[OCG] Structure Deck 31 – Pendulum Evolution Rulings

Structure Deck 31 – Pendulum Evolution Rulings

SD31-JP001 Astrograph Sorcerer

Q: If I activate the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer that Special Summons it from my hand, when choosing a monster to add to my hand, can I choose any that was destroyed this turn?
A: The part of the effect that adds a monster from your Deck to your hand, whose name is the same as a monster that was destroyed this turn, includes monsters that were destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, Pendulum Monsters that were destroyed and added face-up to the Extra Deck, monsters that were destroyed and banished, and so forth. The monster you choose does not have to be the one that was destroyed at the time the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer was activated, and can even include your opponent’s monster that was destroyed this turn as long as another copy of it exists in your Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20428&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer that Special Summons it from my hand, when choosing a monster to add to my hand, can I choose a Harpie Harpist that was destroyed this turn?
A: When resolving the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer, if you choose a Harpie Harpist that was destroyed and banished by the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole, you must add a Harpie Harpist from your Deck to your hand. Also, if you choose a Harpie Harpist that was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Torrential Tribute, you must add a Harpie Lady from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20433&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Wisdom-Eye Magician in my Pendulum Zone is destroyed by its own effect and added face-up to the Extra Deck. In this case, can I activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in my hand?
A: Even in this scenario, since a card on your field was destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in your hand and Special Summon it. Also, if you apply the part of the effect that adds a monster from your Deck to your hand, you can choose Wisdom-Eye Magician and add a second copy of it from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20426&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Sangan that I gained control of with the effect of Brain Control is destroyed by battle or card effect. In this case, can I activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in my hand?
A: Even in this scenario, since a card on your field was destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in your hand and Special Summon it. Also, if you apply the part of the effect that adds a monster from your Deck to your hand, you can choose Sangan and add your own copy of it from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20424&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect is destroyed by battle or card effect. In this case, can I activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in my hand?
A: If an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect is destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in your hand. In that case, the effect Special Summons Astrograph Sorcerer normally. Also, if you apply the part of the effect that adds a monster from your Deck to your hand, you cannot choose Embodiment of Apophis, so you must choose a monster among the others that were destroyed this turn. (If no other monster was destroyed this turn, you can only apply the part of the effect that Special Summons Astrograph Sorcerer.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20431&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Hippo Token on my field is destroyed by battle or card effect. In this case, can I activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in my hand?
A: Even if a Token on your field is destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in your hand. In that case, the effect Special Summons Astrograph Sorcerer normally. Also, if you apply the part of the effect that adds a monster from your Deck to your hand, you cannot choose the Hippo Token, so you must choose a monster among the others that were destroyed this turn. (If no other monster was destroyed this turn, you can only apply the part of the effect that Special Summons Astrograph Sorcerer.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20427&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After my opponent activates and resolves Torrential Tribute, when my Tuning Magician is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, I activate the effect of an Astrograph Sorcerer in my hand. At this time, if my opponent chains D.D. Crow and banishes Tuning Magician from the Graveyard, can I still choose Tuning Magician when applying the part of the effect of Astrograph Sorcerer that adds a monster from my Deck to my hand?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of your Astrograph Sorcerer, the Tuning Magician that was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Torrential Tribute has already been banished by the effect of D.D. Crow. Even in this case, since Tuning Magician was a monster destroyed this turn, you can choose Tuning Magician and add a second copy of it from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20425&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP002 Chronograph Sorcerer

(No Q&A rulings.)

SD31-JP003 Iris Magician

Q: When Fusion Summoning Brave-Eyes Pendulum Dragon, can I use Iris Magician as a Fusion Material?
A: Brave-Eyes Pendulum Dragon requires 1 “Pendulum Dragon” monster and 1 Warrior-Type monster as its Fusion Materials. Since Iris Magician is always treated as a “Pendulum Dragon” card, it is a “Pendulum Dragon” monster and can be used a as Fusion Material monster for Brave-Eyes Pendulum Dragon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20423&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Main Phase 1 of the first turn of the Duel, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Iris Magician?
A: A Battle Phase cannot be conducted during the first turn of the Duel. During your Main Phase 1 of the first turn of the Duel, you can activate Iris Magician from your hand to your Pendulum Zone, but you cannot activate the Pendulum Effect of Iris Magician.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20422&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP004 Black Fang Magician

Q: Can I add Black Fang Magician from my Deck to my hand with the effect of Generation Force?
A: Black Fang Magician is always treated as an “Xyz Dragon” card, so it is also an “Xyz” card. Therefore, you can add it to your hand with the effect of Generation Force.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20421&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the Pendulum Effect of Black Fang Magician, targeting my opponent’s Clear Wing Synchro Dragon. If Book of Moon is chained, and Clear Wing Synchro Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Black Fang Magician resolve?
A: When resolving the Pendulum Effect of Black Fang Magician, if the opponent’s monster that was targeted is in face-down Defense Position, its current ATK cannot be halved, so Black Fang Magician is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20420&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Black Fang Magician in my hand or Deck is destroyed by the effect of my opponent’s Crush Card Virus, can I activate its monster effect?
A: If a Black Fang Magician in your hand or Deck is destroyed by the effect of your opponent’s Crush Card Virus, you can activate its monster effect. At this time, since the destroyed Black Fang Magician is itself a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster in your Graveyard, you can target and Special Summon it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20432&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP005 White Wing Magician

Q: White Wing Magician is in my Pendulum Zone, while Chronograph Sorcerer is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when my Chronograph Sorcerer attacks my opponent, my opponent activates Negate Attack. At this time, can I apply the Pendulum Effect of White Wing Magician?
A: Since Chronograph Sorcerer is a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster, Negate Attack is a card targeting a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster on your field. The effect of White Wing Magician does not create a Chain Link, so even when your opponent’s Negate Attack resolves, you can apply the effect of White Wing Magician and negate it. (Afterward, White Wing Magician is destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20418&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: White Wing Magician is in my Pendulum Zone, while Violet Poison Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when my opponent activates Mind Control targeting Violet Poison Magician, I chain Book of Eclipse and change Violet Poison Magician to face-down Defense Position. At this time, can I apply the Pendulum Effect of White Wing Magician when Mind Control resolves?
A: Violet Poison Magician is a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster, but the effect of the chained Book of Eclipse changes it to face-down Defense Position. Since its Type and Attribute cannot be determined, the effect of White Wing Magician cannot be applied. (Mind Control resolves normally, and your opponent gains control of your face-down Defense Position Violet Poison Magician.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20430&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: White Wing Magician is in my Pendulum Zone, while Iris Magician and Black Fang Magician are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when my opponent activates Icarus Attack targeting Iris Magician and Black Fang Magician, I chain DNA Surgery and declare Winged Beast-Type. At this time, can I apply the Pendulum Effect of White Wing Magician?
A: Both Iris Magician and Black Fang Magician are DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters, but the effect of the chained DNA Surgery treats them as Winged Beast-Type monsters. Therefore, Icarus Attack is no longer treated as a card effect targeting a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster(s) on your field, so you cannot apply the Pendulum Effect of White Wing Magician. (Icarus Attack resolves normally, and both Iris Magician and Black Fang Magician are destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20429&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Pendulum Summoned White Wing Magician is face-up on my field. If White Wing Magician is banished by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss and then returned to the field, will it be banished if it is used as a Synchro Material monster?
A: Even if a Pendulum Summoned White Wing Magician is banished by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, it is still treated as a Pendulum Summoned monster after it returns to the field. Therefore, if that White Wing Magician is used as a Synchro Material monster afterward, it will be banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20419&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP006 Violet Poison Magician

Q: A face-up Attack Position Chronograph Sorcerer attacks my opponent directly. At this time, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of my Violet Poison Magician before damage calculation?
A: Even when a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster on your field attacks directly, you can activate the Pendulum Effect of Violet Poison Magician before damage calculation. (In this case, Chronograph Sorcerer gains 1200 ATK normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20416&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my Xiangke Magician battles, I activate the Pendulum Effect of Violet Poison Magician before damage calculation. If Forbidden Lance is chained, and Xiangke Magician becomes unaffected by Spell/Trap effects, how does the effect of Violet Poison Magician resolve?
A: When resolving the Pendulum Effect of Violet Poison Magician, if your battling DARK Spellcaster-Type monster is unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards, it does not gain 1200 ATK, so Violet Poison Magician is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20417&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP023 Pendulumgraph of Ages

Q: Pendulumgraph of Ages is face-up in my Field Zone. If my face-down Defense Position Stargazer Magician is flipped face-up by my opponent’s attack, and destroyed by battle, will the effect of Pendulumgraph of Ages activate?
A: Even in this scenario, since Stargazer Magician was flipped face-up by the attack, it is face-up when it leaves the field. Therefore, the effect of Pendulumgraph of Ages activates in this case.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20415&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Pendulumgraph of Ages is face-up in my Field Zone. If my face-up Dragoncalling Magician is banished face-down by the effect of my opponent’s Chaos Scepter Blast, will the effect of Pendulumgraph of Ages activate?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Chaos Scepter Blast banishes your Dragoncalling Magician face-down, but it was face-up when left the field. Therefore, the effect of Pendulumgraph of Ages activates in this case.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20414&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP032 Pendulumgraph of Spacetime

Q: I activate the effect of Pendulumgraph of Spacetime, targeting a face-up Timegazer Magician in my Monster Zone and a face-down Defense Position monster on my opponent’s field. If Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained, and Timegazer Magician is returned to the hand, how does the effect of Pendulumgraph of Spacetime resolve?
A: In this scenario, of the 2 cards targeted with the effect of Pendulumgraph of Spacetime, Timegazer Magician has been returned to the hand, so only 1 of the targeted cards remains on the field. In this case, the targeted face-down Defense Position monster on your opponent’s field is destroyed normally, but since you did not destroy 2 cards with this effect, you can also apply the part of the effect that sends 1 card on the field to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20413&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Pendulumgraph of Spacetime, targeting a face-up Stargazer Magician in my Monster Zone and a Set Spell/Trap Card on my opponent’s field. If Mystical Space Typhoon is chained, and Pendulumgraph of Spacetime is destroyed, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Pendulumgraph of Spacetime, if Pendulumgraph of Spacetime itself has been destroyed, none of the targeted cards are destroyed, but you cannot apply the part of the effect that sends 1 card on the field to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20412&keyword=&tag=-1

SD31-JP041 Startime Magician

Q: If I activate Rank-Up-Magic Astral Force, targeting my face-up Ghostrick Socuteboss, can I Special Summon Startime Magician from my Extra Deck with its effect?
A: Startime Magician can only be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by Xyz Summon, using its written Xyz Materials. Since the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Astral Force does not use 2 Level 4 “Magician” Pendulum Monsters, Startime Magician cannot be Special Summoned with its effect. In this scenario, if you do not have the correct Xyz Monster in your Extra Deck that has the same Type and Attribute as Ghostrick Socuteboss but is 2 Ranks higher (such as Downerd Magician), you cannot activate Rank-Up-Magic Astral Force.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20411&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up on my opponent’s field, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this case, if a Pendulum Monster Card in my Monster Zone or Pendulum Zone would be destroyed by battle or card effect, can I apply the effect of Startime Magician that sends 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from my Deck to the Graveyard instead?
A: Even while the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, if a Pendulum Monster Card in your Monster Zone or Pendulum Zone would be destroyed by battle or card effect, you can apply the effect of Startime Magician. In this case, the Spellcaster-Type monster is banished from your Deck instead of sent to the Graveyard, but your Pendulum Monsters are not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20410&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Xiangsheng Magician and Xiangke Magician are both in my Pendulum Zones, while Startime Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Icarus Attack targeting Xiangsheng Magician and Xiangke Magician, so that multiple Pendulum Monster Cards would be destroyed, can I apply the effect of Startime Magician that sends 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from my Deck to the Graveyard instead?
A: Even when multiple Pendulum Monster Cards on your field would be destroyed by the same card effect, you can apply the effect of Startime Magician. In this case, 1 Spellcaster-Type monster is sent from your Deck to the Graveyard, and neither Xiangsheng Magician nor Xiangke Magician are destroyed by the effect of Icarus Attack.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20409&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.