[OCG] 05/10/18 Weekly Rulings

Let’s just change how random old cards work for no reason, why don’t we.

05/10/18 Rulings

Q: A Strike Ninja that was banished by its own effect returns to my Monster Zone during the End Phase. In that case, can I activate the effect of that Strike Ninja again during that same End Phase?
A: The effect of Strike Ninja can only be used once per turn. If a Strike Ninja that was banished by its own effect returns to your Monster Zone, you cannot activate its effect during that same End Phase. Likewise, if there are 2 copies of Strike Ninja on your field, only 1 copy can activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9035&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster equipped with Gagagarevenge is used as material for an Xyz Summon, but that Xyz Summon is negated by Solemn Judgment, will the effect of Gagagarevenge that increases the ATK of all Xyz Monsters on my field activate?
A: The effect of Gagagarevenge activates when the equipped monster is used as material for an Xyz Summon, and creates a Chain after the Xyz Summon is successful. Therefore, if that Xyz Summon is negated by the effect of Solemn Judgment, the effect of Gagagarevenge does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=202&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I Special Summon Cosmo Brain by sending Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect to the Graveyard?
A: Embodiment of Apophis is treated as a Normal Monster when it is Special Summoned by its own effect, so you can send it to the Graveyard when Special Summoning Cosmo Brain by its procedure. In that case, when Embodiment of Apophis is sent to the Graveyard, it is treated as a Trap Card and has no Level, so Cosmo Brain will not gain any ATK from its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11065&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Sleeper Frog that switches its control to my opponent’s field, but my opponent chains Enemy Controller and changes that Sleeper Frog to Attack Position, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Sleeper Frog, if that Sleeper Frog has been changed to face-up Attack Position, you cannot apply the effect to “give control of this Defense Position card to your opponent”, so it remains in your Monster Zone. (The part of the effect that takes control of your opponent’s monsters also cannot be applied.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12606&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent’s face-up Attack Position Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon attacks my face-up Defense Position Cyberse Magician, how much battle damage is inflicted?
A: In this scenario, your opponent’s Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon with 4000 ATK is attacking your Defense Position Cyberse Magician with 2000 DEF, and the effect of Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon makes it so that you take 4000 battle damage, but since the effect of Cyberse Magician halves all damage you take, you take 2000 damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7021&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Demise, Supreme King of Armageddon that was Ritual Summoned using only Ritual Monsters is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my Life Points are less than 2000, can I activate the effect of Demise, Supreme King of Armageddon?
A: If Demise, Supreme King of Armageddon was Ritual Summoned using only Ritual Monsters, you do not have to pay Life Points to activate its effect. (You can activate the effect even if you have less than 2000 Life Points.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11164&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Cyberse Witch that adds a Cyberse-Type Ritual Monster and Cynet Ritual from my Deck to my hand, my opponent chains Grinning Grave Virus. If the effect of Grave Grinning Virus results in me no longer having either a Cyberse-Type Ritual Monster or Cynet Ritual in my Deck, how does the effect of Cyberse Witch resolve?
A: The effect of Cyberse Witch must add both a Cyberse-Type Ritual Monster and Cynet Ritual from your Deck to your hand. In this scenario, if either of those 2 cards is no longer in your Deck when the effect resolves, no effect is applied. (You cannot add the other card to your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10799&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Return of the World, my opponent chains Imperial Iron Wall. In this case, how does Return of the World resolve?
A: If the effect of Imperial Iron Wall that prevents players from banishing cards is applying when Return of the World resolves, you cannot apply the effect. (You do not look in your Deck for a Ritual Monster.) In this case, Return of the World will remain face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, but since no Ritual Monster was banished by its effect when it resolved, you cannot activate any of its other effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10762&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The only monster on my field is a face-up Defense Position Krawler Spine. In this situation, when my opponent activates a monster effect, such as the effect of Palladion of the Vast Sky, I chain World Legacy Communion, but my opponent further chains Raigeki Break and targets Krawler Spine. In that case, how does each effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Palladion of the Vast Sky is Chain Link 1, World Legacy Communion is Chain Link 2, and Raigeki Break is Chain Link 3. First, when Raigeki Break resolves, Krawler Spine is destroyed, then the effect of World Legacy Communion resolves and changes the opponent’s monster effect to “Return 1 face-up monster your opponent controls to the hand.” When resolving the effect of Palladion of the Vast Sky, your opponent resolves the changed effect and chooses 1 face-up monster on their opponent’s (your) side of the field to return to the hand, but since there aren’t any, the effect finishes resolving with no effect applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10748&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, can I activate Metaphys Ascension?
A: Even if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, you can activate Metaphys Ascension. In that case, you draw 1 card normally, but you cannot banish a “Metaphys” monster from your Deck. (The result is the same if Imperial Iron Wall is chained to Metaphys Ascension.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10636&keyword=&tag=-1

Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.