Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] History Archive Collection Rulings

Rulings for the new History Archive Collection cards.

 

HC01-JP004 The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier

  • The effect that adds a Ritual Spell from your Deck to your hand instead of performing your normal draw is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the hand.
  • The effect that prevents your opponent from activating card effects during your Battle Phase is a Continuous Effect that applies in the Monster Zone.
  • The effect that returns all cards your opponent controls to the Deck is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone. (It can be activated at the end of the Damage Step when this card destroys another monster by battle.)

 

Q: There are 2 copies of The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier in my hand. Before the normal draw during my Draw Phase, can I activate the effect of each copy in a Chain?
A: Yes, you can. However, the effect of this card is applied instead of performing your normal draw, in a situation where you are able to perform your normal draw. For example, if you activated these effects as Chain Link 1 and Chain Link 2, you will add a Ritual Spell from your Deck to your hand when resolving the Chain Link 2 effect, instead of performing your normal draw. As a result, you are not able to perform your normal draw by the time you resolve the Chain Link 1 effect, so the effect is not applied.

Source

 

Q: If the activation of the first effect of The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier is negated, or if the effect is negated, can I perform my normal draw? Also, if my opponent chains Mistake to the activation of the effect of The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier, can I perform my normal draw?
A: If the activation of the first effect of The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier is negated, or if the effect is negated, you can perform your normal draw. However, if the effect of Mistake is applying when you resolve the effect of The Legendary Swordmaster Black Luster Soldier, you cannot add a Ritual Spell from your Deck to your hand and you cannot perform your normal draw.

Source

 

HC01-JP005 Red-Eyes Soul

  • The effect that treats this card’s name as Red-Eyes Black Dragon is not classified as either an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • The effect that Special Summons a “Red-Eyes” monster from your hand or Deck is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in your hand or in the Monster Zone. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The effect that inflicts damage to your opponent is a Quick Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP006 Duel Tower Alcatraz

  • The effect that banishes monsters from each player’s Deck and allows a player to Special Summon a monster from their hand starts a Chain and activates in the Field Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate. It activates once during the Start Step of each Battle Phase.)
  • When resolving this effect, each player can choose 1 monster from their Deck. (Even if a player does not have a monster in their hand they can Special Summon, they can still choose a monster from their Deck.)
  • If neither player chooses a monster when resolving this effect, the effect finishes resolving.
  • If only one player chooses a monster when resolving this effect, that player can Special Summon 1 monster from their hand.
  • If both players choose a monster when resolving this effect, the ATK of the 2 monsters are compared and they are banished face-down. The player who chose the monster with the higher ATK can Special Summon 1 monster from their hand. (If both monsters have the same ATK, each player can Special Summon a monster from their hand.)
  • Banishing and Special Summoning do not occur simultaneously.
  • The effect that destroys all cards on the field during the End Phase of your next turn starts a Chain and can be activated in the Field Zone.
  • Destroying all cards on the field during the End Phase of your next turn does not start a Chain.

 

HC01-JP007 Soul Energy MAX!!

  • The effect that destroys all monsters your opponent controls and inflicts 4000 damage to your opponent is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (Tribute 2 face-up monsters you control as the cost of activating this card. However, you cannot Tribute your Obelisk the Tormentor whose original Attribute is DIVINE.)
  • When resolving this effect, destroy all monsters your opponent controls, and inflict 4000 damage to your opponent. (These actions occur simultaneously.)
  • The effect that adds an Obelisk the Tormentor from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand and allows you to Normal Summon one starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard.
  • When resolving this effect, add 1 Obelisk the Tormentor from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand. Immediately after resolving this effect, you can Normal Summon an Obelisk the Tormentor. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • Even if you use this effect to Normal Summon Obelisk the Tormentor, you must still Tribute 3 monsters as required by its Summoning procedure.

 

HC01-JP011 Duel Academy

  • If you meet the activation requirements of 2 or more “●” effects on the same Chain, you can activate each “●” effect in a new Chain after resolving the current one.
  • The first “●” effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Field Zone. (This effect targets 1 card your opponent controls. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The second “●” effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Field Zone. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The third “●” effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Field Zone. (This effect targets 1 face-up monster you control. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP012 Wake Up Your Elemental HERO

  • The effect that increases this card’s ATK and allows it to attack monsters multiple times is a Continuous Effect that applies in the Monster Zone.
  • This effect is applies as soon as this card is Fusion Summoned.
  • The effect that destroys a monster that battles this card and inflicts damage to your opponent is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Monster Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate.)
  • This effect will activate and apply even if it is confirmed that one or both of the monsters that battled each other will be destroyed by that battle.
  • When resolving this effect, destroy the monster that battled this card, and inflict damage to your opponent equal to its original ATK. (These actions occur simultaneously.)
  • The effect that Special Summons a Warrior monster from your hand or Deck activates if this card is destroyed. (This effect is mandatory to activate. It also activates during the Damage Step.)
  • If this Fusion Summoned card was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, this effect activates in the Graveyard. If it was destroyed and banished face-up, the effect activates while this card is banished. (The effect is activated where it is first sent after being destroyed.)

 

Q: When the effects of Wake Up Your Elemental HERO are negated, what happens to the application of its Continuous Effect?
A: The part of the effect that increases this card’s ATK is no longer applied, so the ATK reverts to its original value. However, the part of the effect that allows Wake Up Your Elemental HERO to attack monsters multiple times does not disappear.

Source

Edit: Ruling has been updated.

 

HC01-JP013 Evolution Result Burst

  • This card’s effect finishes resolving by adding Overload Fusion from your Deck to your hand. (The additional effects also begin applying immediately after.)
  • After activating and applying this effect, if you use the effect of Overload Fusion to Fusion Summon using 6 or more monsters as materials, the effect that allows that monster to attack a number of times each Battle Phase this turn up to the number of materials used for the Summon is immediately applied to it.

 

HC01-JP014 Bridge of Salvation

  • The effect that returns all cards on the field and in both players’ hands and fields to the Deck, and makes each player draw 5 cards, is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step. It cannot be activated if either player has 4 or less cards in their Deck.)
  • When resolving this effect, return all cards on the field and in both players’ hands and fields to the Deck. Then, each player draws 5 cards. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • The effect that adds a “Crystal Beast” monster or a Field Spell from your Deck to your hand starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP019 Ready! Set! Duel!

  • The effect that adds a “Synchron” monster from your Deck to your hand is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (You decide whether or not to apply this effect when resolving the Chain Link made by this card’s activation.)
  • The effect that places a Signal Counter on this card starts a Chain and activates in the Spell & Trap Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate.)
  • The effect that draws 2 cards and sends a card from your hand to the Graveyard starts a Chain and can be activated in the Spell & Trap Zone.
  • When resolving this effect, draw 2 cards. Then, send 1 card from your hand to the Graveyard. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)

 

HC01-JP020 The Great Soul

  • The effect that Special Summons up to 2 “Resonator” monsters and/or Level 1 Dragon monsters from your Deck is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The effect that negates a monster effect and increases the ATK of a Synchro Monster you control starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step. It is activated by chaining directly to a monster effect’s activation.)
  • When resolving this effect, negate the monster effect that was activated, and increase the ATK of a Synchro Monster you control by 2000 until the end of the next turn. (These actions occur simultaneously.)

 

HC01-JP021 Return of the Reaper

  • The rule text that treats this card as an “Infernity” card is not an effect.
  • The effect that Special Summons an “Infernity” monster is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves.
  • The effect that Sets this card starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP022 Accel Synchro Stardust Dragon

  • The effect that Special Summons a Level 2 or lower Tuner monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone.
  • The effect that Special Summons a Stardust Dragon from your Extra Deck and performs a Synchro Summon using monsters you control is a Quick Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone.
  • When resolving this effect, Special Summon 1 Stardust Dragon from your Extra Deck. Immediately after resolving this effect, Synchro Summon a Synchro Monster using monsters you control as materials. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)

 

Q: I activated the second effect of Accel Synchro Stardust Dragon, and after Special Summoning a Stardust Dragon from the Extra Deck, I Synchro Summoned another Synchro Monster using monsters other than that Stardust Dragon as materials. In this case, is the Stardust Dragon whose Special Summon was treated as a Synchro Summon also unaffected by my opponent’s activated monster effects this turn?
A: The part of the effect that makes your Synchro Summoned monsters unaffected by your opponent’s activated monster effects is also applied to the Stardust Dragon whose Special Summon is treated as a Synchro Summon.

Source

 

HC01-JP027 Overlay Network

  • This card’s effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Spell & Trap Zone.
  • When activating this effect, select one of the “●” effects and activate it as that effect. Also, select your target at this time.
  • You cannot target an Xyz or Link Monster with the first “●” effect, since it does not have a Level.
  • The first “●” effect cannot be activated during a turn you already Special Summoned a non-Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck. Also, after the effect is activated, you can only Special Summon Xyz Monsters from the Extra Deck for the rest of the turn.
  • The second “●” effect does not affect the targeted Xyz Monster. (You can also add an Xyz Material to the owner’s hand that is attached to an Xyz Monster unaffected by Spell effects.)

 

HC01-JP028 Number 39: Utopia Rising

  • The effect that Special Summons a “Number” monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone. (It can also be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • When resolving this effect, Special Summon the targeted monster in Defense Position. Then, you can also attach this card’s Xyz Materials to the Special Summoned monster. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • The effect that Special Summons this card is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP029 Bariantopia

  • The rule text that treats this card as an “Barian’s” card is not an effect. (Even if this card’s effects are negated, it is still treated as a “Barian’s” card.)
  • The effect that prevents monsters from being targeted or destroyed by your opponent’s card effects does not start a Chain and applies in the Field Zone.
  • The effect that attaches an opponent’s monster to an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material starts a Chain and can be activated in the Field Zone.

 

Q: If my opponent’s monster targeted with the effect of Bariantopia is an Xyz Monster with Xyz Materials, what happens to its Xyz Materials?
A: The opponent’s targeted Xyz Monster will become an Xyz Material, but the Xyz Materials that were attached to it are sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

HC01-JP030 Dragon King’s Myth

  • The effect that doubles the ATK of a Dragon monster you control is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (It can be activated during the Damage Step, but only at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.)
  • When resolving this effect, double the ATK of the targeted monster until the end of the turn. Then, if your opponent controls a Dragon monster, the part of the effect that prevents the activation of the targeted monster’s effects from being negated this turn is applied.
  • The effect that Special Summons a Dragon Xyz Monster starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard.

 

HC01-JP034 Performapal Greatest Duelist

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Pendulum Zone.
  • When resolving this effect, return this card to the hand, and banish 1 Spell from your Deck. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • The monster effect that adds a “Supreme King Dragon” monster, “Supreme King Gate” monster, or The Supreme King’s Soul from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone. (It is activated after damage calculation.)
  • The effect that allows each player to banish a Spell from their Deck is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Monster Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate, once during each player’s Standby Phase.)
  • The effect that allows a player to add a banished Spell to their hand, discard it, and negate an attack is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Monster Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate.)
  • When resolving the “●” effect, the player applying the effect adds 1 of their banished Spells to their hand. Then, they discard that Spell and negate the attacking monster’s attack simultaneously. (These actions do not occur simultaneously with adding the banished Spell to the hand.)

 

HC01-JP035 Wonders of Nature

  • The effect that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Fairy, Spellcaster, Winged Beast, or Beast-Warrior monster from your hand is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves.
  • When resolving this effect, Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower Fairy, Spellcaster, Winged Beast, or Beast-Warrior monster from your hand, and equip it with this card. (These actions occur simultaneously.) Then, you can return all Dragon monsters on the field to the hand. (This action does not occur simultaneously with the previous actions.)
  • The effect that adds a “Polymerization” Spell, “Fusion” Spell, or Fusion Parasite from your Deck to your hand starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard.

 

HC01-JP036 Battle Royale Mode – Joining

  • This card is activated by targeting 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone. (It continually targets that monster.)
  • The effect that prevents the targeted monster from being destroyed by battle twice per turn does not start a Chain and applies in the Spell & Trap Zone.
  • The effect that allows a player to Special Summon a Level 4 or lower monster from their hand or Deck and lose 2000 Life Points starts a Chain and activates in the Spell & Trap Zone. (This effect is mandatory to activate. It also activates during the Damage Step.)
  • When resolving the “●” effect, the player applying the effect Special Summons a Level 4 or lower monster from their hand or Deck, and loses 2000 Life Points. (These actions occur simultaneously.)

 

Q: If the monster targeted by Battle Royale Mode – Joining is no longer affected by Spell effects, how is the effect of Battle Royale Mode – Joining applied?
A: The effect that prevents the targeted monster from being destroyed by battle up to twice per turn no longer applies. (This effect is a Spell effect applied to the targeted monster.) However, if that monster is destroyed by battle during this time, the player who destroyed it still gains 2000 Life Points. (This effect is not one that is applied to the targeted monster.) Also, even if the targeted monster becomes unaffected by Spell effects, it does not stop being continually targeted by Battle Royale Mode – Joining.

Source

 

HC01-JP037 The Supreme King’s Soul

  • The effect that Special Summons Supreme King Z-ARC from your Extra Deck is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning Supreme King Z-ARC from your Extra Deck. (The effect that returns it to the Extra Deck during the End Phase of the next turn is already applied to it.)
  • The effect that Special Summons a “Pendulum Dragon”, “Xyz Dragon”, “Synchro Dragon”, and/or “Fusion Dragon” monster from your hand, Deck, Extra Deck, or Graveyard starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step. It is activated by chaining directly to your opponent’s Spell card/effect activation.)
  • Up to 1 “Pendulum Dragon”, “Xyz Dragon”, “Synchro Dragon”, and “Fusion Dragon” monster can be Special Summoned by this effect. Each one can be Special Summoned from your hand, Deck, Extra Deck, and/or Graveyard.

 

Q: Can the second effect of The Supreme King’s Soul be activated by banishing a Supreme King Z-ARC in the Pendulum Zone, or one treated as an Equip Card in the Spell & Trap Zone?
A: No, it cannot. You must banish a Supreme King Z-ARC from your Monster Zone in order to activate the second effect of The Supreme King’s Soul.

Source

 

HC01-JP043 Into the VRAINS!

  • The effect that Special Summons a monster from your hand and performs a Link Summon is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves.
  • When resolving this effect, Special Summon 1 monster from your hand with its effects negated. Immediately after resolving this effect, Link Summon a Link Monster using monsters you control as materials, including the Special Summoned monster. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • You can also Special Summon a Normal Monster from your hand with this effect.
  • The effect that adds a monster from your Graveyard to your hand starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It can also be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

HC01-JP044 Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz

  • The effect that negates your opponent’s monster effects activated during the Battle Phase is a Continuous Effect that applies in the Monster Zone.
  • The effect that sends a Cyberse monster from your Deck or Extra Deck to the Graveyard, adds its Attribute to this card, and increases this card’s ATK by 2500 is a Quick Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone. (It can be activated during the Damage Step, but only at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.)
  • When resolving this effect, you can also send a monster with the same Attribute as this card to the Graveyard. (Even in that case, this card gains 2500 ATK.)
  • The effect that allows this card to attack monsters multiple times is a Continuous Effect that applies in the Monster Zone.

 

Q: Can the effect of Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz be activated while the effect of Gozen Match is applying?
A: Yes, it can. After resolving the effect of Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz, if it becomes a monster with 2 or more Attributes, it is immediately sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: If Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz activated its effect and is treated as a DARK, WIND, and WATER monster, but then DNA Transplant is activated, what happens to its Attributes?
A: It will only be treated as the Attribute that was declared when activating DNA Transplant, and not any other Attribute. If the effect of DNA Transplant stops applying afterward, Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz will be treated as a DARK, WIND, and WATER monster again.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz was activated, and it is treated as a DARK and LIGHT monster. If the effects of that Firewall Dragon Darkfluid – Neo Tempest Terahertz are negated, what happens to its Attributes?
A: It will only be DARK. (It is no longer treated as LIGHT.) Even if its effects are no longer negated afterward, it will only be DARK. (It is not also treated as a LIGHT monster again.)

Source

 

HC01-JP045 Angel with Blue Tears

  • The effect that inflicts damage to a player and negates the targeted monster’s effects is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves.
  • When activating this card, target 1 face-up monster in the Monster Zone. However, you cannot target a monster whose effects cannot be negated (such as a monster whose effects are already negated). Also, you cannot target a monster if its controller’s opponent has no cards in their hand.
  • When resolving this effect, inflict 200 damage to the opponent of the targeted monster’s controller for each card in their hand. Then, negate the targeted monster’s effects until the end of the turn. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • The effect that Sets a Normal Trap from your hand or Deck starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Setting a Normal Trap from your hand or Deck. (If it was Set from your hand, the part of the effect that allows it to be activated this turn is applied immediately.)

 

HC01-JP046 Prisoner of Destiny

  • You can activate this card’s effect as part of the same Chain Link as this card’s activation. You can also activate this card without activating its effect. (In either case, it cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect starts a Chain and can be activated in the Spell & Trap Zone.
  • When resolving this effect, place 1 counter on this card. Then, apply the appropriate “●” effect based on the number of those counters on this card. (These actions do not occur simultaneously.)
  • When resolving the first “●” effect, declare 1 card name. The activated effects of cards with the same original name as the declared card, and the effects of those cards that apply on the field, are negated this turn.
  • When resolving the third “●” effect, send this card to the Graveyard, and Special Summon a Link-4 monster from your Extra Deck. (These actions occur simultaneously.)

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.