings Update

Assorted rulings and another LVP3 correction.

 

Q: If a face-up Evocator Chevalier in my Monster Zone is destroyed by battle or card effect, can I activate the effect of a Tenyi Spirit – Shthana in my Graveyard?
A: An Evocator Chevalier that was Normal Summoned again is treated as an Effect Monster, so when it is destroyed by battle or card effect, the effect of Tenyi Spirit – Shthana cannot be activated. If an Evocator Chevalier treated as a Normal Monster is destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of Tenyi Spirit – Shthana and target that Evocator Chevalier.

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Grisaille Prison is applying, can the effect of Crystron Quan be activated?
A: While the effect of Grisaille Prison is applying, the effect of Crystron Quan cannot be activated. Furthermore, if Grisaille Prison is chained to the effect of Crystron Quan, since you cannot perform a Synchro Summon using Crystron Quan and another monster, the part of the effect that Special Summons a monster from your hand does not apply.

Source

 

Q: When Fusion Summoning a Red-Eyes Slash Dragon with the effect of Red-Eyes Fusion, can I use King of the Swamp and Gearfried the Red-Eyes Iron Knight as materials?
A: When performing a Fusion Summon with the effect of Red-Eyes Fusion, you must always include a “Red-Eyes” monster listed as a material on the Fusion Monster. Since the materials for Red-Eyes Slash Dragon are Red-Eyes B. Dragon and 1 Warrior monster, you cannot use Gearfried the Red-Eyes Iron Knight as the Warrior monster in combination with King of the Swamp that is applying its effect.

Source

This has been covered recently with Destruction Swordsman Fusion, but adds an additional specification. It isn’t enough that you include the material that the Fusion Summoning effect is asking for, but you actually have to be using it as that part of the Fusion Material requirement. Gearfried the Red-Eyes Iron Knight is a “Red-Eyes” monster, but the material that Red-Eyes Slash Dragon requires to be a “Red-Eyes” monster is Red-Eyes B. Dragon. It is also worth noting that you can never apply Fusion Material substitute effects in the Deck.

 

Q: If I activated Sekka’s Light, can I then activate the effect of Necroworld Banshee during this Duel?
A: After the effect of Sekka’s Light is applied, you cannot activate any Spell/Trap Cards or their effects for the rest of the Duel, other than Sekka’s Light. Since you cannot activate Zombie World during that Duel, you cannot activate the effect of Necroworld Banshee.

Source

 

Q: If I activated Sekka’s Light, can I then activate a Pendulum Monster from my hand as a Spell Card to my Pendulum Zone?
A: After the effect of Sekka’s Light is applied, you cannot activate any Spell/Trap Cards or their effects for the rest of the Duel, other than Sekka’s Light. If you activate a Pendulum Monster from your hand to a Pendulum Zone, it is considered the activation of a Spell Card, so you cannot activate a Pendulum Monster from your hand to a Pendulum Zone for the rest of the Duel.

Source

 

Q: I activate the monster effect of Reflection of Endymion, targeting a face-up Breaker the Magical Warrior in my Monster Zone with a Spell Counter and 1 opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Breaker the Magical Warrior to the hand, how does the effect of Empress of Endymion resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Reflection of Endymion, even if your targeted monster with a Spell Counter is no longer on your field, the effect of returning the targeted cards to the hand is still applied. In this scenario, the effect finishes resolving by returning the opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster to the hand. (Since your targeted card with a Spell Counter on it was not returned to the hand by this effect, the part of the effect that places Spell Counters on this card is not applied.)

Source

 

Q: Two copies of A.I. Shadow are face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and each are targeting a Dark Templar @Ignister and Fire Phoenix @Ignister respectively. In this situation, if my opponent conducts their Battle Phase, which monster must be attacked by my opponent’s monsters?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of each A.I. Shadow is applying, when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, the controller of A.I. Shadow can choose whether Dark Templar @Ignister or Fire Phoenix @Ignister are the attack targets.

Source

 

Q: Smile Action is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, when a monster declares an attack, what is the procedure for activating and resolving the effect of Smile Action?
A: In this scenario, since there is a Smile Action in your Field Zone, its effect must activate and start a Chain. If the effect was activated when your own monster declared an attack, your opponent chooses whether or not to apply the “●” effect. If the effect was activated when your opponent’s monster declared an attack, you choose whether or not to apply the “●” effect.

Source

 

Q: Chaos Hunter is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate Smile Action from my hand?
A: Even in this scenario, you can still activate Smile Action. In that case, since the effect of Chaos Hunter is applying, your opponent cannot banish any Spell Cards from their Graveyard, but you can still choose whether or not to banish Spell Cards from your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: The only monster in my Monster Zone is Bujinki Awashima. If I activate its effect that Special Summons 2 monsters with the same Level and performs an Xyz Summon, what happens if my opponent chains There Can Be Only One?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Bujinki Awashima will resolve while the effect of There Can Be Only One that allows each player to only control 1 monster of the same Type is applying. Since Bujinki Awashima is a Beast-Warrior monster, you cannot Special Summon any Beast-Warrior monsters from your hand or Graveyard with its effect. If you do not have any non-Beast-Warrior monsters in your hand or Graveyard to Special Summon, you cannot Special Summon any monsters. If, for example, you Special Summon a Winged Beast-Type Bujingi Crane from your hand and a Beast-Type Bujingi Turtle from your Graveyard, you can then perform an Xyz Summon using those 2 monsters. However, if you choose 1 Bujingi Crane from your hand and 1 Bujingi Crane from your Graveyard, both are Special Summoned successfully, but the effect of There Can Be Only One will be applied, you must send 1 of the Bujingi Cranes to the Graveyard, and the Xyz Summon cannot be performed.

Source

 

Q: Can I Special Summon 2 copies of Bujin Yamato from my hand and Graveyard with the effect of Bujinki Awashima?
A: If Bujin Yamato is not face-up on the field, you can Special Summon 2 copies of Bujin Yamato from your hand and Graveyard with the effect of Bujinki Awashima. At this time, both copies of Bujin Yamato are Special Summoned at the same time and their effects that allow only 1 copy to be on your field at a time are negated, so the Xyz Summon using both monsters is performed as usual.

Source

After reaching out to Konami for clarification on their original ruling, it seems they have published a new one that overturns it.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.