[OCG] Structure Deck R: Undead World & Promo Rulings

Spooky month is almost here.

SR07-JP000 Tatsunecro

  • Being able to use another monster in your hand as a material when this Normal Summoned/Set card is used for a Synchro Summon is not an effect.
  • When using this Normal Summoned/Set card as a material for a Synchro Summon along with a monster in your hand this way, the materials used are banished. (This does not start a Chain.)
  • If this card is Special Summoned from the Graveyard with Monster Reborn after it was previously Normal Summoned/Set, you cannot use a monster in your hand as material when performing a Synchro Summon with this card.
  • When Synchro Summoning this way, you can also use other monsters on the field for the Synchro Summon.
  • The effect of this card that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters other than Zombie-Type monsters is a Continuous Effect. (It is applied as long as this card remains face-up in the Monster Zone.)

Q: A Normal Summoned Tatsunecro and Zombowwow are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I Synchro Summon a Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon using that Tatsunecro and Zombowwow on my field, and a Bacon Saver in my hand, which of those materials are banished?
A: When using Tatsunecro as a material for a Synchro Summon along with a monster in your hand as written in its text, all materials used for that Synchro Summon are banished. In this scenario, the 3 monsters used as materials for the Synchro Summon, Tatsunecro, Zombowwow, and Bacon Saver, are banished.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22151&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, when using a Normal Summoned/Set Tatsunecro as material for a Synchro Summon, can I still use a monster in my hand?
A: Even if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applied, you can use Tatsunecro and a monster in your hand as materials when performing a Synchro Summon. In that case, the materials used are not banished due to the effect of Imperial Iron Wall, and are sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22150&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SR07-JP001 Drochshúile the Spirit King

  • The effect of this card that you activate when another Zombie-Type monster’s effect is activated is a Quick Effect. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect does not target. It must be activated by chaining directly to the effect of a Zombie-Type monster other than Drochshúile the Spirit King.
  • You choose which “●” effect to apply when the effect resolves. (You cannot activate this effect if you have already applied both of the “●” effects this turn.)
  • The effect that Special Summons this card from the Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Mezuki in their Graveyard, I chain and activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King. If my opponent then chains the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion, can I further chain the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King again?
A: The effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King can be activated more than once per turn, but not more than once in the same Chain. (However, if you have 2 copies of Drochshúile the Spirit King on your field, each copy can activate its effect once on the same Chain.) In this scenario, you cannot chain the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King to the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22149&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Zombie World is face-up in the Field Zone, and its effect that treats all face-up monsters on the field and in the Graveyards as Zombie-Type monsters is applying. In this situation, when my opponent activates the effect of Effect Veiler from their hand, can I chain the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Effect Veiler is activated by sending it from the hand to the Graveyard as the cost, and Effect Veiler will be treated as a Zombie-Type monster in the Graveyard. However, since Effect Veiler was not a Zombie-Type monster in the hand, this situation is not treated as the effect of a Zombie-Type monster activating. Therefore, you cannot activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22147&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, when a Zombie-Type monster’s effect is activated, can I chain the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King?
A: When you activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that chains to a Zombie-Type monster’s effect, you choose which “●” effect to apply when the effect resolves. Since cards cannot be banished while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, you can only choose the effect that negates the Zombie-Type monster’s effect. Furthermore, if you have already chosen the effect that negates the activated effect, you still cannot choose the effect that banishes a card. Since neither effect can be chosen, the effect disappears.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22155&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When a Zombie-Type monster’s effect activates, I chain the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King. If my opponent further chains Skill Drain, what happens when the effect resolves?
A: When you activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that chains to a Zombie-Type monster’s effect, you choose which “●” effect to apply when the effect resolves. If the effect of Skill Drain is applying and the effects of Drochshúile the Spirit King are negated, neither “●” effect is chosen. For example, if the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that was negated by Skill Drain was the first time that effect was activated this turn, neither “●” effect was applied, so if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying later in the turn and you activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King again, you can apply either effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22148&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If my opponent has a Field Spell Card face-up in their Field Zone but I do not have any in my Field Zone, can I still activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that Special Summons it from the Graveyard?
A: You can activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that Special Summons it from the Graveyard even if only your opponent has a Field Spell Card face-up in their Field Zone. Also, even if there is a face-up Field Spell Card in your opponent’s Field Zone and a face-down Field Spell Card in your Field Zone, the situation does not change, and you can activate the effect of Drochshúile the Spirit King that Special Summons it from the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22153&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SR07-JP002 Otherworldly Banshee

  • The effect of this card that prevents Zombie World from being targeted with card effects or destroyed by card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • The effect of this card that activates a Zombie World from your hand or Deck is a Quick Effect that activates on the field or in the Graveyard. (Banishing this face-up card from your Monster Zone, or this card from your Graveyard, is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • You cannot activate this effect if you do not have a Zombie World in your hand or Deck.

SR07-JP003 Glow-Up Bloom

  • The effect of this card is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.
  • You cannot activate this effect if you do not have a Level 5 or higher Zombie-Type monster in your Deck.
  • When this effect resolves, if Zombie World is face-up in the Field Zone, you can choose to Special Summon the Level 5 or higher Zombie-Type monster from your Deck instead of adding it to your hand.

Q: Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, and its effect that prevents players from adding cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Glow-Up Bloom?
A: If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, you will not be able to add cards from your Deck to your hand except by drawing, so if Zombie World is not face-up in the Field Zone, you cannot activate the effect of Glow-Up Bloom. If Zombie World is face-up in the Field Zone, you can Special Summon the Level 5 or higher Zombie-Type monster instead, so you can activate the effect of Glow-Up Bloom. (However, if the only Level 5 or higher Zombie-Type monsters in your Graveyard cannot be Special Summoned except by their defined method, such as Berserk Dragon or Kasha, you still cannot activate the effect of Glow-Up Bloom.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22156&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When the effect of Glow-Up Bloom is activated, can the effect of Solemn Warning be chained to it?
A: You can chain Solemn Warning to the effect of Glow-Up Bloom. You can do so even if Zombie World is not face-up in the Field Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22152&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SR07-JP023 Zombie Necronize

  • The effect of this card that takes control of an opponent’s monster until the End Phase is the effect that resolves due to this card is activated.
  • This effect targets 1 monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone. (You can also target monsters that are in face-down Defense Position.)
  • Returning the monster to your opponent during the End Phase does not start a Chain.
  • The effect that Sets this card from the Graveyard is an effect that activates in the Graveyard, and starts a Chain. (It does not target.)
  • Returning a banished Zombie-Type monster to the Deck and Setting this card happen simultaneously.
  • Banishing this card after it was Set by its own effect does not start a Chain. (This effect will also apply during the Damage Step.)

Q: When resolving the effect of Zombie Necronize that Sets it from the Graveyard and choosing one of my banished Zombie-Type monsters to return to the Deck, can I choose a Zombie-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster?
A: When resolving the effect of Zombie Necronize that Sets it from the Graveyard, you can choose a Zombie-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster as the monster to return to the Deck. In that case, the monster returns to the Extra Deck instead, but Zombie Necronize is still Set normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22146&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SR07-JP024 Zombie Struggle

  • The effect of this card that makes a Zombie-Type monster gain or lose 1000 ATK until the end of the turn is the effect that resolves due to this card is activated.
  • This effect targets 1 face-up Zombie-Type monster in either your Monster Zone or opponent’s Monster Zone.
  • When activating this card during the Damage Step, it must be at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.
  • You choose whether the targeted monster gains or loses 1000 ATK when the effect resolves.
  • The effect that Sets this card from the Graveyard is an effect that activates in the Graveyard, and starts a Chain. (It does not target.)
  • Returning a banished Zombie-Type monster to the Deck and Setting this card happen simultaneously.
  • Banishing this card after it was Set by its own effect does not start a Chain. (This effect will also apply during the Damage Step.)

SR07-JP034 Return of Zombie

  • The effect of this card that banishes a Zombie-Type monster on the field and Special Summons a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard is the effect that resolves due to this card is activated. (It does not target.)
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • Banishing a Zombie-Type monster on the field and Special Summoning a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard do not happen simultaneously.
  • The effect that Sets this card from the Graveyard is an effect that activates in the Graveyard, and starts a Chain. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Returning a banished Zombie-Type monster to the Deck and Setting this card happen simultaneously.
  • Banishing this card after it was Set by its own effect does not start a Chain. (This effect will also apply during the Damage Step.)

Q: Can Return of Zombie be activated if there are no Zombie-Type monsters in either player’s Graveyard?
A: Return of Zombie cannot be activated if it is not possible to Special Summon a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard. It cannot be activated if there are no Zombie-Type monsters in either player’s Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22145&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If I activate Return of Zombie, but my opponent chains The Transmigration Prophecy so that there are no Zombie-Type monsters in the Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: The effect of Return of Zombie will not apply if it is not possible to Special Summon a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard. Therefore, in this scenario, if there are no Zombie-Type monsters in the Graveyard when Return of Zombie resolves, the effect disappears. (No part of the effect is applied, including banishing a Zombie-Type monster on the field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22144&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If I activate Return of Zombie, but my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness, how does the effect resolve?
A: The effect of Return of Zombie will not apply if it is not possible to Special Summon a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard. Therefore, in this scenario, if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness that prevents players from Special Summoning is applied when Return of Zombie resolves, the effect disappears. (No part of the effect is applied, including banishing a Zombie-Type monster on the field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22143&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate the effect of Return of Zombie that Sets if from the Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Return of Zombie from the Graveyard, how does its effect resolve?
A: Even if Return of Zombie is no longer in your Graveyard when its effect that Sets it resolves, you still return 1 of your banished Zombie-Type monsters to the Deck, but you cannot Set Return of Zombie.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22154&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

SR07-JP041 Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon

  • This card is a “Red-Eyes” monster.
  • The effect of this card that increases its ATK and DEF is a Continuous Effect.
  • The effect of this card that Special Summons a Zombie-Type monster from the Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target.)
  • This effect can be activated optionally at the end of the Damage Step after another Zombie-Type monster in your Monster Zone or in your opponent’s Monster Zone was destroyed by battle.

Q: A Black Sheep Token Special Summoned by the effect of Scapeghost is present in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if my Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon attacks the Black Sheep Token and destroys it by battle, can I activate the effect of Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon?
A: Even if a Zombie-Type Token such as a Black Sheep Token is destroyed by battle, you can activate the effect of Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon as long as there is a Zombie-Type monster in either player’s Graveyard that you can Special Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22142&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Now the backlog of spooky promos (posted by release date).

VJMP-JP153 Shinobi Necro

  • The effect of this card that lets you draw 1 card and discard 1 card is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Drawing a card and discarding a card do not happen simultaneously.
  • The effect that Special Summons this card when it is banished from the Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Banishing this card after it was Special Summoned by its own effect does not start a Chain. (This effect will also apply during the Damage Step.)

Q: A DNA Surgery that was activated by declaring Zombie-Type is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and Shinobi Necro is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Monster Reborn and Special Summon Sangan from the Graveyard, can I then activate the effect of Shinobi Necro?
A: In this scenario, even if a monster that is Special Summoned from the Graveyard is only treated as a Zombie-Type monster on the field due to the effect of DNA Surgery, it is still considered a Zombie-Type monster being Special Summoned from your Graveyard, so you can activate the effect of Shinobi Necro.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22088&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Zombie World is face-up in the Field Zone, and Shinobi Necro is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Monster Reborn and Special Summon Sangan from the Graveyard, can I then activate the effect of Shinobi Necro?
A: In this scenario, even if a monster Special Summoned from the Graveyard is treated as a Zombie-Type monster due to the effect of Zombie World, it is still considered a Zombie-Type monster being Special Summoned from your Graveyard, so you can activate the effect of Shinobi Necro.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22089&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: While there are no monsters in my Monster Zone, I activate Soul Charge and Special Summon Shinobi Necro and Uni-Zombie from my Graveyard. At this time, can I activate the effect of Shinobi Necro?
A: In this scenario, if Shinobi Necro and another Zombie-Type monster are Special Summoned from your Graveyard at the same time, you cannot activate the effect of Shinobi Necro.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22092&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate Necro Fusion, and banish 2 Zombie-Type monsters from my Graveyard face-down, including Shinobi Necro, to Fusion Summon a Dragonecro Nethersoul Dragon. In this case, can I activate the effect of Shinobi Necro that Special Summons it?
A: If Shinobi Necro is banished from the Graveyard face-down by the effect of Necro Fusion, as in this scenario, you cannot activate its effect that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22090&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

18SP-JP301 Beckoned Skull Archfiend

  • The effect of this card that treats its name as Summoned Skull is a Continuous Effect.
  • The effect of this card that prevents your opponent from targeting Summoned Skull with card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • The effect of this card that Special Summons a Summoned Skull from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • This effect can be activated during the Damage Step.

VJMP-JP154 Code Generator

  • The effect of this card that allows you to use it as a material for the Link Summon of a “Code Talker” monster while it is in your hand is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • The effect of this card that sends a Cyberse-Type monster with 1200 or less ATK from your Deck to the Graveyard, or adds it to your hand, is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • If the Link Summon using this card is negated by the effect of Solemn Judgment, you cannot activate this effect.
  • When you Link Summon using this card in your hand as a material, the effect is to send a Cyberse-Type monster with 1200 or less ATK from your Deck to the Graveyard.
  • When you Link Summon using this card in your Monster Zone as a material, you can choose to add the Cyberse-Type monster with 1200 or less ATK from your Deck to your hand, instead of sending it to the Graveyard.

Q: I Link Summoned a Code Talker using Code Generator and Backup Secretary on my field as materials. At this time, if I activate the effect of Code Generator, but my opponent chains Macro Cosmos, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Code Generator resolves while the effect of Macro Cosmos that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. If you choose to apply the effect of sending a Cyberse-Type monster with 1200 or less ATK from your Deck to the Graveyard, that monster is banished instead. If you choose to add the Cyberse-Type monster with 1200 or less ATK from your Deck to your hand instead, the effect is applied normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22141&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VJMP-JP150 Predaplant Spider Orchid

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain.
  • This effect targets 1 face-up card, other than this card, in either your Spell & Trap Zone or your opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone.
  • The effect of this card that adds a Level 4 or lower Plant-Type monster from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Discarding 1 Plant-Type monster is the cost to activate this effect.
    If this card is no longer on the field during the End Phase of the turn it was Normal or Special Summoned, its effect cannot be activated.

Q: When I Normal/Special Summoned Predaplant Spider Orchid, my opponent activated Book of Moon and changed it to face-down Defense Position. Afterward, if Ceasefire is activated during the same turn and Predaplant Spider Orchid is flipped face-up again, can I activate its effect during the End Phase?
A: If Predaplant Spider Orchid is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon during the turn it was Normal or Special Summoned, but flipped face-up again before the End Phase of that turn, you can still activate its effect that adds a Level 4 or lower Plant-Type monster from your Deck to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22138&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VJMP-JP151 Frightfur Meister

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your own Main Phase.)
  • Tributing a Level 4 or lower “Fluffal”, “Frightfur”, or “Edge Imp” monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. (You can also Tribute one of these monsters that is face-down in your Monster Zone.)
  • If you do not have a Fiend-Type monster in your Deck with the same Level as the monster you would Tribute to activate this effect, you cannot activate it.
  • This card’s monster effect that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “Fluffal”, “Frightfur”, or “Edge Imp” monster from your Deck is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This effect Special Summons either 1 Level 4 or lower “Fluffal” monster from your Deck, 1 Level 4 or lower “Frightfur” monster from your Deck, or 1 Level 4 or lower “Edge Imp” monster from your Deck.
  • The effect of this card that Special Summons a “Frightfur” Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Tributing 2 Fiend-Type monsters in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. (Their Levels must equal the Level of a “Frightfur” Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck that can be Special Summoned, so you cannot Tribute an Xyz or Link Monster.)

Q: Can I Special Summon Frightfur Chimera from the Extra Deck with the second monster effect of Frightfur Meister?
A: Frightfur Chimera is a monster that must be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon. Since the Special Summon by the effect of Frightfur Meister is treated as a Fusion Summon, you can Special Summon Frightfur Chimera with it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22139&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can I Special Summon Frightfur Wolf from the Extra Deck with the second monster effect of Frightfur Meister?
A: Frightfur Wolf is a monster that must be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon, using its listed materials. Since the Special Summon by the effect of Frightfur Meister does not consider the Tributed monsters Fusion Materials, you cannot Special Summon Frightfur Wolf with it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22140&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.