[OCG] Valuable Book 17 + 08/21/2014 rulings

Valuable Book 17:

Valuable Book 17: DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord
•The monster effect that Special Summons this card and recovers LP is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target. This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step)
•The part of the effect that Special Summons this card from the hand and the part of the effect that recovers LP are considered to happen simultaneously.
•The monster effect that prevents you from taking effect damage is a Continuous Effect.
•The pendulum effect that destroys this card and changes effect damage to LP recovery starts a chain. (This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Also, the last thing to happen when this effect resolves is considered to be the destruction of this card)

Valuable Book 17: Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon
•Xyz Summoning this card by placing this card on top of a “Galaxy-Eyes” Xyz Monster is not treated as a monster effect.
•Xyz Summoning this card by placing this card on top of a “Galaxy-Eyes” Xyz Monster is considered as properly Xyz Summoning this card.
•The monster effect that attaches Equip Cards as Xyz Materials is an Ignition Effect. (This effect targets up to 2 Equip Cards attached to this card)
•The effect that destroys 1 face-up card the opponent controls is an Ignition Effect. (This effect targets 1 face-up card the opponent controls. Detaching 1 Xyz Material from this card is a cost to activate this effect)

08/21/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: Can a monster returned to the hand by the effect of Vulcan the Divine be Normal Summoned or Set?
Also, if it can be Normal Summoned or Set, can it declare attacks during the Battle Phase?
A: If the effect of Vulcan the Divine has been applied, the effects of that card cannot be activated, but the monster returned to the hand can be Normal Summoned or Set.
Also, the monster returned to the hand (or monsters with the same name) can declare attacks during the Battle Phase if they are Normal Summoned or Set.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13471&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Mist Wurm was activated targeting 2 or 3 cards.
If at the time of the resolution 1 of the targets is no longer on the field as a result of a card being activated in a chain, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the remaining targets are still returned to the hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13472&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After the ATK of a “Constellar” monster was increased by 1000 by the effect of Constellar Praesepe, if the effects of monsters on the field are negated, what does the ATK become?
Also, is it any different if Constellar Praesepe increases its own ATK or the ATK of a different “Constellar” monster?
A: Even in this case, if Skill Drain is activated, the ATK increased by the effect of Constellar Praesepe remains increased.
(This is no different if Constellar Praesepe increases its own ATK or the ATK of another “Constellar” monster)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13473&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After increasing (or decreasing) the Level of a “Constellar” monster by 1 by the effect of Constellar Kaus, if the effects of monsters on the field are negated, what does the Level become?
Also, is it any different if Constellar Kaus changes its own Level or the Level of a different “Constellar” monster?
A: Even in that case, if Skill Drain is activated, the Level modified by the effect of Constellar Kaus remains changed.
(This is no different if Constellar Kaus changes its own effect or the Level of another “Constellar” monster)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13474&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the effect of Gem-Knight Prismaura that targeted a face-up monster, so that at the time of the resolution the targeted monster is flipped to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect is not applied.
(The targeted card is not destroyed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13475&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Gem-Knight Master Diamond was activated, changing its name to Gem-Knight Aquamarine and gaining its effects.
If that Gem-Knight Master Diamond is sent to the Graveyard, can the gained effect of returning 1 card the opponent controls to the hand be activated?
A: The gained name and effects of Gem-Knight Master Diamond are no longer applied once its Leaves the Field.
Therefore, the effect of Gem-Knight Aquamarine that returns a card the opponent controls to the hand cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13476&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Gem-Knight Aquamarine on the field is used as a Fusion Material and sent to the Graveyard, can its effect that returns a card the opponent controls to the hand be activated?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13477&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Goddess with the Third Eye be used as a Fusion Material for Fusion Monsters that say “must first be Fusion Summoned with the above Fusion Materials” like Gem-Knight Ruby, Gem-Knight Aquamarine, or Gem-Knight Topaz?
A: Monsters like Goddess with the Third Eye that have an effect that allows them to be used as substitutes for a Fusion Material cannot be used while Fusion Summoning monsters like Gem-Knight Ruby from the Extra Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13478&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can King of the Swamp be used as a Fusion Material for Fusion Monsters that say “must first be Fusion Summoned with the above Fusion Materials” like Gem-Knight Ruby, Gem-Knight Aquamarine, or Gem-Knight Topaz?
A: Monsters like King of the Swamp that have an effect that allows them to be used as substitutes for a Fusion Material cannot be used while Fusion Summoning monsters like Gem-Knight Ruby from the Extra Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13479&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster Special Summoned by the effect of M-X-Saber Invoker is flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, is that Special Summoned monster destroyed during the End Phase?
A: In that case, it is not destroyed during the End Phase.
Furthermore, even if that monster becomes face-up again, it is not destroyed during the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13480&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster Special Summoned by the effect of M-X-Saber Invoker is not destroyed during the End Phase of that turn by the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon, is that Special Summoned monster destroyed during the End Phase of the next turn?
A: In that case, that Special Summoned monster is destroyed during the End Phase of the next turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13481&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After a monster was Special Summoned by the effect of M-X-Saber Invoker, if Skill Drain is applied, negating the effects of M-X-Saber Invoker, is the Special Summoned monster destroyed during the End Phase?
A: Even in that case, the Special Summoned monster is destroyed during the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13482&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: XX-Saber Fulhelmknight battled with a monster with the same ATK.
As a result of that battle, if both monsters are destroyed by that battle, can the effect of XX-Saber Fulhelmknight that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “X-Saber” monster from the Graveyard be activated?
A: In that case, the effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13483&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: XX-Saber Fulhelmknight attacked an opponent’s face-down Defense Position Man-Eater Bug and destroyed it in battle.
After that Damage Calculation, if the effect of Man-Eater Bug activates and destroys XX-Saber Fulhelmknight, can the effect of XX-Saber Fulhelmknight that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “X-Saber” monster from the Graveyard be activated?
A: The effect of XX-Saber Fulhelmknight that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “X-Saber” monster from the Graveyard activates at the End of the Damage Step.
If XX-Saber Fulhelmknight is destroyed after Damage Calculation by the effect of Man-Eater Bug, the effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13484&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon, Compulsory Evacuation Device of Zero Gravity is activated in a chain to the effect of X-Saber Pashuul, so that at the time of the resolution X-Saber Pashuul is no longer in face-up Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect is not applied.
(You do not take 1000 damage)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13485&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon that destroys 1 face-up card the opponent controls was activated targeting a monster.
If Book of Moon is activated in a chain, so that that targeted monster is flipped to face-down defense Position, is it still destroyed?
A: Even in that case, that monster is destroyed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13486&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Enemy Controller is activated in a chain to the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon that attaches Equip Cards as Xyz Materials, so that it changes control, how does this resolve?
A: Even in this case, the effect resolves normally. (The targeted Equip Cards become Xyz Materials)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13487&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon is activated, targeting 2 Equip Cards.
If Mystical Space Typhoon is activated in a chain, targeting 1 of those 2 Equip Cards, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the Equip Card destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon is not attached as an Xyz Material, but the remaining one is.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13488&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon is equipped with an opponent’s Ekibyo Drakmord, can its effect be activated and attach that card as an Xyz Material?
A: Yes, it can. (It becomes an Xyz Material)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13489&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is chained to the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon that attaches Equip Cards as Xyz Materials, so that it is flipped face-down, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the Equip Cards attached to Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon can no longer be equipped and are destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.
Therefore, they are not attached as Xyz Materials to Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13490&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Galaxy-Eyes Full Armor Photon Dragon equipped with an Union Monster like Metallizing Parasite – Soltite activate its effect to attach it as an Xyz Material?
A: Yes, it can. (It becomes an Xyz Material)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13491&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you control a face-up DD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord, Ring of Destruction was activated.
In that case, how much damage does each player take?
A: Providing Ring of Destruction does not target DD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord, you take no effect damage and only the opponent takes damage by the effect of Ring of Destruction, as a result of the effect of DD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord.
Furthermore, if DD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is the target of Ring of Destruction, both players take damage by the effect of Ring of Destruction, since the effect of DD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is no longer applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13492&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mystical Space Typhoon was activated in a chain to the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that changes effect damage into LP recovery, destroying that DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord.
In that case, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is not applied.
(That DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is not destroyed once again by its own effect, and the effect that changes effect damage to recovery is not applied either)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13493&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that changes effect damage to LP recovery is being applied.
In this case, is this effect applied to effects that damage any player?
A: In that case, effects that inflict damage are applied as effects that recover LP.
Therefore, if an effect inflicts damage to you, you recover LP, and if an effect inflicts damage to the opponent, the opponent recovers LP.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13494&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent activated the effect of Gagaga Cowboy and you took 800 damage.
At that time, if the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that changes effect damage to LP recovery is activated, is the effect damage taken by the effect of Gagaga Cowboy recovered as LP?
A: The effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that changes effect damage to LP recovery converts it after it resolves.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the damage already taken by the effect of Gagaga Cowboy before the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is activated is not changed to LP recovery.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13495&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you have two copies of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord in your Pendulum Zones when you take effect damage, so that the effect of each copy activates, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effects of each copy of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that destroy themselves and changes effect damage to LP recovery activate in a chain.
Furthermore, even if the Pendulum effect of each copy of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is applied, the effect damage is only changed to LP recovery once.
(The amount of LP recovered is not doubled. AS a result, this is no different from only applying the effect of 1 copy of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13496&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent controls a face-up Bad Reaction to Simochi.
When you take effect damage, if you activate the effect of a DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord in your hand, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is Special Summoned normally.
The part of the effect that recovers LP is changed to effect damage by the effect of Bad Reaction to Simochi, however, since the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that prevents you from taking effect damage is applied, as an end result, you take no damage.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13497&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Vanity’s Emptiness is chained to the activation of the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord activated in the hand, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord is not applied.
The DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord that activated the effect is not Special Summoned and remains in the hand.
Also, no LP is increased.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13498&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When you would take effect damage, if you would gain LP instead as a result of the effect of Rainbow Life already being applied, can you activate the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord to Special Summon it?
A: In that case, since you would gain LP instead as a result of the effect of Rainbow Life, the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13499&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When you would take effect damage, if you would take 0 damage as a result of the effect of One Day of Peace already being applied, can you activate the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord to Special Summon it?
A: In that case, since you would take 0 damage as a result of the effect of One Day of Peace, the effect of DDD Leonidas the Rebellious Overlord cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13500&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons