[OCG] 11/17/16 Rulings

Getting Yu-Gi-Oh out of the way before giving myself over to Sun and Moon.

11/17/16 Rulings

Q: My opponent Special Summons a Predaplant Spino Dionaea in Defense Position, and uses its effect to place a Predator Counter on my face-up Greed Quasar. Afterward, if Greed Quasar attacks Predaplant Spino Dionaea and destroys it by battle, what will its Level become?
A: In this scenario, while Greed Quasar has a Predator Counter on it, its Level becomes 1, but its Level is increased by the original Level of the opponent’s Predaplant Spino Dionaea (4) when it destroys it by battle. Therefore, Greed Quasar will be Level 5 afterward.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8136&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When an attack is declared involving my Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia and an opponent’s monster with less than 1000 ATK, can I activate the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia that decreases the ATK of the opponent’s battling monster by 1000 and increases its own by 1000?
A: Even when an attack is declared involving your Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia and an opponent’s monster with less than 1000 ATK, you can activate the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia. (You can even activate the effect if the opponent’s monster has 0 ATK.) In that case, the effect will decrease the opponent’s monster’s ATK to 0, and Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia gains 1000 ATK normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7514&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia attacks my opponent’s Speedroid Pachingo-Kart, and I activate its effect that decreases the ATK of the opponent’s battling monster by 1000 and increases its own by 1000. If Book of Moon is chained, and Speedroid Pachingo-Kart is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia resolve?
A: In this scenario, if your opponent’s Speedroid Pachingo-Kart is in face-down Defense Position when the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia resolves, its ATK cannot be decreased by 1000. In that case, Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia does not gain 1000 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6136&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia attacks my opponent’s Speedroid Pachingo-Kart, and I activate its effect that decreases the ATK of the opponent’s battling monster by 1000 and increases its own by 1000. If Book of Moon is chained, and Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: Even in this scenario, Speedroid Pachingo-Kart loses 1000 ATK normally. However, if Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia is in face-down Defense Position, it cannot gain 1000 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13236&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, when I declare an attack on Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju with my Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia, I activate the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia that decreases the ATK of the opponent’s battling monster by 1000 and increases its own by 1000. If Remove Brainwashing is chained to this effect, how does the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Remove Brainwashing returns control of Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju to you. In this case, the effect of Predaplant Chimera Rafflesia does not apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13096&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Frightfur Sanctuary is face-up on my field, and its effect that treats all Fusion Monsters on my field as “Frightfur” monsters is applying. In this situation, I activate Polymerization, and Fusion Summon Elemental HERO Absolute Zero using Elemental HERO Stratos and Fluffal Penguin as Fusion Materials. In this case, can I activate the effect of Fluffal Penguin that activates when it is sent to the Graveyard as Fusion Material for a “Frightfur” Fusion Monster?
A: In this scenario, Fluffal Penguin is not treated as being sent to the Graveyard as Fusion Material for a “Frightfur” Fusion Monster, and its effect cannot be activated. Once Elemental HERO Absolute Zero is successfully Fusion Summoned, the effect of Frightfur Sanctuary will treat it as a “Frightfur” monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8002&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Caligula the Eidolon Beast is face-up on my field, and its effect that allows each player to activate only 1 monster effect per turn is applying. In this situation, my opponent activates a monster effect, but I chain Divine Wrath to negate the activation and destroy that monster. Afterward, can my opponent activate another monster effect this turn?
A: As in this scenario, if your opponent activated a monster effect, but the activation was negated by Divine Wrath, the effect of Caligula the Eidolon Beast will still prevent your opponent from activating a monster effect again that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7813&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Main Phase 1, I activate Instant Fusion and Special Summon a Raideen the Eidolon Beast. During this turn, if I activate the effect of Raideen the Eidolon Beast and change it to face-down Defense Position, will it be destroyed during the End Phase by the effect of Instant Fusion?
A: In this scenario, if a Raideen the Eidolon Beast that was Special Summoned by the effect of Instant Fusion is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effects of Instant Fusion are no longer applied to it. Therefore, Raideen the Eidolon Beast will not be destroyed during the End Phase. (Note that if it is changed to face-up Attack Position again this turn by the effect of Book of Taiyou, etc., it will be able to attack this turn.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6499&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up on the field, and neither player can banish cards. In this case, can I activate the effect of Merkabah the Eidolon Beast?
A: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, you cannot activate the effect of Merkabah the Eidolon Beast. However, the effect of Merkabah the Eidolon Beast can be chained to the activation of Imperial Iron Wall. In that case, the activation of Imperial Iron Wall is negated, and it is banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6863&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Magallanica the Eidolon Beast, and a Caligula the Eidolon Beast that was Special Summoned by the effect of Instant Fusion, were used as Fusion Materials to Fusion Summon Elysion the Eidolon Beast. If I activate De-Fusion targeting my Elysion the Eidolon Beast, how will its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, Elysion the Eidolon Beast returns to the Extra Deck normally. In this case, even if the Magallanica the Eidolon Beast and Caligula the Eidolon Beast that were used as Fusion Materials are both in your Graveyard, Caligula the Eidolon Beast is no longer treated as a monster that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. Therefore, you cannot Special Summon any monsters from your Graveyard with the effect of De-Fusion.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7673&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora is face-up on my opponent’s field. I activate the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast, targeting my face-up Magallanica the Eidolon Beast. If my opponent chains the effect of their Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora, targeting Magallanica the Eidolon Beast, how does the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast, if the targeted “Eidolon Beast” monster (in this case, Magallanica the Eidolon Beast) is unaffected by other cards’ effects, it will not be banished. Even in that case, the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast will banish all monsters on your opponent’s field with the same Attribute as the targeted monster. (In this case, since the effect targeted the EARTH-Attribute Magallanica the Eidolon Beast, your opponent’s Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora is banished normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9671&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Zoodiac Marmorat is face-up on my opponent’s field. I activate the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast, targeting my face-up Magallanica the Eidolon Beast. If Book of Moon is chained, and Zoodiac Marmorat is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast resolve?
A: As in this scenario, even if there are no face-up monsters on your opponent’s field with the same Attribute as the targeted “Eidolon Beast” monster when the effect of Elysion the Eidolon Beast resolves, that targeted monster (in this case, Magallanica the Eidolon Beast) is still banished. In this case, no monsters on the opponent’s field are banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8157&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of a Flower Cardian Cherry Blossom with Curtain that Special Summons it from my hand, but my opponent chains Ojama Trio so that I no longer have any available Monster Zones. When resolving the effect of Flower Cardian Cherry Blossom with Curtain, if the card I draw is Flower Cardian Peony with Butterfly, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if you draw a “Flower Cardian” monster with the effect of Flower Cardian Cherry Blossom with Curtain, you will not be able to Special Summon because there are no available Monster Zones on your field. Flower Cardian Cherry Blossom with Curtain will be sent to the Graveyard since it cannot be Special Summoned, but the drawn Flower Cardian Peony with Butterfly will remain in your hand. Note that in this case, drawing a card and showing it is not considered to be the last effect to resolve. Also, since Flower Cardian Cherry Blossom with Curtain was not first Special Summoned by its own effect, it cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with an effect such as Monster Reborn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11378&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Red Dragon Archfiend attacks my Defense Position Kozmoll Dark Witch and destroys it by battle. In that case, when the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend activates after damage calculation, can I chain the effect of Kozmoll Dark Witch that negates the activation of a monster effect?
A: In this scenario, since Kozmoll Dark Witch was destroyed by damage calculation, its effect cannot be activated when the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend activates after damage calculation.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7519&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Wind-Up Juggler battles my opponent’s Wind-Up Juggler, and both monsters are destroyed by battle. In that case, can the effect of Wind-Up Juggler be activated after damage calculation?
A: As in this scenario, if both players’ copies of Wind-Up Juggler battle and destroy each other, each player can still activate the effect of theirs after damage calculation. (Their effects will create a Chain, starting with the turn player’s Wind-Up Juggler.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11162&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons