Updates and reversals.
“If the effects of a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon in the Monster Zone are negated, can I Special Summon another Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon?”
Q: The effects of a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon in my Monster Zone are negated, and its effect “You can only control 1 “Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon”” is not applied. In this situation, can I Special Summon another Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon face-up to my Monster Zone?
A: No, you cannot.
A face-up Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon in your Monster Zone restricts other copies of Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon from appearing face-up on your field due to its first effect. Furthermore, a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon that is not face-up in your Monster Zone will restrict itself from being placed face-up or becoming face-up on your field while another Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon is already face-up on your field. You can only Special Summon Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon if neither of these restrictions are present.
In this scenario, the effects of the Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon in your Monster Zone are negated, and the former restriction has been removed. However, latter restriction has not been removed.
“If a Fusion Monster is successfully Fusion Summoned at Chain Link 2 while the effect “your opponent cannot activate cards or effects when a monster is Fusion Summoned this way” is applied, can effects be activated after the Chain resolves?”
Q: The effects of either Magical Meltdown or Branded Lost that state “The activation of your cards and effects that include an effect that Fusion Summons a Fusion Monster cannot be negated, also your opponent cannot activate cards or effects when a monster is Fusion Summoned this way” are applying.
During my turn, my opponent activates Tri-Brigade Revolt as Chain Link 1, and I activate the effect of Shaddoll Schism as Chain Link 2. As a result, I first Fusion Summon an El Shaddoll Construct, then my opponent Link Summons a Tri-Brigade Shuraig the Ominous Omen.
In this case, can my opponent activate the effect of Tri-Brigade Shuraig the Ominous Omen by chaining it to the effect of my El Shaddoll Construct?
A: Yes, they can activate the effect. After Fusion Summoning El Shaddoll Construct at Chain Link 2, the Chain Link 1 effect must be resolved, so after resolving the entire Chain, it is no longer “when a monster is Fusion Summoned”.
“Can I apply the effect of a card that is Set face-down after it resolves instead of being sent to the GY, with an effect that “becomes that Trap’s effect when that card is activated”?”
Q: Can I activate Trap of Darkness, Fake Feather, or Transaction Rollback by targeting Scrap-Iron Scarecrow, or activate Labrynth Barrage by chaining it to Scrap-Iron Scarecrow? Also, can I activate the second effect of Transaction Rollback by targeting Scrap-Iron Scarecrow, or activate the effect of Junk Collector by banishing Scrap-Iron Scarecrow?
A: In each of these cases, they can be activated, and the part of the effect that negates the attack is applied when it resolves.
If a card activation was performed (the first effect of Transaction Rollback, or the effect of Trap of Darkness, Fake Feather, or Labrynth Barrage), the card will be Set in the Spell & Trap Zone afterward.
If a card activation was not performed (the second effect of Transaction Rollback or the effect of Junk Collector), the part of the effect that Sets it in the Spell & Trap Zone is not applied.
Please note that this is a (very quick) reversal of the ruling they previously had, at least concerning Junk Collector and the second effect of Transaction Rollback. Previously, they could not copy Scrap-Iron Scarecrow at all, but now it seems they can get away with only negating the attack.
“If Floowandereeze & Robina is banished by the effect of Cynet Conflict, is the effect that prevents the opponent from activating card effects with the same name as the banished card until the end of the next turn applied?”
Q: Due to the effect of Cynet Conflict that was chained to the first effect of Floowandereeze & Robina, the activation of the effect of Floowandereeze & Robina is negated and it is banished. In this case, is the effect of Cynet Conflict that prevents the opponent from activating card effects with the same name as the banished card until the end of the next turn applied?
A: It is not applied. That Floowandereeze & Robina was banished by its own effect, so the effect of Cynet Conflict does not apply since it was not banished by its effect.
This is another quick reversal from a ruling that was posted about a month ago. Also note that it is different from the rulings below on banishing similar monsters because of a minor text difference Cynet Conflict has between the TCG and OCG. In the OCG, it specifies that it applies the restriction to cards “banished by this effect”, but that isn’t apparent in its TCG text.
“What is considered “Red Dragon Archfiend or a Synchro Monster that mentions it”?”
Q: Which monsters are considered “Red Dragon Archfiend or a Synchro Monster that mentions it”, as described in the texts of Soul Resonator, Fiendish Golem, and Red Zone?
A: A Synchro Monster that mentions a card name refers to a Synchro Monster with a specific card’s name (Red Dragon Archfiend in this case) written in its card text. The following monsters fall in this category:
● Majestic Red Dragon
● Red Nova Dragon
● Scar-Red Dragon Archfiend
● Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend
(Tyrant Red Dragon Archfiend is not included.)
“Can I activate 2 copies of Absolute Powerforce targeting the same Red Dragon Archfiend?”
Q: Can I activate a second Absolute Powerforce targeting a Red Dragon Archfiend that has already had the effect of Absolute Powerforce applied to it?
A: It can be activated. If the effect resolves, the “● It gains 1000 ATK” is applied cumulatively, but the others are not applied cumulatively. (It will gain a total of 2000 ATK, but the damage is only doubled once.)
“With the effect of Volcanic Rimfire, can I banish Volcanic Blaze Accelerator from the field and place another Volcanic Blaze Accelerator on the field?”
Q: Volcanic Blaze Accelerator is face-up in my Splel & Trap Zone, and its effect “You can only control 1 “Volcanic Blaze Accelerator”” is applied. In this situation, can I use the effect of Volcanic Rimfire to banish that Volcanic Blaze Accelerator from my Spell & Trap Zone and place another Volcanic Blaze Accelerator face-up on my field?
A: If Volcanic Blaze Accelerator is already face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone, you can still activate the second effect of Volcanic Rimfire as long as a different “Blaze Accelerator” Continuous Spell/Trap that can be placed on your field exists in your hand/Deck. When the effect of Volcanic Rimfire resolves, you first banish 1 “Blaze Accelerator” card from your face-up field or GY, then place the second “Blaze Accelerator” Continuous Spell/Trap Card from your hand/Deck on the field. Therefore, if you banished Volcanic Blaze Accelerator, you can choose another Volcanic Blaze Accelerator as the card to place on the field.
“Can I banish a Codebreaker Virus Swordsman that will be banished when it leaves the field as the cost for the effect of Accesscode Talker?”
Q: A Codebreaker Virus Swordsman that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in the Monster Zone, so that it will be banished by its effect when it leaves the field. Can I activate the effect of Accesscode Talker by banishing that Codebreaker Virus Swordsman?
A: Yes, you can. Furthermore, even in that case, you cannot activate the effect of Accesscode Talker again that turn by banishing a DARK monster.
“What happens if Plaguespreader Zombie is affected by Caius the Shadow Monarch?”
Q: A Plaguespreader Zombie that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in the Monster Zone, so that it will be banished by its effect when it leaves the field. If I activate the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch and banish that Plaguespreader Zombie, will the effect still inflict 1000 damage to my opponent? Also, in the same situation, if Plaguespreader Zombie is banished by the effect of Chain Disappearance, will additional copies of it be banished from the hand/Deck?
A: In either case, Plaguespreader Zombie is successfully banished, so the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch will inflict 1000 damage to the opponent, and Chain Disappearance will banish all copies of Plaguespreader Zombie from the opponent’s hand/Deck.