[OCG] Weekly Rulings Update

Covering more of Dark Saviors, and The Valuable Book 20 promos.

03/08/18 Rulings

Q: I activate Polymerization, using a Dark Magician and Magician of Dark Illusion face-up from my field, and Magician’s Rod, Magician’s Robe, and Palladium Oracle Mahad in my hand as Fusion Materials, to Fusion Summon Quintet Magician. In this case, can I activate the effect of Quintet Magician that destroys all cards on my opponent’s field?
A: In this scenario, the face-up Magician of Dark Illusion on your field is treated as Dark Magician by its own effect. In that case, Quintet Magician is not considered to have been Fusion Summoned using 5 Spellcaster-Type monsters with different names as materials, so its effect cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21756&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Alpha the Magnet Warrior, Beta the Magnet Warrior, Gamma the Magnet Warrior, Gazelle the King of Mythical Beasts, and Berfomet are all face-up in my Monster Zone, and a DNA Surgery that was activated by declaring Spellcaster-Type is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. If I activate Polymerization, and use all 5 monsters in my Monster Zone as materials to Fusion Summon Quintet Magician, can I activate the effect of Quintet Magician that destroys all cards on my opponent’s field?
A: In this scenario, Quintet Magician was Fusion Summoned using 5 monsters with different names as materials, so you can activate its effect that destroys all cards on your opponent’s field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21757&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Vampire Familiar that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when activating the effect of a Vampire Brood in my Graveyard, can I send that Vampire Familiar to the Graveyard as the cost?
A: In this scenario, since Vampire Familiar was Special Summoned by its own effect, it is banished when it leaves the field and cannot be sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, you cannot use that Vampire Familiar to pay the cost of activating the effect of Vampire Brood.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9583&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 copies of Vampire Fraülein and 1 Vampire Red Baron face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, during damage calculation when Vampire Red Baron battles an opponent’s monster, can I activate the effect of each Vampire Fraülein?
A: In this scenario, if there are 2 copies of Vampire Fraülein on your field and your Zombie-Type monster battles an opponent’s monster, you can activate the effect of each Vampire Fraülein. (In that case, the effects of both copies will be activated and resolved on the same Chain.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13179&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated the effect of Vampire Red Baron, switching control of a monster on my field with my opponent’s Vampire Baby, then my opponent started their turn with that Vampire Baby on my field. During my opponent’s turn, if I activate Wonder Xyz, can I Xyz Summon Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan using Vampire Red Baron and Vampire Baby as materials?
A: Even if you Xyz Summon an Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan using the effect of Wonder Xyz, you can treat a monster on your field that your opponent owns as Level 6, just as you would be able to when performing a regular Xyz Summon during your Main Phase. Therefore, in this scenario, you can use Vampire Red Baron and your opponent’s Vampire Baby that you control as materials to Xyz Summon Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9204&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan is face-up in the Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, if a Link Monster is sent to my opponent’s Graveyard by battle or by card effect, can I activate the effect of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan that Special Summons the sent monster from my opponent’s Graveyard?
A: Since a Link Monster cannot exist in Defense Position, normally, if a Link Monster is sent to your opponent’s Graveyard by battle or by card effect, you cannot activate the effect of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan. However, if a Link Monster and a non-Link Monster are destroyed and sent to your opponent’s Graveyard at the same time by the effect of Shiranui Style Swallow’s Slash, etc., you can activate the effect of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan. (In that case, you can only Special Summon the non-Link Monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8740&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up P.M. Captor is the only monster on my field. In this situation, can I activate the second effect of Vampire Desire?
A: Even if the Pendulum Monster P.M. Captor is the only monster on your field, you can activate the second effect of Vampire Desire. In that case, P.M. Captor is added face-up to the Extra Deck instead of sent to the Graveyard, and the targeted “Vampire” monster is not Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12692&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Main Phase, I activate the effect of Vampire Territory, which allows me to Normal Summon a “Vampire” monster this turn in addition to my Normal Summon/Set. Afterward, if that Vampire Territory is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon before I perform the additional Normal Summon, can I still use the effect?
A: As in this scenario, if Vampire Territory is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon after its activated effect has resolved, but before you perform the additional Normal Summon, you can still Normal Summon using the effect that turn. If Mystical Space Typhoon was chained to the effect of Vampire Territory and destroyed it, you will not be able to perform the additional Normal Summon that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10305&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Draw Phase, when I activate the effect of Dragon Airship Fandra that adds a “Skyfang Brigade” monster from my Deck to my hand, my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys Dragon Airship Fandra. In this case, can I perform my normal draw?
A: In this scenario, since Dragon Airship Fandra was destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, its effect cannot be applied. In that case, you can perform your normal draw.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10437&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I attempt to Link Summon a Sky Striker Ace Shizuku, my opponent activates Solemn Strike and negates the Special Summon. During the same turn, can I Special Summon another copy of Sky Striker Ace Shizuku?
A: Sky Striker Ace Shizuku is a monster that you can only Special Summon once per turn. In this scenario, if the Link Summon of your Sky Striker Ace Shizuku was negated, you cannot Link Summon another Sky Striker Ace Shizuku, nor Special Summon one with effects such as Monster Reborn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14624&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gozen Match is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect prevents players from controlling more than 1 monster Attribute. In this situation, if Sky Striker Ace Rei is the only monster in my Main Monster Zone, can I Special Summon Sky Striker Ace Kagari?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of your opponent’s Gozen Match is applied, you can only Special Summon DARK monsters. Therefore, you cannot Special Summon Sky Striker Ace Kagari, even by using Sky Striker Ace Rei as Link Material or activating the effect of Sky Striker Ace Rei by Tributing it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10427&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, I activate Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner, targeting a face-up Vampire Grimson on my opponent’s field. If my opponent applies the effect of Vampire Grimson and pays 1000 Life Points instead of destroying it, can I still apply the effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on the field?
A: In this scenario, if you cannot destroy the targeted monster with the effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner, you cannot destroy a Spell/Trap Card on the field afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12618&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, I activate Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave and target a Set Spell/Trap Card on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains that Spell/Trap Card so that it is face-up, how does Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave resolve?
A: Even if a Set Spell/Trap Card that was targeted with Sky Striker Maneuver: Jamming Wave is activated and flipped face-up, it is still destroyed. In this scenario, if there are any monsters on the field, you can then apply the part of the effect that destroys 1 monster on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10609&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate 2 copies of Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit by chaining one to the other?
A: Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit is a Quick-Play Spell Card that can only be activated while you have no monsters in your Main Monster Zone. In this scenario, if you have 2 copies of Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit in your hand, you can activate one and then chain the other. (You will Special Summon 2 Sky Striker Ace Tokens as a result.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14622&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Widow Anchor, targeting a face-up Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Sky Striker Battlegear: Widow Anchor resolve?
A: In this scenario, since you cannot negate the effects of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan if it is in face-down Defense Position, the effect is not applied, and you cannot take control of it until the End Phase afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11252&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Eagle Booster, targeting a face-up Super Quantal Mech Beast Aeroboros in my Extra Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Super Quantal Mech Beast Aeroboros to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Sky Striker Battlegear: Eagle Booster resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position when Sky Striker Battlegear: Eagle Booster resolves, the effect that makes that monster unaffected by other cards’ effects this turn is not applied, so even if you have 3 or more Spell Cards in your Graveyard, the part of the effect that prevents that monster from being destroyed by battle this turn is also not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12282&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, can I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon?
A: In this scenario, if you have fewer than 3 Spell Cards in your Graveyard, you cannot activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon. If you have 3 or more Spell Cards in your Graveyard, you can activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon. In that case, since you cannot banish cards due to the effect of Imperial Iron Wall, you must Special Summon the targeted monster instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8227&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base is sent from the field to the Graveyard by a card effect, can I activate its effect targeting a Sky Striker Ace Kagari or Sky Striker Ace Shizuku in my Graveyard?
A: You can target Sky Striker Ace Kagari or Sky Striker Ace Shizuku in your Graveyard with the effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base. Those monsters will return to your Extra Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11306&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 copies of Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole in my Spell & Trap Zone, and 2 Ojama Tokens in my Monster Zone. After activating and applying the effect of the first Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole, which prevents my opponent from activating cards or effects in response to my Spell Cards’ activations, can I activate that effect of the second copy?
A: During the turn the effect of Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole is applying, you cannot activate that effect of a second copy.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7993&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate the effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero targeting a Sky Striker Ace Token in my Monster Zone?
A: You can target a Sky Striker Ace Token on your field with the effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero. When the effect resolves, if there are any “Sky Striker” cards among the 3 cards you excavated, the part of the effect that sends the targeted card to the Graveyard is applied, but the Sky Striker Ace Token disappears instead of being sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7841&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero was Set in the Field Zone by the effect of Set Rotation. In this situation, if Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon while Set, can I activate its effect that Special Summons a “Sky Striker Ace” monster from my Deck?
A: In this scenario, since Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero was sent from the Field Zone to the Graveyard by a card effect, you can activate its effect that Special Summons a “Sky Striker Ace” monster from your Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9661&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero is face-up in my Field Zone, I activate Metaverse and activate a Chicken Game from my Deck. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero that Special Summons a “Sky Striker Ace” monster from my Deck?
A: If you activate a new Field Spell Card using the effect of Metaverse, any Field Spell Card already on your field is first sent to the Graveyard. The previous Field Spell Card is not treated as being sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Metaverse. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot activate the effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9429&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.