Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    Ask Us! Rulings

    Our First Rulings Post

    DanBy DanAugust 3, 201312 Comments

    Normally we wait to collect a few questions, and we make a large post answering a bunch of them at once (of course, e-mailing everybody their individual answers as soon as we answer them!), but today is a special occasion, as it’s our first question, and I wanted to get things started off! So without further ado…

    Skulblaka98 Asks:

    G’Day,

    Queary regarding Effect Veiler. If Veiler’s target is set, then flipped face up in the chain after Veiler has targeted the monster, but before Veiler resolved, will Veiler negate the effect, or will it lose its target as soon as the target is set?

    Example:

    CL1: Heavy Storm
    CL2: Naturia Beast
    CL3: Effect Veiler, targeting Naturia Beast
    CL4: Desert Sunlight
    CL5: Book if Moon, targeting Naturia Beast

    Will Veiler negate Naturia Beast’s effects?

    Thanks,

    Skulblaka98

    This is a great question. Let’s start by building that chain. He already took care of that part, and we’ll assume all costs were paid, so Effect Veiler has been sent to the Graveyard, two cards were sent from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard, and every other card is presently face-up on the field.

    First, we resolve Book of Moon. This flips its target, Naturia Beast, face-down. Naturia Beast is no longer “1 face-up Effect monster your opponent controls” as it is face-down. Next we resolve Desert Sunlight, which changes the monster to face-up Defense Position. Next, Effect Veiler attempts to resolve, looking for its target, which was removed from the gamestate by Book of Moon, so it resolves without effect.
    Naturia Beast negates the activation of Heavy Storm and destroys it, sending it to the Graveyard.
    Heavy Storm’s activation was negated and then Book of Moon and Desert Sunlight are sent to the Graveyard.

    In the future we’re going to be answering more than one ruling question per post, so feel free to send us as many as you want! Head on over to ygorganization.com/ask-us or click on the Ask Us page located under the rulings tab! We hope to hear from you soon!

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Dan
    • Website

    Related Articles

    [OCG] April 2025 Rulings Update

    April 30, 2025

    [OCG] March 2025 Rulings Update

    March 31, 2025

    [OCG] February 2025 Rulings Update

    February 28, 2025

    Comments are closed.

    Recent Posts

    GO RUSH!! BD & DVD 12 Artwork

    May 22, 2025

    Story 16: Machine Dragon Development Records [VBEX5]

    May 22, 2025

    MW: The New Upcoming Format Techs that Keep On Teching

    May 21, 2025

    Two Reprints Confirmed! [TTP1]

    May 21, 2025

    It’s Time To Put All My “Tamabots” In One Basket! [RD/KP21]

    May 20, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.