Cardfight Coalition

Debunking “Horizon, Dragon Ruler of Twilight”

So you guys have been hearing about a missing Chaos Dragon Ruler coming out in V-Jump soon? Well, it isn’t real. We’ll go over why.

This is the card in question:

First off, let’s look at a real official proxy:

Notice some striking differences?

First the name, Horizon uses very shaded, shining card name text. with borders, that official proxies don’t do.

Secondly, its Attribute symbol is wrong. In Japan, LIGHT would be written as ひかり, not LIGHT. It’s like how Dododo Buster has ち over the symbol for Earth (地).

Thirdly, the call for V-Jump Promotional card isn’t VJUMP-JPXXX in Japan, it’s VJMP-JPXXX.

Fourth: Its Type, ドラゴン族 (Dragon-Type), is too close to the border and just right against the edge, and Dragon and Type have a space that official cards don’t have.

Fifthly, its art looks like a repaint of Van’Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord.

Sixth: It’s effect text lacks Furigana, small Japanese characters called Hiragana put over complex Japanese characters called Kanji. You see the little squiggles over the characters with more lines than the others? Those are Furigana.

Horizon lacks it.

Seven: Horizon has a Card Number (the bit on the bottom left) and the Eye of Anubus sticker, Proxies never have those.

Horizon also uses very non standard text such as:
– フェイスアップ (Face-up) instead of 表側表示 (face-up) position.
– 2つ instead of 2体 (2 instead of “2 bodies”, which the OCG uses to refer to a number of cards.)
– It also has a : in the middle of text. This reeks of a Google Translate of Problem-Solving Card Text into Japanese.
– Also, Japanese cards don’t use parentheses to identify a card name, they use 「 and 」as their quotation marks.

Also, let’s look at Harpie Channeler and Blaster, Dragon Ruler of Infernos to compare text:

“… フィールド上・墓地に存在する限り「ハーピィ・レディ」として扱う。” for the Japanese. Now while Channeler is indicating its name,  we have still the wrong text order for Horizon for referencing the Graveyard and Field.

Blaster: “自分の手札・墓地からこのカード以外のドラゴン族または炎属性のモンスターを合計2体除外して発動できる。このカードを手札・墓地から特殊召喚する。特殊召喚したこのカードは相手のエンドフェイズ時に持ち主の手札に戻る。また、このカードと炎属性モンスター1体を手札から墓地へ捨てる事で、フィールド上のカード1枚を選択して破壊する。このカードが除外された場合、デッキからドラゴン族・炎属性モンスター1体を手札に加える事ができる。「焔征竜-ブラスター」の効果は1ターンに1度しか使用できない。”

See how in many respects the words used are wrong, especially with “特殊召喚したこのカードは相手のエンドフェイズ時に持ち主の手札に戻る。” (Dragon Rulers’ return text) and ” 「Name」の効果は1ターンに1度しか使用できない。” (You can only use 1 “Name” effect per turn, and only once that turn.)

There’s also the fact that barring some catastrophic pattern change, Horizon wouldn’t be available until January/February at the earliest, as VJMP-JP084 won’t be ready until December or so.

There’s probably more, but there you go. It’s an extremely sloppily done card that doesn’t exist.


Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!


NeoArkadia is the 2nd number of "The Organization" and a primary article writer. They are also an administrator for the forum Neo Ark Cradle. You can also follow them at @neoarkadia24 on Twitter.

Comments are closed.