August updates.
UPDATED ENTRIES
“Can Dominus Impulse be chained to the activation of Yummy☆Surprise?”
Q: Can the effect of Dominus Impulse be chained to the activation of Yummy☆Surprise?
A: If Yummy☆Surprise is activated by selecting the effect “Special Summon 1 “Yummy” monster from your hand or GY, but it cannot attack directly this turn”, Dominus Impulse can be chained because the effect includes Special Summoning a monster. (If Yummy☆Surprise is activated by selecting its first or third effect, Dominus Impulse cannot be chained because the effect does not include Special Summoning a monster.)
Similarly, effects such as Dominus Impulse, Solemn Warning, and Tearlaments Rulkallos can be chained to the following cards and effects only if the “●” effect that Special Summons is activated:
Monster effects
– D/D Defense Soldier
– Vanquish Soul Hollie Sue
– Rock of the Vanquisher
– A Bao A Qu, the Lightless Shadow
– Battlin’ Boxer Uppercutter
– The Bystial Aluber
– The Iris Swordsoul
– Hi-Speedroid Cork Shooter
– Witchcrafter Vice-Madame
– Revival Golem
Spell Cards
– Tri-Brigade Hammer
– Solfachord Happiness
– Gem-Knight Dispersion
– Layer 19 “Sudden Incursion! Super Quantum Black!!”
– Tachyon Spiral of Destruction
– Verre Magic – Lacrima of Light
– Magia Magic – Thunder of Judgment
– Salamangreat Charge
– Spright Smashers
– Runick Tip
– Runick Flashing Fire
– Runick Destruction
– Runick Dispelling
– Runick Freezing Curses
– Runick Slumber
– Runick Golden Droplet
– Runick Smiting Storm
Trap Cards
– Startling Stare of the Snake-Eyes
– Miracle of the Supreme King
– Volcanic Emission
– Spright Double Cross
– Solfachord Musica
“Can I activate Card Advance during the same turn I activated Hidden Armory?”
Q: During a turn I activated Hidden Armory, so that I cannot Normal Summon/Set, can I activate Card Advance?
A: No, you cannot. This is because the effect “You can Tribute Summon 1 monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set this turn” cannot be applied.
“Can I activate Ancient Chant if the effect of Gem-Knight Seraphinite is applying?”
Q: If Gem-Knight Seraphinite is face-up in my Monster Zone and its effect is applying, can I activate Ancient Chant in the following situations?
(A) I have not yet Normal Summoned/Set this turn.
(B) I Normal Summoned/Set this turn by applying the effect of Gem-Knight Seraphinite.
(C) I Normal Summoned/Set this turn without applying the effect of Gem-Knight Seraphinite.
A:
(A) & (C) You can activate it.
(B) You cannot activate it.
NEW ENTRIES
“Can the effects of Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix and Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune that Special Summon themselves be activated together on the same Chain?”
Q: Can the effects of Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix and Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune that state “If a Quick-Play Spell Card is activated (except during the Damage Step): You can Special Summon this card from your hand”, or their effects that state “If “Mystical Space Typhoon” is activated while this card is in your GY: You can Special Summon this card”, be activated together on the same Chain?
A: While the first effect of each card cannot be activated together on the same Chain, their third effects can both be activated together on the same Chain.
Also, if you have 1 Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune in your hand and 1 in your GY, as well as 1 Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix in your GY, you can activate the first effect of Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune in your hand, the third effect of Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune in your GY, and the third effect of Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix in your GY all on the same Chain.
Similarly, if you have 1 Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix in your hand and 1 in your GY, as well as 1 Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune in your GY, you can activate all 3 effects on the same Chain.
For Trigger Effects of monsters that Special Summon themselves, only 1 that can be activated in the hand can be activated on the same Chain, so the first effects of Magnifistorm Great Pyre Phonix and Magnifistorm Vortex Beauty Valrune cannot activated together on the same Chain. However, since their third effects are only able to activate from the GY and not the hand, they do not fall under the category of monsters’ Trigger Effects that Special Summon themselves and can be activated in the hand.
“When Synchro Summoning using Killer Tune Mix and Killer Tune Clip on the field as materials, how many Tuners in my hand can I use as materials?”
Q: When Synchro Summoning using both Killer Tune Mix and Killer Tune Clip on the field as materials, how many Tuners in my hand can I use as materials?
A: You can use up to 2 Tuners in your hand as materials.
Similarly, you can use up to 1 monster in your hand as material for each of the following monsters you control with the listed text:
“If this card on the field would be used as Synchro Material, 1 Tuner in your hand can be used as 1 of the other materials.”
– Killer Tune Reco
– Killer Tune Cue
– Killer Tune Track Maker
“If this Synchro Summoned monster would be used as a Synchro Material, 1 monster in your hand can be used as 1 of the other materials.”
– Tatsunoko
“If this Normal Summoned/Set monster would be used as Synchro Material, 1 monster in your hand can be used as 1 of the other materials.”
– Tatsunecro
“Can I activate the effect of Enneacraft “orgIA” in my Pendulum Zone if the effect of Royal Command is applying?”
Q:
(A) While the effect of Royal Command is applying, can I activate Enneacraft “orgIA” from my hand by placing it in my Pendulum Zone?
(B) If Royal Command is activated while Enneacraft “orgIA” is in my Pendulum Zone, will the Pendulum Effect of Enneacraft “orgIA” be negated?
A:
(A) You can activate it. (If the effect of Royal Command is applying, the monster effects of Pendulum/Flip monsters cannot be activated, but they can still be activated as Spell Cards.)
(B) The effect is not negated. (Since effects in the Pendulum Zone are Spell effects, not monster effects, they can still be activated while the effect of Royal Command is applying, and they will not be negated.)
The same applies to the following cards:
– Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
– Enneacraft “tromarIA”
– Enneacraft “oknirIA”
– Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON
– Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA
– Enneacraft – Atori.MAR
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
– Performapal Momoncarpet
“When an effect to “negate the activation and destroy it” is activated in response to a monster effect, can I chain the effect of Stardust Dragon to that effect?”
Q:
(A) When the effect of Herald of the Arc Light is chained to the effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops that was activated by Tributing a different monster, can the effect of Stardust Dragon be activated?
(B) When the effect of Herald of the Arc Light is chained to the effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops that was activated by Tributing itself, can the effect of Stardust Dragon be activated?
A:
(A) Yes, it can. Since Dinowrestler Pankratops remained in the Monster Zone after activating its effect, the effect of Herald of the Arc Light is considered one that would destroy a card on the field.
(B) No, it cannot. Since Dinowrestler Pankratops is no longer on the field after activating its effect, the effect of Herald of the Arc Light is not considered one that would destroy a card on the field.
The same applies to whether or not the following effects can be activated as Chain Link 3:
Monster effects
– Vendread Chimera
– Meklord Emperor Wisel – Synchro Absorption
– Cyber Angel Vrash
– Prime Material Dragon
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
Spell effects
– My Body as a Shield
Trap effects
– Evil★Twin GG EZ (second “●” effect)
– Destruction Jammer
“Can I activate the second monster effect of Enneacraft “orgIA” if an effect that prevents monsters from changing their battle position is applying?”
Q: When my opponent activates the effect of a monster in their hand while Swords of Concealing Light is in their Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect “Monsters your opponent controls cannot change their battle positions” is applying, can I chain the second effect of my Enneacraft “orgIA”?
A: Yes, you can. (Changing a face-down Defense Position monster to face-up Defense Position does not count as changing its battle position.)
The same applies to the following monsters’ effects:
– Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
– Enneacraft “tromarIA”
– Enneacraft “oknirIA”
– Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON
– Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA
– Enneacraft – Atori.MAR
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
– Deus X-Krawler
– Amaterasu
“Can I activate the second monster effect of Enneacraft “orgIA” if the effect of There Can Be Only One, Rivalry of Warlords, or Gozen Match is applying so that a second Machine monster, or a new Machine or EARTH monster cannot be face-up in the Monster Zone?”
Q: If the effects of the following cards are applying so that a second Machine monster, or a new Machine or EARTH monster cannot be face-up in the Monster Zone, can I activate the second monster effect of Enneacraft “orgIA”?
(A) The effect of There Can Be Only One, “Each player can only control 1 monster of each Type”, is applying.
(B) The effect of Rivalry of Warlords, “Each player can only control 1 Type of monster”, is applying.
(C) The effect of Gozen Match, “Each player can only control 1 Attribute of monster”, is applying.
A: The effect cannot be activated in any of those situations.
The same applies to the following monsters’ effects:
– Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
– Enneacraft “tromarIA”
– Enneacraft “oknirIA”
– Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON
– Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA
– Enneacraft – Atori.MAR
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
– Deus X-Krawler
– Amaterasu
“Can I activate the effect of a face-down Defense Position Enneacraft “orgIA” if the effect of Dinomorphia Rexterm is applying?”
Q: If the effect of my opponent’s Dinomorphia Rexterm is applying so that I cannot activate the effects of monsters with 100 or more ATK, can I activate the second effect of my face-down Defense Position Enneacraft “orgIA”?
A: No, you cannot.
The same applies to the following monsters’ effects:
– Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
– Enneacraft “tromarIA”
– Enneacraft “oknirIA”
– Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON
– Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA
– Enneacraft – Atori.MAR
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
– Deus X-Krawler
– Amaterasu
“If the effect of True King’s Return is chained to the first effect of Mariamne Paradox, the True Dracophoenix Knight, so that the effect “you cannot Special Summon” is applied, how does the effect resolve?”
Q: I activated the effect of True King’s Return by chaining to the first effect of Mariamne Paradox, the True Dracophoenix Knight, and the effect that prevents me from Special Summoning is applied. In this case, how does the effect of Mariamne Paradox, the True Dracophoenix Knight resolve?
A: The effect destroys 1 other “True Draco” or “True King” card in your hand or face-up field, but Mariamne Paradox, the True Dracophoenix Knight is not Special Summoned and remains in your hand.
“Can I Special Summon Hecahands Jauzah by Tributing a Primal Being Token that was Special Summoned by the effect of my opponent’s Nibiru, the Primal Being, along with my own Illusion monster?”
Q: Can I Tribute a Primal Being Token that was Special Summoned by the effect of my opponent’s Nibiru, the Primal Being and my own Illusion monster to Special Summon Hecahands Jauzah?
A: Yes, you can. The player who activated the effect of Nibiru, the Primal Being is considered the owner of the Primal Being Token.
“Can I activate the monster effect of Enneacraft – Atori.MAR if the effect of Dimensional Barrier is applying?”
Q:
(A) If I am unable to Special Summon Pendulum Monsters due to the effect of Dimensional Barrier, can I activate the monster effect of Enneacraft – Atori.MAR in my hand?
(B) What happens if Dimensional Barrier is chained to the monster effect of Enneacraft – Atori.MAR in my hand, and I can no longer Special Summon Pendulum Monsters when the effect resolves?
A:
(A) If you have a non-Pendulum Monster in your hand, you can activate the effect and Special Summon a non-Pendulum Monster in face-down Defense Position. (Even in that case, your opponent is not able to check the monster you are Special Summoning.)
(B) If you have a non-Pendulum Monster in your hand when the effect resolves, Special Summon it in face-down Defense Position. (Even in that case, your opponent is not able to check the monster you are Special Summoning.) If you have no non-Pendulum Monsters in your hand when the effect resolves, the effect does not Special Summon anything. (You cannot Special Summon Pendulum Monsters in face-down Defense Position.)
The same applies with the effects of the following monsters:
– Enneacraft “orgIA”
– Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
– Enneacraft “tromarIA”
– Enneacraft “oknirIA”
– Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON
– Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA
– Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
RULING REVERSALS
Ruling changes that have occurred this month:
August 7: Card Advance
Old Ruling: You can activate Card Advance even if you are not able to gain an additional Tribute Summon using its effect, such as if an effect or condition prevents you from Normal Summoning, or if you already have the ability to perform an additional Tribute Summon (through the effect of another Card Advance, etc.)
New Ruling: You cannot activate Card Advance if you are not able to gain an additional Tribute Summon using its effect, such as if an effect or condition prevents you from Normal Summoning, or if you already have the ability to perform an additional Tribute Summon (through the effect of another Card Advance, etc.)
August 8: Ancient Chant
Old Ruling: You can activate Ancient Chant even if you have already Normal Summoned/Set twice that turn by applying the effect of a card such as Gem-Knight Seraphinite that allows you to perform an additional Normal Summon/Set.
New Ruling: You cannot activate Ancient Chant if you have already Normal Summoned/Set twice that turn by applying the effect of a card such as Gem-Knight Seraphinite that allows you to perform an additional Normal Summon/Set.
![[OCG] August 2025 Rulings Update](https://cdn.ygorganization.com/2020/07/Rulings_Banner_Small.png)
4 Comments
the reversal of Gem knight that gains an effect sucks, like now you cannot triple extra normal summon, as if normal summoning will break the deck.
but this means that a card that has ”you can only gain this effect once per turn” cannot be stacked. Konami is making it unique in a sense … i dunno how to feel about it xd
but thank you Mr.organization for your hard work, always appreciate it
Actually, Nepyrim is a different Normal Summon effect, like Floo monsters. Effects that force a normal summon can be used in any count in a turn. It’s only the effects that increase your normal summon limit that are restricted, and it’s always been that way. Hence the (you can only gain this effect once per turn) on all the idle normal summon boost monsters.
Previously, cards like Ancient Chant, Card Advance, and Fantasix Machinix, that do some other thing in addition to granting the (you can only gain this effect once per turn) extra normal, could always be activated for that other effect, even if the extra normal could not be applied because another card’s was already used that turn.
This change brings them in line with cards like Swap Frog, of which only one copy can successfully resolve the extra normal effect each turn, despite it being tied to a soft once per turn ignition effect.