[OCG] Weekly Rulings Update

Now bi-weekly, due to the reduced number of new rulings per week.

02/22/18 Rulings

Q: Odd-Eyes Lancer Dragon and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Dark Hole, can I apply the last effect of Odd-Eyes Lancer Dragon and another “Odd-Eyes” card instead?
A: In this situation, if there is another “Odd-Eyes” card in your hand, Monster Zone, or Pendulum Zone, you can apply the effect of Odd-Eyes Lancer Dragon. (Even if you apply the effect while 2 or more “Odd-Eyes” cards would be destroyed, you only destroy 1 other “Odd-Eyes” card instead.) When the effect is applied, neither Odd-Eyes Lancer Dragon nor Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon are destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11254&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there is a Link/Effect Monster on my opponent’s field, such as Decode Talker, can I activate Inverse Universe?
A: Since Link Monsters do not have DEF, the effect of Inverse World that switches the ATK and DEF of Effect Monsters on the field cannot be applied to them. If the only face-up Effect Monsters on the field are Link Monsters, Inverse World cannot be activated. Furthermore, if there are non-Link Effect Monsters on the field as well as Link/Effect Monsters, the effect of Inverse Universe will not apply to the Link Monsters, but applies normally to the other Effect Monsters.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10217&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I Special Summoned a Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon from my hand by its own effect, by banishing that Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission?
A: In this scenario, since Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission would be placed on the bottom of the Deck when it leaves the field, it cannot be banished to Special Summon Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10759&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Destroymare Iblee is face-up in my Monster Zone, can I activate Monster Reborn?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Destroymare Iblee, you cannot Special Summon monsters other than Link Monsters. Although you can activate Monster Reborn if you target a Link Monster, you cannot target a non-Link Monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11561&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate Mask Change II targeting a Destroymare Iblee on my field?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Destroymare Iblee, you cannot Special Summon monsters other than Link Monsters. Mask Change II does not Special Summon Link Monsters, so you cannot activate it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13229&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gozen Match is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and an Element Saber Makani with the WIND Attribute is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of another Element Saber Makani in my Graveyard and make it become an EARTH monster, can I then activate Monster Reborn and target that Element Saber Makani?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Gozen Match is applying and the only face-up monsters on your field are WIND, an Element Saber Makani in your Graveyard treated as an EARTH monster cannot be targeted with Monster Reborn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10788&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gozen Match is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and an Element Saber Nalu with the WATER Attribute is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of an Element Saber Malo’o in my Graveyard and make it become a WATER monster, can I then activate Monster Reborn and target that Element Saber Malo’o?
A: In this scenario, you can activate Monster Reborn and target an Element Saber Malo’o treated as a WATER monster in your Graveyard. In this case, Element Saber Malo’o will revert to being a FIRE monster once it has been Special Summoned, so the effect of Gozen Match will be applied and Element Saber Malo’o must be sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10639&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Scrap-Iron Scarecrow is Set in my Spell & Trap Zone, in the same column as a Sekitoba in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate Scrap-Iron Scarecrow. When Scrap-Iron Scarecrow is Set by its own effect instead of being sent to the Graveyard, does the effect of Sekitoba to destroys itself activate?
A: In this scenario, Scrap-Iron Scarecrow is Set by its own effect instead of sent to the Graveyard. This is not considered being placed in the same column as Sekitoba, so the effect of Sekitoba does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10675&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Altergeist Kidolga is in the Extra Monster Zone, and a face-up Attack Position Altergeist Meluseek is in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, Altergeist Meluseek attacks directly with its effect, and inflicts battle damage to my opponent. At this time, can the effects of Altergeist Meluseek and Altergeist Kidolga each activate?
A: In this scenario, you may activate the effects of both Altergeist Meluseek and Altergeist Kidolga. If both effects are activated, they are activated on the same Chain, in the order you choose.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10637&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summoned a Degrenade Buster from my opponent’s Graveyard with the effect of Altergeist Kidolga. During my next turn, if I declare an attack with Altergeist Kidolga, but my opponent activates Magic Cylinder and negates the attack, can the Special Summoned Degrenade Buster attack?
A: In this scenario, although the attack made by Altergeist Kidolga was negated by the effect of Magic Cylinder, it still declared an attack that turn, so the Special Summoned Degrenade Buster can attack that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11559&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Link Summon a Troymare Cerberus so that it is co-linked with my Troymare Mermaid in the Extra Monster Zone. If I activate the effect of Troymare Cerberus, targeting my opponent’s Divine Dragon Lord Felgrand, but my opponent uses the effect of Return of the Dragon Lords in their Graveyard and prevents their monster from being destroyed, do I still draw a card?
A: In this scenario, if your opponent applies the effect of their Return of the Dragon Lords in their Graveyard so that Divine Dragon Lord Felgrand is not destroyed by the effect of Troymare Cerberus, you cannot draw a card afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12265&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Wind-Up Zenmaicro is in an Extra Monster Zone, and a Phantom of Chaos treated as Wind-Up Shark by its own effect is face-up in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate the second effect of Wind-Up Zenmaicro by banishing that Phantom of Chaos face-down?
A: In this scenario, if you activate the effect of Wind-Up Zenmaicro by banishing the Phantom of Chaos treated as Wind-Up Shark, it will be an effect that Special Summons a Wind-Up Shark from your Deck. Therefore, as long as you have a Wind-Up Shark in your Deck, you can activate the effect by banishing that Phantom of Chaos.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11750&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Vampire Sucker is face-up in my Extra Monster Zone, and a Gem-Knight Garnet that was Special Summoned by the effect of Vampire Sucker is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, treated as a Zombie-Type monster. In this situation, when applying the effect of Vampire Sucker that allows me to Tribute my opponent’s Zombie-Type monsters for a Tribute Summon, can I Tribute Vampire Sucker itself along with my opponent’s Gem-Knight Garnet?
A: When applying the effect of Vampire Sucker, if you Tribute Summon a Level 7 or higher monster and include an opponent’s Zombie-Type monster as a Tribute, you can still Tribute Vampire Sucker itself as well. Therefore, in this scenario, you can Tribute your Vampire Sucker and your opponent’s Gem-Knight Garnet treated as a Zombie-Type monster for the Tribute Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11560&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Saryuja Skull Dread is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of Inzektor Exa-Beetle. When that Saryuja Skull Dread is destroyed by my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of World Legacy Destination?
A: As in this scenario, when a Link Monster treated as an Equip Card leaves the field because of your opponent’s card effect, you cannot activate the effect of World Legacy Destination.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10415&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Forbidden Lance is activated, targeting an Ehther the Heavenly Monarch that was Special Summoned by and is equipped with Second Coming of the Monarchs. In this case, when Tribute Summoning a monster, can that Ehther the Heavenly Monarch equipped with Second Coming of the Monarchs be treated as 2 Tributes?
A: The effect of Second Coming of the Monarchs that allows you to treat the equipped monster as 2 Tributes for a Tribute Summon is an effect that is applied to that equipped monster, so if the equipped monster is currently unaffected by Spell effects, it cannot be treated as 2 Tributes for a Tribute Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13230&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate Called by the Grave, targeting a Normal Monster such as Mekk-Knight Avram in my opponent’s Graveyard?
A: You can target a Normal Monster such as Mekk-Knight Avram with Called by the Grave. The effect will be applied normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9092&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Sponsored Reborn, targeting Alpha the Magnet Warrior, Beta the Magnet Warrior, and Gamma the Magnet Warrior in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Imperial Iron Wall, how does Sponsored Reborn resolve?
A: If the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying when Sponsored Reborn resolves, although your opponent still chooses 1 of the targeted monsters for you to Special Summon, the part of the effect that banishes the remaining monsters is not applied, and those monsters remain in the Graveyard. Also, if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is already applying, you cannot activate Sponsored Reborn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11593&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating Dedication through Light and Darkness, can I Tribute a Dark Magician the Dragon Knight on my field?
A: If Dark Magician the Dragon Knight is face-up in your Monster Zone, its effect will treat it as being named Dark Magician, so you can Tribute it to activate Dedication through Light and Darkness. Also, since Dark Magician the Dragon Knight is not treated as Dark Magician while in face-down Defense Position, you cannot Tribute a face-down Dark Magician the Dragon Knight to activate Dedication through Light and Darkness.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10985&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure, can I send a Cyber Dragon treated as an Equip Card by the effect of Relinquished to the Graveyard as a material?
A: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon, you must send 1 “Cyber Dragon” monster and 1 or more monsters in the Extra Monster Zones to the Graveyard. A Cyber Dragon which is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of Relinquished is not a “Cyber Dragon” monster, so you cannot send it to the Graveyard as a material when Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11492&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is applying. In this situation, can I Special Summon Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure?
A: Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon is Special Summoned by sending its materials from either player’s field to the Graveyard. If the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, so you cannot Special Summon Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11490&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic, if I reveal an Invoked Mechaba in my Extra Deck as the cost, can I target an Aleister the Meltdown Invoker in my Graveyard?
A: The effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic is one that Special Summons a monster, whose name is written as a Fusion Material on the revealed Fusion Monster, from your Graveyard in face-down Defense Position. Aleister the Meltdown Invoker is a monster whose effect treats it as Aleister the Invoker while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, however it is also a Link Monster, so it cannot be targeted by an effect that Special Summons in face-down Defense Position. Furthermore, if Aleister the Meltdown Invoker is the only card named Aleister the Invoker in your Graveyard, you cannot reveal Invoked Mechaba when activating the effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21755&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic, I reveal a Gaia the Dragon Champion in my Extra Deck as the cost. If my opponent chains Extra Gate so that Gaia the Dragon Champion is no longer in my Extra Deck when the effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic resolves, what happens?
A: When the effect of Keeper of Dragonic Magic is activated, even if the revealed Fusion Monster is no longer in your Extra Deck when the effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. In this scenario, since the effect was activated by revealing Gaia the Dragon Champion, the targeted Gaia the Fierce Knight or Curse of Dragon is Special Summoned from your Graveyard in face-down Defense Position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21754&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.