Cardfight Coalition

Our First Rulings Post

Normally we wait to collect a few questions, and we make a large post answering a bunch of them at once (of course, e-mailing everybody their individual answers as soon as we answer them!), but today is a special occasion, as it’s our first question, and I wanted to get things started off! So without further ado…

Skulblaka98 Asks:


Queary regarding Effect Veiler. If Veiler’s target is set, then flipped face up in the chain after Veiler has targeted the monster, but before Veiler resolved, will Veiler negate the effect, or will it lose its target as soon as the target is set?


CL1: Heavy Storm
CL2: Naturia Beast
CL3: Effect Veiler, targeting Naturia Beast
CL4: Desert Sunlight
CL5: Book if Moon, targeting Naturia Beast

Will Veiler negate Naturia Beast’s effects?



This is a great question. Let’s start by building that chain. He already took care of that part, and we’ll assume all costs were paid, so Effect Veiler has been sent to the Graveyard, two cards were sent from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard, and every other card is presently face-up on the field.

First, we resolve Book of Moon. This flips its target, Naturia Beast, face-down. Naturia Beast is no longer “1 face-up Effect monster your opponent controls” as it is face-down. Next we resolve Desert Sunlight, which changes the monster to face-up Defense Position. Next, Effect Veiler attempts to resolve, looking for its target, which was removed from the gamestate by Book of Moon, so it resolves without effect.
Naturia Beast negates the activation of Heavy Storm and destroys it, sending it to the Graveyard.
Heavy Storm’s activation was negated and then Book of Moon and Desert Sunlight are sent to the Graveyard.

In the future we’re going to be answering more than one ruling question per post, so feel free to send us as many as you want! Head on over to or click on the Ask Us page located under the rulings tab! We hope to hear from you soon!

Comments are closed.