[OCG] 10/2/2014 OCG rulings

10/02/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: When Full House is activated, if one of the 3 Set Spell or Trap Cards among the 5 targets is activated in a chain, becoming face-up, how does this resolve?
Also, when Full House is activated, if one of the 5 targets has left the field by the time the effect resolves, how does this resolve?
A: Even if the targeted face-down Spell or Trap Cards are face-up during the resolution, they are destroyed normally during the resolution of the effect of Full House.
(All the 5 targeted cards are destroyed)
Furthermore, even if 1 of the targeted 5 cards has left the field by the time the effect resolves, the remaining 4 cards are destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13802&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Book of Moon was activated on a monster whose control was obtained by the effect of Gladiator Taming, flipping that monster to face-down Defense Position.
In this case, what happens with the control of that monster during the End Phase?
A: Even in that case, control of that monster returns to the opponent during the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13803&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Dodger Dragon is Normal Summoned while Skill Drain is active, is the effect that prevents the opponent from activating Counter Trap Cards applied?
Also, if Skill Drain is activated after Dodger Dragon is Normal Summoned, what happens to the application of the effect that prevents the opponent from activating Counter Trap Cards?
A: If Dodger Dragon is Normal Summoned while Skill Drain is active, the effect that prevents the opponent from activating Counter Trap Cards is not applied.
Also, if Skill Drain is activated after Dodger Dragon is Normal Summoned, the effect that prevents the opponent from activating Counter Trap Cards remains applied.
(It is not negated by Skill Drain)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13804&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Vampire Dragon Tribute Summoned face-up was later flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon.
Afterwards, if that Vampire Dragon is destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole while still face-down, can the effect of Vampire Dragon that adds a Level 4 or lower monster from the Deck to the hand be activated?
Also, if a Tribute Summoned Vampire Dragon that was flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard after being attacked and flipped face-up by the attack of an opponent’s monster, can the effect that adds a Level 4 or lower monster from the Deck to the hand be activated?
A: If a Vampire Dragon that was Tribute Summoned, flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon and later destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while face-down by cards like Dark Hole, the effect that adds a Level 4 or lower monster from the Deck to the hand can be activated.
Also, even if a Tribute Summoned Vampire Dragon that was flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard after being attacked and flipped face-up by the attack of an opponent’s monster, the effect that adds a Level 4 or lower monster from the Deck to the hand can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13805&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a face-down Defense Position Reborn Tengu on the field is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device or returned to the Deck by the effect of Phoenix Wing Wind Blast, does the effect that Special Summon another copy of Reborn Tengu activate?
Also, if a face-down Defense Position Reborn Tengu on the field is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while face-down by the effect of Dark Hole, does the effect that Special Summon another copy of Reborn Tengu activate?
A: If a face-down Defense Position Reborn Tengu on the field is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device or returned to the Deck by the effect of Phoenix Wing Wind Blast, the effect that Special Summons another copy of Reborn Tengu does not activate.
Also, if a face-down Defense Position Reborn Tengu on the field is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while face-down by the effect of Dark Hole, the effect that Special Summon another copy of Reborn Tengu does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13806&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Nordic Relic Megingjord be activated targeting a monster you control that has declared a direct attack?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13807&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a The Nordic Lights in the opponent’s Field Zone is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon and sent to the Graveyard, are “Nordic” monsters you control also destroyed by the effect of The Nordic Lights that destroys all face-up “Nordic” monsters?
A: The effect of The Nordic Lights that destroys all face-up “Nordic” monsters destroys all face-up “Nordic” monsters that you and the opponent control.
Therefore, if the opponent’s The Nordic Lights is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, all face-up “Nordic” monsters you control are also destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13808&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Magic Cylinder is activated in a chain to the effect of Karakuri Muso mdl 818 “Haipa” that changes it to Defense Position when it is targeted for an attack in face-up Attack Position, negating the attack, what happens with the Battle Position of Karakuri Muso mdl 818 “Haipa”?
A: In that case, even if the attack is negated by the effect of the Magic Cylinder activated in a chain, the effect is applied normally.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, Karakuri Muso mdl 818 “Haipa” is changed to face-up Defense Position.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13809&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After Special Summoning Scrap Mind Reader from the Graveyard by its own effect it was used as an Xyz Material for the Xyz Summon of Number 56: Goldrat.
Afterwards, if the effect of Goldrat is activated detaching that Scrap Mind Reader that became an Xyz Material, is Scrap Mind Reader banished?
A: In that case, it is not banished and is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13810&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you control Spellstone Sorcerer Karood, the effect of Snipe Hunter was activated and that effect was negated by the effect of Forbidden chalice.
In this case, is a Spellstone Counter placed on Spellstone Sorcerer Karood?
While you control Spellstone Sorcerer Karood, the effect of Dandylion was activated, and that activation was negated by the effect of Divine Wrath.
In this case, is a Spellstone Counter placed on Spellstone Sorcerer Karood?
A: Even if an activated monster effect is negated by the effect of Forbidden Chalice, since the activation was performed, a Spellstone Counter is placed on Spellstone Sorcerer Karood.
Also, if the activation itself of a monster effect is negated by Divine Wrath, a Spellstone Counter is not placed on Spellstone Sorcerer Karood.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13811&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Archfiend Empress that prevents a Fiend-Type monster from being destroyed be applied when a Fiend-Type monster the opponent controls would be destroyed?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13812&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent activates Forbidden Lance in a chain to the activation of your Super Rush Recklessly, so that the monster targeted by Super Rush Recklessly becomes unaffected by Spell or Trap Cards, how does Super Rush Recklessly resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the targeted Beast-Type monster becomes unaffected by Spell Cards, it is not destroyed by the effect of Super Rush Recklessly.
In that case, the part of the effect that returns 1 monster the opponent controls to the Deck is not applied either.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13813&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the effect of Amazoness Shamanism, so that an “Amazoness” monster you control is flipped to face-down Defense Position, is that monster destroyed by the effect of Amazoness Shamanism?
A: The monster is not destroyed by the effect of Amazoness Shamanism.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13814&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Amazoness Swordswoman was equipped with 2 copies of Amazoness Heirloom.
In this case, how many times is that Amazoness Swordswoman not destroyed in battle?
A: Even in that case, it is not destroyed by battle only once per turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13815&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Scrap Dragon sent directly from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of Zaborg the Mega Monarch be targeted by the effect of Guts of Steel?
A: Since that Scrap Dragon was not properly Special Summoned, it cannot be included in the targets of Guts of Steel.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13816&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of D.D. Crow was activated in a chain to the activation of Guts of Steel, banishing 1 of the 3 targets of Guts of Steel.
In this case, how does Guts of Steel resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, the opponent chooses 1 of the 2 monsters in your Graveyard that remain out of the 3 targets and Special Summons that monster to either side of the field.
(The targeted monster the opponent did not choose among the targeted monsters is banished)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13817&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the effect of Psychic Nightmare, so that that Psychic Nightmare is in face-down Defense Position by the time the effect resolves, how does the effect resolve?
A: If Psychic Nightmare is not face-up during the resolution of its own effect, the effect of Psychic Nightmare is not applied.
(The part of the effect that declares a card type in the opponent’s hand is not applied either)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13818&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Dark Desertapir is banished while activating the effect of Yellow Baboon, Archer of the Forest to Special Summon itself, can the effect of Dark Desertapir be activated?
A: In that case, the effect of Dark Desertapir cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13819&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a D.D. Destroyer treated as an Equip Card by the effect of Relinquished is banished by the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch, can the effect of D.D. Destroyer be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13820&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While resolving the effect of Naturia Pineapple that Special Summons itself from the Graveyard, if you control another Naturia Pineapple, is the effect that performs the Special Summon performed?
A: Even in that case, since the effect was already activated, the resolution of the effect is performed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13821&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While resolving the effect of Naturia Pineapple that Special Summons itself from the Graveyard, if you have monsters in your Graveyard that are not Plant-Type or Beast-Type, is the effect that performs the Special Summon performed?
A: Even in that case, since the effect was already activated, the resolution of the effect is performed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13822&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Is the effect of Amazoness Scout applied to “Amazoness” monsters Summoned after the effect resolves as well?
A: The effect of Amazoness Scout is applied only to face-up “Amazoness” monsters on the field when that effect resolves.
Therefore, it is not applied to “Amazoness” monsters Summoned after the effect resolves.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13823&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You only control 1 Infernity Archfiend, it battled with an Airknight Parshath of the opponent and you took Battle Damage.
In this case, your Infernity Archfiend is destroyed in battle, but can you activate Infernity Barrier in a chain to the activation of the effect of Airknight Parshath that draws a card that activates After Damage Calculation?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the effect of Airknight Parshath is activated before the Infernity Archfiend destroyed in battle is sent to the Graveyard, Infernity Barrier can be activated even if the only face-up Attack Position monster you control is the Infernity Archfiend that was destroyed in battle.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13824&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which the effect of Core Overclock that increases 1000 ATK was activated, if a “Koa’ki Meiru” monster is Normal Summoned afterwards, what happens with its ATK?
A: The effect of Core Overclock that increases 1000 ATK only affects face-up monsters you control when that effect resolves.
Therefore, if a “Koa’ki Meiru” monster is Normal Summoned afterwards, it is only affected by the effect of Core Overclock that increases 500 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13825&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster you control attacks a face-down Defense Position Synchro Monster the opponent controls and that Synchro Monster flipped face-up by that battle is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, can you activate Greed Grado during that turn?
A: Providing that that face-down Defense Position Synchro Monster is flipped face-up by battle and is destroyed by that battle and sent to the Graveyard, you can activate Greed Grado.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13826&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a face-down Defense Position “Koa’ki Meiru” monster you control is flipped face-up by the effect of Acid Trap Hole, and as a result, it would be destroyed, can the effect ofKoa’ki Meiru Ghoulungulate be applied?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13827&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Koa’ki Meiru Ghoulungulate be applied when itself would be destroyed by battle or card effects?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13828&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Berserking was applied targeting Voltic Kong and Berserk Gorilla, so that the ATK of Voltic Kong is halved to 900 and the ATK of Berserk Gorilla becomes 2900.
In this case, if that Berserking is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, what does the ATK of those 2 monsters become?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Berserking remains applied until the end of that turn.
(In the proposed scenario, until the end of the turn, the ATK of Voltic Kong remains at 900, and the ATK of Berserk Gorilla remains at 2900)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13829&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Swallow’s Nest is activated tributing a Alector, Sovereign of Birds, can another copy of Alector, Sovereign of Birds be Special Summoned from the Deck?
A: Since Alector, Sovereign of Birds is a monster that you can only control 1 copy of, while you control Alector, Sovereign of Birds you cannot activate effects that would Special Summon Alector, Sovereign of Birds in most cases. (The same applies for effects that tribute Alector, Sovereign of Birds as a cost like Swallow’s Nest)
However, if there is a monster other than Alector, Sovereign of Birds in your Deck that is of the same Level as the tributed monster (like Raiza the Storm Monarch), Swallow’s Nest can be activated tributing Alector, Sovereign of Birds and Special Summon Alector, Sovereign of Birds from the Deck during the resolution of that effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13830&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Koa’ki Meiru War Arms equipped with 3 Warrior-Type monsters by its own effect would be destroyed in battle by an opponent’s monster, how does the effect that prevents it from being destroyed in battle resolve?
A: In that case, since the effect is applied, all Warrior-Type monsters equipped to Koa’ki Meiru War Arms are destroyed instead.
(In the proposed scenario, since it is equipped with 3 monsters, all 3 monsters are destroyed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13831&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you control 2 or less Winged-Beast-Type monsters when the effect of Battlestorm resolves, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, the targeted Spell or Trap Card is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13832&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the battle position of a face-up monster the opponent controls be changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Avenging Knight Parshath that changes the Battle Position of 1 face-up monster the opponent controls?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13833&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Flame Spirit Ignis be activated if you have no FIRE monsters in your Graveyard?
A: No, you cannot.
(You also cannot tribute a face-up FIRE monster you control)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13834&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a face-down Nimble Musasabi you control be tributed for a Tribute Summon?
A: The effect that prevents Nimble Musasabi from being tributed for a Tribute Summon is a Continuous Effect.
Providing you control a face-down Nimble Musasabi, sinc e that effect is not applied, it can be tributed for a Tribute Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13835&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there is a face-up Super-Ancient Dinobeast and a DNA Surgery declaring Dinosaur-Type, Monster Reborn was activated targeting a Warrior-Type monster.
The Warrior-Type monster Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn is treated as a Dinosaur-Type monster by the effect of DNA Surgery, but in that case, can the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast that draws a card be activated?
A: In the proposed scenario, even if the monster in the Graveyard Special Summoned by Monster Reborn is treated as Dinosaur-Type by the effect of DNA Surgery, it is not a Dinosaur-Type monster in your Graveyard being Special Summoned successfully.
Therefore, the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13836&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a face-up Defense Position Plaguespreader Zombie Special Summoned by its own effect is attacked by Ehren, Lightsworn Monk and the effect of returning it to the Deck is activated, what happens with that Plaguespreader Zombie?
A: In that case, since that Plaguespeader Zombie would leave the field, it is not returned to the Deck and is banished instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13837&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During your Draw Phase, can you activate both the effect of a Dark General Freed you control that adds 1 Level 4 DARK monster form the Deck to the hand instead of conducting the normal draw and the effect of a Magical Blast in your Graveyard that adds it to the hand instead of conducting the normal draw?
A: In the proposed scenario, the effects of the Dark General Freed you control and the effect of the Magical Blast in the Graveyard can be activated forming a chain in any order.
In that case, since either effect is applied instead of conducting the normal draw, the effect activated as Chain Link 2 resolves normally and the effect activated as Chain Link 1 does not resolve as an end result.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13838&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Thousand-Eyes Jellyfish be Special Summoned by its own method by tributing a face-down Ocean’s Keeper?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13839&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there is a face-up Grandmaster of the Six Samurai treated as an Equip Spell Card by the effect of Zubaba General, can a Grandmaster of the Six Samurai be Normal or Special Summoned?
A: Even in that case, since you can only control 1 Grandmaster of the Six Samurai, you cannot Normal or Special Summon a second copy of Grandmaster of the Six Samurai.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13840&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons