[OCG] 08/08/2013 OCG Official Rulings

08/08/2013
Assorted rulings:

Q: While the effect of a DNA Surgery that was activated declaring Spellcaster-Type is applied, the effect of Genomix Fighter was activated declaring Dragon-Type.
Can a Synchro Summon using Genomix Fighter as a Synchro Material be performed this turn?
A: The effect of Genomix Fighter is not an effect that changes its own Type while it’s on the Field.
Therefore, even if the Type of monsters on the Field is treated as a different Type by the effect of DNA Surgery, the effect of Genomix Fighter is applied and a Synchro Summon can be performed.
In the proposed scenario, a Synchro Summon is performed using Genomix Fighter and other Synchro Materials treated as Dragon-Type. Furthermore, since the effect of Genomix Fighter that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning monsters that are not of the declared Type is being applied, at this point the only Synchro Monsters that can be Synchro Summoned are Synchro Monsters that are originally Dragon-Type.
When that Synchro Summon is successful, its Dragon-Type is treated as Spellcaster-Type by the effect of DNA Surgery.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12871&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If Granmarg the Rugged Rock Monarch is Tribute Summoned tributing an EARTH Monster, are the destruction of the Set cards and the draw considered to happen simultaneously?
A: In that case, first the 2 targeted Set cards is performed. Next, drawing 1 card is performed. These actions are not performed simultaneously.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12872&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can Drain Dragon be Special Summoned from outside the hand?
Also, is it impossible to Special Summon Drain Dragon from outside the hand (for example, from the Deck or Graveyard) without the effect of a Dragon-Type Xyz Monster?
A: Drain Dragon can be Special Summoned from outside the hand.
However, in order to Special Summon Drain Dragon from the Deck or Graveyard, it must be Special Summoned by the effect of a Dragon-Type Xyz Monster.
For example, even if a Drain Dragon that was Special Summoned from the hand by the effect of a Dragon-Type Xyz Monster is sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn from the Graveyard afterwards.

www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12873&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Grisaille Gaol was activated during the opponent’s turn.
In this case, for how long does the effect that prevents players from Synchro or Xyz Summoning, negates the effects of Synchro and Xyz Monsters and prevent them from attacking apply?
A: In that case, the effect stops applying after the end of the opponent’s next turn. Therefore, its effect does not stop applying during that turn in which it was activated.
The effect stops applying after the end of the opponent’s next turn, passingĀ  through the turn in which this card was activated and your next turn.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12874&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can the effect of a Ghostrick Specter in your hand be activated when a face-down “Ghostrick” Monster you control is destroyed by a Dark Hole activated by the opponent and is sent to the Graveyard?
Also, can the effect of a Ghostrick Specter in your hand be activated when a face-down “Ghostrick” Monster you control is flipped face-up by the attack of an opponent’s monster, and is then destroyed by that battle and sent to the Graveyard?
A: If a face-down “Ghostrick” Monster is destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole, or it’s flipped face-up by an attack, then is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, in either case, the effect of Ghostrick Specter that Special Summons it from the hand in face-down Defense Position and draws a card can be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12875&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can you Set, Flip Summon or Special Summon Ghostrick Lantern if you don’t control at least 1 face-up “Ghostrick” Monster?
A: Yes, you can.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12876&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: While you control Ghostrick House, an opponent’s Ghostrick Stein has declared an attack.
If, as a result, you take Battle Damage, is that Battle Damage halved?
Also, if while you control Ghostrick House you declare an attack with Crane Crane and, as a result, the opponent takes Battle Damage, is that Battle Damage halved?
A: Regardless of which player has activated Ghostrick House, its effect applies to all monsters on the Field.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, even if you are the player who activated Ghostrick House, the Battle Damage you take as a result from the attack of an opponent’s Ghostrick Stein is not halved.
Similarly, the Battle Damage the opponent takes as a result from the attack of your Crane Crane is halved.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12877&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Please explain to which monsters is the effect of Ghostrick House applied to.
A: The effect of Ghostrick House applies to monsters on both sides of the Field.
Regardless of which player activated Ghostrick House, the face-down Defense Position Monsters both players control cannot be attacked, and if either player controls only face-down Defense Position Monsters, the opponent can attack that player directly.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12878&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: For the effect of Ghostrick Panic, is flipping the selected monsters face-up and changing a number of monsters the opponent controls to face-down Defense Position considered to happen simultaneously?
A: Yes, it is.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12879&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can the effect of Shadow Vampire that Special Summons a “Vampire” Monster from the Deck or hand be activated if Shadow Vampire is Normal Summoned during Main Phase 2, after other monsters have declared an attack?
A: Yes, it can.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12880&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can the effect of Vampire Grace be activated when Goka, the Pyre of Malice is Special Summoned?
Also, can the effect of Vampire Grace be activated when Vampire Genesis is Special Summoned?
A: Since the Special Summon of Goka, the Pyre of Malice from the hand while you control a FIRE Monster is considered to be a Monster Effect that doesn’t start a chain, when Goka, the Pyre of Malice is Special Summoned successfully, the effect of Vampire Grace in the Graveyard can be activated.
Also, Special Summoning Vampire Genesis by Banishing a Vampire Lord you control is not considered to be a Monster Effect. Since Vampire Genesis is a Special Summon Monster, this becomes a Special Summoning procedure.
Therefore, when Vampire Genesis is Special Summoned successfully, the efect of Vampire Grace in the Graveyard cannot be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12881&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can the effect of your Edelritter – Vampire Bram to Special Summon itself be activated during the next Standby Phase if it battles with an opponent’s monster and is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard?
A: Even in that case, since that card on the Field was destroyed by an opponent’s card and was sent to the Graveyard, the effect to Special Summon itself in face-up Defense Position during the next Standby Phase can be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12882&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: CanĀ  Felgrand the Divine Dragon Knight target itself with its own effect?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, the effect that negates the effects of the selected monster and makes it be unaffected by the effects of other cards is applied normally.
(Its effects are negated, but the effect still resolves, even if its used on itself)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12883&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons