Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 12/13/21 Rulings Update

Twelve new/updated rulings.

 

Q: When using monsters in the Deck or monsters that are banished as Fusion Materials, can the effect of King of the Swamp be applied?
A: The effect of King of the Swamp cannot be applied while it is in the Deck or banished. (It cannot be used as a substitute for a Fusion Material monster.) The same is true for monsters such as Goddess with the Third Eye, Versago the Destroyer, The Light – Hex-Sealed Fusion, and The Dark – Hex-Sealed Fusion.

Source

 

Q: Can I activate the Pendulum Effects of Metalfoes Steelen, Metalfoes Silverd, Metalfoes Goldriver, or Metalfoes Volflame if I have no room in my Spell & Trap Zones?
A: For the Pendulum Effects of Metalfoes Steelen, etc., a “Metalfoes” Spell/Trap must be Set to your field directly from your Deck. If you activate the Pendulum Effect of Metalfoes Steelen, etc. while your Spell & Trap Zones are full, you must activate the effect by targeting a face-up card in your Spell & Trap Zone. (The targeted card is destroyed, and the “Metalfoes” Spell/Trap is Set from your Deck into the empty zone.) Therefore, if you activate the Pendulum Effect of Metalfoes Steelen, etc. while you have no room in your Spell & Trap Zones, you cannot target a face-up card in your Monster Zone or Field Zone.

Source

 

Q: When my opponent activates the monster effect of Performapal Celestial Magician, I chain the effect of Toadally Awesome. In this case, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, the activation of the effect of Performapal Celestial Magician is negated, and Performapal Celestial Magician is destroyed and added face-up to the Extra Deck. Afterward, if you apply the part of the effect that Sets the opponent’s card to your field, Performapal Celestial Magician must be Special Summoned face-down to an Extra Monster Zone or to a Main Monster Zone that a Link Monster points to.

Source

 

Q: I activated the monster effect of Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage, and selected the effect that prevents my opponent from activating the effects of cards in the Spell & Trap Zone this turn. During this turn, can my opponent activate Infinite Impermanence or Evenly Matched from their hand?
A: Even in this case, your opponent can activate Infinite Impermanence or Evenly Matched from their hand to the Spell & Trap Zone during this turn. (Their effects will be applied normally.)

Source

 

Q: I activated the second effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw as Chain Link 1, then activated Dogmatika Punishment as Chain Link 2. In this case, the effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw will resolve after the effect of Dogmatika Punishment that prevents me from Special Summoning from the Extra Deck is applied, so what happens?
A: In that case, the effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw is not applied. (You do not Special Summon monsters from the Deck.)

Source

 

Q: I activated 2 copies of Marincess Cascade on the same Chain, banishing 1 “Marincess” Link Monster until my next Standby Phase as the cost of each. In that case, how many times will the effect of Marincess Great Bubble Reef that increases its ATK by 600 be activated after the Chain resolves?
A: In that case, the effect of Marincess Great Bubble Reef will activate twice in a new Chain.

Source

 

Q: During a turn in which I already Link Summoned a Marincess Blue Slug, can I Special Summon a Marincess Blue Slug with the effect of Marincess Circulation? Also, during a turn in which I already Special Summoned a Marincess Blue Slug with the effect of Marincess Circulation, can I Link Summon a Marincess Blue Slug?
A: During a turn in which you already Link Summoned a Marincess Blue Slug, you cannot Special Summon a Marincess Blue Slug with the effect of Marincess Circulation. Furthermore, during a turn in which you already Special Summoned a Marincess Blue Slug with the effect of Marincess Circulation, you cannot Link Summon a Marincess Blue Slug.

Source

 

Q: I control a Number 59: Crooked Cook that is unaffected by card effects because it is the only card I control, and my opponent controls a Set card. In this situation, I activate the effect of Sage de Fleur in my hand, targeting my Number 59: Crooked Cook and my opponent’s Set card. What happens in this case?
A: In that case, Sage de Fleur is Special Summoned from your hand, and the Continuous Effect of Number 59: Crooked Cook will immediately stop applying, so the targeted Number 59: Crooked Cook and your opponent’s card are both destroyed.

Source

 

Q: DNA Transplant is activated by declaring EARTH, and its effect is applied while there is a Number 76: Harmonizer Gradielle on the field that is treated as DARK by its own effect as well as LIGHT. In this case, what happens to the Attribute of Number 76: Harmonizer Gradielle? Also, if the effect of a DNA Transplant that was activating by declaring EARTH is applying, and Number 76: Harmonizer Gradielle is Xyz Summoned using a monster that was originally DARK as a material, or if it activates its effect and attaches a DARK monster to itself as a material, what happens to its Attribute?
A: In either case, the Attribute of Number 76: Harmonizer Gradielle will be EARTH due to the effect of DNA Transplant. (It is not also treated as DARK.)

Source

 

Q: The Paths of Destiny was chained to the activation of Creature Swap. The effect of The Paths of Destiny causes both players to gain Life Points, then, when the effect of Creature Swap resolves, control of my Aromage Jasmine is switched to my opponent. In this case, will the effect of Aromage Jasmine that draws a card activate in a new Chain?
A: If control of Aromage Jasmine is changed after the Life Point increase, the effect of Aromage Jasmine will not activate.

Source

 

Q: I Fusion Summoned a Mudragon of the Swamp, sending Gem-Knight Garnet (Pyro/EARTH) and Gem-Knight Sapphire (Aqua/EARTH) to the Graveyard as the Fusion Materials. Afterward, the Field Spell Zombie World was activated, and the Gem-Knight Garnet and Gem-Knight Sapphire in the Graveyard became Zombie-Type. In this situation, if I activate De-Fusion by targeting Mudragon of the Swamp, can I Special Summon Gem-Knight Garnet and Gem-Knight Sapphire from the Graveyard?
A: In this case, the targeted Mudragon of the Swamp will return to the Extra Deck by the effect of De-Fusion, but you cannot Special Summon Gem-Knight Garnet and Gem-Knight Sapphire. When Special Summoning monsters from the Graveyard with the effect of De-Fusion, they must be the correct Fusion Materials as listed in the Fusion Monster’s text. In this case, since both monsters in the Graveyard are Zombie-Type, they are not “2 monsters with the same Attribute but different Types” as described in the text of Mudragon of the Swamp.

Source

 

Q: A Cloudian – Acid Cloud with Fog Counters placed on it by its own effect has its effects negated. In that case, what happens to the Fog Counters on Cloudian – Acid Cloud?
A: Even if the effects of Cloudian – Acid Cloud are negated, the Fog Counters on it are not removed. (This is the case whether the Fog Counters were placed on it by its own effect or the effect of another card.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.