Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] 11/12/19 Rulings Update

It’s always fun to see your own questions pop up.

Q: If my Light End Dragon battles an opponent’s monster with less than 1500 ATK or DEF, can I activate the effect of Light End Dragon?
A: You can activate the effect of Light End Dragon even if the ATK and DEF of the opponent’s monster it is battling is less than 1500 (or even if both its ATK and DEF are 0). In that case, the ATK/DEF less than 1500 is reduced to 0.

Source

Q: What happens to the ATK/DEF of Giganticastle if it is Synchro Summoned while the effect of Skill Drain is applying? Also, what happens to the ATK/DEF of Giganticastle if the effect of Skill Drain is applied after it is Synchro Summoned?
A: The effect of Giganticastle is a Continuous Effect. When the effect of Skill Drain is applied to Giganticastle, its effect that increases its ATK/DEF is not applied, and its ATK and DEF return to their original values. (The same is true if the effect of Skill Drain is applied after Giganticastle is Synchro Summoned.) Afterward, if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, the effect of Giganticastle will not be applied again.

Source

Q: My Quantum Cat that was Special Summoned by its own effect and treated as a WIND Beast monster is returned to the hand by the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Divine Wind of Mist Valley?
A: In this scenario, since a Quantum Cat treated as a WIND monster was returned to your hand, you can activate the effect of Divine Wind of Mist Valley.

Source

Q: I activated the effect of Flower Cardian Boardefly that prevents my opponent from activating card effects in the Graveyard and Special Summoning monsters from the Graveyard. In this situation, can either player activate The Shallow Grave?
A: The effect of The Shallow Grave makes both players Special Summon a monster from their own Graveyard. In this scenario, since the effect of your Flower Cardian Boardefly is applying and your opponent cannot Special Summon monsters from the Graveyard, neither player can activate The Shallow Grave.

Source

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Mirror Force Dragon, if a Toon Kingdom in my Field Zone and Blue-Eyes Toon Dragon in my Monster Zone would be destroyed at the same time, can I apply the effect of Toon Kingdom that prevents my Toon monsters from being destroyed?
A: Even in this scenario, you can apply the effect of Toon Kingdom. If you do, you will banish 1 card from the top of your Deck face-down, and Blue-Eyes Toon Dragon will not be destroyed by the effect of Mirror Force Dragon. At this time, only Toon Kingdom is destroyed by the effect of Mirror Force Dragon, but since a Toon World on your field was destroyed, Blue-Eyes Toon Dragon is subsequently destroyed by its own effect.

Source

Q: When Fusion Summoning Buster Blader, the Dragon Destroyer Swordsman with the effect of Destruction Swordsman Fusion, can I use King of the Swamp and a Dragon monster as the materials?
A: When applying the effect of Destruction Swordsman Fusion, it is necessary to use Buster Blader as a material for the Fusion Summon. In the case of Buster Blader, the Dragon Destroyer Swordsman, the listed materials are Buster Blader and 1 Dragon monster. In this scenario, you cannot use King of the Swamp by applying its effect and 1 Dragon monster to Fusion Summon Buster Blader, the Dragon Destroyer Swordsman.

Source

This has similar implications for other cards that look for certain materials, like Red-Eyes Fusion.

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Crochet Sheep, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of Crochet Sheep, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. (It does not matter whether or not Crochet Sheep is pointing to a Ritual Monster when its effect is activated.)

Source

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Dragon Ice, can I chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion from my hand?
A: In this scenario, if your opponent activated the effect of Dragon Ice by discarding Dragon Ice itself, the effect will include Special Summoning a monster from the Graveyard, so you can chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion. If your opponent activated the effect of Dragon Ice by discarding a different card, you cannot chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion.

Source

The question and answer seem to assume that Dragon Ice’s effect is activating in the hand, even though it’s not stated.

Q: When my opponent activates Tribute Burial, can I chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates Tribute Burial, you cannot chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion. (Also, applying the effect of Tribute Burial and performing a Tribute Summon does not start a Chain, so the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion cannot be activated at that time either.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.