[OCG] 07/27/2014 OCG rulings

07/31/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If Damage Calculation is performed by the effect of Gagaga Samurai, can the effects of Neo-Spacian Grand Mole or Honest be activated?
A: No, they cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13397&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is being applied, if the effect of Elemental HERO Blazeman that sends an “Elemental HERO” monster from the Deck to the Graveyard and changes its own Attribute, ATK and DEF is activated, how does it resolve?
A: During the resolution of the effect of Elemental HERO Blazeman the “Elemental HERO” monster chosen in the Deck is not sent to the Graveyard and is banished by the effect of Macro Cosmos.
In that case,the part of the effect that changes its own Attribute, ATK and DEF is not applied, but the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning except by Fusion Summon for the rest of the turn is still applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13398&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the effect of Ghostrick Dorklord that attaches a “Ghostrick” card to itself from the hand, so that Ghostrick Dorklord is flipped to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, a “Ghostrick” card from the hand is attached to that Ghostrick Dorklord as an Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13399&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Forbidden Lance is applied on the monster targeted by the effect of Jack in the Box, how does this resolve?
A: Jack in the Box targets 1 attacking opponent’s monster. If that monster is affected by the effect of Forbidden Lance, the attack cannot be negated by the effect of Jack in the Box.
In that case, the part of the effect that sends another opponent’s monster to the Graveyard cannot be applied, and the part of the effect that reduces ATK cannot be applied either.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13400&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the activation of The Monarchs Thunder, so that the targeted monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: If the targeted monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position at the time of the resolution, the effects of the targeted monster are not negated by the effect of The Monarchs Thunder.
Therefore, the part of the effect that draws a card cannot be performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13401&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to Draw Muscle, so that the targeted monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Draw Muscle resolves normally.
The part of the effect that draws a card is performed, and the targeted monster cannot be destroyed by battle this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13402&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A monster whose Original Attribute is not LIGHT is treated as a LIGHT monster by the effect of DNA Transplant.
If that monster is destroyed by the effect of Zaborg the Mega Monarch, is the part of the effect that sends a number of cards from each player’s Extra Deck equal to the Level of the destroyed monster applied?
A: Even in that case, the part of the effect that sends a number of cards from each player’s Extra Deck equal to the Level of the destroyed monster is still applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13403&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While both players have 5 cards in their Extra Deck, if Cyber Eltaning (LIGHT/Level 10) is destroyed by the effect of Zaborg the Mega Monarch, how does the part of the effect that sends a number of cards from each player’s Extra Deck equal to the Level of the destroyed monster resolve?
A: Even if the Level of the LIGHT monster destroyed by the effect of Zaborg the Mega Monarch is higher than the amount of cards in either Extra Deck, the part of the effect that sends a number of cards from each player’s Extra Deck equal to the Level of the destroyed monster is applied normally.
In this case, since both players send as many cards from their Extra Deck as possible to the Graveyard, the end result is that both Extra Decks end up with 0 cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13404&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number 101: Silent Honor Ark be activated targeting a Synchro Monster that was affected by the effect of Taotie, Evil of the Yang Zing that prevents it from changing control, so that the Synchro Monster becomes an Xyz Material?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13405&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent’s D.D. Crow is activated in a chain to the effect of Satellarknight Betelgeuse that sends it to the Graveyard and adds a targeted “Satellarknight” card to the hand, so that the targeted card is banished, how does htis resolve?
A: Even in that case, the Satellarknight Betelgeuse that activated the effect is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13406&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While a Normal Summoned Qliphort Archive is face-up on the field, the effect of a Atlantean Heavy Infantry in the Graveyard was activated.
If The Transmigration Prophecy is activated in a chain to that activation, so that Atlantean Heavy Infantry is no longer in the Graveyard, is the effect of Qliphort Archive that makes it unaffected by monster effects activated by monsters with an Original Level lower than its own Level applied?
A: Even if Atlantean Heavy Infantry is no longer in the Graveyard during the resolution of its effect, the effect of Qliphort Archive that makes it unaffected by monster effects activated by monsters with an Original Level lower than its own Level is still applied.
In this case, since Atlantean Heavy Infantry is a Level 2 monster, Qliphort Archive is not destroyed as a result of its own effect and remains on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13407&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent sent a Shaddoll Falcon to the Graveyard as a result of the effect of Apoqliphort Killer that makes the opponent send a monster to the Graveyard.
In this case, can the effect of Shaddoll Falcon that Special Summons itself be activated?
A: If the effect of Apoqliphort Killer is applied, it makes the opponent send a monster they control or in their hand to the Graveyard.
At that time, even if the opponent sent Shaddoll Falcon to the Graveyard, that Shaddoll Falcon is not considered to be sent to the Graveyard by a card effect.
Therefore, the effect of Shaddoll Falcon that Special Summons itself cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13408&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After applying the effect of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon that halves the ATK of an opponent’s monster and increases its own ATK, if Skill Drain is applied what does the ATK of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon and the targeted opponent’s monster become?
A: Even in that case, the ATK of the targeted opponent’s monster remains halved, and the ATK of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon remains increased by that halved ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13409&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Is the effect of Qliphortress that prevents the Normal Summon of “Qliphort” monsters from being negated applied when either player Normal Summons a “Qliphort” monster?
A: Yes, it is.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13410&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: DDD Caesar the Wave Lord is destroyed by battle or a card effect after activating its effect that will Special Summon monsters destroyed this turn at the end of the Battle Phase.
In this case, can DDD Caesar the Wave Lord be Special Summoned by its own effect at the end of the Battle Phase?
A: Even in that case, DDD Caesar the Wave Lord can be Special Summoned by its own effect at the end of the Battle Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13411&keyword=&tag=-1

07/27/2014
Older rulings (appended/revised this date):

Q: If Shrink is activated targeting a Heroic Champion Excalibur that had its ATK become 4000 by its own effect, how much does its ATK become?
A: In that case, the ATK of Heroic Champion Excalibur becomes 1000, half of its Original ATK of 2000.
Also, afterwards, once the effect of Shrink is no longer applied, the ATK of Heroic Champion Excalibur becomes 2000.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12291&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A monster targeted by the effect of Masked HERO Koga had its ATK reduced by that effect.
Afterwards, if Skill Drain is activated, so that the effects of Masked HERO Koga are negated, what does the ATK of the monster reduced by the effect of Masked HERO Koga become?
A: Even in that case, the ATK of the targeted monster remains reduced until the end of the turn.
(This is the same even if Masked HERO Koga targeted itself and reduced its own ATK by tis own effect)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13324&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Are the part of the effect of Gemini Spark that destroys the targeted card and the part of the effect that draws a card considered to happen simultaneously?
A: They are considered to happen simultaneously, and the last thing to happen when that effect resolves is both “a card being destroyed” and “a card was drawn”.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9072&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Crimson Fire is activated in a chain to a Tremendous Fire activated by the opponent, how much damage is inflicted by that effect?
A: If you activate Crimson Fire, you take no damage.
While performing the resolution of the Tremendous Fire activated by the opponent, the opponent takes 500 damage and 2000 damage as a result of Crimson Fire doubling the 1000 damage you would take.
The end result is that the opponent takes 2500 damage.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8434&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: For the effects of Cyber Blader that are applied if the opponent controls only a certain number of monsters, are banished monsters included?
A: No, they are not.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons