Weekly assortment of database rulings.
Q: I activate Fusion Tag, targeting a face-up Neo-Spacian Grand Mole in my Monster Zone, and revealing a Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin in my Extra Deck with its effect. During the same turn, if I return that Neo-Spacian Grand Mole and an Elemental HERO Neos in my Graveyard to my Deck with the effect of Miracle Contact, can I Special Summon either Elemental HERO Marine Neos or Elemental HERO Grand Neos from the Extra Deck?
A: The effect of Miracle Contact returns monsters to the Deck that are listed as Fusion Materials for the appropriate Fusion Monster, but those monsters returning to the Deck are not treated as Fusion Materials. Therefore, even if the effect of Fusion Tag was applied to a monster returned to the Deck by the effect of Miracle Contact, the monster cannot be treated as the revealed monster, so in this case the monster you must Special Summon is Elemental HERO Grand Neos.
Q: While Magician’s Left Hand is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, I activate Magician’s Restage from my hand. At this time, when I activate the effect of a Performapal Sky Magician that increases its ATK by 300, but my opponent chains Solemn Strike, does the effect of my Magician’s Left Hand apply?
A: In this scenario, if Magician’s Left Hand was already activated and your opponent activates a Counter Trap Card, the effect of Magician’s Left Hand is applied, so the effect of Solemn Strike is negated. (The effect of Performapal Sky Magician resolves normally.)
Q: My Exodia, Master of the Guard that was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters attacks my opponent’s face-up Attack Position Beast of Talwar. When the attack is declared, if my opponent activates Mirror Mail so that the ATK of the 2 battling monsters is the same and both are destroyed, do I still win the Duel?
A: In this scenario, although your Exodia, Master of the Guard battled a DARK Fiend monster owned by your opponent, since Exodia, Master of the Guard itself was also destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, the victory condition is not fulfilled.
Q: Malefic World is face-up in my Field Zone, Malefic Territory is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and there are 2 copies of Malefic Parallel Gear face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon from my hand?
A: Even in this scenario, you can Special Summon Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon from your hand. Since the effect of Malefic Territory is applying, the effect “There can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field.” of Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon becomes “There cannot be face-up “Malefic” monsters on the field with the same name”. At this time, since there are 2 copies of Malefic Parallel Gear in your Monster Zone, one of them is destroyed.
Q: I activate the first effect of Ankuriboh, and Special Summon an Ancient Gear Howitzer from my Graveyard that was previously Fusion Summoned. During the End Phase of this turn, will that Ancient Gear Howitzer be sent to the Graveyard?
A: The effect of Ancient Gear Howitzer that makes it unaffected by other cards’ effects is a Continuous Effect. In this scenario, it is Special Summoned by the effect of Ankuriboh that already resolved, and since part of that effect is to send the Special Summoned monster to the Graveyard during the End Phase, Ancient Gear Howitzer is sent to the Graveyard normally.
Q: My Sangan and Ankuriboh are both destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of my opponent’s Icarus Attack, which they activated during the End Phase. In this case, when will the effect of Ankuriboh add Monster Reborn to my hand?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Sangan is activated as Chain Link 1, if you choose to activate the effect of Ankuriboh, it will be Chain Link 2. The effect of Ankuriboh does not add Monster Reborn to your hand when its Chain Link resolves, but rather after the Chain including the effect of Sangan finishes resolving.
Q: My opponent attacks my Ankuriboh with Thunder King Rai-Oh, and my Ankuriboh is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. At this time, can I activate the effect of Ankuriboh that will add a Monster Reborn from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand during the End Phase?
A: In this scenario, even if the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, you can activate the effect of Ankuriboh. If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is still applying during the End Phase, you cannot add Monster Reborn from your Deck to your hand so you must add it from your Graveyard. (If you only have Monster Reborn in your Deck, the effect cannot be applied.) If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is no longer applying during the End Phase, you can add from your Deck to your hand as well.
Q: When my opponent’s Ankuriboh is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Dark Hole, and my opponent activates the effect of Ankuriboh while Monster Reborn is in their Graveyard, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of Ankuriboh in their Graveyard, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. (It does not matter whether or not your opponent has Monster Reborn in their Graveyard.)
Q: My opponent activated Death Control of the Evil Eye and took control of my Infinitrack Goliath. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Infinitrack Fortress Megaton Gale, targeting an Infinitrack Earthshaker in my Graveyard and my opponent’s Death Control of the Evil Eye, what happens to Infinitrack Goliath?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Infinitrack Fortress Megaton Gale resolves, Infinitrack Earthshaker is Special Summoned from your Graveyard and Death Control of the Evil Eye is attached to it as an Xyz Material. At this time, the effects of Death Control of the Evil Eye disappear, and you regain control of Infinitrack Goliath. Also, even if The Evil Eye of Selene is on the field, Infinitrack Goliath is not treated as an “Evil Eye” monster.
Q: I activate Witchcraft Collaboration, targeting a face-up Witchcraft Edel in my Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Witchcraft Edel to face-down Defense Position, how does Witchcraft Collaboration resolve?
A: Even if the monster targeted by Witchcraft Collaboration is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. In this scenario, if the targeted Witchcraft Edel returns to face-up Attack Position this turn, it can attack twice during each Battle Phase, and when it does your opponent will not be able to activate Spell/Trap Cards until the end of the Damage Step.
Q: Zerachiel, King of the Evil Eye is in the Extra Monster Zone, pointing to a Bajilius, Retainer of the Evil Eye whose effects are negated by the effect of Forbidden Chalice, and a Medusa, Watcher of the Evil Eye in my Main Monster Zones. In this situation, when the effect of Zerachiel, King of the Evil Eye activates during the Standby Phase, can I apply it to Bajilius, Retainer of the Evil Eye?
A: When the effect of Zerachiel, King of the Evil Eye resolves, you choose 1 face-up Effect Monster it is pointing to and negate its effects. In this scenario, since the effects of Bajilius, Retainer of the Evil Eye were already negated by Forbidden Chalice, you must choose Medusa, Watcher of the Evil Eye instead and negate its effects.