Introducing: HeroSync!

[OCG] Starter Deck 2019 Rulings

Simple rulings for simple cards.

 

ST19-JP001 Flip Frozen

  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • This effect can be activated optionally if this card is sent to the Graveyard. (It can also be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect can be activated not only when Flip Frozen is sent from the field to the Graveyard, but also from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard.
  • If the only Attack Position monsters on your opponent’s field are Link Monsters, you cannot activate this card’s effect. (If there are both non-Link Monsters and Link Monsters among your opponent’s Attack Position monsters, all but the Link Monsters are changed to Defense Position.)

 

Q: I activate the effect of Dribrave, by discarding Flip Frozen as the cost. In this case, can I activate the effect of Flip Frozen?
A: Even if Flip Frozen is discarded as the cost to activate a card effect, since it was sent to the Graveyard, its effect can be activated as long as there are Attack Position monsters on your opponent’s field other than Link Monsters. (The effect is not activated by chaining to to the effect of Dribrave, but can be activated in a new Chain after the effect of Dribrave resolves.)

Source

 

ST19-JP002 Dribrave

  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect.
  • This effect does not target.
  • Discarding 1 monster is the cost to activate this effect.
  • This effect can be activated not only when Dribrave itself declares an attack, but also when other Cyberse monsters on your field declare attacks.

 

Q: There are 2 copies of Dribrave and 1 Threshold Borg in my Monster Zone, all in face-up Attack Position. In this situation, if I declare an attack with Threshold Borg, can I activate the effect of each Dribrave?
A: In this scenario, if you have 2 copies of Dribrave face-up in your Monster Zone when your Cyberse monster declares an attack, the effect of each Dribrave can be activated in a single Chain.

Source

 

ST19-JP003 Rebuildeer

  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect.
  • This effect targets 1 Cyberse monster in your Graveyard with 1500 or less ATK.
  • This effect can be activated optionally at the end of the Damage Step when Rebuildeer destroys an opponent’s monster by battle.
  • If this card battles a monster with the same ATK and both are destroyed by battle, you cannot activate this card’s effect.

 

Q: During my opponent’s Battle Phase, my opponent’s Photon Thrasher attacks my face-up Attack Position Rebuildeer. During that Damage Step, if I activate Forbidden Lance and make Photon Thrasher lose 800 ATK, so that it is destroyed by battle, can I activate the effect of Rebuildeer?
A: As in this scenario, even if Rebuildeer destroys an opponent’s monster by battle during your opponent’s turn, you can activate its effect.

Source

 

ST19-JP004 Threshold Borg

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it from your hand is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • Special Summoning this card from your hand with this effect does not start a Chain.
  • When Special Summoning this card from your hand with its effect, the procedure is to discard 1 Cyberse monster, then Special Summon this card. (Discarding from your hand is not the last thing to happen.)
  • This card’s effect that makes monsters on your opponent’s field lose 500 ATK is a Continuous Effect.

 

ST19-JP021 Cynet Crosswipe

  • This card targets 1 card on the field.
  • Tributing 1 Cyberse monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this card.
  • You can Tribute a face-down Defense Position Cyberse monster in your Monster Zone to activate this card.
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

 

Q: A Clock Token Special Summoned by the effect of Clock Wyvern is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate Cynet Crosswipe by Tributing that Clock Token?
A: You can activate Cynet Crosswipe by Tributing a Cyberse Token.

Source

 

ST19-JP033 Cynet Cascade

  • This card can only be activated when you have successfully Link Summoned a monster.
  • This card targets 1 monster in your Graveyard that was used as material for the Link Summon that just occurred.
  • When Special Summoning the targeted monster, you can choose to Special Summon it in face-up Attack Position or face-up Defense Position. (However, if Special Summoning a Link Monster, it must always be in face-up Attack Position.)
  • If you Link Summon a monster using the effect of World Legacy Awakens that was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, you can still activate Cynet Cascade afterward.

 

Q: I Link Summon a Security Dragon, using a Link Spider and Digitron as materials. At this time, can I activate 2 copies of Cynet Cascade?
A: You can activate 2 copies of Cynet Cascade in the same Chain when you successfully Link Summon a monster. (In this scenario, since Link Spider and Digitron were both sent to the Graveyard as materials, each of them can be targeted by the effect of Cynet Cascade.)

Source

 

ST19-JP041 Extended Decode Talker

  • This card is treated as a “Code Talker” monster.
  • This card’s effect that treats its name as Decode Talker while in the Monster Zone is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK by 500 for each monster it points to is a Continuous Effect. (If the number of monsters this card points to changes, its ATK is adjusted immediately.)
  • This card also gains ATK if there is a monster in your opponent’s Main Monster Zone that this card points to.
  • This card’s effect that allows it to attack twice during each Battle Phase this turn is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can also be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • You can activate this card’s effect to attack twice even if an opponent’s monster that this card points to is destroyed by battle or sent to the Graveyard.

 

Q: Can I target Extended Decode Talker with Decode Destruction?
A: The effect of Extended Decode Talker treats its name as Decode Talker while it is in the Monster Zone. Therefore, Decode Destruction can target an Extended Decode Talker whose name is treated as Decode Talker by its own effect.

Source

 

ST19-JP042 Trackblack

  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect.
  • This effect targets 1 monster in your Monster Zone that this card points to.
  • You can target either a face-up monster or a face-down Defense Position monster, as long as Trackblack points to it.
  • Drawing a card each time the targeted monster destroys an opponent’s monster by battle does not start a Chain.

 

Q: I activate the effect of Trackblack, targeting a Threshold Borg it points to. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes the targeted Threshold Borg to face-down Defense Position, will the effect of Trackblack be applied?
A: Even if a face-up monster that you targeted with the effect of Trackblack is in face-down Defense Position when the effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. (In this scenario, if Threshold Borg is changed to face-up Attack Position that turn and destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, you will draw a card.)

Source

Q: I activated the effect of Trackblack, targeting an Extended Decode Talker it points to. Afterward, if that Extended Decode Talker destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, but Trackblack is no longer on the field, do I draw a card?
A: Even if Trackblack is no longer on the field after its effect has resolved, you still draw a card normally each time the targeted monster destroys an opponent’s monster by battle that turn.

Source

Q: I activated the effect of Trackblack, targeting a Leotron it points to. During this turn, if that Leotron battles my opponent’s Linkslayer with the same ATK and both are destroyed by battle, do I draw a card?
A: As in this scenario, even if the monster that the effect of Trackblack was applied to and an opponent’s monster are both destroyed by battle, you still draw a card.

Source

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Trackblack, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring in my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of Trackblack, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. In that case, since the effect of Trackblack is negated, your opponent will not draw any cards when the targeted monster destroys your monster by battle this turn.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.