Haoh Kokuryuu Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon

Rulings are usually done by Redshift and Ness, but the rulings for CORE are probably gonna take a bit since there are like 200 something of them. In the mean time, since Haoh is such a cool new type of card that I’m sure everyone is dying to know how it works, I thought I’d explain how it works based on all the rulings that are out for it.

Also Igknights and their interactions with those cards, if you’re into that sort of thing.

EDIT: A second Igknight ruling that you should all be mindful of.

Haoh Kokuryuu Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon / Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon
Dark Dragon / Xyz / Pendulum / Effect
PS4 RK7 3000/2500
2 Level 7 Dragon-Type monsters
Pendulum Effect: (1) Once per turn, if you do not have a card in your other Pendulum Zone: You can place 1 Pendulum Monster from your Main Deck on your other Pendulum Zone.
Monster Effect: You can Pendulum Summon this face-up card from your Extra Deck if you can Pendulum Summon Level 7 monsters. (1) If this card is Xyz Summoned by using an Xyz Monster: Destroy as many Level 7 or lower monsters your opponent controls as possible, and if you do, inflict 1000 damage to your opponent for each monster destroyed, and if you do that, during this turn this card can make 2 additional attacks during each Battle Phase. (2) If this card is destroyed by battle or card effect in the Monster Zone: You can destroy as many cards in your Pendulum Zones as possible, and if you do, place this card in your Pendulum Zone.

Now first things first, this is an Xyz Pendulum monster! YGO ARC-V is truly a crazy show full of smiles.

What Haoh being an Xyz Pendulum monster means is that it has the traits of a Pendulum Monster but must follow the rules of Xyz Monsters. It starts the Duel face-down in your Extra Deck as all Xyz Monsters do, (normally) is first Summoned from said Extra Deck by overlaying 2 monsters, and cannot exist in your hand. Now the traits given to it by being part Pendulum means that when it would be sent from the field to the Graveyard for any reason, it goes face-up in your Extra Deck instead. Unless, of course, you use its (2) effect, which is currently the only way of placing it in the Pendulum Zone. Note that like Insight Magician, placing Haoh in your Pendulum Zone with its (2) effect doesn’t count as activating a Spell Card, but it’ll still stay in the Zone and you can use its Pendulum Scale (normally 4) to Pendulum Summon monsters. Also note that its Pendulum Effect also works like this, placing a Pendulum Monster from your Deck to your other Pendulum Zone does not activate that Pendulum Monster.

Now, once face-up in the Extra Deck, you can Pendulum Summon Haoh if you are capable of Pendulum Summoning Level 7 monsters. However, this is where this card gets a little bit weird. A face-up Haoh in your Extra Deck can only be Pendulum Summoned from there if it was properly Xyz Summoned first and then sent there. Meaning if it was Special Summoned from your Extra Deck by say, Xyz Universe, and later destroyed and goes to the Extra Deck, you cannot Pendulum Summon it. Another important thing to remember is that, a face-up Haoh in your Extra Deck cannot be Xyz Summoned.

That about does it for the basics for now, I’m sure crazy card interaction questions will show up later, but for now, have a basic one: No you cannot use this face-up card in the Extra Deck with Pot of Riches.

For those of you who didn’t care about this dragon whose eyes shine with rage and are just here for the Igknights, here you go.

Q: I activated the (1) Pendulum Effect of a Pendulum “Igknight” monster and chains “Stardust Spark Dragon’s” effect to it. With this “Stardust Spark Dragon’s” effect, if I were to protect the “Igknight” monster in either Pendulum Zone so that it cannot be destroyed, how would this resolve?
A: The Pendulum Effect of Pendulum “Igknight” monsters must destroy an “Igknight” card in both of your Pendulum Zones, otherwise you will not be able to add 1 FIRE Warrior-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand. In the proposed scenario, the card protected by “Stardust Spark Dragon” will not be destroyed and will stay in the Pendulum Zone, but the other “Igknight” card will be destroyed. (As a result of this, since you only managed to destroy 1 card, you cannot add 1 FIRE Warrior-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15706&keyword=&tag=-1

But, the above only applies to protection effects, as for how this effect would resolve if you only have 1 card in your Pendulum Zone during resolution…

Q: I activated the (1) Pendulum Effect of a Pendulum “Igknight” monster and a player chains “Mystical Space Typhoon”, targeting a card in either of my Pendulum Zones. When resolving the chain, that “Mystical Space Typhoon” destroys one of the “Igknight” cards in my Pendulum Zones, how does this resolve?
A: When resolving the Pendulum Effect of a Pendulum “Igknight” monster, if you cannot destroy an “Igknight” card in both of your Pendulum Zones, you will not get to add a FIRE Warrior-Type monster to your hand. (In the proposes scenario, the “Igknight” card not destroyed by “Mystical Space Typhoon” will stay in the Pendulum Zone.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15707&keyword=&tag=-1

Essentially, what this comes down to is that, when resolving the Igknights’ effect, if you don’t even have a card in each of your Pendulum Zones, the effect won’t resolve, and even if you do have a card in each of your Pendulum Zones, if for some reason one or both of them cannot be destroyed by effects, you will not get to search (but the effect will still try to destroy them as much as it can, meaning if only one of them becomes immune to destruction, the other one will still get destroyed).

And finally I’m sure everyone knows this already, but Red-Eyes B. Chick is NOT a Red-Eyes monster, this was a screw up from a long time ago that was for some reason not fixed in its reprint in Joey’s World. TCG truly works in mysterious ways.

Eva

Number III, Eva is a master in the art of Blurography and a firm believer in not sleeping just to translate moonrunes for a card game.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons