Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 12/29/21 Rulings Update

Wrapping up the year with 23 updates (and errata announcement).

 

Q: Can I Fusion Summon a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon, using a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon in my Monster Zone whose effects are negated?
A: No, you cannot. The Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon being Special Summoned from the Extra Deck also has the effect that only allows you to control 1 face-up Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon. Therefore, while you already control a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon, you cannot attempt to Fusion Summon a Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon from your Extra Deck.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls an Elemental HERO Neos Alius, treated as Elemental HERO Neos by its own effect. In this situation, if I equip that Elemental HERO Neos Alius using the effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict, how is the last effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict applied?
A: In this scenario, Elemental HERO Neos Alius is equipped to Millennium-Eyes Restrict as an Equip Card, so the effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict is applied to Elemental HERO Neos Alius. In that case, any face-up Elemental HERO Neos Alius treated as a Normal Monster on the field will not be able to attack, and its effect that treats it as a Normal Monster is negated, so it is treated as an Effect Monster. The effects of any Elemental HERO Neos Alius in the Graveyard are not negated, so it remains treated as a Normal Monster.

Source

Note: Millennium-Eyes Restrict received a text update in the OCG (and Duel Links) when it was reprinted in the Secret Shiny Box. It now negates the effects of monsters with the same original name as the equipped monster, instead of the current name. Some of its rulings have been updated to reflect the text change, including this one.

 

Q: The only monster I control is a face-down Defense Position Performapal Celestial Magician that was Special Summoned from my opponent’s Extra Deck by the effect of Toadally Awesome. Also, the only monster my opponent controls is a Performapal Momoncarpet that was changed to face-down Defense Position by its own effect after being Pendulum Summoned from the Extra Deck. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Gizmek Okami, the Dreaded Deluge Dragon that Special Summons it?
A: The effect cannot be activated. In this situation, Performapal Momoncarpet is no longer treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck when it is changed from being face-up to being in face-down Defense Position. (Note that it will not be treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck even after it becomes face-up again.)
On the other hand, the Performapal Celestial Magician that was Set directly from the Extra Deck is treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. (Afterward, if Performapal Celestial Magician becomes face-up again, it is still treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. However, if it is changed to face-down Defense Position again, it will no longer treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.)

Source

 

Q: I control Goddess with the Third Eye (LIGHT) and Fallen of Albaz (DARK). Using these 2 monsters as materials, can I use the effect of Branded Fusion to Fusion Summon a Lubellion the Searing Dragon, which requires a DARK monster and Fallen of Albaz as materials?
A: No, you cannot. When performing a Fusion Summon with the effect of Branded Fusion, you must use Fallen of Albaz as the “Fallen of Albaz” part of the material requirement. In other words, to meet the “Fallen of Albaz” requirement, you can use Fallen of Albaz itself or an Albion the Shrouded Dragon whose name is treated as Fallen of Albaz, but you cannot use Goddess with the Third Eye. (The effect of Goddess with the Third Eye allows it to be substituted for a Fusion Material monster, but does not change its card name.)

Source

 

Q: Can I chain the effect of Stardust Dragon or My Body as a Shield to the effect of Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon that destroys monsters during the End Phase of the turn?
A: Neither effect can be activated.

Source

 

Q: If a Starving Venemy Dragon or Starving Venemy Lethal Dose Dragon in my Pendulum Zone has its effects negated, will the Venemy Counters already placed on it be removed?
A: The Venemy Counters are not removed if their effects are negated.

Source

 

Q: When resolving the effect of Red Supernova Dragon that banishes itself and all cards my opponent controls, if Red Supernova Dragon is no longer in the Monster Zone, are my opponent’s cards still banished?
A: Even in that case, all cards your opponent controls when the effect resolves are banished.

Source

 

Q: I gained control of an opponent’s monster with the effect of D/D/D Headhunt. During the End Phase of the next turn, control of that monster returns to my opponent, but what happens to the other effects applied to that monster?
A: During the End Phase of the next turn, at the time the effect that takes control of the monster is no longer applied, the effects that prevent the monster from declaring an attack, negate its effects, and treat it as a “D/D/D” monster if it was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck also stop applying.

Source

 

Q: When choosing 4 “Number” monsters in my Extra Deck with the effect of Numbers Evaille, can I choose Ultimate Leo Utopia Ray?
A: Yes, you can. (Since its name is always treated as Number C39: Utopia Ray, its “Number” is 39.)

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls my Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon that switched control after I Fusion Summoned it. If that Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon is destroyed either by my effect or my opponent’s effect, can its effect that destroys monsters during the End Phase of the turn be activated?
A: The effect cannot be activated. Effects that activate when a card “leaves the field by your opponent”, such as the effect of Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon, only activate when it leaves the owner’s field because of their opponent. If it leaves the field while your opponent controls it, the effect cannot be activated regardless of which player made it leave the field.

Source

 

Q: There is a set of Fusion Material monsters in my Graveyard and among my banished cards, as well as a Fusion Monster in my Extra Deck that can be Fusion Summoned using those materials. At this time, can I return a Fusion Monster that is in my Graveyard or among my banished cards to the Extra Deck as a Fusion Material monster, and Fusion Summon that Fusion Monster that was just returned instead of the one that was already in my Extra Deck?
A: The monster Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck and the monster returned to the Extra Deck as a Fusion Material must be different cards. Therefore, the monster returned to the Extra Deck as a Fusion Material cannot be the monster Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck. (If you do not have a Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck that can be Fusion Summoned using the available Fusion Materials, the effect that performs the Fusion Summon cannot be activated.)

Source

 

Q: During my opponent’s turn, while the effect of Remove Brainwashing is applying, I activate Rank-Up-Magic Revolution Force, targeting my opponent’s Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon without Xyz Materials. In this case, how does the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Revolution Force resolve?
A: In that case, you will gain control of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon and Special Summon a Rank 5 “Raidraptor” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck using it as the material. (The effect of Rank-Up-Magic Revolution Force is applied normally.)

Source

 

Q: If my opponent Special Summons a Spell/Trap as a monster with the effect of Magical Hats during the turn I activated the effect of Maxx “C”, do I draw?
A: Even in that case, you still draw a card.

Source

 

Q: Can Magical Hats be activated while the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying?
A: No, it cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: El Shaddoll Winda was Fusion Summoned by the effect of El Shaddoll Fusion that was chained to the activation of Magician Navigation. As a result, the effect of El Shaddoll Winda is applied, but how will the effect of Magician Navigation resolve?
A: In that case, the effect finishes resolving after Special Summoning Dark Magician from the hand. Furthermore, Magician Navigation cannot be activated while the effect of El Shaddoll Winda is applying.

Source

 

Q: If I do not control any monsters and the effects of There Can Be Only One or Kairyu-Shin – Leviathan are applying, can I activate Magician Navigation?
A: Even if the effect of There Can Only Be One is applying, you can activate Magician Navigation if you do not control any Spellcaster monsters. In that case, Special Summoning a Dark Magician from your hand will result in you controlling a Spellcaster monster, so the part of the effect that Special Summons a Level 7 or lower DARK Spellcaster monster from your Deck is not applied.
Also, even if the effect of Kairyu-Shin – Leviathan is applying, you can activate Magician Navigation if you do not control any non-WATER monsters. In that case, Special Summoning a Dark Magician from your hand will result in you controlling a non-WATER monster, so the part of the effect that Special Summons a Level 7 or lower DARK Spellcaster monster from your Deck is not applied.

Source

 

Q: What happens if the effect of Card of Demise that was sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude is activated?
A: In that case, you draw until you have 3 cards in your hand, and send your entire hand to the Graveyard during the End Phase as usual. However, since Card of Demise itself was not activated, the part of the effect that halves any damage your opponent takes for the rest of the turn after the card resolves is not applied.
Furthermore, the text that states you can only activate 1 Card of Demise per turn, and cannot Special Summon during the turn it is activated, is a condition applied when Card of Demise is activated. This text is not considered when activating only the effect of Card of Demise, as in the above situation. In other words, you can activate Card of Demise and activate the effect of Card of Demise in your Graveyard during the same turn. You can also Special Summon monsters during the turn you activated the effect of Card of Demise in your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: While I control different monsters with multiple Attributes including WATER, such as Elemental HERO Electrum and Elemental Mistress Doriado, what happens if the effect of my opponent’s Kairyu-Shin – Leviathan is applied?
A: Monsters with multiple Attributes including WATER are treated as both WATER monsters and non-WATER monsters. Therefore, you must choose either Elemental HERO Electrum or Elemental Mistress Doriado, and send it to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls a Geomathmech Final Sigma in the Extra Monster Zone, and it is unaffected by card effects other than “Mathmech” cards’ effects. Furthermore, I control Albion the Shrouded Dragon and no other monsters. In this situation, can I activate Super Polymerization, or Normal Summon a Fallen of Albaz and activate its effect, to Fusion Summon Titaniklad the Ash Dragon?
A: If a set of monsters that can be used as Fusion Materials does not exist, you cannot activate an effect that performs a Fusion Summon. Therefore, you cannot activate Super Polymerization in this scenario. Also, even if you Normal or Special Summon a Fallen of Albaz, you cannot activate its effect.

Source

 

Q: If I activated Pot of Prosperity, so that any damage my opponent takes this turn is halved, and my Masked HERO Anki with 2800 ATK attacks directly, do the effects of Pot of Prosperity and Masked HERO Anki that halve damage stack?
A: The effect of Pot of Prosperity that halves any damage your opponent takes does not stack with the effect of Masked HERO Anki that halves battle damage it inflicts. (Damage is not halved again.) Therefore, regardless of whether or not your opponent controls a monster when you attack directly with Masked HERO Anki that has 2800 ATK, the battle damage to your opponent is halved, so they take 1400 damage.

Source

 

Q: If an “Elemental HERO” monster in my Monster Zone is returned to the Deck by the effect of Phoenix Wing Wind Blast, can I activate D – Time?
A: If a face-up “Elemental HERO” monster in your Monster Zone returns to the Deck, you can activate D – Time.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls a Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission that was Special Summoned by its own effect. In that situation, I activate the effect of Raiza the Mega Monarch when it is Tribute Summoned, and target Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission along with a card in my opponent’s Graveyard to return to the top of the Deck. In this case, where in the Deck do the 2 cards return to when the effect resolves?
A: The targeted Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission returns to the bottom of your opponent’s Deck, and the card targeted in the Graveyard returns to the top of your opponent’s Deck. If all the cards that return to the Deck at the same time are returned to the top or bottom of the Deck, as in the above scenario, the Deck is not shuffled.

Source

 

Q: I activated the card Synchro Material, and targeted a Tatsunoko my opponent controls. After applying the effect, if I use that Tatsunoko as material for a Synchro Summon this turn, can I also use a monster in my hand as a material?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.