[OCG] Weekly Rulings Update

Check THIS out!

03/15/18 Weekly Rulings, 03/22/18 Weekly Rulings, & V-Jump Promo Rulings

Q: A Prohibition that was activated by declaring Cyberdark Horn is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, can I activate Cyberdark Impact! ?
A: When Cyberdark Impact! resolves, Cyberdark Horn, Cyberdark Edge, and Cyberdark Keel are shuffled into the Deck from your hand, field, or Graveyard as materials for the Fusion Summon. Therefore, in this scenario, if you do not have a Cyberdark Horn that was already on your field before the effect of Prohibition started applying, Cyberdark Horn cannot be used as Fusion Material, so you cannot activate Cyberdark Impact!.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10465&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There is a face-down Defense Position monster on my field and Starlight Road is Set in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave and targets my Set Starlight Road, can I activate it?
A: Even if the activating player already has 3 or more Spell Cards in their Graveyard, they choose whether or not to apply the part of effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave that destroys a monster when it resolves. Therefore, Starlight Road cannot be chained to Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9447&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Lilith, Lady of Lament is face-up in my Monster Zone, and has an original ATK of 1000 due to its own effect. If Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Lilith, Lady of Lament are negated, what happens to its ATK?
A: If the effect of Skill Drain is applied to Lilith, Lady of Lament that has an original ATK of 1000 due to its own effect, its returns to its printed original ATK. Therefore, the original ATK of Lilith, Lady of Lament becomes 2000. (Even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying later, its original ATK remains 2000.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12542&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament that Sets a Normal Trap Card from my Deck, but chain Mystical Space Typhoon from my hand so that I have no vacant Spell & Trap Zones, how does the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament resolve?
A: If you have no vacant Spell & Trap Zones when resolving the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament, the effect disappears. (You do not reveal any Normal Trap Cards in your Deck.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11464&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated the effect of Ahrima, the Wicked Warden by Tributing another DARK monster on my field, and added Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair from my Deck to my hand. In this case, can I then activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it?
A: When activating the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it from your hand, after resolving a Chain in which a DARK monster on your field was Tributed, you declare its activation in a new Chain and show it to your opponent. In this scenario, when the effect of Ahrima, the Wicked Warden was activated, a DARK monster was Tributed, then Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair was present in your hand after the effect resolved, so you can activate its effect that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=293&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair is face-up on my opponent’s field, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness and Tribute that Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair when activating a card or effect?
A: Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair has an effect that prevents the opponent from Tributing it or targeting it with card effects. In this scenario, if Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair is face-up on your opponent’s field, you cannot Tribute it when applying the effect of Lair of Darkness.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11480&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, can I Special Summon Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju from my hand by Tributing my opponent’s Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair?
A: Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair has an effect that prevents the opponent from Tributing it or targeting it with card effects. In this scenario, if Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair is face-up on your opponent’s field, you cannot Tribute it to Special Summon Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju from your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7314&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that places a card in my opponent’s hand on the top or bottom of their Deck, by Tributing that same Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair. In this case, can I then activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it?
A: When activating the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it from your Graveyard, it must already be in your Graveyard when a DARK monster on your field is Tributed. In this scenario, if Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair was Tributed to activate its own effect, you cannot activate its effect that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9000&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Tributed a face-down Defense Position Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord on my field to activate Crush Card Virus. After it resolves, can I then activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it?
A: If you Tributed a face-down Defense Position monster with DARK as its original Attribute, you can activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it. Therefore, in this scenario, since Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord is a DARK monster, you can Special Summon Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8436&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are no DARK monsters with 2000 or more DEF in my Deck, can I activate the effect of Ahrima, the Wicked Warden by Tributing a DARK monster other than itself?
A: As long as you have at least 1 card in your Deck, even if there are no DARK monsters with 2000 or more DEF in your Deck, you can still activate the effect of Ahrima, the Wicked Warden by Tributing a DARK monster other than itself. (In that case, you resolve the effect of drawing 1 card.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8379&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord was Special Summoned by its own effect, by Tributing 2 monsters. Afterward, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord are negated, what happens to its ATK?
A: If the effect of Skill Drain is applied to Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord that was Special Summoned by its own effect, it no longer gains any ATK from that effect. Therefore, the ATK of Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord becomes 500. (Even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying later, its ATK remains 500.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8373&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, and the only face-up monster on my opponent’s field is a Vanity’s Fiend. In this situation, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness when activating Enemy Controller, so that I Tribute my opponent’s Vanity’s Fiend instead of my own monster?
A: When activating the effect of Enemy Controller that takes control of an opponent’s monster until the End Phase, there must be a monster on the field that can be Tributed for its cost, as well as a face-up monster on your opponent’s field to target with that effect. In this scenario, since Vanity’s Fiend is the only monster on your opponent’s field, you can only activate the effect of Enemy Controller if you Tribute your own monster, and target that Vanity’s Fiend. (Thus, you cannot apply the effect of Lair of Darkness.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9005&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, my Decode Talker is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my opponent’s Prometheus, King of Shadows is face-up in my opponent’s Main Monster Zone that Decode Talker points to. In this situation, if my opponent activates Mind Control targeting my Decode Talker, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness when chaining the effect of Decode Talker, so that I Tribute my opponent’s Prometheus, King of Shadows instead of my own monster?
A: When applying the effect of Lair of Darkness that allows you to Tribute an opponent’s DARK monster when activating a card or effect, the Tributed monster must be an appropriate monster to Tribute for that effect. Since the effect of Decode Talker is activated by Tributing a monster that it points to, you can apply the effect of Lair of Shadows and Tribute your opponent’s Prometheus, King of Shadows in this scenario.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10464&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, while Mist Archfiend and Archfiend Cavalry are both face-up in my opponent’s Main Monster Zone. Furthermore, I activated Soul Exchange targeting that Archfiend Cavalry this turn. In this situation, when activating the effect of Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord that Special Summons it from my hand, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness and Tribute both Mist Archfiend and Archfiend Cavalry?
A: When activating the effect of Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord that Special Summons it from your hand, you can apply the effect of Lair of Darkness and Tribute 1 of your opponent’s DARK monsters. The effect of Lair of Darkness will only allow you to Tribute 1 monster, but if the effect of Soul Exchange was also applied, depending on which card’s effect you apply, you may Tribute 2 of your opponent’s monsters. Therefore, in this scenario, you can Tribute your opponent’s Mist Archfiend and Archfiend Cavalry when activating the effect of Duke Shade, the Sinister Shadow Lord.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13810&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if no monsters were Tributed this turn, will the effect of Lair of Darkness that Special Summons Shadow Tokens activate during the End Phase?
A: As long as Lair of Darkness is face-up in the Field Zone, even if no monsters were Tributed during a turn, its effect will still activate and create a Chain. (However, since no monsters were Tributed, no Shadow Tokens are Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8202&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Both players have Lair of Darkness face-up in their Field Zones. During the End Phase, how does the effect of each copy that Special Summons Shadow Tokens activate and resolve?
A: If each player has Lair of Darkness face-up in their Field Zone, their effects activated during the End Phase do not activate on the same Chain, but rather activate and resolve separately.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8212&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Shadow Token was Special Summoned to my opponent’s field by the effect of my Lair of Darkness. After that, if Owner’s Seal is activated, what happens to that Shadow Token?
A: The owner of a Shadow Token is the player who activated the effect of Lair of Darkness that Special Summoned it. (Even if it is Special Summoned to the opponent’s field, there is no difference.) In this scenario, you are the owner of the Shadow Token, so when the effect of Owner’s Seal is applied, you gain control of it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8165&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, can I activate Grinning Grave Virus?
A: Even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate Grinning Grave Virus. In that case, the monster Tributed for its cost along with any cards destroyed by its effect are banished instead of sent to the Graveyard. If any of the cards destroyed by the effect of Grave Grinning Virus are banished instead of sent to the Graveyard, they are not affected by the part of its effect that prevents their effects from activating in the Graveyard during the turn they are destroyed. (For example, if Secret Six Samurai – Fuma is destroyed and banished, its effect that Special Summons a “Six Samurai” monster from the Deck can be activated.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9437&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Lilith, Lady of Lament is face-up in my Monster Zone, and has an original ATK of 1000 due to its own effect. In this situation, if I Tribute that Lilith, Lady of Lament to activate Grinning Grave Virus, how many of my opponent’s cards in their hand/Deck will be destroyed?
A: In this scenario, since Lilith, Lady of Lament has 1000 ATK when it is Tributed, the effect of Grinning Grave Virus will destroy 2 cards in your opponent’s hand/Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11697&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During this turn, my Honest was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of my opponent’s Grave Grinning Virus. If I activate Beckoning Light and add that Honest from my Graveyard to my hand, can I then activate the effect of that Honest during this turn?
A: When cards are destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Grave Grinning Virus, the part of its effect that prevents those cards from activating their effects only applies to effects that activate in the Graveyard. In this scenario, when Honest is added back to your hand by the effect of Beckoning Light, it is no longer treated as having been destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Grave Grinning Virus, and its effect can be activated from the hand normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8200&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate the monster effect of Fluffal Angel targeting a Frightfur Chimera in my Graveyard?
A: Frightfur Chimera is a monster that must be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon, so it cannot be targeted by the effect of Fluffal Angel.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21799&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the monster effect of Fluffal Angel, targeting a Frightfur Tiger in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Frightfur Tiger, how does the effect of Fluffal Angel resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if the targeted monster is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect of Fluffal Angel resolves, you still discard 1 card, but you do not Special Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21798&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, when I Synchro Summon a Shooting Riser Dragon, can I activate its effect that sends a monster with a lower Level than it from my Deck to the Graveyard?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Shooting Riser Dragon when it is Synchro Summoned. In that case, the monster that would be sent to the Graveyard by its effect is banished instead due to the effect of Macro Cosmos, and the part of the effect of Shooting Riser Dragon that lowers its Level, and the part that prevents you from activating card effects with the same name as the sent monster this turn, do not apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21802&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Synchro Summon a Shooting Riser Dragon and activate its effect that sends a monster with a lower Level than it from my Deck to the Graveyard. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Shooting Riser Dragon to the Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if Shooting Riser Dragon is no longer face-up on the field when its own effect resolves, it is impossible to send a monster from your Deck to the Graveyard that has a lower Level than it, so the effect is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21801&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated and resolved the effect of Shooting Riser Dragon when it was Synchro Summoned this turn, and sent a Jet Synchron from my Deck to the Graveyard. Afterward, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Shooting Riser Dragon are negated, what happens?
A: When the effect of Skill Drain is applied and the effects of Shooting Riser Dragon are negated, Shooting Star Dragon returns to its original Level. Even so, the part of the effect that prevents you from activating card effects with the same name as the sent monster this turn still applies. (In this scenario, you cannot activate the effect of Jet Synchron this turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21800&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.