[OCG] 09/21/17 Rulings

Rulings included in last week’s ruling update.

09/21/17 Rulings

Q: I activate the effect of Trickstar Light Stage that targets a Set card in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. If my opponent chains that Set card, which is Subterror Final Battle, what happens?
A: Subterror Final Battle is a Trap Card that Sets itself with its own effect after resolving, instead of being sent to the Graveyard. In this scenario, if a Set Subterror Final Battle that was targeted with the effect of Trickstar Light Stage is chained and activated, it is Set again after resolving, and it is no longer treated as the card targeted by the effect of Trickstar Light Stage. Therefore, the effect of Trickstar Light Stage that prevents that Set card from being activated and sends it to the Graveyard during the End Phase is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13178&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix that adds a “SPYRAL” monster from my Deck or Graveyard to my hand or Special Summons one to my Zone that it points to, my opponent chains the effect of Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit. In this case, how does the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix resolve?
A: Even if SPYRAL Double Helix is not face-up on the field when its effect resolves, its effect will still reveal the top card of your opponent’s Deck. If the card is the type that you declared, you must add a “SPYRAL” monster to your hand since it is impossible to Special Summon one to a Zone that SPYRAL Double Helix points to.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13101&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Revendread Slayer was Ritual Summoned using Revendread Origin. If my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes Revendread Slayer to face-down Defense Position, then afterward it is sent to the Graveyard, can I activate its effect that adds a Ritual Spell Card from my Deck to my hand and sends a “Vendread” monster to the Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, even if a Ritual Summoned Revendread Slayer is changed to face-down Defense Position and then sent to the Graveyard, it is still treated as a Ritual Summoned monster being sent to the Graveyard, so you can activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=69&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my Ritual Summoned Revendread Slayer is destroyed by my opponent’s Dark Hole, I activate its effect that adds a Ritual Spell Card from my Deck to my hand and sends a “Vendread” monster to the Graveyard. If my opponent chains Mistake, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Revendread Slayer will resolve while the effect of Mistake is applying. In that case, since you cannot add a Ritual Spell Card from your Deck to your hand, you cannot send a “Vendread” monster from your Deck to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9004&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Ritual Summoning a Revendread Slayer using the effect of Revendread Origin, if I Tribute a Vendread Houndhorde, can I also banish that same Vendread Houndhorde from the Graveyard?
A: When you resolve Revendread Origin, you choose 1 “Vendread” Ritual Monster in your hand or Graveyard, and Tribute monsters on your field or in your hand, and/or banish Zombie-Type monsters from your Graveyard, so that their total Levels equal the Level of that Ritual Monster. Monsters are chosen to be Tributed or banished, and then Tributed/banished. Therefore, you cannot banish a Vendread Houndhorde from your Graveyard that you Tributed from your hand or field for the same Ritual Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6626&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Level 7 F.A. Sonic Meister on my field declares a second attack during the Battle Phase, using its effect. In the Battle Step, if my opponent activates Star Changer and reduces the Level of F.A. Sonic Meister to 6, what happens to the attack?
A: If F.A. Sonic Meister declares a second attack while its effect is applying, but its Level becomes 6 or lower during the Battle Step, the attack stops and damage calculation is not conducted. Even if that F.A. Sonic Meister becomes Level 7 again during the same Battle Phase, it cannot attack again using its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9015&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Level 4 F.A. Sonic Meister attacked my opponent directly during this Battle Phase. I activate F.A. Downforce and increase its Level by 2. In this case, if I activate the effect of F.A. Sonic Meister and further increase its Level to 7, can it make a second attack on a monster during this Battle Phase?
A: If F.A. Sonic Meister becomes Level 7 or higher during the Battle Phase in which it attacked directly, it cannot attack a second time using its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9019&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An F.A. Hang On Mach that has become Level 7 is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, I attack that F.A. Hang On Mach with Downerd Magician and destroy it by battle. After damage calculation, when the effect of Downerd Magician detaches an Xyz Material from it, is that material banished due to the effect of F.A. Hang On Mach?
A: The effect of F.A. Hang On Mach that banishes any card that would be sent to the opponent’s Graveyard is a Continuous Effect, so the effect stops applying if F.A. Hang On Mach is destroyed by battle. Therefore, in this scenario, when an Xyz Material is detached from Downerd Magician after damage calculation, is is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9279&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my Synchro Summoned Vermillion Dragon Mech is destroyed by a card effect and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate its effect targeting a banished Sea Monster of Theseus or Tatsunoko?
A: The effect of Vermillion Dragon Mech that activates in the Graveyard can target a banished Fusion or Synchro Tuner. In that case, the targeted monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=100&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Both players have Fusion Recycling Plant face-up in their Field Zones, and both players have monsters in their Graveyard that were used as Fusion Materials for Fusion Summons this turn. In this situation, when reaching the End Phase of the turn, how does the effect of each Fusion Recycling Plant activate and resolve?
A: In a situation where each player has Fusion Recycling Plant in their Field Zone and each player is able to use its effect during the End Phase, first it will be the turn player who decides whether or not to activate the effect. (If the turn player does not activate the effect, the opponent may choose to activate the effect of theirs.) If both players decide to use the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant, each effect will activate and resolve separately, not in a Chain.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=87&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent Special Summons Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju from their hand to my field by Tributing my face-up Samurai Skull. At this time, can I activate the effect of Samurai Skull that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Zombie-Type monster from my Deck?
A: The monster Tributing to Special Summon Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju with its effect is not treated as being Tributed by an effect’s resolution. Therefore, in this scenario, the effect of Samurai Skull cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11566&keyword=&tag=-1

Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.