[OCG] 01/11/18 Rulings

The first ruling post of the year, including reversals pertaining to some of the recent OCG Tournament Pack reprints.

01/11/18 Rulings

Q: A face-down Defense Position Magician of Faith on my field is attacked by my opponent’s Drillroid. In this situation, if Magician of Faith is destroyed before damage calculation by the effect of Drillroid, does its effect activate and resolve?
A: In this scenario, Magician of Faith is destroyed by the effect of Drillroid before damage calculation, after being flipped face-up by the attack. Since Magician of Faith is destroyed, damage calculation does not occur, but the effect of Magician of Faith will still activate and resolve during its usual timing “after damage calculation”.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9241&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I activate Polymerization and Fusion Summon Ojama Knight, how is its effect applied?
A: Since the effect of Ojama Knight is a Continuous Effect, if you Special Summon it while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, the effect is negated and you do not select any of your opponent’s unused Monster Zones. After that, if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying and the effects of Ojama Knight are no longer negated, select up to 2 of your opponent’s unused Monster Zones at that time and apply the effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13792&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Ojama Knight is face-up in an Extra Monster Zone, and its effect that makes 2 of my opponent’s Monster Zones unusable is applying. If my opponent activates Skill Drain, what happens to the effect of Ojama Knight?
A: Since the effect of Ojama Knight is a Continuous Effect, if its effects are negated, the selected Monster Zones will become usable again. After that, if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying and the effects of Ojama Knight are no longer negated, the opponent’s Monster Zones that you selected before Skill Drain was applied become unusable again.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8559&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Crystal Tree has 6 or more Crystal Counters on it, and all other Spell & Trap Zones are available, can I activate its effect that places “Crystal Beast” monsters in them from my Deck? Also, if Crystal Tree has only 1 Crystal Counter on it, but all other Spell & Trap Zones are occupied, can I activate its effect?
A: If Crystal Tree has 6 or more Crystal Counters on it, so that the number of counters is higher than the number of available Spell & Trap Zones on your field, you cannot activate its effect that places “Crystal Beast” monsters from your Deck in your Spell & Trap Zones. However, if Crystal Tree has 1 Crystal Counter on it but all Spell & Trap Zones on your field are occupied, you can activate its effect by sending it to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7058&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 copies of Lucky Chance face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Time Wizard, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Time Wizard is activated as Chain Link 1, the effect of each Lucky Chance will activate (as Chain Link 2 and Chain Link 3 respectively). If the effect of Lucky Chance is unable to activate in the Chain Link directly above the effect that performs the coin toss, its effect will not apply. In this case the effect of Lucky Chance activated as Chain Link 3 does not apply, but the effect at Chain Link 2 resolves normally and you call the outcome of the coin toss. Lastly, when the effect of Time Wizard resolves, if you called the coin toss right, you draw a card afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10795&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Arcana Force I – The Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Lucky Chance is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. If I activate Ties of the Brethren, and Special Summon Arcana Force III – The Empress and Arcana Force IV – The Emperor from my Deck, what happens?
A: In this situation, you will activate the coin toss effects of both Arcana Force III – The Empress and Arcana Force IV – The Emperor when they are Special Summoned, in the same Chain in any order. The effect of Lucky Chance will activate, but only once. For example, if you make the effect of Arcana Force III – The Empress Chain Link 1 and the effect of Arcana Force IV – The Emperor Chain Link 2, the effect of Lucky Chance will be Chain Link 3 and apply for the coin toss performed by Arcana Force IV – The Emperor. When the effect of Arcana Force III – The Empress resolves, the effect of Lucky Chance is not applied again.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10785&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Teleport is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and only my opponent controls a monster. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Teleport that Special Summons a Psychic-Type monster from my hand, but then chain Emergency Teleport and Special Summon a Level 3 or lower Psychic-Type monster from my Deck, what happens?
A: You can only activate the effect of Teleport while your opponent has a monster on their field and you have no monsters on your field. In this scenario, even if there is a monster on your field when the effect resolves, you still Special Summon a Psychic-Type monster from your hand as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13007&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord is face-up in my Monster Zone, and its effects are being negated by Skill Drain. In that situation, if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field, will the Battle Phase of my next turn be skipped?
A: Even if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field while its effects are negated by Skill Drain, the effect that skips the Battle Phase of your next turn applies.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12644&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My face-up Grandsoil the Elemental Lord is banished face-down by the effect of my opponent’s Eater of Millions at the start of the Damage Step. In this case, will the Battle Phase of my next turn be skipped?
A: In this scenario, Grandsoil the Elemental Lord is banished face-down by the effect of Eater of Millions, but is still face-up when it is banished from the field. In this case, the effect that skips the Battle Phase of your next turn applies.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10458&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Stargazer Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Pendulum Switch is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Raigeki Break and targets Stargazer Magician, but I chain the effect of Pendulum Switch that places it in the Pendulum Zone, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when Raigeki Break resolves, the targeted Stargazer Magician will be in your Pendulum Zone due to the effect of Pendulum Switch. In this case, Stargazer Magician is no longer treated as the same card that was targeted by Raigeki Break, so it is not destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10485&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Stargazer Magician is in my Pendulum Zone, and Pendulum Switch is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Raigeki Break and targets Stargazer Magician, but I chain the effect of Pendulum Switch that Special Summons it from the Pendulum Zone, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when Raigeki Break resolves, the targeted Stargazer Magician will be in your Monster Zone due to the effect of Pendulum Switch. In this case, Stargazer Magician is no longer treated as the same card that was targeted by Raigeki Break, so it is not destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9328&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Heavymetalfoes Electrumite is in the Extra Monster Zone, and Astrograph Sorcerer is face-up in my Pendulum Zone. If I activate the effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite that destroys a face-up card on my field, destroying the Astrograph Sorcerer in my Pendulum Zone, then add that same Astrograph Sorcerer to my hand, can I then activate the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer that Special Summons it?
A: The effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite destroys a face-up card on your field, then adds 1 face-up Pendulum Monster from your Extra Deck to your hand as part of the same effect, so the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer can be activated after that effect finishes resolving. In this scenario, since Astrograph Sorcerer was added to your hand by the effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite, it is in your hand during the timing that its effect can be activated. In that case, that Astrograph Sorcerer is not treated as a card that was destroyed this turn, so you cannot choose that Astrograph Sorcerer when adding a monster with the same name from your Deck to your hand with its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12264&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.