[OCG] 10/16/2014 OCG rulings

10/16/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: What does “tributing” mean?
A: According to the Master Rules, this is an action necessary to perform a Tribute Summon or other actions.
In most cases, this constitutes sending a monster you control to the Graveyard for a “tribute”.
The tributed monster is not considered to be destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=237&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can face-down monsters on the field be tributed?
A: Yes, they can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=273&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Jurrac Guaiba you own has changed control to the opponent by the effect of Enemy Controller.
In this case, if a Jurrac Guaiba you control is attacked by the Jurrac Guaiba the opponent controls, so that both copies are destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, do the effects of each copy of Jurrac Guaiba activate?
A: The effect of Jurrac Guaiba does not activate if it battles with a monster with the same ATK and Jurrac Guaiba itself is destroyed in battle.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the effect of neither copy of Jurrac Guaiba activates.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14018&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Ironhammer the Giant target a face-down monster?
Also, after the effect of Ironhammer the Giant resolves, if the targeted face-up monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, is the effect that allows it to attack directly still applied?
A: The effect of Ironhammer the Giant cannot target a monster that cannot attack like a face-down Defense Position monster.
Also, even if the targeted face-up monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, the effect resolves normally.
(Providing that monster becomes face-up that turn, it can attack the opponent directly)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14019&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a face-up Elemental HERO Avian.
After the opponent activates Prohibition declaring “Elemental HERO Avian”, the Elemental HERO Avian on the field is destroyed by the effect of Fissure and sent to the Graveyard.
In this case, can you activate Miracle Fusion using that Elemental HERO Avian that was sent to the Graveyard as a Fusion Material?
A: If Prohibition is activated declaring “Elemental HERO Avian”, an “Elemental HERO Avian” in the Graveyard cannot be banished as a Fusion Material by Miracle Fusion.
(This is no different if Elemental HERO Avian is sent to the Graveyard before or after the effect of Prohibition is applied)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14020&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a “Madolche” monster Special Summoned by the effect of Madolchepalooza is affected by Forbidden Lance, is it returned to the owner’s Deck during the End Phase?
A: Even in that case, it is returned normally to the owner’s Deck during the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14021&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Barrel Behind the Door be activated in a chain to the effect of a D-Boyz that was flipped face-up?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14022&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster Special Summoned by Regretful Rebirth is affected by Forbidden Lance, is that monster destroyed during the End Phase?
A: Even in that case, it is destroyed during the End Phase normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14023&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Proto-Cyber Dragon is being treated as “Cyber Dragon” by its own effect.
If Generation Shift is activated targeting that Proto-Cyber Dragon, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, when that effect resolves, the card that is added to the hand is Cyber Dragon.
(Furthermore, if you have no copies of Cyber Dragon in your Deck, you cannot activate Generation Shift targeting a Proto-Cyber Dragon that has its name treated as Cyber Dragon)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14024&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can you activate Magic Cylinder when a monster with 0 ATK declares an attack?
A: Yes, you can.
In that case, the attack is negated, but no damage is inflicted to the opponent.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14025&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Maiden with Eyes of Blue is targeted as 1 of the targets of Icarus Attack, can its effect to Special Summon Blue-Eyes White Dragon be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14026&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Relieve Monster be activated targeting a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, the targeted Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monster is returned to the Extra Deck, and since the targeted monster was not returned to the hand, the part of the effect that Special Summons a Level 4 monster from the hand is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14027&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Noble Arms of Destiny be equipped to a monster that has been affected by the effect of Forbidden Lance?
A: Yes, it can.
Noble Arms of Destiny is equipped and remains in the Spell & Trap Zone, but while the effect of Forbidden Lance is being applied, the equipped monster is also unaffected by the effect of Noble Arms of Destiny that prevents it from being destroyed by battle or card effects once per turn.
Therefore, if that equipped monster would be destroyed by battle or card effects that turn, it is destroyed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14028&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After the effect of Ghost Fairy Elfobia was applied, if that Ghost Fairy Elfobia is affected by the effect of Forbidden Chalice, negating its effects, what happens with the applied effect?
A: Even in that case, the effect that was applied is not negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14029&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Ghost Fairy Elfobia is being applied, are monsters with a Level higher than the Level of the revealed monster unable to activate their effects outside the field like in the hand or Graveyard?
A: In that case, monsters become unable to activate effects outside the field, like in the hand or Graveyard or effects that activate while they are banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14030&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent Normal Summoned Rescue Rabbit and activated the effect of that Rescue Rabbit during the same turn, Special Summoning 2 monsters.
In this case, can the effect of a Trifortresstops in your hand be activated?
A: In the proposed scenario, the opponent has Normal Summoned Rescue Rabbit, and has resolved the effect of that Rescue Rabbit, successfully Normal or Special Summoned a total of 3 monsters.
Therefore, the effect of a Trifortresstops in your hand can be activated that turn, Special Summoning it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14031&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Mermail Abyssteus be Special Summoned by its own effect if you have no Level 4 or lower “Mermail” monsters in your Deck?
A: Even in that case, Mermail Abyssteus can be Special Summoned by its own effect.
When Mermail Abyssteus is successfully Special Summoned, its effect to add a Level 4 or lower “Mermail” monster from your Deck to your hand activates mandatorily, starting a chain.
(In the proposed scenario, since there are no Level 4 or lower “Mermail” monsters in the Deck, the effect does not resolve as an end result)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14032&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Slushy is Normal Summoned while the effect of Macro Cosmos is being applied, can its effect be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.
In that case, the chosen Slushy from the Deck is not sent to the Graveyard and is banished instead by the effect of Macro Cosmos.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14033&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the activation of an effect of a Level 5 or higher monster be negated by the effect of Xyz Wrath?
For example, can the effect of Xyz Wrath be activated in a chain to the effect of Fire King High Avatar Garunix to Special Summon itself or the effect of Tidal, Dragon Ruler of Waterfalls to add a WATER Dragon-Type monster from the Deck to the hand?
A: Providing a Level 5 or higher monster activates its effect, the effect of Xyz Wrath can negate the activation of effects that activate outside the field.
(The effect of Xyz Wrath can be activated in a chain to the activation of effects like the effect of Fire King High Avatar Garunix that activate in the Graveyard or the effect of Tidal, Dragon Ruler of Waterfalls that activates when it is Banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14035&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of A Legendary Ocean is being applied.
If a face-down Defense Position Aqua Armor Ninja is tributed to activate Ninjitsu Art of Duplication, “Ninja” Monsters of which Level can be Special Summoned by that effect?
A: In the proposed scenario, Aqua Armor Ninja was tributed while in face-down Defense Position to activate Ninjitsu Art of Duplication. Face-down Defense Position monsters are not affected by the effect of A Legendary Ocean.
Since the Original Level of Aqua Armor Ninja is 4, “Ninja” Monsters whose Level add up 4 or less are Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14036&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Flame Armor Ninja had its Level increased by 1 by its own effect, becoming 5.
Afterwards, if that Flame Armor Ninja is tributed to activate Ninjitsu Art of Duplication, “Ninja” Monsters of which Level can be Special Summoned by that effect?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the Level of the Flame Armor Ninja tributed to activate Ninjitsu Art of Duplication is 5, “Ninja” Monsters whose Level add up 5 or less are Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14037&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 or more “Ninja” monsters are Special Summoned by the effect of Ninjitsu Art of Duplication, can the Battle Position of each monster be chosen?
(Must all Special Summoned monsters be in the same Battle Position?)
In that case, it is not necessary that all monsters are in the same Battle Position. You can choose the Battle Position of each monster that is Special Summoned.
(For example, if 2 monsters are Special Summoned, it is possible to Special Summon 1 in face-up Attack Position and 1 in face-down Defense Position)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14038&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Smashing Horn be activated in a chain to the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh?
A: Since the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is an effect that negates the Normal or Special Summon of a monster, Smashing Horn can be activated in a chain to its effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14039&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent activated Magic Jammer in a chain to the activation of your Monster Reborn.
In this case, can Smashing Horn be activated in a chain?
A: A Special Summon would be performed during the resolution of the effect of Monster Reborn, but as for Magic Jammer, since it negates the activation of Spell Cards, it is not an effect that negates the Normal or Special Summon of monsters.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, Smashing Horn cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14040&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 copies of Nordic Relic Megingjord are activated targeting the same monster durnig the same turn, what happens with that monster’s ATK and DEF?
A: A monster affected by the effect of Nordic Relic Megingjord has its ATK and DEF become twice their Original values.
Even if the same monster is affected by 2 copies of Nordic Relic Megingjord, as an end result, the ATK and DEF only become twice their Original values.
(It is no different to applying the effect of a single copy of Nordic Relic Megingjord)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14041&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, if Djinn Disserere of Rituals is tributed while performing a Ritual Summon, is the Special Summoned Ritual Monster affected by the effect that prevents it from being affected by the effects of Trap Cards?
Or are its effects negated by Skill Drain?
A: In the proposed scenario, since that Ritual Summoned Ritual Monster is affected by the effect that makes it unaffected by the effects of Trap Cards, its effects are not negated by Skill Drain.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14042&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you control no Field Spell Cards in your Field Zone and only the opponent has a face-up Field Spell Card in their Field Zone, are the effects of Maiden of the Aqua or Gravekeeper’s Priestess that treat the field as Umi or Necrovalley applied?
A: The effects of Maiden of the Aqua or Gravekeeper’s Priestess are only applied if neither player has Field Spell Cards in their Field Zones.
In the proposed scenario, even if the player controlling Maiden of the Aqua (or Gravekeeper’s Priestess) has no face-up Field Spell Cards in their Field Zone, providing the opponent has a face-up Field Spell Card in their Field Zone, their effects are not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14043&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Level 7 or higher monster that was Tribute Summoned using Hardened Armed Dragon is later flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, is that monster destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole?
A: In that case, since the effect that prevents that monster from being destroyed by card effects is no longer applied, it is destroyed normally by the effect of Dark Hole.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14044&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You activated a Defensive Tactics targeted by the opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon in a chain.
In this case, is the part of the effect of Defensive Tactics that places it at the bottom of the Deck applied?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the part of the effect of Defensive Tactics that places it at the bottom of the Deck is still applied.
In this case, since Defensive Tactics is placed at the bottom of the Deck after it resolves, it is not destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14045&keyword=&tag=-1ponele

Q: Is the effect of Gemini Summoner that prevents it from being destroyed in battle once per turn mandatorily applied?
(Can be player decide not to use it arbitrarily?)
A: The effect of Gemini Summoner is applied once per turn mandatorily when it would be destroyed by battle.
(The player cannot decide not to use it arbitrarily)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14046&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent controls a face-up El Shaddoll Winda Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by the effect of El Shaddoll Fusion.
In this case, if Necloth Exomirror is activated, Ritual Summoning The Necloth of Unicore,, can you perform Special Summons that turn?
A: While the effect of El Shaddoll Winda that prevents Special Summons is being applied, both players can only Special Summon monsters once.
In the proposed scenario, since The Necloth of Unicore is Ritual Summoned and its effect that negates effects is applied, providing the effect of El Shaddoll Winda is negated, you can perform Special Summons that turn.
However, if The Necloth of Unicore leaves the field or similar, the effect of El Shaddoll Winda stops being negated, and sicne you have already performed a Special Summon, you can no longer Special Summon during that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14047&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Necloth Exomirror was activated, and during the resolution a Shrit, Caster of the Necloth was banished from the Graveyard and a Ritual Summon was performed.
In this case, is the Shrit, Caster of the Necloth that was banished from the Graveyard treated as being tributed?
Also, if it is, can its effect that adds a Warrior-Type “Neclo9th” Ritual Monster from the Deck to the hand be activated?
A: In that case, even if the effect of Shrit, Caster of the Necloth that uses it as the entire tribute for the Ritual Summon is applied, Shrit, Caster of the Necloth is not treated as being tributed and it is banished only to meet the tributes required to perform the Ritual Summon.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the effect of Shrit, Caster of the Necloth that adds a Warrior-Type “Necloth” Ritual Monster from the Deck to the hand cannot be applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14048&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the opponent controls a monster, a Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai you control is equipped with Shooting Star Bow – Ceal.
If it declares an attack in this situation, is the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent halved?
A: In the proposed scenario, the ATK of Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai becomes 800 after being reduced by 1000 by the effect of Shooting Star Bow – Ceal.
If a direct attack is performed while the opponent controls a monster, depending on which effect is used to perform the direct attack, the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent varies.
Providing the direct attack is performed by the effect of Shooting Star Bow – Ceal, the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent is 800.
Providing the direct attack is performed by the effect of Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai, the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent is half of 800, for a total of 400.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14049&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the opponent controls a monster, at the time Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai declared a direct attack via its effect, the opponent activated Forbidden Chalice.
In this case, what happens with the attack of Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai?
A: If Forbidden Chalice is activated during the Battle Step in which Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai declared a direct attack via its effect, negating its effects, a replay is triggered. (It must be decided whether to attack the opponent’s monster or to stop the attack)
Also, if Forbidden Chalice is activated during the Damage Step in which Kamanitachi of the Hermit Yokai declared a direct attack via its effect, negating its effects, the direct is performed normally. (Furthermore, in this case, the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent is not halved)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14050&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If The Necloth of Unicore and Masked HERO Dark Law battle, so that The Necloth of Unicore is destroyed in battle and banished, what happens with each effect?
A: In the proposed scenario, the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law that banishes cards instead of sending them to the Graveyard is being negated by the effect of The Necloth of Unicore, but since The Necloth of Unicore is destroyed in battle, that effect is no longer applied.
Therefore, since the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law is no longer negated, the The Necloth of Unicore that was destroyed in battle is not sent to the Graveyard and is banished instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14051&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Djinn Demolisher of Rituals be banished by the effect of Necloth Exomirror that Ritual Summons?
A: For the effect of Necloth Exomirror, only “Necloth” monsters can be banished from the Graveyard instead of tributing monsters.
However, Djinn Demolisher of Rituals can be banished from the Graveyard instead of tributing a Level 3 monster when a Ritual Summon is performed by its own effect.
Therefore, it is possible to Ritual Summon The Necloth of Trishula from the Hand by activating Necloth Exomirror, banishing a Level 3 Djinn Demolisher of Rituals and a Level 6 The Necloth of Brionac from the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14052&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which the effect of Apelion the Noble Spirit Beast is being applied, if Apelion the Tamed Sacred Spirit Beast declares an attack, applying its effect that makes it unaffected by the effects of other cards, what happens with its ATK and DEF?
A: If the effect of Apelion the Noble Spirit Beast is being applied, the ATK of Apelion the Tamed Sacred Spirit Beast becomes 3100 and its DEF becomes 900, but if Apelion the Tamed Sacred Spirit Beast declares an attack, since its effect is applied, its ATK becomes 2600 and its DEF 400.
Furthermore, after the attack of Apelion the Tamed Sacred Spirit Beast is finished and gameplay returns to the Battle Step, since it is affected once again by the effect of Apelion the Noble Spirit Beast, its ATK returns to 3100 and its DEF returns to 900.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14053&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons