Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 02/28/22 Rulings Update

Yes, another Necrovalley change.

 

First, three reversals:

 

Q: Necrovalley is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone and its effect is applying. Furthermore, Altergeist Protocol is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is applying. In this situation, if I activate the second effect of Altergeist Marionetter, what happens?
A: The part of the effect that sends the targeted card on the field to the Graveyard is applied, but the part of the effect that Special Summons the targeted monster from the Graveyard is not applied. (It does not matter whether the effect targeted Altergeist Protocol on the field or another card.)

Source

Before the change, Altergeist Protocol would prevent Necrovalley from negating the effect of Altergeist Marionetter in most cases. If Protocol itself was the card targeted on the field, it would be sent to the Graveyard midway through resolving Marionetter’s effect, and Necrovalley would “partially” negate the effect of Marionetter.
Now, even though Protocol prevents the effect of Necrovalley from “negating” the effect of Marionetter, Necrovalley still prevents the Special Summon from occurring no matter what. Necrovalley’s Japanese text states that it does more than just negate effects, it also prevents those effects from applying (if they cannot be negated).
If Protocol was not on the field, Necrovalley would negate the entire effect of Marionetter, so nothing would be sent to the Graveyard either.

 

Q: Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is Xyz Summoned using an Xyz Monster as material, and its effect activates. What happens if my opponent does not control any monsters when the effect resolves, or if they control monsters but none of them can be destroyed? Also, even if a monster was destroyed by this effect, but no damage was inflicted to my opponent because of other card effects, can Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon still attack 3 times during the Battle Phase this turn?
A: Even if no monsters can be destroyed by the effect of Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon, or if no damage can be inflicted by this effect, it will still be able to attack 3 times during the Battle Phase that turn.

Source

Before the change, Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon’s effect happened in a series of dependent actions. It needed to destroy at least 1 monster in order to inflict damage, and it needed to inflict damage in order to be able to attack 3 times. This is reflected in its current TCG text, which means that it is now functionally different between the TCG and OCG.

 

Q: When the effects of Wake Up Your Elemental HERO are negated, what happens to the application of its Continuous Effect?
A: If the effect is negated, the part of the effect that increases this card’s ATK is no longer applied, so the ATK reverts to its original value. Also, while its effects are negated, the part of the effect that allows Wake Up Your Elemental HERO to attack monsters multiple times is not applied.
Afterward, if Wake Up Your Elemental HERO returns to a state where its effects are no longer negated, the part of the effect that increases its ATK is not reapplied. However, the part of the effect that allows it to attack monsters multiple times is applied again.

Source

As posted last week, this ruling previously stated that Wake Up Your Elemental HERO would still be able to attack multiple times while its effects were currently negated, which didn’t make much sense. They’ve gone a full 180 and clarified that it can only start attacking multiple times after its effects are no longer negated, as one might expect.

 

Lastly, this is just a new ruling, not a reversal:

Q: Can I activate Into the VRAINS! while I do not control any monsters, and Link Summon a Link-1 monster using only the monster Special Summoned from my hand?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.