[OCG] 10/10/2013 OCG Rulings

10/10/2013
Assorted rulings:

Q: If a player has Abyss-scale of the Cetus equipped to a monster, and the opponent activates a Set Abyss-sphere, how does the effect of Abyss-scale of the Cetus apply?
A: If a player has Abyss-scale of the Cetus equipped to a monster, and the opponent activates any Set Continuous Trap Card, only the effect that applies when the Trap Card resolves in a chain will be negated by Abyss-scale of the Cetus. Afterward, any effect that applies as long as that Trap Card remains face-up on the field will still apply. Therefore, in the above scenario, Abyss-scale of the Cetus will negate the effect of Abyss-sphere which Special Summons 1 “Mermail” monster from the Deck, but Abyss-sphere remains on the field (Abyss-scale of the Cetus is sent to the Graveyard when at resolution). Abyss-sphere will continue to apply its effect which prevents the player from activating Spell Cards, and it will still be destroyed during the opponent’s next End Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12936&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a player has Abyss-scale of the Cetus equipped to a monster, and the opponent activates the effect of Ultimate Offering, how does the effect of Abyss-scale of the Cetus apply?
A: Abyss-scale of the Cetus will negate the effect of Ultimate Offering which Normal Summons or Sets a monster, and will send itself to the Graveyard. The opponent can then pay 500 Life Points to activate the effect of Ultimate Offering again, and its effect will not be negated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12937&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: What happens when Swords of Revealing Light is negated by Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi?
A: Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi will negate the effect that flips all face-down monsters the opponent controls face-up, and will send itself to the Graveyard. However, Swords of Revealing Light will remain on the field for 3 of the opponent’s turns, and the effect which prevents the opponent’s monsters from attacking will apply normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12935&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effects of multiple monsters are activated in the same chain, which effect will be negated by Abyss-scale of the Kraken? Example: Chain Link 1 Exiled Force, Chain Link 2 Doomcaliber Knight, Chain Link 3 Constellar Pleiades.
A: The effect of Abyss-scale of the Kraken does not start a chain and is applied when resolving a monster effect. Therefore it applies when the latest monster effect on the chain resolves. In the above example, it will negate the effect of Constellar Pleiades.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12934&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster’s effects are being negated by Forbidden Chalice, can it be targeted by the effect of Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight?
A: The effect of Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight can be activated by targeting a monster whose effects are already negated. In this case, the effects of Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight will apply normally and the targeted monster will be unaffected by other card effects, but the effects of Forbidden Chalice which has already resolves will continue to apply (it will still gain 400 ATK).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12932&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight targeted itself with its own effect, can it then be targeted by the effect of Mechquipped Angineer?
A: Mechquipped Angineer can target Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight, even though it is unaffected by other card effects. As such, the effect of Mechquipped Angineer does not apply (Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight is not changed to face-up Defense Position, and it can be destroyed). But if the effect of Mechquipped Angineer was already being applied when Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight resolved its effect, the effect of Mechquipped Angineer will continue to apply (Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight cannot be destroyed that turn).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12931&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a player controls Vanity’s Emptiness, and that player activates Foolish Burial, will the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness which destroys itself activate twice? Furthermore, if Vanity’s Emptiness was previously targeted by Stardust Spark Dragon, how do the effects resolve?
A: The effect of Foolish Burial sends 1 monster from the Deck to the Graveyard, and after it resolves Foolish Burial itself is sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is triggered twice and activates twice on the same chain. If the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon is being applied to Vanity’s Emptiness, then at Chain Link 2 Vanity’s Emptiness will not destroy itself, but at Chain Link 1 it will destroy itself.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12929&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite be activated by returning a face-up Vanity’s Emptiness to the hand as the cost?
A: While Vanity’s Emptiness is face-up, neither player may activate an effect to Special Summon a monster. Therefore, it is not possible to activate the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite nor to pay its cost.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12928&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a player controls Dragon Ice, can their opponent Summon Dragon Ice?
A: There can only be 1 face-up Dragon Ice on the field. Therefore, if a player controls a Dragon Ice, their opponent cannot Summon their own copy, including by its own effect or by the effect of Monster Reborn, etc.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12926&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a player declares a direct attack with Star Eater, can the opponent activate the effect of Swift Scarecrow? And if so, how does it resolve?
A: When Star Eater declares a direct attack, the effect of Swift Scarecrow can be activated. Because Star Eater becomes unaffected by card effects until the end of the Damage Step, Swift Scarecrow cannot negate its attack, and so the Battle Phase does not end. The attack continues.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12933&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While a monster is being targeted by Safe Zone, what happens if that monster is then affected by Forbidden Lance? Furthermore, what happens when the effect of Forbidden Lance expires during the End Phase?
A: If a monster being targeted by Safe Zone is then affected by Forbidden Lance, the effects of Safe Zone will not apply to that monster anymore. The opponent can now target/destroy that monster with card effects, it can be destroyed by battle, and it can attack the opponent directly. If Safe Zone leaves the field, the targeted monster will not be destroyed, but if the targeted monster is destroyed, Safe Zone is still destroyed as usual. In addition, when the effect of Forbidden Lance expires during the End Phase, all of the effects of Safe Zone will reapply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12927&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent activates Fiendish Chain, targeting a player’s “Evilswarm” monster, and that player chains Infestation Pandemic, how does Fiendish Chain resolve?
A: In that case, the targeted monster will be unaffected by other Spell/Trap effects that turn, so it is unaffected by Fiendish Chain. However, Fiendish Chain will remain on the field and continue to target that monster. At the end of the turn, when Infestation Pandemic no longer applies, that monster will be affected by Fiendish Chain (it cannot attack and its effects are negated).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12930&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a player Special Summons Cyber Dragon from their hand, and they activate Torrential Tribute as Chain Link 1, is it possible for the opponent to activate the effect of Cyber Dinosaur?
A: Because Cyber Dragon doesn’t have an effect that activates when it is Special Summoned, there is no other face-up card whose effect must be considered in the context of this question, and if one or both players want to activate a card or effect when it is Special Summoned (for example, activating a Set Spell/Trap, or activating a monster effect from the hand), players may do so in the proper order. (In the context of this question, the turn player has activated Torrential Tribute as Chain Link 1.) In that situation, if the opponent wants to activate the effect of Cyber Dinosaur, they may do so by chaining it to Torrential Tribute.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12925&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons