[OCG] 06/07/18 Rulings

A older things and more Master Link stuff.

06/07/18 Rulings

Q: Can I activate the effect of Crimson Ninja targeting a Set card in the Field Zone?
A: The effect of Crimson Ninja is one that destroys a Trap Card on the field. As a rule, cards other than Field Spell Cards cannot be placed in the Field Zone, so an effect that destroys Trap Cards cannot be applied to cards in the Field Zone (even Set cards). Therefore, you cannot target a Set card in the Field Zone with the effect of Crimson Ninja.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10237&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Crimson Ninja was reprinted recently in the OCG, and its new text says to target a face-up Trap Card or Set Spell/Trap Card, and if face-down, check that it’s a Trap Card before destroying it. This isn’t anything new, but wording the targeting requirements like that could lead to this type of question, I suppose.

Q: My opponent’s Number S0: Utopic ZEXAL and my Paleozoic Opabinia are in the Extra Monster Zones, and it is the Main Phase of my turn during which the effect of Number S0: Utopic ZEXAL is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Paleozoic Opabinia, which is unaffected by other monsters’ effects?
A: The effect of Number S0: Utopic ZEXAL that prevents the opponent from activating any cards or effects for the rest of the turn is not an effect applied to monsters. In this scenario, Paleozoic Opabinia also cannot activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11069&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Utopic ZEXAL’s English text in light of this ruling suggests that it is either inaccurate, or (more likely) this ruling is a fresh reversal over in the OCG. Utopic ZEXAL is probably the last card that really needs to be made stronger, but there you have it.

Q: Pacifis, the Phantasm City is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if I Normal or Special Summon Gemini Lancer, will the effect of Pacifis, the Phantasm City that adds a “Phantasm Spiral” card from my Deck to my hand activate?
A: You cannot Normal or Special Summon Effect Monsters during the turn you activate either effect of Pacifis, the Phantasm City. When your Gemini Lancer is Normal or Special Summoned, it is treated as a Normal Monster while face-up on the field, and the effect of Pacifis, the Phantasm City will activate. Furthermore, if the effect of Superalloy Beast Raptinus is applying, Gemini Lancer would be treated as an Effect Monster when it was Normal or Special Summoned, so the effect of Pacifis, the Phantasm City does not activate. (You also cannot activate the effect that Special Summons a Phantasm Spiral Token during this turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20560&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When I Link Summon Knightmare Goblin and activate its effect that allows me to Normal Summon an additional time this turn to a zone it points to, my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys that Knightmare Goblin. In this case, since it is impossible to be able to Normal Summon again by applying the effect, can I activate the effect of a second Knightmare Goblin if I Link Summon it this turn?
A: In this scenario, even if Knightmare Goblin leaves the field and there are no zones that you can Normal Summon to, it is treated as if the effect that allows you to Normal Summon again is being applied. Therefore, even if you Link Summon a second Knightmare Goblin, you cannot activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14035&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When I attempt to Link Summon Sky Striker Ace – Shizuku, my opponent activates Solemn Strike and negates the Special Summon. During the same turn, can I activate The Monarchs Stormforth?
A: You cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck during the turn you activate The Monarchs Stormforth. In this scenario, the Link Summon is negated by Solemn Strike, however the Link Summon was an attempt to Special Summon from the Extra Deck. Therefore, you cannot activate The Monarchs Stormforth that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10462&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When Blue-Eyes Chaos Dragon declares an attack, can I activate its effect if there is a monster with 0 ATK/DEF on my opponent’s field, such as Dongle Acorn?
A: Even if your opponent has a monster with 0 ATK/DEF on their field, you can activate the effect of Blue-Eyes Chaos Dragon when it declares an attack. (Even if that monster(s) is the only one on your opponent’s field.) In this case, the effect of Blue-Eyes Chaos Dragon is applied normally, and Blue-Eyes Chaos Dragon will inflict piercing battle damage this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10699&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: During my Main Phase 1, I have 2 copies of Cyber Dragon on my field, and no banished monsters. In this situation, if I activate Cyberload Fusion, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns a Cyber Dragon on my field to my hand, will my remaining Cyber Dragon be able to attack this turn?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of your opponent’s chained Compulsory Evacuation Device, you do not have the appropriate materials to use for the effect of Cyberload Fusion. No monsters are returned to the Deck and no monster is Fusion Summoned, so the part of the effect that prevents your other monsters from attacking this turn is also not applied. (Therefore, the Cyber Dragon remaining on your field can attack this turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8875&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activated the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, and Photon Hand was sent to the Graveyard as a result. During the Main Phase of my next turn, can I activate the effect of Photon Hand?
A: You can activate the effect of Photon Hand that was sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, even if you do not have a “Photon” or “Galaxy” monster on your field. However, when activating the effect, if you do not have Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon on your field, you can only target an Xyz Monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9792&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Abyss Playhouse – Fantastic Theater is face-up in my Field Zone, and a Pendulum Summoned Abyss Actor – Mellow Madonna is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent Normal Summons Scrap Kong while Skill Drain is face-up in their Spell & Trap Zone, what happens to the effect of Scrap Kong?
A: In this scenario, even if the effect of Skill Drain is applying, the effect of Abyss Playhouse – Fantastic Theater will apply and change your opponent’s monster effect to “Destroy 1 Set Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls.” In this case, the effect of Scrap Kong is changed, but it is negated by the effect of Skill Drain and does not apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20559&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: At the start of my Battle Phase, I activated the effect of Shootingcode Talker, then attacked and destroyed 3 Tokens by battle with it. At the end of that Battle Phase, can I activate the effect of Shootingcode Talker that draws cards?
A: Even if Shootingcode Talker destroys a Token by battle, you can activate its effect at the end of the Battle Phase to draw cards. In this scenario, since it destroyed 3 Tokens by battle, you draw 3 cards.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10703&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: During my Main Phase, I activate Spellbook of Power, but my opponent chains Cynet Conflict, negates the activation, and banishes it. During the same turn, can I activate a Spellbook of the Master and target another Spellbook of Power in my Graveyard with it?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Cynet Conflict prevents you from activating Spellbook of Power or its effects until the end of the next turn. The effect of Spellbook of the Master is to make its own effect the same as the targeted “Spellbook” Spell Card’s effect. Therefore, even if the effect of your opponent’s Cynet Conflict has been applied, you can target a Spellbook of Power with Spellbook of the Master. Furthermore, if the affected Spellcaster-Type monster destroys a monster by battle, you can apply the effect that adds a “Spellbook” Spell Card from your Deck to your hand, since it is treated as the effect of Spellbook of the Master.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13869&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When my Link Summoned Elphase leaves the field, I activate its effect and Special Summon a Code Radiator from my Graveyard. If I activate Compulsory Evacuation Device and return that Code Radiator to my hand, can I then use it as a material for a Link Summon while it is in my hand?
A: The effect of Elphase that Special Summons a monster from the Graveyard negates that monster’s effects and prevents it from being used as Link Material for the rest of turn, while it remains face-up on the field. Therefore, in this situation, once Code Radiator has been returned to your hand, you can apply its effect and use it as a Link Material while in your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8771&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.