[OCG] V-Jump & Structure Deck: Master Link Rulings

These will cover the latest V-Jump promo as well as the Master Link Structure Deck, including rulings for a minor reversal/errata for a very old classic.

VJMP-JP149 Police Patrol of the Underworld

Q: I Link Summoned Police Patrol of the Underworld, using 2 copies of Reborn Tengu (WIND) as materials. In this case, although Police Patrol of the Underworld does not gain its effect, is it still considered an Effect Monster?
A: Police Patrol of the Underworld gains its “●” effect if it was Link Summoned using 2 DARK monsters with different names as materials, but even if 2 monsters that are not DARK are used as its materials, as in this scenario, it is still considered an Effect Monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21966&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, and its effect that makes all face-up monsters on the field become DARK-Attribute is applying. In this situation, if I Link Summon Police Patrol of the Underworld using Dandylion and Glow-Up Bulb as materials, does Police Patrol of the Underworld gains its effect?
A: If 2 monsters with different names that are treated as DARK by the effect of Lair of Darkness are used as materials to Link Summon Police Patrol of the Underworld, that Police Patrol of the Underworld will gain its “●” effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21965&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: A Police Patrol of the Underworld that was Link Summoned using 2 DARK monsters with different names as materials is in the Extra Monster Zone. If I activate Interdimensional Matter Transporter and banish that Police Patrol of the Underworld until the End Phase, what happens to its gained effect when it returns to the Main Monster Zone?
A: In this scenario, if a Police Patrol of the Underworld that gained its “●” effect is banished by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter, it will no longer have that effect when it returns to the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21964&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP001 Latency

Q: When Latency is Special Summoned by its own effect, my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes it to face-down Defense Position. After that, if Latency becomes face-up again and is used as material for a Link Summon, can its effect that draws 1 card be activated?
A: If a Latency Special Summoned by its own effect is changed to face-down Defense Position, you cannot activate its effect to draw a card even if it is then flipped face-up again and used as Link Material.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21981&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP002 Swap Cleric

Q: When Swap Cleric is sent to the Graveyard as a material to Link Summon Talkback Lancer, I activate the effect of that Swap Cleric. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Talkback Lancer to the Extra Deck, what happens?
A: If the Link Monster that used Swap Cleric as a material for its Link Summon is no longer on the field when resolving the effect of Swap Cleric, its ATK cannot be lowered by 500, so you also cannot draw a card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21980&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP003 Defcon Bird

Q: My Code Talker is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Defcon Bird is face-up in the Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if Code Talker is targeted for an attack, can I activate the second effect of Defcon Bird?
A: You can activate the second effect of Defcon Bird even if your Cyberse-Type Link Monster is targeted for an attack. Link Monsters have no DEF, so only the monster’s ATK will become double its current value. Also, since Link Monsters cannot be in Defense Position, you cannot apply the part of the effect that changes the attack target to Defense Position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21979&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP004 Micro Coder

Q: When Link Summoning a “Code Talker” monster using the effect of World Legacy Awakens, can I apply the effect of a Micro Coder in my hand and use it as a material?
A: Even if you are performing a Link Summon using the effect of World Legacy Awakens, you can apply the effect of a Micro Coder in your hand and use it as a material.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21982&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Prohibition was activated by declaring Micro Coder. In this situation, can I apply the effect of a Micro Coder in my hand and use it as a material?
A: Since a monster declared by Prohibition cannot be used as material for a Special Summon, if Micro Coder was declared, you cannot apply the effect of one in your hand and use it as a material.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21978&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Bitrooper is the only monster on my field. In this situation, when Link Summoning Powercode Talker, can I apply the effects of both Micro Coder and Code Radiator in my hand and use them as materials?
A: If you use a Cyberse-Type monster on your field as material to Link Summon a “Code Talker” monster, you can also apply the effects of both Micro Coder and Code Radiator in your hand and use them as materials. (In this scenario, you can Link Summon Powercode Talker using the Bitrooper on your field and the Micro Coder and Code Radiator in your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21977&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I attempted to Link Summon a Code Talker by applying the effect of a Micro Coder in my hand, using it as material along with a Cyberse-Type monster on my field, but my opponent activated Solemn Strike and negated the Link Summon. During the same turn, can I still apply the effect of another Micro Coder in my hand and use it as a material?
A: Even if the Link Summon using Micro Coder in your hand as a material is negated by Solemn Strike, you cannot apply the effect of another Micro Coder in your hand that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21976&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP005 Profibit Snake

Q: When my Code Talker battles with my opponent’s Photon Token, can I activate the effect of Profibit Snake at the start of the Damage Step?
A: Even if your Cyberse-Type Link Monster battles an opponent’s Token, you can activate the effect of Profibit Snake at the start of the Damage Step. The Token disappears and is not returned to the hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21975&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If my Profibit Snake battles my opponent’s Tindangle Angel with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of that Profibit Snake that adds a Level 4 or lower Cyberse-Type monster in my Graveyard to my hand?
A: The second effect of Profibit Snake can only be activated when a Cyberse-Type monster on your field destroys an opponent’s monster by battle and sends it to the Graveyard while Profibit Snake is already in your Graveyard. Therefore, it cannot be activated when Profibit Snake itself is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard at the same time. However, if another Cyberse-Type monster on your field battles an opponent’s monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed, you can still activate the effect of a Profibit Snake in your Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21974&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP006 Code Radiator

Q: If Code Radiator is sent to the Graveyard as material for the Link Summon of a “Code Talker” monster, can I activate its effect targeting an opponent’s face-up Normal Monster?
A: When activating the effect of Code Radiator that changes a monster’s ATK to 0 and negates its effects, you cannot target a Normal Monster if it has 0 ATK, but you can target other Normal Monsters.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21973&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP022 Spool Code

Q: When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate a Spool Code. What happens if I chain another Spool Code to the first?
A: The effect of Spool Code is to negate the attacking monster’s attack and Special Summon 3 Spool Tokens. In this scenario, if you activated 2 copies of Spool Code in the same Chain, the Spool Code activated as Chain Link 2 will resolve normally, negating the attack and Special Summoning 3 Tokens. When the Spool Code at Chain Link 1 resolves, since the attack has already been negated, you cannot apply that part of its effect, so you do not Special Summon any Tokens either.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21972&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP023 Cynet Optimize

Q: I activated the effect of Balancer Lord this turn, and Normal Summoned an additional Cyberse-Type monster using its effect. During the same turn, can I activate the effect of Cynet Optimize that allows me to Normal Summon a Cyberse-Type monster?
A: Even if you already Normal Summoned an additional monster using the effect of Balancer Lord this turn, you can activate the effect of Cynet Optimize and Normal Summon another Cyberse-Type monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21971&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP024 Cynet Codec

Q: Code Talker was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, and I activate the effect of Cynet Codec targeting that Code Talker. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys that Code Talker, how does the effect of Cynet Codec resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Cynet Codec, if the targeted “Code Talker” monster is not in the Monster Zone, the effect of adding a monster from your Deck to your hand does not apply. (Since no monster was added to your hand, the part of the effect that prevents you from adding another monster to your hand with the effect of Cynet Codec this turn does not apply either.) However, since the effect resolved, you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck other than Cyberse-Type monsters for the rest of this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21970&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When I activate the effect of Cynet Codec, but my opponent chains Mistake, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Cynet Codec resolves while the effect of Mistake that prevents players from adding cards from their Deck to their hand except by drawing is applying. In this case, you cannot add a monster from your Deck to your hand with the effect of Cynet Codec, so the part of the effect that prevents you from adding another monster to your hand with the effect of Cynet Codec this turn does not apply either. However, even in this case, you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck other than Cyberse-Type monsters for the rest of this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12608&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP032 Cynet Conflict

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Triggering Wurm when it is banished by the effect of my Tri-Gate Wizard. At this time, if I have a “Code Talker” Link Monster on my field, can I activate Cynet Conflict?
A: You can activate Cynet Conflict even when the effect of a banished monster is activated, as in this scenario. In that case, the activation of the banished monster’s effect (Triggering Wurm in this situation) is negated, but since it cannot be banished by the effect of Cynet Conflict, the part of the effect that prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects with the same original name as that card is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21969&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: During my Main Phase, when I activate Wisdom-Eye Magician as a Spell Card from my hand in the Pendulum Zone, but my opponent chains Cynet Conflict, what happens?
A: In this scenario, Wisdom-Eye Magician has its activation negated and is banished by the effect of Cynet Conflict. As a result, the part of the effect that prevents the opponent (you) from activating cards or effects with the same original name as that banished card is applied, so you cannot activate the monster effect of Wisdom-Eye Magician this turn, you cannot activate another Wisdom-Eye Magician from your hand as a Spell Card this turn, and you cannot activate the Pendulum Effect of another Wisdom-Eye Magician that is already in your Pendulum Zone this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9785&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP041 Shootingcode Talker

Q: Talkback Lancer and Elphase are both linked to my Shootingcode Talker. In this situation, I activate the effect of Shootingcode Talker at the start of my Battle Phase. After the effect resolves, if both Talkback Lancer and Elphase are no longer linked to Shootingcode Talker, how many times can it attack?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Shootingcode Talker allows it to make attacks on your opponent’s monsters 3 times, which is the number of monsters that were linked to it +1. Even if the number of monsters linked to Shootingcode Talker changes after the effect resolves, the number of attacks it can make does not change.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21967&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: After destroying 2 of my opponent’s monsters by battle, Shootingcode Talker attacks a third time, but is banished by the effect of my opponent’s Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon until the end of the Battle Phase. When Shootingcode Talker returns to the field, can I activate its effect that allows me to draw cards?
A: If Shootingcode Talker destroys monsters by battle, but leaves the field before the end of the Battle Phase, you cannot activate the effect of Shootingcode Talker at the end of the Battle Phase even if it returns to the field before then.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21968&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SD34-JP038 Waboku

This card’s text has been altered slightly in SD34 from its previous print, from:

“You take no battle damage from your opponent’s monsters this turn. Your monsters cannot be destroyed by battle this turn.”

to (translated):

“You take no battle damage this turn. Your monsters cannot be destroyed by battle this turn.”

In the past (and in its TCG text current as of this writing), you would only take no battle damage if it would be inflicted by an opponent’s monster. The new text prevents all battle damage you would take. (Effects like Amazoness Swords Woman, Dimension Wall, and Ancient Lamp can make your own monster inflict battle damage to you, so it is a functional distinction.)

That’s a slight change to how Waboku works, but it’s not the only change to the card. Unrelated to that, but probably more significant, the ruling below shows a reversal on its interaction with monsters that are unaffected by Trap effects.

Q: I activated Waboku during this turn, and its effect is applying. If my Elemental HERO Wildheart battles an opponent’s monster, how is the effect of Waboku applied?
A: Elemental HERO Wildheart is unaffected by Trap effects, so it is unaffected by the effect of Waboku that prevents your monsters from being destroyed by battle, and it can be destroyed by battle as usual. Furthermore, the part of the effect of Waboku that prevents you from taking battle damage is not an effect applied to a monster, so even if your Elemental HERO Wildheart battles, you take no battle damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12849&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

The old rule was that Wildheart would be protected because nothing about Waboku was treated as affecting a monster. In the beginning of the game, “battle damage” was something that was inflicted to monsters (and determined whether or not they’d be destroyed) as well as a player’s Life Points. As battle damage rules evolved, that ancient rule made less and less sense, and has been reversed.

Q: My opponent activated Waboku during this turn, and its effect is applying. If my Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon attacks during my Battle Phase, how is the effect of Waboku applied?
A: The part of the effect of Waboku that prevents a player from taking battle damage is not an effect applied to a monster, so even if you attack with your Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon, your opponent takes no battle damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12988&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.