[OCG] Structure Deck R: Surge of Divine Light Rulings

Here to teach you how Chains work.

SR05-JP000 EBE

Q: When activating the effect of EBE in the Graveyard, can I banish a Synthetic Seraphim Token on my field for the cost?
A: You can banish a Synthetic Seraphim Token on your field for the cost of activating the effect of EBE.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21429&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of EBE when it is sent to the Graveyard, by banishing 2 LIGHT Fairy-Type monsters. If my opponent chains Trickstar Reincarnation, and I draw cards so that the number of Level 2 or lower LIGHT Fairy-Type monsters in my Deck with different names becomes less than 2, how does the effect of EBE resolve?
A: If the effect of EBE was activated by banishing 2 monsters, but there is only 1 Level 2 or lower LIGHT Fairy-Type monster in your Deck when it resolves, the effect is not applied. (You cannot add anything to your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21428&keyword=&tag=-1

SR05-JP001 Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath

Q: I activate a Counter Trap Card while there are multiple copies of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath in my hand and/or Graveyard. In that case, can I activate the effect of each Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it?
A: The effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it activates after a Chain resolves that included the activation of a Counter Trap Card, or an effect that negated the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect. At that time, even if there are multiple copies of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath in your hand and/or Graveyard, you can only activate the effect of one of them. (The effects of each Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath cannot be chained to each other.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13131&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a monster would be Summoned, I activate Horn of Heaven by Tributing an Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath on my field. After Horn of Heaven finishes resolving, can I activate the effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it?
A: In this scenario, since that Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath was not in either your hand or Graveyard when Horn of Heaven was activated, you cannot activate its effect that Special Summons it afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21427&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a monster effect is activated, I activate Divine Wrath by discarding an Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath from my hand. After Divine Wrath finishes resolving, can I activate the effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it?
A: In this scenario, since that Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath is in the Graveyard at the time the activation of the monster effect is negated by Divine Wrath, you can then activate the effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21426&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Negate Attack, my opponent chains Seven Tools of the Bandit. Afterward, if Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath is in my hand or Graveyard, can I activate its effect that Special Summons it?
A: As in this scenario, if the activation of your Counter Trap Card is negated by your opponent’s Counter Trap Card, you cannot activate the effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21424&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate and resolve the effect of Super Soldier Shield that Sets it from the Graveyard. Afterward, if Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath is in my hand or Graveyard, can I activate its effect that Special Summons it?
A: In this scenario, you did not activate a Counter Trap Card or negate the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect, so you cannot activate the effect of Angel Paladin Arch-Parshath that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21425&keyword=&tag=-1

SR05-JP002 Angel Sage Minerva

Q: The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up in my Field Zone, and Angel Sage Minerva is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Solemn Strike while Solemn Scolding is in my Graveyard, can I apply the effect of Angel Sage Minerva without adding a Counter Trap Card from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: After a Counter Trap Card is activated and resolved, when applying the effect of Angel Sage Minerva while The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up on the field, both parts of the effect must be applied if possible. (You cannot choose to not add a Counter Trap Card to your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21422&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up in my Field Zone, and Angel Sage Minerva is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Solemn Judgment and there are no other Counter Trap Cards with a different name in my Graveyard, can the effect of Angel Sage Minerva be applied?
A: As in this scenario, if a Counter Trap Card is activated and resolved while The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up on the field, and there are no other Counter Trap Cards in the Graveyard, the effect of Angel Sage Minerva is still applied. In this case, Angel Sage Minerva gains 500 ATK, but the part of the effect that adds a Counter Trap Card from your Graveyard to your hand is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21423&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up in my Field Zone, and Angel Sage Minerva is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, while there are no Counter Trap Cards in my Graveyard, my opponent activates Mind Control, I chain Riryoku Field, then my opponent chains Seven Tools of the Bandit, and lastly I chain Solemn Judgment. In this case, how will the effect of Angel Sage Minerva be applied?
A: The effect of Angel Sage Minerva is applied as soon as an activated Counter Trap Card finishes resolving. In this scenario, the effect is first applied when the activation of Seven Tools of the Bandit is negated by Solemn Judgment at Chain Link 4. At this time, although Angel Sage Minerva gains 500 ATK, you cannot add any Counter Trap Card from your Graveyard to your hand because there aren’t any in your Graveyard. Since the activation of Seven Tools of the Bandit is negated, the effect of Riryoku Field resolves next at Chain Link 2 and negates the activation of Mind Control. Afterward, the effect of Angel Sage Minerva is applied again and it gains another 500 ATK, but you still cannot add any Counter Trap Card from your Graveyard to your hand because there aren’t any in your Graveyard. Lastly, the Chain finishes resolving, so Solemn Judgment and Riryoku Field are sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6880&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up in my Field Zone, and both Meltiel, Sage of the Sky and Angel Sage Minerva are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Divine Wrath when an opponent’s monster effect is activated, how are the effects of Meltiel, Sage of the Sky and Angel Sage Minerva applied?
A: The effects of both Meltiel, Sage of the Sky and Angel Sage Minerva are applied as soon as an activated Counter Trap Card finishes resolving. In this scenario, you can choose which of the 2 apply their effects first. After both of their effects have been applied, since the activation of the monster effect at Chain Link 1 was negated, the Chain is finished resolving and Divine Wrath is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6381&keyword=&tag=-1

SR05-JP003 Power Angel Valkyria

Q: When I negate the activation of an opponent’s monster effect with Herald of Orange Light, or the activation of an opponent’s Spell Card with Herald of Green Light, rather than with the effect of a Counter Trap Card, will the effect of my Power Angel Valkyria activate?
A: Even if you negate the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect with a card other than a Counter Trap Card, such as Herald of Orange Light or Herald of Green Light, the effect of Power Angel Valkyria will activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21420&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if I negate the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect with Ultimate Providence, will the effect of my Power Angel Valkyria activate?
A: The effect of Power Angel Valkyria activates when you negate the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect. Even if the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, the effect of Power Angel Valkyria will activate, but you cannot add a LIGHT Fairy-Type monster from your Deck to your hand. If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh stops applying later that turn, the effect of Power Angel Valkyria will not activate again during that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21421&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Monster Reborn, targeting a Power Angel Valkyria in my Graveyard, my opponent chains the effect of Maxx “C”. At this time, if I further chain Divine Wrath, will the effect of Power Angel Valkyria activate after this Chain resolves?
A: In this scenario, Divine Wrath at Chain Link 3 negates the activation of the effect of Maxx “C”, then Power Angel Valkyria is Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn at Chain Link 1. In this case, since Power Angel Valkyria is not on the field when the activation of an effect is negated, its effect will not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14473&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Maxx “C”, I chain the effect of Herald of Orange Light, by sending it and a Power Angel Valkyria from my hand to the Graveyard. At this time, if I further chain Call of the Haunted and Special Summon Power Angel Valkyria, will its effect activate after this Chain resolves?
A: In this scenario, Call of the Haunted at Chain Link 3 Special Summons Power Angel Valkyria from your Graveyard, then the effect of Herald of Orange Light at Chain Link 2 negates the activation of the effect of Maxx “C”. In this case, since Power Angel Valkyria is face-up on the field when the activation of an effect is negated, its effect will activate after this Chain resolves.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13835&keyword=&tag=-1

SR05-JP025 Sanctuary of Parshath

Q: When I activate Sanctuary of Parshath, my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and targets that Sanctuary of Parshath. Can I further chain Divine Punishment?
A: When a card or effect chained to the activation of Sanctuary of Parshath, the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath that treats it as The Sanctuary in the Sky is not applying yet, so in this scenario you cannot chain Divine Punishment to your opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21418&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There is 1 Set card in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. If my opponent activates Sanctuary of Parshath, can I chain Mystical Space Typhoon and target the Set card in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone?
A: If you chain Mystical Space Typhoon to the activation of Sanctuary of Parshath, the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath that prevents Set Spell/Trap Cards from being destroyed by or targeted with card effects is not applying yet, so you can target a Set Spell/Trap Card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21419&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Sanctuary of Parshath is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents Set Spell/Trap Cards from being destroyed by or targeted with card effects is applying. In this situation, if I activate a Set Miraculous Descent, can my opponent chain Mystical Space Typhoon and target that Miraculous Descent?
A: The effect of Sanctuary of Parshath is only applied to Set Spell/Trap Cards on the field. When a Set Spell/Trap Card is flipped face-up to be activated, it is no longer a Set Spell/Trap Card on the field. In this scenario, when you activate Miraculous Descent, your opponent can chain Mystical Space Typhoon and target Miraculous Descent.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21417&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Sanctuary of Parshath is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents Set Spell/Trap Cards from being destroyed by or targeted with card effects is applying. In this situation, if I activate a Set Miraculous Descent, can my opponent chain Solemn Judgment to negate the activation and destroy it?
A: The effect of Sanctuary of Parshath is only applied to Set Spell/Trap Cards on the field. When a Set Spell/Trap Card is flipped face-up to be activated, it is no longer a Set Spell/Trap Card on the field. In this scenario, when you activate Miraculous Descent, your opponent can chain Solemn Judgment to negate the activation and destroy it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21416&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath that places 3 Fairy-Type monsters and/or Counter Trap Cards in my Graveyard with different names on top of my Deck, can I target Fairy-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and/or Link Monsters?
A: Fairy-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and/or Link Monsters in your Graveyard can be targeted with the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath. In that case, those monsters are returned to the Extra Deck instead of being placed on top of the Deck. For example, if you target Avenging Knight Parshath, Herald of Pure Light, and Solemn Warning, Avenging Knight Parshath and Herald of Pure Light return to the Extra Deck while Solemn Warning is placed on top of the Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21415&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath that places 3 Fairy-Type monsters and/or Counter Trap Cards in my Graveyard with different names on top of my Deck, targeting Solemn Judgment, Solemn Warning, and Solemn Strike. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow, so that one of those targeted cards is banished from the Graveyard, how does the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if one of the 3 cards targeted with the effect of Sanctuary of Parshath is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, you still return the remaining cards to the top of the Deck in any order.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9218&keyword=&tag=-1

SR05-JP031 Reincarnating Parshath

Q: When activating Reincarnating Parshath, can I discard the same Counter Trap Card that was revealed?
A: When you activate Reincarnating Parshath, since the Counter Trap Card that you reveal is still in your hand, you can discard that same Counter Trap Card as well.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21413&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the Pendulum Effect of Guiding Ariadne is applying, how do I activate Reincarnating Parshath?
A: If the Pendulum Effect of Guiding Ariadne is applying, you do not need to pay Life Points or discard cards to activate Counter Trap Cards. Therefore, if you activate Reincarnating Parshath in this situation, you only need to reveal a Counter Trap Card in your hand for the cost.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21414&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying, can I activate Reincarnating Parshath?
A: Even if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying and you cannot Special Summon monsters, you can still activate Reincarnating Parshath. In this case, its effect negates the card/effect activation and shuffles that card into the Deck normally, but you cannot Special Summon a “Parshath” monster from your Deck or Extra Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21412&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When the effect of a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster on the field is activated, can I chain Reincarnating Parshath?
A: When the effect of a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster on the field is activated, you can chain Reincarnating Parshath. In that case, the activation of the effect is negated, but the monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of being shuffled into the Deck. You can still Special Summon a “Parshath” monster from your Deck or Extra Deck afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21410&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent’s Supreme King Z-ARC is destroyed by battle or card effect and added to the Extra Deck face-up, my opponent activates its effect that places it in a Pendulum Zone. At this time, can I chain Reincarnating Parshath?
A: When the effect of Supreme King Z-ARC activates in the Extra Deck, you can chain Reincarnating Parshath. In that case, the activation of the effect is negated, but since a Supreme King Z-ARC in the Extra Deck cannot be returned to the Deck, you cannot Special Summon a “Parshath” monster from your Deck or Extra Deck afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21411&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring by discarding it from their hand. If I chain Reincarnating Parshath, how will it resolve?
A: When the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring is activated by discarding it from the hand, you can chain Reincarnating Parshath. The effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring is one that activates in the hand, but Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring itself is no longer in the hand due to being discarded as the cost of the effect. In this case, the activation of the effect is negated, but you cannot shuffle Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring into the Deck, and you cannot Special Summon a “Parshath” monster from your Deck or Extra Deck afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12336&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.