[OCG] Extra Pack 2017 Ruling Reversals

A few people who actually check the ruling sources in my posts pointed out that I seemingly mistranslated a few Extra Pack 2017 rulings. That may happen on rare occasion, since I cannot read Japanese and have to decipher my web browser’s translator, but upon checking I saw that these rulings were posted for 09/11/17. This means they’ve already changed their rulings only a few days later. I’ll point them out here, as well as update the main post.

Question: Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier to my hand, how does the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior resolve?

Old answer: In this scenario, the Level 12 Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, but if only that Level 4 Subterror Nemesis Warrior remains on the field when its effect resolves, it is still Tributed by its effect. (The part of the effect that Special Summons the sent monster from the Graveyard cannot be applied.)

New answer: In this scenario, the Level 12 Subterror Behemoth Ultramafus was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior. If that Level 4 Subterror Nemesis Warrior is the only monster on your field when its effect resolves, the part of the effect that Tributes monsters is not applied. (Subterror Warrior Nemesis is not Tributed, and the sent monster is not Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21391&keyword=&tag=-1

Question: Subterror Nemesis Warrior, Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric, and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Subterror Nemesis Warrior to my hand, how does its effect resolve?

Old answer: In this scenario, the Level 11 Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, and even if that Subterror Nemesis Warrior is no longer on the field when its effect resolves, you must still Tribute other monsters whose total Levels equal or exceed the sent monster’s Level. However, the part of the effect that Special Summons that monster from the Graveyard cannot be applied. (In this case, Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric and Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier are Tributed.)

New answer: In this scenario, the Level 11 Subterror Behemoth Speleogeist was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior. If that Subterror Nemesis Warrior is no longer on the field when its effect resolves, the part of the effect that Tributes monsters is not applied. (No monsters are Tributed or Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21392&keyword=&tag=-1

Question: Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior by sending Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo from my Deck to the Graveyard, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo, how does the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior resolve?

Old answer: In this scenario, the Level 10 Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, and even if that Subterror Nemesis Stalagmo is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, you must still Tribute monsters whose total Levels equal or exceed its Level. However, the part of the effect that Special Summons that monster from the Graveyard cannot be applied. (In this case, Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary are Tributed.)

New answer: In this scenario, the Level 10 Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo was sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as the cost of the effect of Subterror Nemesis Warrior, but if Subterror Behemoth Stalagmo is no longer in your Graveyard when resolving that effect, you do not Tribute any monsters or Special Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21393&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.