[OCG] 09/07/17 Rulings

Next will be Extra Pack 2017 rulings.

09/07/17 Rulings

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is applying, I Synchro Summon a Stardust Charge Warrior and activate its effect to draw 1 card. Can my opponent chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring?
A: In this scenario, since the effects of Stardust Charge Warrior are already being negated by Skill Drain, your opponent cannot chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12677&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Relinquished is equipped with a Jurraegg Token that was on my side of the field. In this situation, if Lost World is face-up in my Field Zone, is its effect that prevents my opponent from targeting monsters on the field other than Tokens applied?
A: In this scenario, the Jurraegg Token is equipped as an Equip Spell Card, but is still a Token on your opponent’s side of the field, so the effect of your Lost World will be applied to your opponent.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9999&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Orbital Hydralander by sending 3 cards from the top of my Deck to the Graveyard, but all 3 of those cards have the same name, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the 3 cards sent from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard have the same name, your Graveyard will no longer contain only monsters with different names, so you do not destroy a card on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6300&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Relinquished is equipped with a face-down Trickstar Lilybell that was in face-down Defense Position on my field. In this situation, during my Main Phase, can I activate the effect of Trickstar Light Stage by targeting that face-down equipped Trickstar Lilybell?
A: As in this scenario, when the effect of Relinquished targets a face-down Defense Position monster, that monster will remain face-down when equipped. Therefore, since that monster is a Set card in the Spell & Trap Zone, you can target it with the effect of Trickstar Light Stage. (In this case, a monster that is equipped as a face-down Equip Card cannot be activated, so it will be sent to the Graveyard when the End Phase effect is applied.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12473&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Link Summoned a Ningirsu the World Chalice Warrior to a Main Monster Zone pointed to by my Link Spider, and on either side of it are Chosen by the World Chalice and Crowned by the World Chalice. In this situation, when I activate the effect of Ningirsu the World Chalice Warrior that draws a card for each “World Chalice” monster it points to, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Chosen by the World Chalice to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect resolve?
A: The effect of Ningirsu the World Chalice Warrior activates when it is Link Summoned, and when it resolves you draw 1 card for each face-up “World Chalice” monster it points to. In this scenario, when the effect of Ningirsu the World Chalice Warrior resolves, Crowned by the World Chalice is the only face-up “World Chalice” monster it points to, so you draw 1 card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12540&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Link Monster’s effect targets my Magnarokket Dragon, I activate its effect. When resolving the effect, if I apply the effect of Return of the Dragon Lords in my Graveyard, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Magnarokket Dragon, if the effect of Return of the Dragon Lords is applied so that Magnarokket Dragon is not destroyed, the part of the effect that sends 1 monster on the field to the Graveyard is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13290&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Necrovalley is face-up in the Field Zone. In this situation, if I activate the second effect of Altergeist Marionetter, targeting an Altergeist Protocol in my Spell & Trap Zone and an Altergeist Silquitous in my Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: The second effect of Altergeist Marionette is one that affects a card(s) in the Graveyard, so it will be negated by Necrovalley. (In this scenario, the targeted Altergeist Protocol on the field is not sent to the Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8340&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King that is unaffected by monster and Spell effects due to its own effect is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, when that Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King attacks my Altergeist Meluseek, I activate the effect of an Altergeist Quntiery in my hand. What happens in this case?
A: In this scenario, the Altergeist Quntiery whose effect was activated will be Special Summoned from your hand, but Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King is unaffected by monster effects, so its attack will not be negated. Since Altergeist Quntiery is Special Summoned, a replay occurs.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15475&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Metaphys Tyrant Dragon that was Special Summoned by the effect of a “Metaphys” monster is face-up on my field. In this situation, that Metaphys Tyrant Dragon attacks my opponent’s Blackwing – Gladius the Midnight Sun, but that monster is not destroyed by battle due to its own effect. Afterward, can Metaphys Tyrant Dragon still attack again with its effect?
A: Even if a monster attacked by Metaphys Tyrant Dragon is not destroyed by battle, as long as Metaphys Tyrant Dragon was Special Summoned by the effect of a “Metaphys” monster, it will be able to make a second attack.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9458&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I previously activated and applied the effect of Trickstar Black Catbat that reduces the ATK of my opponent’s monsters by 200 for each monster it points to. In this situation, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Trickstar Black Catbat are negated, what happens to the ATK of my opponent’s monsters?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Trickstar Black Catbat was already applied, your opponent’s monsters will still lose ATK even if the effects of Trickstar Black Catbat are then negated by Skill Drain.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11059&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I begin my Main Phase 1 while my opponent’s Gouki Thunder Ogre is in the Extra Monster Zone. When I Normal Summon a monster this turn, can I do so by applying the effect of Gouki Thunder Ogre instead of using my regular Normal Summon/Set that turn?
A: As in this scenario, if the turn player has not performed their regular Normal Summon/Set during their turn, they can Normal Summon using the effect of Gouki Thunder Ogre instead. For example, the turn player can apply the effect of Gouki Thunder Ogre first and Normal Summon a Shaddoll Falco to a linked Zone, then Tribute that Shaddoll Falco to Tribute Set a Shaddoll Beast, using their regular Normal Summon/Set for the turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6167&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Altar of the Mind’s Eye is face-up in the Field Zone. When my opponent declares a direct attack with a Blue-Eyes White Dragon, I activate Rainbow Life. In this case, what happens to the battle damage I take?
A: When the effect of Rainbow Life is applied, you gain Life Points equal to the amount of damage you would have taken instead, and the effect of Altar of the Mind’s Eye that makes the battle damage become 1000 is not applied. Therefore, in this scenario, you gain 3000 Life Points when Blue-Eyes White Dragon attacks you directly.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8639&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Miracle Jurassic Egg and Ultimate Conductor Tyranno are face-up on my field. In this situation, if my opponent activates Struggling Battle from their hand, what happens?
A: When your opponent activates Struggling Battle, you must choose cards on your field and banish them face-down. You must choose cards so that you have the same number of cards on your field as your opponent, but since Miracle Jurassic Egg cannot be banished while face-up on the field, Ultimate Conductor Tyranno must be banished face-down.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12328&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Card Destruction, and I discard Magibullet Devil’s Deal. In this case, can I activate the second effect of Magibullet Devil’s Deal that adds another “Magibullet” card from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: As in this scenario, if your Magibullet Devil’s Deal was discarded from your hand to your Graveyard by the effect of your opponent’s Card Destruction, you can activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6302&keyword=&tag=-1
Q: Can the effect of a “Weathery” monster gained from Thunder Weathery Pattern be activated when it battles an opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster?
A: Even if your “Weathery” monster that gained the effect from Thunder Weathery Pattern battles an opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster, you can activate that effect at the start of the Damage Step. In that case, since the opponent’s monster returns to the hand before it is flipped face-up, that monster’s effects will not activate if it is a Flip monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8325&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.