[OCG] Extra Pack 2017 Rulings

More to be posted this week.

Extra Pack 2017

EP17-JP001 Subterror Behemoth Fiendess

Q: Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier and Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus were used as materials to Link Summon Subterror Behemoth Fiendess, so the ATK of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess increases to 4000 due to its own effect. If Skill Drain is activated in this situation, what happens to the ATK of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Skill Drain is applied and the effects of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess are negated, its ATK returns to 2000. Even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying after that, it does not regain the lost ATK.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21394&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Behemoth Fiendess is in my Extra Monster Zone, and pointing to a face-down Defense Position Subterror Nemesis Archer in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if an opponent’s monster attacks my face-down Subterror Nemesis Archer, when will the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess that adds a Flip monster from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand activate?
A: If a monster that Subterror Behemoth Fiendess points to is flipped face-up by an attack, the timing to activate the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess will be after damage calculation.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21402&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Behemoth Fiendess is in my Extra Monster Zone, and pointing to a face-down Defense Position Subterror Behemoth Stygokraken in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I Flip Summon that Subterror Behemoth Stygokraken, but my opponent activates Solemn Judgment and negates the Summon, will the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess that adds a Flip monster from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand activate?
A: If the Flip Summon of a monster that Subterror Behemoth Fiendess points to is negated by Solemn Judgment, the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess will not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21400&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Behemoth Fiendess is in my Extra Monster Zone, and pointing to a face-down Defense Position Subterror Behemoth Umastryx in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Acid Trap Hole and targets my face-down Subterror Behemoth Umastryx, so that it is flipped face-up and then Set again, will the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess that adds a Flip monster from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand activate?
A: In this scenario, the targeted Subterror Behemoth Umastryx was flipped face-up by the effect of Acid Trap Hole, and then returned to face-down Defense Position. Even so, the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess that adds a Flip monster from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand will activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21401&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP002 Subterror Nemesis Warrior

Q: Is it possible to Tribute Xyz or Link Monsters with the first effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior?
A: Since the monsters Tributed with the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior must have combined Levels that equal or exceed the Level of the sent “Subterror” monster, you cannot use Xyz or Link Monsters. For example, even if you activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Nemesis Archer from your Deck to the Graveyard, you cannot Tribute an Xyz or Link Monster along with Subterror Nemesis Warrior when the effect resolves.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21399&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Nemesis Warrior, Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier, and a Metal Reflect Slime treated as a monster by its own effect are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus from my Deck to the Graveyard, is it possible to Tribute Metal Reflect Slime when resolving that effect?
A: When resolving the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, you can Tribute a Metal Reflect Slime treated as a monster by its own effect. In this scenario, the Level 12 Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, so you can Tribute Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Metal Reflect Slime, and Special Summon Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21342&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Nemesis Warrior, Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric, and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains Enemy Controller and takes control of my Subterror Nemesis Warrior, how does its effect resolve?
A: Even if your opponent has taken control of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by the time its effect resolves, you still Tribute monsters normally. In this scenario, the Level 11 Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect, so the effect will resolve by Tributing Subterror Nemesis Warrior itself (who is under your opponent’s control) and either Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric or Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier, and Special Summoning Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21344&keyword=&tag=-1

Note: Since the word “Tribute” on its own always defaults to “monsters you control” in TCG card language unless otherwise specified, the implication here is that this ruling makes Subterror Nemesis Warrior functionally different in the OCG and TCG, in a very minor way. (In Japanese text, the location where a monster is Tributed from is always written, even from your field, but Warrior’s text still only says “Tribute this card”.)

Q: Subterror Nemesis Warrior, Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric, and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Subterror Nemesis Warrior to my hand, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, the Level 11 Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior. If that Subterror Nemesis Warrior is no longer on the field when its effect resolves, the part of the effect that Tributes monsters is not applied. (No monsters are Tributed or Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21392&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier to my hand, how does the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior resolve?
A: In this scenario, the Level 12 Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior. If that Level 4 Subterror Nemesis Warrior is the only monster on your field when its effect resolves, the part of the effect that Tributes monsters is not applied. (Subterror Warrior Nemesis is not Tributed, and the sent monster is not Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21391&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo, how does the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior resolve?
A: In this scenario, the Level 10 Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, but if Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo is no longer in your Graveyard when resolving that effect, you do not Tribute any monsters or Special Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21393&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-down Defense Position Subterror Behemoth Stygokraken is on my field, and Subterror Nemesis Warrior is in my Graveyard. In this situation, if an opponent’s monster attacks my face-down Subterror Nemesis Stygokraken, when can I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior that Special Summons it?
A: If a “Subterror Behemoth” monster on your field is flipped face-up by an attack, the timing to activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior will be after damage calculation. In this scenario, if you also activate the “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Stygokraken, you will create a Chain with those 2 effects in the order you choose.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21390&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP005 Subterror Fiendess

Q: Subterror Behemoth Fiendess is in my Extra Monster Zone, and the only monster in my Main Monster Zone is Subterror Fiendess. In this situation, if my opponent activates Dark Hole, can I chain the effect of Subterror Fiendess by sending it to the Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, the only monster on your field other than Subterror Fiendess is Subterror Behemoth Fiendess, which is a Link Monster, so there are no monsters on your field that can be targeted with an effect that changes it to face-down Defense Position. Therefore, you cannot activate the effect of Subterror Fiendess in this case.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21398&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates Pot of Desires, I chain the effect of Subterror Fiendess by sending it from my hand or field to the Graveyard, targeting a face-up Subterror Behemoth Umastryx on my field. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys that Subterror Behemoth Umastryx, how does the effect of Subterror Fiendess resolve?
A: Even if the targeted “Subterror” monster is no longer on the field when the effect of Subterror Fiendess resolves, the part of its effect that negates the activation of your opponent’s card or effect is applied normally. (In this scenario, the activation of Pot of Desires is negated.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21389&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Constellar Belt is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates the effect of Effect Veiler, but I chain the effect of Subterror Fiendess targeting a face-up Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo on my field, what happens?
A: In this scenario, while the effect of Constellar Belt is applying, the activation of the effect of Effect Veiler is not negated. Since the part of the effect of Subterror Fiendess that negates the activation cannot be applied, the targeted monster is not changed to face-down Defense Position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21388&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP009 Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus

Q: If the only other monsters on the field are Tokens or Link Monsters, can I activate the effect of Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus if it is flipped face-up?
A: If the only monsters on the field aside from the flipped Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus are Tokens or Link Monsters, there will be no monsters on the field that can be changed to face-down Defense Position, so the effect of Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21397&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP010 Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary

Q: Is the “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary only applied to “Subterror” cards that are face-up on my field when the effect resolves?
A: The effect of Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary that prevents “Subterror” cards on your field from being destroyed by your opponent’s card effects that turn does not just apply to those cards that are face-up on your field when the effect resolves. After applying the effect of Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary, any “Subterror” cards that are face-up on your field during that turn cannot be destroyed by your opponent’s card effects. (For example, if you Normal or Special Summon a new “Subterror” monster afterward, the effect is also applied to that monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21396&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP011 Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric

Q: During my End Phase, if I activate Desert Sunlight and flip my Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric face-up, and then activate its effect that takes control of my opponent’s Set monster, how long do I gain control of that monster?
A: The effect of Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric takes control of the targeted monster until your next End Phase. In this scenario, if the effect was activated during your End Phase, you gain control of the targeted monster until the End Phase of your following turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21387&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP013 Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist

Q: When activating the “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist, can I target an Attack Position monster with 0 ATK, such as Maiden with Eyes of Blue?
A: The “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist cannot target an Attack Position monster with 0 ATK. In this scenario, if there are no other monsters on the field aside from the Attack Position Maiden with Eyes of Blue and the flipped Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist, you must target Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist itself if you activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21386&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist, can I target a Defense Position monster with 0 ATK, such as Maiden with Eyes of Blue?
A: The “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist can target a Defense Position monster with 0 ATK. In this scenario, since Maiden with Eyes of Blue has 0 ATK, only the part of the effect that changes it to Attack Position is applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21385&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP014 The Hidden City

Q: I activate the effect of The Hidden City when an opponent’s monster declares an attack. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break so that my face-down Defense Position “Subterror” monster is destroyed, how does the effect of The Hidden City resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of The Hidden City that is activated when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, if there are no face-down Defense Position “Subterror” monsters on your field, you cannot apply the part of the effect that changes one to face-up Attack or Defense Position, so you cannot negate the attack afterward. (In this case, since the number of monsters on your field changed, a replay occurs.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21384&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent’s Subterror Nemesis Archer declares an attack on my face-down Defense Position Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary, I activate the effect of The Hidden City. If I also chain Book of Moon and change my opponent’s attacking Subterror Nemesis Archer to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of The Hidden City resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of The Hidden City that is activated when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, even if the attacking monster has been changed to face-down Defense Position, you still choose 1 face-down Defense Position “Subterror” monster on your field and change it to face-up Attack or Defense Position. Since your opponent’s monster is in face-down Defense Position, you cannot apply the part of the effect that negates the attack.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21383&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP016 Subterror Behemoth Burrowing

Q: If there are no face-down monsters on my field, can I activate Subterror Behemoth Burrowing?
A: Even if there are no face-down Defense Position monsters on your field, you can activate Subterror Behemoth Burrowing.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21381&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Subterror Behemoth Burrowing this turn. If I Set a monster afterward, will the effect of Subterror Behemoth Burrowing apply to that monster as well?
A: Monsters that are Set after resolving Subterror Behemoth Burrowing are included in its effect that prevents them from being destroyed by card effects, and prevents your opponent from targeting them with card effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21382&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Subterror Behemoth Burrowing that I Set this turn is destroyed during the End Phase by my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon. At this time, if I activate the effect of Subterror Behemoth Burrowing that adds a “Subterror” monster from my Deck to my hand, can I also chain its third effect that changes a “Subterror” monster on my field to face-down Defense Position?
A: If a Subterror Behemoth Burrowing on your field was destroyed by a card effect, you can activate its second and third effects in the same Chain. In that case, the effect that adds a “Subterror” monster from your Deck to your hand is Chain Link 1, and the effect that changes a “Subterror” monster on your field to face-down Defense Position is Chain Link 2.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21380&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP017 Subterror Final Battle

Q: When the third effect of Subterror Final Battle makes the ATK and DEF of a “Subterror” monster on the field become equal to its combined original ATK and DEF, is the new ATK and DEF treated as a new original ATK and DEF?
A: The ATK and DEF changed by the effect of Subterror Final Battle are not treated as the new original ATK and DEF. For example, if the effect is applied to Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist, its ATK and DEF each become 4400 until the end of the turn, but its original ATK remains 3000 and its original DEF remains 1400.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21343&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: This turn, I activated the effect of Subterror Final Battle that makes it so that activated “Subterror” card effects cannot be negated. Does this apply to the effects of “Subterror” cards that my opponent activates as well as those that I activate?
A: During the turn the fourth effect of Subterror Final Battle is applied, in addition to “Subterror” card effects that you activate, those that your opponent activates also cannot be negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21379&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the turn I activated the effect of Subterror Final Battle that makes it so that activated “Subterror” card effects cannot be negated, if I activate the “FLIP:” effect of Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo, can my opponent chain Divine Wrath?
A: During the turn the fourth effect of Subterror Final Battle is applied, activated effects of “Subterror” cards cannot be negated, but the activation of those effects can be negated normally. Therefore, in this scenario, the activation of the effect of Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo is negated by your opponent’s Divine Wrath.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21378&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Imperial Order is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and I activated the effect of Subterror Final Battle that makes it so that activated “Subterror” card effects cannot be negated this turn. In this situation, what happens if I activate Subterror Cave Clash?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Imperial Order is applying, the effect of Subterror Cave Clash that makes all “Subterror” monsters on your field gain 500 ATK and DEF for each Set monster on the field is negated as usual because that effect does not start a Chain. However, the effect of Subterror Cave Clash that can be activated when your “Subterror” monster inflicts battle damage to your opponent does start a Chain, so even while the effect of Imperial Order is applying, that effect is not negated during the turn the effect of Subterror Final Battle is applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21377&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP018 SPYRAL Double Helix

Q: When activating the effect of SPYGAL Misty that returns a SPYRAL Super Agent on my field and a monster on my opponent’s field to their owner’s hands, can I target a SPYRAL Double Helix on my field?
A: The effect of SPYRAL Double Helix treats it as SPYRAL Super Agent while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, so it can be targeted with the effect of SPYGAL Misty. In that case, SPYRAL Double Helix is returned to the Extra Deck instead of the hand, but the opponent’s monster is returned to the hand normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21371&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP019 SPYRAL Super Agent

Q: When I activate the effect of a SYRAL Super Agent in my hand, if my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness, how does the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent resolves while the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying. In that case, reveal the top card of your opponent’s Deck normally, but even if it is the card type you declared, SPYRAL Super Agent cannot be Special Summoned and remains in your hand. Note that if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is already applying, you cannot activate the effect of a SPYRAL Super Agent in your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21376&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of a SYRAL Super Agent in my hand, if my opponent chains Ojama Trio so that I have no available Monster Zones, how does the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent resolves while you have no available Monster Zones. In that case, reveal the top card of your opponent’s Deck normally, but if that card is the card type you declared, SPYRAL Super Agent cannot be Special Summoned and is sent from your hand to the Graveyard. Also, if the card type is not what you declared, SPYRAL Super Agent remains in your hand. Note that if you have no available Main Monster Zones, you cannot activate the effect of a SPYRAL Super Agent in your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21375&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP021 SPYRAL Master Plan

Q: When SPYRAL Master Plan is destroyed by the effect of my opponent’s Dark Hole and sent to the Graveyard, I activate its effect that adds SPYRAL Resort and 1 “SPYRAL” monster from my Deck to my hand. If my opponent chains Hand Destruction, so that either SPYRAL Resort or a “SPYRAL” monster are no longer in my Deck, how does the effect of SPYRAL Master Plan resolve?
A: The effect of SPYRAL Master Plan adds both SPYRAL Resort and a “SPYRAL” monster from your Deck to your hand, so if either one is no longer in your Deck when the effect resolves, the effect is not applied. (You cannot add any cards to your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21374&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP023 SPYRAL Sleeper

Q: When I activate the effect of SPYRAL Sleeper, targeting 1 “SPYRAL” card on my field and up to 2 cards on my opponent’s field, if my opponent chains the effect of Constellar Pleiades and returns 1 of the targeted cards to the hand, will the remaining targets be destroyed?
A: Even if 1 of the cards targeted with the effect of SPYRAL Sleeper is no longer on the field when it resolves, the other targets are destroyed normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21373&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When SPYRAL Sleeper is destroyed by battle or card effect and sent to the Graveyard, if there are no cards on my field, what happens when its effect resolves?
A: When SPYRAL Sleeper is destroyed by battle or card effect and sent to the Graveyard, its second effect will activate even if there are no cards on your field. In that case, since you cannot destroy any cards on your field, the part of the effect that Special Summons a SPYRAL Super Agent from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21372&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP024 SPYGAL Misty

Q: When activating the effect of SPYGAL Misty that returns a SPYRAL Super Agent on my field and a monster on my opponent’s field to their owner’s hands, can I target a Token on my opponent’s field?
A: You can target a Token on your opponent’s field with the effect of SPYGAL Misty. In that case, the Token disappears instead of returning to the hand, but the targeted SPYRAL Super Agent is returned to the hand normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21370&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP025 Charming Resort Staff

Q: When an attack is declared involving my SPYRAL Super Agent and an opponent’s monster, I activate the effect of Charming Resort Staff that makes the opponent’s monster’s ATK become 0. If Magic Cylinder is chained so that the attack is negated, how does the effect of Charming Resort Staff resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Charming Resort Staff that was activated when an attack was declared, if the attacking monster’s attack has been negated by the effect of Magic Cylinder, the opponent’s monster’s ATK becomes 0 normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21369&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a SPYRAL Super Agent and a Charming Resort Staff on my field are both destroyed at the same time by the effect of Dark Hole and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Charming Resort Staff that returns SPYRAL Super Agent from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: The effect of Charming Resort Staff that adds SPYRAL Super Agent from your Graveyard to your hand can be activated when a SPYRAL Super Agent on your field is destroyed while Charming Resort Staff is already in your Graveyard. Therefore, in this scenario, if SPYRAL Super Agent and Charming Resort Staff are both destroyed at the same time and sent to the Graveyard, you cannot activate that effect of Charming Resort Staff.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21368&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP026 SPYRAL GEAR – Drone

Q: If there are no cards on my opponent’s field, can I Tribute SPYRAL GEAR – Drone to activate its effect that increases the ATK of a “SPYRAL” monster on my field?
A: If there are no cards on your opponent’s field, you cannot activate the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Drone that increases the ATK of a “SPYRAL” monster on your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21367&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP027 SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort

Q: SPYRAL Super Agent and SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort that equips it to another “SPYRAL” monster on my field, targeting my SPYRAL Super Agent. If my opponent chains Enemy Controller and takes control of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort that you activated, if your opponent has taken control of it, it cannot be equipped and remains in your opponent’s Monster Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21366&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP028 SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red

Q: I activated SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red, Special Summoned a SPYRAL Super Agent from my Graveyard, and equipped it. Afterward, if SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, what happens to the Special Summoned SPYRAL Super Agent?
A: Even if SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red is destroyed after a monster has been Special Summoned with its effect, that monster will remain on the field normally. Since SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red was destroyed, however, its effect that prevents the equipped monster from being destroyed by battle no longer applies.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21365&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP029 SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed

Q: If a SPYRAL Super Agent equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed destroys an opponent’s Pendulum Monster such as Dragong by battle, can the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed that banishes the destroyed monster and 1 other card on my opponent’s field be activated?
A: If a Pendulum Monster is destroyed by battle, it is added face-up to the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Even so, you can activate the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed. In this scenario, Dragong is banished from the Extra Deck and 1 other card is banished from your opponent’s field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21361&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a SPYRAL Super Agent equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed destroys an opponent’s Token by battle, can the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed that banishes the destroyed monster and 1 other card on my opponent’s field be activated?
A: Since a Token that is destroyed by battle cannot be banished after it leaves the field at the end of the Damage Step, it is impossible to apply the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed, so you cannot activate it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21364&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a SPYRAL Super Agent equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed destroys an opponent’s Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect, can the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed that banishes the destroyed monster and 1 other card on my opponent’s field be activated?
A: Although Embodiment of Apophis is sent to the Graveyard at the end of the Damage Step when it is destroyed by battle, it is not treated as a monster in the Graveyard, so you cannot activate the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21363&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dimensional Fissure is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if a SPYRAL Super Agent equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, can the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed that banishes the destroyed monster and 1 other card on my opponent’s field be activated?
A: While the effect of Dimensional Fissure is applying, monsters that are destroyed by battle are banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard, so the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Fully Armed that banishes the destroyed monster cannot be applied. Therefore, that effect cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21362&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP031 SPYRAL Resort

Q: SPYRAL Resort is face-up in my Field Zone. If the only monsters in my Graveyard are Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and/or Link Monsters, how do I apply the maintenance cost of SPYRAL Resort during the End Phase?
A: When applying the maintenance cost of SPYRAL Resort, you cannot select a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster in your Graveyard to return to the Deck. Therefore, if those monsters are the only monsters in your Graveyard, you must destroy SPYRAL Resort.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21395&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: SPYRAL Resort is face-up in my Field Zone, and Necrovalley is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone. In this situation, how do I apply the maintenance cost of SPYRAL Resort during the End Phase?
A: The maintenance cost of SPYRAL Resort is not a card effect. Therefore, even if the effect of Necrovalley is applying, the maintenance cost is applied during the End Phase normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21360&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP032 SPYRAL MISSION – Assault

Q: SPYRAL MISSION – Assault is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and SPYRAL Tough is in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when I activate the effect of SPYRAL Tough, my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes SPYRAL Tough to face-down Defense Position. As a result, if the card targeted with the effect of SPYRAL Tough is destroyed, can I activate the effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Assault that draws 1 card?
A: Even if SPYRAL Tough is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, the card destroyed by its effect is still treated as being destroyed by the effect of a “SPYRAL” monster, so you can activate the effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Assault.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21359&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP033 SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture

Q: When I Special Summon a SPYRAL Sleeper, I activate the effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture and take control of my opponent’s face-up SPYRAL Quik-Fix. Afterward, if Mystical Space Typhoon is activated and SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture is destroyed, what happens?
A: In this scenario, since the activated effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture already resolved successfully, you will still have control of SPYRAL Quik-Fix until the End Phase even if SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon. (The effect that prevents that monster from attacking directly also still applies.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21358&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP035 Revendread Slayer

Q: Can I add Revendread Slayer and Revendread Origin from my Deck to my hand with the effect of Pre-Preparation of Rites?
A: Revendread Origin is a Ritual Spell Card that includes the name of the Ritual Monster, Revendread Slayer, in its second effect. Therefore, you can add Revendread Origin and Revendread Slayer from your Deck to your hand with the effect of Pre-Preparation of Rites.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21345&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Revendread Origin and Ritual Summoned a Revendread Slayer, by Tributing 2 copies of Vendread Revenants on my field. In this case, does Revendread Slayer gain the effect that banishes a Special Summoned monster on my opponent’s field from both copies of Vendread Revenants?
A: The effect of Vendread Revenants that grants an effect to a “Vendread” Ritual Monster can only be used once per turn. As in this scenario, even if you Tribute 2 copies of Vendread Revenants on your field to Ritual Summon Revendread Slayer, the effect that banishes a Special Summoned monster on your opponent’s field is only gained once.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21357&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Revendread Slayer that was Ritual Summoned using a Vendread Revenants on the field is face-up on my field. In this situation, if I Ritual Summon a second copy of Revendread Slayer using another Vendread Revenants on the field, can both copies of Revendread Slayer activate the effect that banishes an opponent’s Special Summoned monster during the same turn?
A: The effect of Vendread Revenants that grants an effect to a “Vendread” Ritual Monster can only be used once per turn, meaning that if you use 2 copies of Vendread Revenants for 2 different Ritual Summons during the same turn, only the first Ritual Summoned monster will gain that effect. However, if 2 copies of Vendread Revenants are used for 2 different Ritual Summons during different turns, each Revendread Slayer will gain the effect, and each copy can activate their gained effect during the same turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21341&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Revendread Origin and Ritual Summoned a Revendread Slayer, by Tributing a Vendread Revenants and Vendread Houndhorde on my field. In this case, does Revendread Slayer gain the effect that banishes a Special Summoned monster on my opponent’s field, and the effect that banishes a Spell/Trap Card from my opponent’s field, from Vendread Revenants and Vendread Houndhorde respectively?
A: If Revendread Slayer is Ritual Summoned using both Vendread Revenants and Vendread Houndhorde on your field, it gains the effects from both monsters.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21356&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Revendread Slayer that was Ritual Summoned using a Vendread Houndhorde on the field is face-up on my field. If that Ritual Summoned Revendread Slayer is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, what happens to the effect it gained from Vendread Houndhorde?
A: If a Revendread Slayer that was Ritual Summoned using a Vendread Houndhorde on the field is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, it will no longer have the gained effect that banishes a Spell/Trap Card from your opponent’s field. (Even if Revendread Slayer is flipped face-up again, it will not regain that effect.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21340&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP039 Vendread Reorigin

Q: When activating Vendread Reorigin, can I target an opponent’s Xyz or Link Monster?
A: The effect of Vendread Reorigin Tributes the targeted monster and Special Summons a Vendread Token with the same Level as that monster’s original Level. Therefore, since Xyz and Link Monsters have no Level, they cannot be targeted with Vendread Reorigin.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21355&keyword=&tag=-1

Note: The English version instructs to target a monster with a Level, but that isn’t spelled out in the Japanese text.

Q: I activate Vendread Reorigin, targeting an opponent’s face-up Invoked Raidjin. If my opponent chains the effect of Invoked Raidjin and changes it to face-down Defense Position, how does Vendread Reorigin resolve?
A: Even if the opponent’s monster targeted with Vendread Reorigin is in face-down Defense Position when it resolves, the effect is applies normally. In this scenario, your opponent’s face-down Invoked Raidjin is Tributed, and a Level 5 Vendread Token is Special Summoned to your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21353&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Vendread Reorigin and Special Summoned a Vendread Token to my field. In this situation, if I then activate Creature Swap and give my opponent control of that Vendread Token, which player will the effect “you cannot Normal or Special Summon monsters, except “Vendread” monsters” apply to?
A: The effect of Vendread Reorigin that prevents a player from Normal or Special Summoning monsters other than “Vendread” monsters as long as the Vendread Token is in the Monster Zone is applied to whoever activated Vendread Reorigin. Even if your opponent gains control of the Vendread Token, the player who cannot Normal or Special Summon monsters does not change.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21354&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP040 F.A. Sonic Meister

Q: When I activate F.A. Circuit Grand Prix, and chain Call of the Haunted to Special Summon F.A. Sonic Meister from my Graveyard, can I then activate the effect of F.A. Sonic Meister that increases its Level by 1?
A: The effect of F.A. Sonic Meister that increases its own Level can be activated when a “F.A.” Spell/Trap Card or effect is activated while that F.A. Sonic Meister is face-up in the Monster Zone. In this scenario, F.A. Sonic Meister is not face-up on the field when F.A. Circuit Grand Prix is activated, so the effect of F.A. Sonic Meister cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21352&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP041 F.A. Hang On Mach

Q: When a “F.A.” Spell/Trap Card or effect is activated, I activate the effect of F.A. Hang On Mach that increases its Level by 1, and my opponent chains the effect of their Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit in their hand. In this case, will the effect of F.A. Hang On Mach that makes it unaffected by the effects of monsters with a lower Level than it apply?
A: The effect of F.A. Hang On Mach that makes it unaffected by monster effects includes not only monster effects applied on the field, but also those that activate/apply in the hand, Graveyard, etc, as long as the monster has a lower original Level/Rank than the current Level of F.A. Hang On Mach. In this scenario, since Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit has an original Level of 3, F.A. Hang On Mach is not destroyed by its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21351&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Level 7 or higher F.A. Hang On Mach is face-up on my field, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to my opponent’s Graveyard is applied. If my opponent activates Comic Hand and takes control of my F.A. Sonic Meister, will that F.A. Sonic Meister on my opponent’s field be banished if it is destroyed?
A: The effect of F.A. Hang On Mach banishes any card that would be sent to the opponent’s Graveyard, from the perspective of its current controller. In this scenario, the F.A. Sonic Meister controlled by your opponent is sent to your own Graveyard when destroyed, so it is not banished by the effect of F.A. Hang On Mach.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21346&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP042 F.A. Circuit Grand Prix

Q: Each player has a copy of F.A. Circuit Grand Prix in their Field Zones, and F.A. Sonic Meister is face-up in my Monster Zone. If I proceed to the Battle Phase in this situation, what does the Level of F.A. Sonic Meister become?
A: In this scenario, if each player has a copy of F.A. Circuit Grand Prix in their Field Zones, the effects of both copies are applied during the Battle Phase and the Levels of all “F.A.” monsters on the field are increased by 4. For example, if F.A. Sonic Meister was Level 4 at the end of Main Phase 1, it becomes Level 8 upon entering the Battle Phase. Once the Battle Phase ends, its Level returns to 4.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21339&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: F.A. Circuit Grand Prix is face-up in my Field Zone. During my Battle Phase, when a Level 4 F.A. Sonic Meister on my field becomes Level 6 due to the effect of F.A. Circuit Grand Prix, and it battles a monster with equal ATK such as my opponent’s True King Bahrastos, the Fathomer, both monsters are destroyed by battle. In this case, can I activate the effect of F.A. Circuit Grand Prix that draws 1 card?
A: As in this scenario, even if an “F.A.” monster battles a monster with equal ATK, so that both monsters are destroyed, you can activate the effect of F.A. Circuit Grand Prix that draws 1 card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21350&keyword=&tag=-1

EP17-JP049 Fusion Recycling Plant

Q: I activated Polymerization, using 2 copies of Thunder Dragon as materials to Fusion Summon a Twin-Headed Thunder Dragon, but my opponent then activated Torrential Tribute and destroyed that Twin-Headed Thunder Dragon. During the End Phase of this turn, can I still activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant that adds a monster used as material for a Fusion Summon this turn from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: As in this scenario, even if the Fusion Summoned monster is not face-up on the field when you reach your End Phase, you can still activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant and target one of the monsters (a Thunder Dragon in this example) that was used as Fusion Material.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21348&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Polymerization, using an Enlightenment Paladin and Tuning Magician as materials to Fusion Summon a Supreme Arcanite Magician. During the End Phase of this turn, can I activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant and target that Enlightenment Paladin in my Graveyard?
A: The effect of Fusion Recycling Plant that can be activated during the End Phase can target Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and Link Monsters that were used as materials for Fusion Summons this turn. In this scenario, the targeted Enlightenment Paladin returns to the Extra Deck instead of your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21347&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activated Super Polymerization, and used The White Stone of Ancients on their field and Windwitch – Snow Bell on my field as materials to Fusion Summon Sea Monster of Theseus. During the End Phase of this turn, can I activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant and target Windwitch – Snow Bell that was used as Fusion Material by my opponent?
A: The effect of Fusion Recycling Plant that can be activated during the End Phase can target any monster in your Graveyard that was used as material for not only a Fusion Summon you performed, but also any Fusion Summon your opponent performed this turn. (In this scenario, you can target Windwitch – Snow Bell.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21349&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.