Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 02/11/21 Ruling Update

Yes, just the one.


Normally, I post updates when there’s a good bunch of them to mull over, but this particular question is one that I have seen come up so often lately, I thought it best to share Japan’s official response.


Q: I activate the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu in my hand, targeting a face-up Virtual World Hime – Nyannyan in my Monster Zone. If Book of Moon is chained, and the targeted Virtual World Hime – Nyannyan is changed to face-down Defense Position, is the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu applied?

A: Even if the Virtual World Hime – Nyannyan targeted by the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu is in face-down Defense Position when that effect resolves, the targeted card’s type is still treated as “Monster” and the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu is applied. In this case, you send 1 “Virtual World” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to the Graveyard, and Special Summon Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu from your hand. Afterward, you can also apply the part of the effect that adds a “Virtual World” card from your Deck to your hand, and add a card with a different card type than the one that was targeted and the one sent to the Graveyard by this effect.


It is my understanding that different online TCG events have ruled this scenario differently. As this is an OCG ruling, please ask your head judge if you wish to know how they will rule this interaction.

Like us? Support YGOrganization on our Patreon to remove ads!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.