Psi-Blocker/Prohibition List: Ups and Downs, Ins and Outs

Over time, the amount of questions involving these two cards has increased drastically, with their recent resurgence back into the competitive scene. So, I took it upon myself to combine the reliable information that we have about Psi-Blocker and Prohibition (which is a lot more difficult than I make it sound).

Last updated: 6th September, 2015

(This list is unofficial as far as the TCG goes, but I still do feel it is a useful reference. As it currently stands, we do not have any rulings from a TCG official source regarding Prohibition or Psi-Blocker. In the event this does change, any differences will be updated, but you should use the one provided by Konami before this one.)

What you can and cannot do with a card declared by Psi-Blocker:

Monster Card:

  • Normal Summon or Set
  • Special Summon
  • Be placed on the field
  • Be used as a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Material Monster
  • Attack
  • Manually change its battle position
  • Activate its effects that start a Chain (including mandatory effects)
  • Apply its Continuous Effects

Spell/Trap Card:

  • Activate the card, or any of its effects
  • Apply any Continuous Effects
  • Set
    • This also includes Setting a Spell/Trap Card by the effect of Dust Tornado, Fire Fist monsters, etc.
    • Playing it from the hand or Deck, such as by the effect of Masked Beast Des Gardius, Destiny Board, etc.


Monster Card:

  • Use it to pay a cost. Examples: Trade-InEnemy ControllerSacred Sword of Seven Stars, etc.
  • Copy its name, Level, ATK, DEF, and effects. Examples: Elemental HERO PrismaPhantom of Chaos, etc.
  • Use it for other card effects. Examples: Reinforcement of the ArmyFoolish Burial, etc.
    • (It is perfectly legal to add it to your hand from any card location, target it, and/or affect it by any means.)
    • (Exceptions: You cannot use it for anything that would perform a Fusion or Synchro Summon.)
      • [Exception to exception: Future Fusion]
  • Use it for another monster’s Summoning Procedure.
    • (This also includes using it as part of a Tribute Summon)
  • Change its battle position via card effect. Examples: A/D ChangerBook of Moon, etc.
  • Apply any lingering effects

Spell/Trap Card:

  • Use it to pay a cost. Examples: Summoner Monk, etc.
  • Use it for other card effects. Examples: Magician of FaithNinja Grandmaster Hanzo, etc.
    • (It is perfectly legal to add this card to your hand from any location, or have the declared card’s effects used via another card. Example: Spellbook of the Master)
  • Apply any lingering effects

General things you should know:

  • Psi-Blocker can affect cards that are already on the field. This is due to a textual difference with ProhibitionPsi-Blocker does not have an equivalent to the last sentence of Prohibition.
  • You can only declare cards that are legal card names in the TCG. This also extends to cards that alter their original name. Tokens cannot be declared.
    • (For example, Harpie Lady 1Harpie Lady 2, and Harpie Lady 3 cannot be declared. You must declare Harpie Lady. All three of those cards will be treated as if they are Harpie Lady.)
  • You do not need to declare the full name of a card. You only need to provide enough details that both you and your opponent have a clear understanding as to which card you are referring to.
    • (If you actually do declare the name of one card, when you mean another, you are bound to what you actually stated. Example: If you declare “Black Luster Soldier“, but intended for “Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning“, “Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning” can still be used.)
Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Former Dueling Network Head Administrator / RC-1, RC-2, and PC-1 Konami Judge / Webmaster of YGOrganization

Comments are closed.