Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] February/March 2019 Promo Rulings

Recent OCG promo rulings.

VJMP-JP159 Ankuriboh

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates in the hand. (It targets 1 monster in either your Graveyard or your opponent’s Graveyard. Discarding this card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.
  • Sending the Special Summoned monster to the Graveyard during the End Phase does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that adds a Monster Reborn from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand during the End Phase of that turn is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Adding Monster Reborn to your hand during the End Phase does not start a Chain.

Q & A’s previously posted here.

 

VJMP-JP160 Rogue of Endymion

  • This card’s effect that places a Spell Counter on it is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This effect must be activated whenever this card is Normal or Special Summoned face-up. (It will also activate during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that Sets a Continuous Spell Card from your Deck is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Removing a Spell Counter from this card and discarding a Spellcaster monster from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.

 

Q: I activate the effect of Rogue of Endymion, and Set a Disciples of the True Dracophoenix from my Deck. During the same turn, if that Disciples of the True Dracophoenix is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate its effect that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on the field?
A: The effect of Rogue of Endymion prevents you from activating cards or effects with the same name as the Continuous Spell Card that was Set. Therefore, if Disciples of the True Dracophoenix was Set by the effect of Rogue of Endymion and then sent to the Graveyard during the same turn, you cannot activate its effect.

Source

Q: I activate the effect of Rogue of Endymion, and Set a Shiranui Style Solemnity from my Deck. During the same turn, can I then activate the Field Spell Card Shiranui Style Synthesis?
A: The effect of Rogue of Endymion prevents you from activating cards or effects with the same name as the Continuous Spell Card that was Set. Furthermore, the effect of Shiranui Style Solemnity that treats its name as Shiranui Style Synthesis is only applied after it is activated. Therefore, in this scenario, since the card Set by the effect of Rogue of Endymion was called Shiranui Style Solemnity, you can activate Shiranui Style Synthesis during the same turn.

Source

Q: Endymion Lab is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, I activate the effect of Rogue of Endymion, and Set another Endymion Lab from my Deck. During the same turn, can I then activate the effect of the Endymion Lab that is already face-up?
A: The effect of Rogue of Endymion prevents you from activating cards or effects with the same name as the Continuous Spell Card that was Set. In this scenario, the card Set by effect of Rogue of Endymion was called Endymion Lab, but since the one that is already face-up on the field is treated as Magical Citadel of Endymion, you can activate its effect during the same turn.

Source

 

VJMP-JP161 Performapal Turntrooper

  • This card’s effect that places a counter on it is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • The text that states this card gains effects based on the number of counters on it is not an effect. This card gains the corresponding “●” effects based on the number of counters that were placed on it by its own effect.
  • The “●” effect that negates an attack is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • The “●” that banishes all monsters on the field is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Tributing this card is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

Q: If 2 or more monsters are banished at the same time by the effect of Performapal Turntrooper, will those monsters return to the field at the same time?
A: If 2 or more monsters are banished at the same time by the effect of Performapal Turntrooper, each monster is treated as returning to the Monster Zone at the same time. If the number of available Main Monster Zones is smaller than the number of monsters that were banished by the effect of Performapal Turntrooper, return as many of the banished monsters to the Monster Zones as possible, and send any monsters to the Graveyard that cannot be returned.

Source

 

VJMP-JP162 D/D Ark

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain. (It can only be activated during your Main Phase.)
  • The Pendulum Effect targets 1 face-up Pendulum Summoned monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone.
  • The targeted monster and D/D Ark itself are both destroyed at the same time.
  • This card’s monster effect is a Trigger Effect. (It can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The monster effect does not target.
  • The effects of a monster Special Summoned by the effect of D/D Ark remain negated as long as that monster is face-up in the Monster Zone.

 

Q: I activate the Pendulum Effect of D/D Ark, targeting a Pendulum Summoned Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon in my opponent’s Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device so that the targeted Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon is no longer in the Monster Zone, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if the monster targeted by the Pendulum Effect of D/D Ark is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, the effect is not applied. (D/D Ark is also not destroyed and remains in the Pendulum Zone.)

Source

 

VB21-JP001 Inverted Code Talker

  • This card is a “Code Talker” monster.
  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • You cannot activate this card’s effect if you do not have any Cyberse monsters in your hand that you can Special Summon.
  • You cannot activate this card’s effect if you do not have any available Main Monster Zones that this card points to.

 

Q: Cynet Codec is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I Link Summon an Inverted Code Talker, can I activate the effects of both Inverted Code Talker and Cynet Codec?
A: If Inverted Code Talker is Link Summoned while you have Cynet Codec face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone, and you did not add a LIGHT monster to your hand with the effect of Cynet Codec this turn, you can activate the effects of each of those cards, on the same Chain in any order you choose.

Source

 

VB21-JP002 Salamangreat Coyote

  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard.
  • This effect does not activate at the time this card is sent to the Graveyard as a Link Material. It activates and starts a Chain during the End Phase of the turn it was sent to the Graveyard as a Link Material.
  • When activating this effect during the End Phase, choose which “●” effect to activate. (The card targeted for this effect is also chosen at this time.)
  • The “●” effect that Special Summons a “Salamangreat” monster from your Graveyard targets that “Salamangreat” monster.
  • The “●” effect that adds a “Salamangreat” monster from your Graveyard to your hand targets that “Salamangreat” monster.

 

Q: When I attempt to Link Summon a Salamangreat Almiraj using Salamangreat Coyote as Link Material, my opponent activates Solemn Strike and negates the Link Summon. During the End Phase of this turn, can I activate the effect of Salamangreat Coyote?
A: If the Link Summon that used Salamangreat Coyote as material is negated by the effect of Solemn Strike, you cannot activate the effect of Salamangreat Coyote during the End Phase.

Source

Q: During the End Phase, when my opponent activates the effect of Salamangreat Coyote, can I chain Solemn Warning?
A: In this scenario, if your opponent activates the effect of Salamangreat Coyote that Special Summons a “Salamangreat” monster from their Graveyard, you can chain Solemn Warning to the effect. However, if your opponent activates the effect that adds a “Salamangreat” monster from their Graveyard to their hand, you cannot chain Solemn Warning.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.