[OCG] Structure Deck R: Lord of Magician Rulings

Rulings covering the new cards in the OCG’s eighth Structure Deck R.

SR08-JP001 Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your Main Phase. Removing 6 Spell Counters from your field is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • Special Summoning this card from your Pendulum Zone does not happen simultaneously with destroying cards on the field and placing Spell Counters on this card.
  • Destroying cards on the field and placing Spell Counters on this card happen simultaneously.
  • An Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme in the Pendulum Zone is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on.
  • This card’s monster effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or Spell/Trap effect is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. It must be activated by chaining directly to a Spell/Trap Card activation or a Spell/Trap effect’s activation, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Returning the card on your field with Spell Counters on it to the hand and negating the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or Spell/Trap effect does not happen simultaneously with placing Spell Counters on this card.
  • You must apply the part of the effect that returns a card on your field with Spell Counters on it to the hand and negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or Spell/Trap effect, but you can choose not to apply the part of the effect that places Spell Counters on this card.
  • This card’s monster effect that prevents it from being destroyed or targeted by your opponent’s card effects while it has Spell Counters on it is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that adds a Normal Spell Card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. You can activate this effect optionally at the end of the Damage Step when this card is destroyed by battle.)

 

Q: Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme is in my Pendulum Zone, and a Dark Valkyria treated as a Normal Monster by its own effect is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, how many cards on the field can I destroy with it?
A: In this scenario, a Dark Valkyria treated as a Normal Monster is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on, and since the only card on your field that can have Spell Counters on it is the Special Summoned Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, you will destroy 1 card on the field with its effect.

Source

Q: Magical Citadel of Endymion with 6 Spell Counters on it is face-up in my Field Zone, and Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme and Mythical Beast Medusa are each in my Pendulum Zones. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, how many cards on the field can I destroy with it?
A: In this scenario, a Mythical Beast Medusa in your Pendulum Zone is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on, and since the only cards on your field that can have Spell Counters on them are the Special Summoned Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme and Magical Citadel of Endymion, you will destroy up to 2 cards on the field.

Source

Q: Magical Citadel of Endymion with 6 Spell Counters on it is face-up in my Field Zone, Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme is in my Pendulum Zone, and a Mythical Beast Cerberus whose effects were negated by Forbidden Chalice is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, how many cards on the field can I destroy with it?
A: In this scenario, although the effects of Mythical Beast Cerberus were negated by Forbidden Chalice, it is still treated as a card with an effect that allows it to have Spell Counters on it. The cards on your field that can have Spell Counters on them are the Special Summoned Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, Mythical Beast Cerberus, and Magical Citadel of Endymion, so you will destroy up to 3 cards on the field.

Source

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Blaze Accelerator Reload that sends a “Volcanic” card from their Deck to the Graveyard, can I chain the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme?
A: The effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme can be activated not only when a Spell/Trap Card is activated, but also when a Spell/Trap effect is activated. In this scenario, you can chain the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme to the effect of your opponent’s Blaze Accelerator Reload that activates in the Graveyard. When the effect resolves, you return a card with Spell Counters on it to your hand, and the activation of the effect of Blaze Accelerator Reload is negated, but since Blaze Accelerator Reload cannot be destroyed, you cannot place any Spell Counters on this card.

Source

Q: A face-up Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme in my Monster Zone with a Spell Counter on it is the only card on my field. When my opponent activates Mind Control, can I chain the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme?
A: You can activate the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme even if it is the only card on your field with Spell Counters on it. In that case, its effect returns it to the hand and negates the card/effect activation normally, but afterward it is not possible to place Spell Counters on this card.

Source

Q: When my opponent activates Dark Hole, I chain the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme. When resolving the effect and choosing a card on my field with Spell Counters on it to return to the hand, can I choose a Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight?
A: When resolving the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme, you can choose a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster as the card with Spell Counters on it to return to your hand. In that case, the Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand, so the card/effect activation is not negated and you do not place Spell Counters on Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme.

Source

SR08-JP002 Empress of Endymion

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that places a Spell Counter on it each time a Spell Card is activated does not start a Chain. (This effect can be applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that Special Summons it from the Pendulum Zone and one monster that you can place Spell Counters on from your hand starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your Main Phase. Removing 3 Spell Counters from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • Special Summoning the 2 monsters and placing a Spell Counter on each happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s monster effect that returns cards to the hand and places Spell Counters on this card is a Trigger Effect. (It can be activated optionally when this card is Special Summoned face-up, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect targets 1 other face-up card on your field with a Spell Counter on it, and 1 card on your opponent’s field.
  • Returning the targeted cards to the hand and placing Spell Counters on this card do not happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that adds an “Endymion” card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. You can activate this effect optionally at the end of the Damage Step when this card is destroyed by battle.)

 

Q: If I activate the Pendulum Effect of Empress of Endymion, can I Special Summon an Empress of Endymion from my hand?
A: You can only Special Summon Empress of Endymion once per turn, but the Pendulum Effect of Empress of Endymion Special Summons it from your Pendulum Zone and 1 monster from your hand that you can place Spell Counters on at the same time. Therefore, you can Special Summon another copy of Empress of Endymion from your hand with the Pendulum Effect of the first.

Source

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that negates the effects of face-up monsters on the field is applying. In this situation, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Empress of Endymion?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the Pendulum Effect of Empress of Endymion. In that case, the effect Special Summons it from your Pendulum Zone and 1 monster from your hand that you can place Spell Counters on normally, but since their effects are negated by Skill Drain, they cannot hold Spell Counters, so you cannot apply the part of the effect that places a Spell Counter on each of them.

Source

Q: When I Special Summon Empress of Endymion, I activate its effect targeting a Pitch-Black Power Stone on my field and a face-down Defense Position monster on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Empress of Endymion to my hand, how does its effect resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if Empress of Endymion is no longer on the field when its monster effect resolves, the targeted cards are returned to the hand normally, but afterward it is not possible to place Spell Counters on this card. (The effect finishes resolving by returning the targeted cards to the hand.)

Source

Q: When I Special Summon Empress of Endymion, I activate its effect targeting a Defender, the Magical Knight on my field and a face-down Defense Position monster on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Defender, the Magical Knight to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Empress of Endymion resolve?
A: Even if the card on your field that was targeted by the effect of Empress of Endymion is in face-down Defense Position when the effect resolves, the targeted cards are returned to the hand normally. In this scenario, since the Spell Counter on Defender, the Magical Knight is removed when it is changed to face-down Defense Position, you do not place a Spell Counter on Empress of Endymion. (The effect finishes resolving by returning the targeted cards to the hand.)

Source

SR08-JP003 Magister of Endymion

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that places a Spell Counter on it each time a Spell Card is activated does not start a Chain. (This effect can be applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that Special Summons it from the Pendulum Zone and 1 monster that you can place Spell Counters on from your face-up Extra Deck starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your Main Phase. Removing 3 Spell Counters from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • Special Summoning the 2 monsters and placing a Spell Counter on each happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s monster effect that places a Spell Counter on it when it declares an attack is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s monster effect that Special Summons a monster from your Deck that you can place Spell Counters on is a Quick Effect. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Removing 3 Spell Counters from your field is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s monster effect that places it in your Pendulum Zone and places Spell Counters on it is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Placing this card in your Pendulum Zone and placing Spell Counters on this card do not happen simultaneously.

 

Q: If I activate the Pendulum Effect of Magister of Endymion, but my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys it, what happens?
A: If Magister of Endymion has been destroyed when its Pendulum Effect resolves, the effect is not applied. (No monsters are Special Summoned.)

Source

Q: My Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Crusader of Endymion is face-up in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Magister of Endymion, but my opponent chains Ojama Trio, what happens?
A: The Pendulum Effect of Magister of Endymion Special Summons it from your Pendulum Zone and 1 monster that you can place Spell Counters on from your face-up Extra Deck at the same time. In this scenario, since 3 Ojama Tokens were Special Summoned to your field, leaving only 1 Main Monster Zone available, the Pendulum Effect of Magister of Endymion is not applied. (Magister of Endymion remains in the Pendulum Zone and you do not Special Summon a monster from your face-up Extra Deck.)

Source

Q: A face-down Defense Position Magister of Endymion in my Monster Zone is destroyed by my opponent’s Shield Crush. In this case, can I activate its effect that places it in my Pendulum Zone?
A: Even if Magister of Endymion is destroyed while in face-down Defense Position and has no Spell Counters on it, you can activate its effect. In that case, Magister of Endymion is placed in your Pendulum Zone normally, but you do not place any Spell Counters on it.

Source

Q: When I Normal or Special Summon Magister of Endymion, my opponent activates Bottomless Trap Hole. As a result, if Magister of Endymion is destroyed and banished, can I activate its effect that places it in my Pendulum Zone?
A: In this scenario, Magister of Endymion was destroyed by the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole while it was in the Monster Zone, so you can activate its effect that places it in your Pendulum Zone.

Source

SR08-JP004 Servant of Endymion

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that places a Spell Counter on it each time a Spell Card is activated does not start a Chain. (This effect can be applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s Pendulum Effect that Special Summons it from the Pendulum Zone and 1 monster with 1000 or more ATK that you can place Spell Counters on from your Deck starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your Main Phase. Removing 3 Spell Counters from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • Special Summoning the 2 monsters and placing a Spell Counter on each happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that allows it to attack directly is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s monster effect that places Spell Counters on each face-up card on your field that you can place Spell Counters on is a Quick Effect. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Discarding 1 card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s monster effect that places it in your Pendulum Zone and places Spell Counters on it is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Placing this card in your Pendulum Zone and placing Spell Counters on this card do not happen simultaneously.

 

Q: If I activate the Pendulum Effect of Servant of Endymion, can I Special Summon a Dark Valkyria from my Deck?
A: You can Special Summon Dark Valkyria from your Deck with the Pendulum Effect of Servant of Endymion. Dark Valkyria cannot have Spell Counters on it unless it is treated as an Effect Monster after being Normal Summoned again, so when the effect of Servant of Endymion resolves, only Servant of Endymion has a Spell Counter placed on it. If, when the effect of Servant of Endymion resolves, the effect of Superalloy Beast Raptinus is applying, Dark Valkyria will also have a Spell Counter placed on it.

Source

Q: A face-up Servant of Endymion in my Monster Zone is the only card on my field. In this situation, during my opponent’s turn, can I activate its effect that places Spell Counters on each face-up card on my field that I can place Spell Counters on?
A: Even if Servant of Endymion is the only card on your field that you can place Spell Counters on, you can activate its effect during your opponent’s turn.

Source

SR08-JP022 Spell Power Control

  • This card does not target.
  • Adding an “Endymion” card from your Deck to your hand and placing Spell Counters on cards on your field do not happen simultaneously.
  • You must apply the part of the effect that adds an “Endymion” card from your Deck to your hand, but you can choose not to apply the part of the effect that places Spell Counters on cards on your field.
  • You can activate Spell Power Control even if you have no copies of Spell Power Control or Spell Power Grasp in your Graveyard. In that case, if you apply the effect that places Spell Counters on cards on your field, you will place 1 Spell Counter for the copy of Spell Power Control being activated.

 

Q: Can I activate Spell Power Control if there are no cards on my field that I can place Spell Counters on?
A: Even if you do not have any cards on your field that you can place Spell Counters on, you can still activate Spell Power Control. In that case, you only apply the effect that adds an “Endymion” card from your Deck to your hand.

Source

Q: Magical Citadel of Endymion is face-up in my Field Zone, and Endymion Lab is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. If I activate Spell Power Control while there are 2 copies of Spell Power Grasp in my Graveyard, how am I able to place Spell Counters with its effect?
A: When placing Spell Counters on cards with the effect of Spell Power Control, you must place as many as possible, up to the number of Spell Power Control and Spell Power Grasp on your field and in your Graveyard. In this scenario, you must place as many as possible, up to 3. For example, you can choose to place all 3 on Magical Citadel of Endymion, or place counters on multiple cards, such as 2 on Magical Citadel of Endymion and 1 on Endymion Lab.

Source

Q: There are 2 copies of Spell Power Grasp in my Graveyard. In this situation, if I activate Spell Power Control and apply the effect that places Spell Counters on cards on my field, can I choose an arbitrary number of Spell Counters to place?
A: When placing Spell Counters on cards with the effect of Spell Power Control, you must place as many as possible, up to the number of Spell Power Control and Spell Power Grasp on your field and in your Graveyard. In this scenario, you must place as many as possible, up to 3, but if the only card on your field that you can place a Spell Counter on is a Breaker the Magical Warrior without a Spell Counter, the maximum number of Spell Counters you can place is 1, so the effect finishes resolving after placing 1 Spell Counter on it. If you only have a card on your field such as Magical Citadel of Endymion, which can have any number of Spell Counters on it, you will place 3 Spell Counters on it. (You cannot choose to place only 2 Spell Counters in a situation where it is possible to place 3.)

Source

SR08-JP023 Endymion Lab

  • This card’s effect that treats its name as Magical Citadel of Endymion does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that places a Spell Counter on it each time a Spell Card is activated does not start a Chain. (This effect can be applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 7 or higher Spellcaster monster from your Deck starts a Chain. (It does not target. Removing 6 Spell Counters from your field is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • You can activate this effect optionally after damage calculation when a Spellcaster monster on your field is destroyed by battle.

 

Q: Magical Citadel of Endymion is face-up in my Field Zone, and Endymion Lab is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. If each of those cards have 3 Spell Counters on them, can I Special Summon Endymion, the Master Magician from my hand or Graveyard by its own effect?
A: Endymion Lab is treated as Magical Citadel of Endymion while it is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, so you can remove Spell Counters from it to Special Summon Endymion, the Master Magician with its own effect. In this scenario, you can remove a total of 6 Spell Counters from Magical Citadel of Endymion and Endymion Lab, so you can Special Summon Endymion, the Master Magician from your hand or Graveyard.

Source

Q: Endymion Lab is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and an Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme with 6 Spell Counters on it is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme is destroyed by battle, I activate the effect of Endymion Lab by removing the 6 Spell Counters from Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme. Afterward, can I activate the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme that adds a Normal Spell Card from my Deck to my hand?
A: The effect of Endymion Lab that Special Summons a Level 7 or higher Spellcaster monster from the Deck activates and resolves after damage calculation. Furthermore, the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme that adds a Normal Spell Card from your Deck to your hand activates at the end of the Damage Step, after it has left the field. In this scenario, since you removed all Spell Counters from Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme when activating the effect of Endymion Lab, you cannot activate the effect of Endymion, the Founding Sorcerer Supreme at the end of the Damage Step.

Source

SR08-JP040 Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight

  • This card’s effect that places a Spell Counter on it when it is Link Summoned is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and must be activated when this card is successfully Link Summoned.)
  • This card’s effect that places a Spell Counter on it if a Spellcaster monster is Special Summoned to a zone it points to is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It must be activated when a Spellcaster monster is Special Summoned face-up to your Main Monster Zone that this card points to, and can also activate during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK for each Spell Counter on it is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that destroys a card on the field is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 card on either your field or your opponent’s field. Removing 2 Spell Counters from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

Q: While my Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight is in the Extra Monster Zone, I Pendulum Summon a Magister of Endymion and Servant of Endymion from my Extra Deck. In this situation, how does the effect of Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight apply?
A: Even if 2 Spellcaster monsters are Special Summoned at the same time to the zones that Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight points to, the effect of Daybreaker the Splendid Magical Knight only activates once and places 1 Spell Counter on it.

Source

SR08-JP041 Guidance of Spell Salvation

  • This card targets 1 Spellcaster Effect Monster in your Graveyard.
  • You cannot target a Spellcaster Normal Monster or a Spellcaster Gemini monster treated as a Normal Monster while in your Graveyard.
  • You can target a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster in your Graveyard, as long as it is a Spellcaster Effect Monster. (The targeted monster will be returned to your Extra Deck instead of being added to your hand.)
  • If the targeted monster is not in your Graveyard when this effect resolves, the effect is not applied.

 

Misc.

One question asked frequently regarding the new Pendulum Monsters in this Deck is what happens to their Spell Counters when they are Special Summoned from a Pendulum Zone. This ruling is an older one that provides the answer, so I thought it would be helpful to post it in here again. It applies to Empress, Magister, and Servant of Endymion being Special Summoned by their own Pendulum Effects.

Q: If a Magical Abductor in the Pendulum Zone with Spell Counters on it is Special Summoned by the effect of Odd-Eyes Meteorburst Dragon, what happens to its Spell Counters?
A: If Magical Abductor is Special Summoned from the Pendulum Zone by the effect of Odd-Eyes Meteorburst Dragon, all Spell Counters that were placed on it while it was in the Pendulum Zone are removed.

Source

 

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.