[OCG] 10/21/15 and 10/22/15 Rulings

V-Jump Promo rulings + Weekly rulings.

10/21/15 Rulings

Q: Can the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi be activated by targeting a Machine-Type Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster?
A: The effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi can target a Machine-Type Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster. In that case, the targeted monster is returned to your Extra Deck instead of being added to your hand, but the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters with the same name this turn is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17587&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is activated, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device are chained so that Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, is the effect applied?
A: When resolving the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi, even if Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi itself is no longer face-up on the field, its effect is applied normally. (Furthermore, if you have a Spell/Trap Card in your Graveyard at this time, the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters is applied normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17589&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is activated, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow so that the targeted monster is no longer in the Graveyard, how does the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi resolve?
A: If the effect of D.D. Crow is chained to the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi so that the targeted monster is not in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, the effect is not applied, including the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17590&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is activated by targeting Cyber Dragon Core, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this case, the targeted Cyber Dragon Core is treated as Cyber Dragon by its own effect while it is in the Graveyard. Thus, if the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is applied while you have a Spell/Trap Card in your Graveyard, you will not be able to Normal or Special Summon Cyber Dragon for the rest of this turn. (You can still Normal or Special Summon Cyber Dragon Core, including the one that was added to your hand.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17586&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi adds Speedroid Menko to my hand, and the part of the effect that prevents me from Normal or Special Summoning it this turn is also applied. This turn, am I still able to Set Speedroid Menko in face-down Defense Position?
A: If you have a Spell/Trap Card in your Graveyard when you apply the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi, you cannot Normal or Special Summon monsters with the targeted monster’s name for the rest of this turn (in this situation, that means Speedroid Menko). You can still Normal Set the monster in face-down Defense Position, but you cannot Special Summon it in face-down Defense Position with an effect such as The Shallow Grave.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17585&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While I do not have any Spell/Trap Cards in my Graveyard, I activate the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi and add Card Trooper to my hand. This turn, if a Spell/Trap Card is then sent to my Graveyard, can I still Normal or Special Summon the Card Trooper in my hand?
A: The effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters is applied when you resolve the effect. In this scenario, since there were no Spell/Trap Cards in your Graveyard when the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi resolved, even if a Spell/Trap Card is sent to your Graveyard later this turn, you can still Normal/Special Summon the monsters with the targeted monster’s name.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17581&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Successor is Set in my Spell & Trap Zone, while the only card in my Graveyard is Superheavy Samurai Scales. If I Synchro Summon Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi and activate its effect by targeting Superheavy Samurai Scales, but my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys my Set Skill Successor, will the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi prevent me from Normal or Special Summoning Superheavy Samurai Scales this turn?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi, since Skill Successor is in your Graveyard, the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters with the same name as the targeted monster is applied. (For the rest of this turn, you cannot Normal/Special Summon Superheavy Samurai Scales.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17582&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mischief of the Gnomes and Superheavy Samurai Scales are the only cards in my Graveyard. If I Synchro Summon Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi and activate its effect by targeting Superheavy Samurai Scales, but then chain the effect of Mischief of the Gnomes by banishing it from the Graveyard, will the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi prevent me from Normal or Special Summoning Superheavy Samurai Scales this turn?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi, since you have no Spell/Trap Cards in your Graveyard, the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters with the same name as the targeted monster is not applied. (For the rest of this turn, you can still Normal/Special Summon Superheavy Samurai Scales.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17583&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the first effect of Stellarknight Constellar Diamond is applying, can the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi be activated?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi can be activated. In that case, due to the effect of Stellarnight Constellar Diamond, the targeted Machine-Type monster is banished instead of being added to your hand, but the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters with the same name as the targeted monster is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17588&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi is activated, but the activation is negated by Divine Wrath, or the effect is negated by The End of Anubis, will the part of its effect that prevents me from Normal or Special Summoning monsters this turn still apply?
A: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Swordmaster Musashi, or its activation, are negated, the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters this turn is not applied. (You can still Normal/Special Summon monsters with that name this turn.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17584&keyword=&tag=-1

10/22/15 Rulings

Q: Although the player who plays the first turn in a Duel cannot draw that turn, do they still conduct their Draw Phase?
A: When a player plays the first turn of the Duel, they still conduct their Draw Phase that turn, but they do not perform their normal draw. Players can still draw cards with card effects, such as if Hand Destruction is activated during that Draw Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7312&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Mage Power include cards in the Pendulum Zones?
A: Since Pendulum Monsters placed in the Pendulum Zone are considered Spell Cards, they are included for the effect of Mage Power. For example, if you have a Field Spell Card in your Field Zone, 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones, and 5 Spell/Trap Cards including Mage Power in your Spell & Trap Zones, there will be 8 Spell/Trap Cards on your side of the field, so the equipped monster gains 4000 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7315&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Fiendish Rhino Warrior is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I Normal Summon Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Alich, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Rubik, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Calcab, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Libic, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Cagna, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, Draghig, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, or Barbar, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Fiendish Rhino Warrior prevents other Fiend-Type monsters from being destroyed by battle or card effects, while the effects of monsters such as Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss destroy them if you have a monster on your side of the field that is not a “Burning Abyss” monster. While the effect of Fiendish Rhino Warrior is applied, Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, etc. are not destroyed by their own effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9054&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent Special Summons Destiny HERO – Plasma, I activate the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia by sending Bottomless Trap Hole from my Deck to the Graveyard. In this case, what happens with the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole?
A: When the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia is activated, and the effect of the sent “Hole” Normal Trap Card is applied, it is not treated as the effect of a Trap Card. As long as Destiny HERO – Plasma is on your opponent’s side of the field, the effects of your face-up monsters are negated, so the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia is not applied. (Therefore, in this case, the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole is not applied.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16282&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Traptrix Rafflesia is activated by sending Treacherous Trap Hole to the Graveyard. If 1 of the 2 targeted monsters is Elemental HERO Wildheart, is it unaffected by the effect of Treacherous Trap Hole?
A: When the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia is activated, and the effect of the sent “Hole” Normal Trap Card is applied, it is not treated as the effect of a Trap Card. Since Elemental HERO Wildheart is only unaffected by Trap effects, the effect will be applied normally. (Therefore, in this case, Elemental HERO Wildheart and the other targeted monster are destroyed by the effect of Treacherous Trap Hole.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17591&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Odd-Eyes Gravity Dragon is face-up in my Monster Zone, my opponent Normal Summons Mathematician. If my opponent pays 500 Life Points to activate the effect of Mathematician, can I activate Cash Back?
A: The effect of Odd-Eyes Gravity Dragon makes it so that your opponent cannot activate cards or effects unless they pay 500 Life Points, but this is not treated as the cost of activating those card effects. Therefore, in this scenario, Cash Back cannot be chained to the effect of Mathematician.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17350&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Chain Energy is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, my opponent pays 500 Life Points to activate Harpie’s Feather Duster from their hand. In this case, can I chain Cash Back?
A: The effect of Chain Energy makes it so that players cannot activate cards or effects, Summon, or Set cards from their hand unless they pay 500 Life Points, but this is not treated as the cost of activating those card effects. Therefore, in this scenario, Cash Back cannot be chained Harpie’s Feather Duster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8397&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Xyz-Raypierce be added to my hand with the effect of Generation Force?
A: Xyz-Raypierce is a card with “Xyz” in its name, so you can add it to your hand with Generation Force.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7845&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a face-down Defense Position monster be targeted with the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss?
A: A face-down Defense Position monster can be targeted with the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss. In that case, the monster is banished face-down, and returns to the field in face-down Defense Position.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6902&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If The Prime Monarch was Special Summoned by its own effect, can it be targeted with the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss?
A: The Prime Monarch that was Special Summoned by its own effect can be targeted with the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss. In that case, The Prime Monarch that was banished will return to the Monster Zone during the End Phase, but since it is no longer treated as a Monster Card, it is immediately sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12619&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If The Prime Monarch was Special Summoned by its own effect, can it be targeted with Karma Cut?
A: The Prime Monarch that was Special Summoned by its own effect can be targeted with Karma Cut. In that case, the effect that banishes all cards with the same name from the Graveyard is applied normally, so any additional copies of The Prime Monarch in the Graveyard are banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7937&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have already Special Summoned a monster from the Extra Deck this turn, can I activate March of the Monarchs?
A: Yes, you can. While the effect of March of the Monarchs is applying, you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10970&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While I have Foucault’s Cannon (Pendulum Scale 2) in my Pendulum Zone, I activate Timegazer Magician (Pendulum Scale 8) in my other Pendulum Zone. Can I chain my own Pendulum Back? If so, which Level monsters can I target?
A: If there is a Pendulum Monster already in your Pendulum Zone, and you activate a second Pendulum Monster as a Spell Card, you can chain Pendulum Back at that time. In this scenario, since the Pendulum Effect of Timegazer Magician is not applying yet, you can target monsters with Pendulum Back whose Levels are 3-7. (The effect is then applied normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12746&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Power Filter is applying, can Monster Gate be activated?
A: Even if the effect of Power Filter is applying, Monster Gate can be activated. When resolving it, if the first excavated monster that can be Normal Summoned/Set is a monster with 1000 or less ATK, since it cannot be Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard along with the other excavated cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11536&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of And the Band Played On is applying, and I have no monsters on my side of the field, can I Pendulum Summon multiple monsters with the same Level?
A: In this scenario, since there are no monsters already on your side of the field, there are no Levels of monsters which you cannot Special Summon due to the effect of And the Band Played On. In this case, you can Pendulum Summon multiple monsters at the same time with the same Level.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8163&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When the effect of Metaion, the Timelord is activated during the Standby Phase, but Book of Moon is chained and Metaion, the Timelord is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: When the effect of Metaion, the Timelord is activated during the Standby Phase, even if Metaion, the Timelord itself is in face-down Defense Position when the effect resolves, it is shuffled into the Deck normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10993&keyword=&tag=-1

This is what the PHSW text meant, silly playerbase. People actually used to think the effect could activate while Metaion was face-down because of that bad text.

Q: If the effect of Hammer Shark is activated, but Book of Moon is chained and Hammer Shark is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if Hammer Shark has been changed to face-down Defense Position, its Level cannot be reduced by 1 by its own effect, so you cannot Special Summon a Level 3 WATER monster from your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12943&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Legendary Ocean is face-up in the Field Zone. If I activate the effect of Hammer Shark, but Mischief of the Yokai is chained, how does the effect of Hammer Shark resolve?
A: In this scenario, the original Level of Hammer Shark is 4, but has been reduced by 1 by the effect of A Legendary Ocean, and a further 2 by the effect of Mishief of the Yokai. Since Hammer Shark’s Level has become 1, you cannot apply the part of its effect that reduces its Level by 1, so you cannot Special Summon a Level 3 WATER monster from your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12944&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons