Droll & Lock Bird: A Lesson in Thrift

We of the Organization, especially the judges in our fold, know that some things are confusing.

Under Lock & KeyLast format, a card that confused some of our players around the world was Droll & Lock Bird. We instructed players on how to use it, when they were confused – and now, in some respects, Droll has fallen out of favor. No longer does it read “stop that misplayed Judgment right now.”

But several of our players at our various local tournaments have additional questions. “Is Droll’s effect a Trigger Effect, or a Quick Effect?” “Is it possible for me to activate something else, and then Chain Droll to it?”

Questions lead to answers, so the team and I decided “we’re going to find out about these vague things that haven’t been adequately explained yet.”

I’ve just returned from my preliminary investigations with some extremely promising results.

 

 

Thanks to those investigations, I now know that a play the Organization has been thinking about using is 100% legal.

As leader of the Organization, I think it’s time I teach you that new trick with Droll. Read on, and don’t hesitate to contact our Rule Comprehension team if you have any questions.

Ramifications

It is possible to use Droll and one other card to completely empty the opponent’s hand.

How? Let’s bust out the gameplay flowchart, courtesy of KONAMI.

YGO, RELOADED

On the flowchart, the box above Box B is reserved for the activation of Triggered Effects – all Trigger Effects, all FLIP Effects, and some Spell/Trap Effects are considered “Triggered Effects”.

This is why it was important to find out whether or not Droll’s effect is Quick – and our connection tells us it in fact is Quick.

Because Droll’s effect is a Quick Effect, I am instead going to use it in Box B or C, the “Fast Effect Activation” boxes.

What can I do with Droll now?

I sense a disturbance in the force.Note that Box B and C are also Boxes where a player is permitted to activate Disturbance Strategy.

Read it closely: note it says “shuffles”, “then draws” – X, then Y.

This little textual skeleton is important, and to properly utilize it, I’m going to call upon someone even higher-up than the judge corps – I’m going to summon the very word of R&D.

Understanding this skeleton is pursuant to rules brought to us by Kevin Tewart some months ago in Article 7 of his series on PSCT.

His article is excruciatingly important, to the point where I demand you read it all once you’re done reading this one.

The meaning of the word “then”, when used as a conjunction, is instrumental to our lesson today. Remember, Disturbance “shuffles”, “then draws”.

Mr. Tewart notes the following: you should be taking notes, this is useful stuff.

Four key conjunctive words and phrases are used on card text, each with a specific meaning:

The key differences between them are about Timing and Causation.

So, what does this mean to us?

Naturally, when you activate a card, you expect things to work perfectly. But sometimes your opponent Chains a card of their own that changes things. Suddenly, you can’t do everything your card says. How much do you do? How much CAN you do? The conjunctive words are a key part of answering these questions.

If Droll is Quick AND can be activated in Box B or C of the chart, it is theoretically possible to wait for your opponent to add a card to their hand outside of their Draw Phase (thereby priming Droll for activation), then respond to their adding a card by activating Disturbance Strategy, then Chain Droll to Disturbance (because Droll doesn’t have to be Chain Link 1, in the event that it can be used in Box B or C of the chart).

Both Disturbance AND Droll would be “responding to” the fact that a card was added to your opponent’s hand, Droll would just resolve before Disturbance.

If so, what happens?

THEN:
Timeline: B happens after A, even though they’re part of one card effect. These things happen in sequence, not simultaneously.
Causation: A is required for B, but NOT vice-versa. If A does not happen, then stop. If B cannot happen, you still do A.

On Disturbance, B is “draws”, and A is “shuffles”.

If you Chain Droll, “B” cannot be done. But “A” still can, meaning their hand is now shuffled into their Deck, without recourse.

“But Atem, that’s just two cards!”

Alright, hold your horses.

That thought you had? Now it's gone.
With Mind Wipe, you needn’t bother waiting on a Set Trap to empty their hand, as long as your opponent’s hand size is already low.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, you aren't going to trigger Droll? Then I'll do it.
With Hand Destruction, you can dig deeper for key cards and prepare your combo, or get the combo rolling if you have Droll and a hand shuffler ready.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disturbance Strategy primed and ready!
This combo plan can also remove the key drawback to Dark Bribe, by taking Bribe’s drawback and turning it into a trigger for Droll. Later, after you wipe their hand out, Bribe will be an extremely potent card as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 63: Shamoji Soldier is a card that can trigger this combo, while also helping you dig for other things. With Kinka-byo assisting you, it would easy to Summon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Destiny HERO – Defender could also help a deck like this use Allure of Darkness and Destiny Draw, while also increasing the opportunities trigger a Droll play.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lastly, pay close attention to some of the most important cards from Toronto: I’m relatively certain these two will STILL trigger your Droll…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and goodness knows you don’t want either of the decks using these cards to have anything in their hands or Graveyards – shuffling everything back to the Deck stands to be a HATEFUL way to ruin their day!

 

If you have any confusion about how this might or might not work, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Pharaoh Atem

I'm just a random person, spending time on nothing in particular.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons