Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] LINK VRAINS Pack 3 Rulings

Twenty more Decks win the LVP lottery.

 

 

LVP3-JP001 Link God Dragon

  • This card cannot be Special Summoned except by Link Summoning it. Even if this Link Summoned card is sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with effects such as Monster Reborn.
  • This card’s effect that destroys all cards on your opponent’s field is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that makes it unaffected by other cards’ effects and prevents it from being destroyed by battle with DARK, EARTH, WATER, FIRE, and WIND monsters is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that banishes 5 cards from your Graveyard face-down is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It must be activated once during each of your opponent’s End Phases.)

 

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, what happens during my opponent’s End Phase if I have Link God Dragon on my field?
A: In this scenario, since it is your opponent’s End Phase, the effect of Link God Dragon that banishes 5 cards from your Graveyard face-down must be activated. However, since the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, you cannot banish any cards, and Link God Dragon is sent to the Graveyard.

Source

Q: There are no more than 4 cards in my Graveyard. In this situation, what happens during my opponent’s End Phase if I have Link God Dragon on my field?
A: In this scenario, since it is your opponent’s End Phase, the effect of Link God Dragon that banishes 5 cards from your Graveyard face-down must be activated. However, since you cannot banish 5 cards from your Graveyard, Link God Dragon is sent to the Graveyard. (In this case, you do not banish any cards in your Graveyard.)

Source

 

LVP3-JP006 Companion Whelp of the Destruction Swordsman

  • This card’s effect that sends a “Destruction Sword” card from your Deck to the Graveyard and Special Summons a “Buster Blader” monster from your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Sending a “Destruction Sword” card from your Deck to the Graveyard and Special Summoning a “Buster Blader” monster from your hand do not happen simultaneously. (If you choose not to Special Summon a monster, the effect finishes resolving by sending a card to the Graveyard.)
  • This card’s effect that inflicts damage to your opponent is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 face-up “Buster Blader” monster in your Monster Zone that did not declare an attack this turn.)

 

LVP3-JP011 Union Carrier

  • The text that states this card cannot be used as Link Material during the turn it is Link Summoned is not an effect.
  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect.
  • This card’s effect targets 1 face-up monster in your Monster Zone.
  • This effect finishes resolving by equipping a monster from your Deck to the targeted monster. (The part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters with the same name as the equipped monster for the rest of the turn is applied immediately once this effect resolves.)

 

Q: I activate the effect of Union Carrier, targeting A-Assault Core. If Book of Moon is chained, and the targeted A-Assault Core is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Union Carrier resolve?
A: If the monster targeted by the effect of Union Carrier is in face-down Defense Position when the effect resolves, as in this scenario, the effect is not applied. (You do not look through your Deck for a monster.)

Source

 

LVP3-JP016 Ancient Gear Ballistic Shooter

  • This card’s effect that adds an “Ancient Gear” monster or Geartown from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on your field and makes the ATK and DEF of an opponent’s monster become 0 is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 2 cards; 1 Spell/Trap Card on your field and 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone.)
  • Destroying the targeted Spell/Trap Card and changing the opponent’s monster’s ATK and DEF to 0 happen simultaneously.

 

LVP3-JP021 Herald of Mirages

  • This card’s effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or Spell/Trap effect is a Quick Effect. (Sending a Fairy monster from your hand to the Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect. It can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect does not target. (It is chained directly to the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or a Spell/Trap effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds up to 2 Ritual Monsters and/or Ritual Spell Cards with different names from your Graveyard to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

LVP3-JP026 Simorgh, Bird of Kings

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from targeting it or any monsters it points to with card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that prevents it from being destroyed by battle by destroying another “Simorgh” card on your field instead is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Winged Beast monster from your Deck is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)

 

Q: There are no cards in the Spell & Trap Zones, and an Embodiment of Apophis that was Special Summoned as a monster by its own effect is in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings during the End Phase, what Level Winged Beast monster can I Special Summon?
A: In this scenario, after your opponent Special Summons Embodiment of Apophis, Embodiment of Apophis itself will be in the Monster Zone but is still treated as a Trap Card and uses a Spell & Trap Zone. Since there are a total of 9 unused Spell & Trap Zones on the field, the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings can Special Summon a Level 9 or lower Winged Beast monster.

Source

Q: Simorgh, Bird of Kings is in my Monster Zone, and there are a total of 6 unused Spell & Trap Zones on the field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings during the End Phase, then chain Chain Strike from my hand, what Level Winged Beast monster can I Special Summon with the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings?
A: In this scenario, there were 6 unused Spell & Trap Zones on the field, but since you activated Chain Strike from your hand and placed it in a Spell & Trap Zone, there will be 5 unused Spell & Trap Zones on the field when the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings resolves. Therefore, in this case, the effect of Simorgh, Bird of Kings can Special Summon a Level 5 or lower Winged Beast monster.

Source

 

LVP3-JP031 Xtra HERO Hell Diviser

  • This card’s effect that reveals a “HERO” monster in your Extra Deck and adds up to 2 of the monsters whose names are listed as its Fusion Materials from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that increases the ATK and DEF of Fiend monsters it points to is a Continuous Effect.

 

LVP3-JP036 Selene, the Sacred Sovereign of Magic

  • This card’s effect that places Spell Counters on it is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It is an effect that must be activated when this card is Link Summoned.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent’s monsters from targeting it for attacks is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Spellcaster monster from your hand or Graveyard to a zone this card points to is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Removing 3 Spell Counters from your field is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

LVP3-JP041 Cross Rose Dragon

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a “Rose” Synchro Monster or Plant Synchro Monster from your Extra Deck is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Tributing this card and 1 Plant monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a “Rose Dragon” monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

LVP3-JP046 Reptilianne Echidna

  • This card’s effect that makes the ATK of an opponent’s monster become 0 is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone.)
  • This card’s effect that adds Reptile monsters with different names from your Deck to your hand is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This effect cannot be activated if there are no face-up monsters with 0 ATK in your opponent’s Monster Zone.

 

LVP3-JP051 Mecha Phantom Beast Auroradon

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons 3 Mecha Phantom Beast Tokens is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that you can activate by Tributing 1-3 monsters is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. The appropriate effect is applied based on the number of monsters you Tributed.)
  • Tributing up to 3 monsters in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. (You can also Tribute this card.)

 

LVP3-JP056 Bujinki Awashima

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons 2 monsters from your hand and Graveyard and performs an Xyz Summon with them is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • When this effect resolves, Special Summon 2 monsters with the same Level, 1 from your hand and 1 from your Graveyard. Immediately after the effect finishes resolving, you must perform an Xyz Summon using those 2 monsters.
  • The monsters you Special Summon with this effect must be monsters that you can perform an Xyz Summon with.
  • This card’s effect that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on your opponent’s field is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 Spell/Trap Card on your opponent’s field, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: When I Link Summon Bujinki Awashima and activate its effect, but my opponent chains Ojama Trio and Special Summons Ojama Tokens to the Main Monster Zones that Bujinki Awashima points to, what happens if I no longer have any zones that I can Special Summon a monster from the Extra Deck to?
A: In this scenario, if you have no available Monster Zones for Special Summoning a monster from the Extra Deck, you cannot Xyz Summon. In that case, the part of the effect that Special Summons 2 monsters with the same Level is not applied.

Source

Q: Can I Special Summon 2 copies of Bujin Yamato from my hand and Graveyard with the effect of Bujinki Awashima?
A: You can Special Summon 2 copies of Bujin Yamato from your hand and Graveyard with the effect of Bujinki Awashima. However, since you can only have 1 face-up Bujin Yamato on your field, if 2 copies are Special Summoned at the same time then you must destroy 1 of them as a result, and you cannot perform the Xyz Summon.

Source

Note the above ruling was overturned 11/25/2019. 

 

LVP3-JP061 Artifact Dagda

  • This card’s effect that Sets an “Artifact” monster from your hand or Deck to your Spell & Trap Zone as a Spell Card is a Quick Effect. (It does not target, and is activated by chaining directly to a card or effect that activates on the field. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Destroying the card Set by this effect during your opponent’s next End Phase does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons an “Artifact” monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: While I have an Artifact Dagda face-up in my Monster Zone, my opponent activates Pot of Duality from their hand. In this situation, can I chain the effect of Artifact Dagda that Sets an “Artifact” monster from my hand or Deck to my Spell & Trap Zone?
A: When a Normal or Quick-Play Spell Card is activated from the hand, it is placed face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone. In that case, since Normal and Quick-Play Spell Cards are still activated on the field, you can chain the effect of Artifact Dagda.

Source

 

LVP3-JP066 Bloom Harmonist the Melodious Virtuoso

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons 2 “Melodious” monsters with different Levels from your Deck to the zones this card points to is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. Discarding 1 card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect. This effect can only be activated and resolved if this card is not already pointing to any monsters.)
  • The 2 “Melodious” monsters are Special Summoned from your Deck at the same time.
  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from activating cards and effects when a “Melodious” monster it points to battles is a Continuous Effect.

 

LVP3-JP071 Predaplant Verte Anaconda

  • This card’s effect that makes a monster on the field become DARK is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone.)
  • This card’s effect that applies the effect of a “Fusion” or “Polymerization” Normal or Quick-Play Spell Card is an Ignition Effect. (Paying 2000 Life Points and sending 1 “Fusion” or “Polymerization” Normal or Quick-Play Spell Card from your Deck to the Graveyard are the costs to activate this effect.)

 

Q: During the turn I Link Summoned Predaplant Verte Anaconda, can I activate its effect by sending Red-Eyes Fusion to the Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, even if you Link Summoned Predaplant Verte Anaconda this turn, you can activate its effect by sending Red-Eyes Fusion from your Deck to the Graveyard. However, you must have a Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck that requires a “Red-Eyes” monster as a material, along with the materials listed on it in your hand, field, and/or Deck including a “Red-Eyes” monster.

Source

 

LVP3-JP076 Abyss Actor – Hyper Director

  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect.
  • This effect targets 1 card in your Pendulum Zone.
  • Special Summoning the targeted card and placing 1 “Abyss Actor” Pendulum Monster from your Deck or Extra Deck to your Pendulum Zone do not happen simultaneously.

 

LVP3-JP081 World Keymaster Lib

  • The text that states this card cannot be Link Summoned unless you have a “World Legacy” card in your Graveyard is not an effect.
  • This card’s effect that Sets a “World Legacy” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Even if you Set a Normal Spell Card with this effect, you cannot activate it unless you have a “World Legacy” monster in your Graveyard.
  • This card’s effect that returns a card on the field to the Deck is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)

 

Q: While the only “World Legacy” card in my Graveyard is World Legacy’s Heart, I activate the effect of World Keymaster Lib and Set a World Legacy’s Secret from my Deck. During the same turn, when World Keymaster Lib battles an opponent’s monster, I activate the effect of World Legacy – “World Lance” by discarding it from my hand to the Graveyard. In this case, later in the turn, can I activate the World Legacy’s Secret that I Set this turn with the effect of World Keymaster Lib?
A: A “World Legacy” Spell/Trap Card cannot be activated during the turn it is Set by the effect of World Keymaster Lib unless you have a “World Legacy” monster in your Graveyard. After Setting the card from your Deck, you can activate it that turn if you have a “World Legacy” monster in your Graveyard at the time you wish to activate it. In this scenario, since World Legacy – “World Lance” was sent to the Graveyard during damage calculation, you now have a “World Legacy” monster in your Graveyard. Although World Legacy’s Secret cannot be activated during the Damage Step, you can activate it after the battle if you still have a “World Legacy” monster in your Graveyard.

Source

Note that the above ruling was overturned 11/24/2019.

 

LVP3-JP086 Sky Striker Ace – Sieg

  • This card’s effect that banishes a monster on the field until your opponent’s next End Phase is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone.)
  • Returning the banished monster to the field during the opponent’s next End Phase does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK by 1000 and sends another card on your field to the Graveyard is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 card on your field other than this card.)
  • Increasing this card’s ATK by 1000 and sending the targeted card to the Graveyard do not happen simultaneously.

 

Q: I activate the second effect of Sky Striker Ace – Sieg, targeting a face-up Sky Striker Airspace – Area Zero in my Field Zone. If Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained and Sky Striker Ace – Sieg is no longer on the field, will the targeted Sky Striker Airspace – Area Zero still be sent to the Graveyard?
A: If Sky Striker Ace – Sieg is no longer on the field when its second effect resolves, since it cannot gain 1000 ATK, the targeted card is not sent to the Graveyard. (In this scenario, the targeted Sky Striker Airspace – Area Zero remains on the field.)

Source

 

LVP3-JP091 Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi

  • The effect that states you can only have 1 face-up Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi on your field is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that negates the effects of your opponent’s monsters that activate while they are banished is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that makes the ATK of another monster become 0 and negates its effects is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone other than this card, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: During my Battle Phase, if my opponent activates the effect of Electromagnetic Turtle in their Graveyard, will that effect be negated by the effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi?
A: The effect of Electromagnetic Turtle is activated by banishing it from the Graveyard, but it is an effect that activates in the Graveyard. Therefore, the effect of Electromagnetic Turtle is not negated by the effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi. (However, since it is an effect that activated in the Graveyard, the third effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi can be activated.)

Source

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Shiranui Style Synthesis, then chains Ghost Meets Girl – A Shiranui’s Story, Special Summoning Shiranui Squire and Dakki, the Graceful Mayakashi with their effects respectively. In this situation, how can I activate the third effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi?
A: In this scenario, you can activate the effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi only once after the Chain resolves. (As in this scenario, even if multiple effects on the same Chain Special Summon a monster from the Graveyard, the effect of Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi cannot be activated twice on the same Chain.)

Source

 

LVP3-JP096 Tenyi Spirit – Sahasrara

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from targeting Effect Monsters on the field for attacks or with card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Tenyi Spirit Token is a Quick Effect. (It targets 1 face-up Effect Monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning a Tenyi Spirit Token. (The Token’s ATK becomes the same as the targeted monster’s original ATK immediately.)

 

Q: I activate the effect of Tenyi Spirit – Sahasrara, targeting my opponent’s Invoked Raidjin. If my opponent chains the effect of that Invoked Raidjin and it changes itself to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Tenyi Spirit – Sahasrara resolve?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Tenyi Spirit – Sahasrara will Special Summon a Tenyi Spirit Token, but since the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position, the Token’s ATK will be 0.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.