[OCG] 11/23/17 Rulings

Weekly rulings update.

11/23/17 Rulings

Q: When Jack Knight of the Azure Sky is Normal Summoned or Special Summoned from my hand and I activate its effect, what happens if my opponent chains the effect of Fullmetalfoes Alkahest and equips that Jack Knight of the Azure Sky to it?
A: In this scenario, Jack Knight of the Azure Sky is treated as an Equip Card in your opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone when its effect resolves, and you cannot add any “Jack Knight” monsters from your Deck to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10052&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict, can I target a Gemini monster?
A: The effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict that equips an opponent’s monster to it must target an Effect Monster. Therefore, the effect cannot target a Gemini monster treated as a Normal Monster by its own effect. (It can target a Gemini monster treated as an Effect Monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11702&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Elemental HERO Neos Alius whose name is treated as Elemental HERO Neos by its own effect is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict and equip that Elemental HERO Neos Alius to it, how is its last effect applied?
A: The effect of Millennium-Eyes Restrict prevents monsters with the same name as those equipped to it from attacking and negates their effects, and in this scenario is applied to monsters named Elemental HERO Neos Alius. An Elemental HERO Neos Alius face-up in the Monster Zone cannot attack, also its effect that treats it as a Normal Monster is negated, so it is considered an Effect Monster. The effects of an Elemental HERO Neos Alius in the Graveyard are not negated, so it is still treated as a Normal Monster. (Other copies of Elemental HERO Neos Alius that are also treated as Elemental HERO Neos are unaffected.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13929&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Battle Phase, my opponent activated the coin-toss effect of Desperado Barrel Dragon. During the same Battle Phase, if I activate Rebellion and take control of that Desperado Barrel Dragon, can I attack with it?
A: Desperado Barrel Dragon cannot attack during the turn its effect is activated. In this scenario, even if you gained control of your opponent’s Desperado Barrel Dragon, it already activated its effect this turn, so you cannot attack with it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9919&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While my opponent has a face-up Red-Eyes B. Dragon in their Monster Zone, I activate the effect of Desperado Barrel Dragon during the Battle Phase. When the effect resolves, the coin toss result is 3 Heads, and I choose my opponent’s Red-Eyes B. Dragon as the only card to destroy. At this time, if my opponent applies the effect of Return of the Dragon Lords and banishes it from the Graveyard so that Red-Eyes B. Dragon is not destroyed, do I still draw a card due to all 3 results being Heads?
A: In this scenario, since no cards were destroyed by the effect of Desperado Barrel Dragon, you cannot draw a card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10232&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Heavy Metal Raiders is face-up in my Field Zone, and due to its effect, a Slot Machine on my field has gained 1000 ATK. In this situation, if my opponent activates Imperial Order, what happens to the applied effect?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Heavy Metal Raiders was already applied to Slot Machine, the ATK increase remains even if the effects are negated by Imperial Order afterward. (Note that the effect of Heavy Metal Raiders will not be applied again while Imperial Order is active, so your DARK Machine-Type monsters are destroyed by battle as usual and do not gain ATK.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10053&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate Ojamatching and add an “Ojama” monster and “Armed Dragon” monster from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand, can I choose Ojama King and Armed Dragon Catapult Cannon in my Graveyard?
A: The part of the effect of Ojamatching that adds monsters to your hand is mandatory, but you can choose not to apply the part of the effect that Normal Summons one of the added monsters afterward. In this scenario, since both Ojama King and Armed Dragon Catapult Cannon are Fusion Monsters, they return to the Extra Deck instead of being added to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10981&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Ojamatching and add Ojama Red and Armed Dragon LV5 to my hand. Afterward, can I Normal Summon the Armed Dragon LV5 using the effect of Ojamatching?
A: Armed Dragon LV5 is a Level 5 monster, so if you Normal Summon it using the effect of Ojamatching, a Tribute is still required. If you do not have a monster on your field to be able to perform a Tribute Summon, you cannot Normal Summon Armed Dragon LV5 using the effect of Ojamatching. (You can choose to Normal Summon the Ojama Red, or neither monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10982&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Skill Drain is face-up on the field, I activate Polymerization and use 3 copies of Ancient Gear Golem as material to Fusion Summon Megaton Ancient Gear Golem. Afterward, if I activate Harpie’s Feather Duster and destroy Skill Drain, how many times can Megaton Ancient Gear Golem attack?
A: The effect of Megaton Ancient Gear Golem that allows it to attack multiple times is a Continuous Effect. In this scenario, the effect is negated while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, so Megaton Ancient Gear Golem can only attack once normally, but when Skill Drain is destroyed and its effects apply again, Megaton Ancient Gear Golem can attack up to 3 times.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10283&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Competition – Cross Dimension, targeting an Ancient Gear Golem on my field. If Imperial Iron Wall is chained, what happens?
A: In this scenario, Competition – Cross Dimension resolves while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying. In that case, the targeted monster (Ancient Gear Golem in this scenario) cannot be banished, so it remains on the field and no further part of the effect is applied. (Also, Competition – Cross Dimension cannot be activated while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10291&keyword=&tag=-1

Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.