Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] Structure Deck: Overlay Universe Rulings

Rulings for Structure Deck: Overlay Universe and Emperor’s Door Pack.

 

SD42-JPP01 Number 99: Utopia Dragner

  • The effect that Special Summons a “Number” monster from your Extra Deck is a Quick Effect that can be activated on the field. (Detach 2 Xyz Materials from this card as the cost of activating this effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • You can also Special Summon a “Number C” monster with this effect. But even in that case, its “Number” value must be from 1 to 100.
  • This effect cannot be activated during the turn you already Special Summoned a monster other than an Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck, or during the turn another one of your monsters already attacked directly. Also, once you activate this effect, you can only Special Summon Xyz Monsters from your Extra Deck for the rest of the turn, and can only attack directly with this card.
  • The effect that makes an opponent’s monster’s ATK become 0 is a Trigger Effect that can be activated on the field. (This effect does not target.)

 

SD42-JPP02 ZS – Utopic Sage

  • The effect that Special Summons a “ZW -” monster or “ZS -” monster from your Deck is an Ignition Effect that can be activated on the field. (Detach 2 Xyz Materials from this card as the cost of activating this effect.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning a monster. (The part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters from the Extra Deck other than Xyz Monsters or attacking with monsters other than “Number” monsters is applied immediately once the effect resolves.)
  • The effect that banishes this card from your field or Graveyard is not classified as either an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (Applying this effect does not start a Chain.)

 

Q: If ZS – Utopic Sage and Number 99: Utopia Dragner would be destroyed at the same time by an effect such as Raigeki, can I apply the effect of ZS – Utopic Sage?
A: In this situation, if ZS – Utopic Sage would be destroyed at the same time as another “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster you control with an original Attribute of LIGHT, the effect of ZS – Utopic Sage cannot be applied.

Source

 

SD42-JPP05 Hyper-Rank-Up-Magic Hope Force

  • The effect that Special Summons a Rank 10 or higher “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (This effect targets 1 face-up Rank 9 or lower “Utopia” Xyz Monster you control.)
  • The effect that attaches this card to an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (This effect targets 1 face-up Xyz Monster that was just Special Summoned by a Rank 10 or higher “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster’s effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

SD42-JP001 Utopic Astral Hope

  • The effect that Special Summons this card is an Ignition Effect that can be activated in the hand. (It can be activated if there is a face-up Xyz Monster in your or your opponent’s Monster Zone.)
  • The effect that adds a “Xyz”, “Onomat”, “Zexal”, or “Number” Spell/Trap from your Deck to your hand is an Ignition Effect that can be activated on the field. (Send 1 other card from your hand or field to the Graveyard as the cost of activating this effect. When resolving this effect, add 1 card from any of the listed categories from your Deck to your hand.)

 

SD42-JP021 Zexal Field

  • The effect that prevents your opponent from activating card effects in response to your card effects that target Xyz Monsters you control does not start a Chain and applies while this card is face-up in the Field Zone. (When you activate an effect that targets a face-up Xyz Monster in your Monster Zone, your opponent cannot chain any effects to that activation.)
  • The effect that attaches an Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck or Graveyard to an Xyz Monster you control as Xyz Material starts a Chain and can be activated while this card is face-up in the Field Zone. (This effect targets 1 face-up Xyz Monster you control that was just Special Summoned to your field. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The effect that places a Shining Draw from your Deck on top of the Deck starts a Chain and can be activated while this card is face-up in the Field Zone. (You can activate this effect at the start of your Draw Phase, before your normal draw.)

 

Q: I Special Summon a “Number” Xyz Monster from my Extra Deck with the effect of Number 99: Utopia Dragner. After the successful Special Summon, can I activate the effects of both a Zexal Field in my Field Zone and a Hyper-Rank-Up-Magic Hope Force in my Graveyard?
A: In this case, the activation requirements for the effects of both Zexal Field and Hyper-Rank-Up-Magic Hope Force are met, so they can be activated on the same Chain in any order. Furthermore, since both of these effects target an Xyz Monster you control, the effect of Zexal Field that prevents your opponent from activating card effects in response to these effects is applied. Therefore, no matter what order you build the Chain in, your opponent cannot chain any of their card effects.

Source

 

SD42-JP036 Contract of Destiny

  • The effect that places an Emperor’s Key Counter on this card does not start a Chain and applies while this card is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone.
  • The effect that sends The Door of Destiny from your hand, Deck, or field to the Graveyard and Special Summons a LIGHT “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck starts a Chain and can be activated while this card is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone. (Remove 1 Emperor’s Key Counter from this card as the cost of activating this effect.)
  • When resolving this effect, send 1 The Door of Destiny from your hand, Deck, or field to the Graveyard, Special Summon 1 LIGHT “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck, and attach this card to the Special Summoned monster as an Xyz Material. (These actions all occur simultaneously.)

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Contract of Destiny, but it is no longer face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone due to the effect of a card such as Mystical Space Typhoon that was chained to its effect, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of Contract of Destiny is not applied. (You do not send The Door of Destiny to the Graveyard, Special Summon a LIGHT “Utopia” or “Utopic” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck, or attach this card as an Xyz Material.) Since Contract of Destiny is a Continuous Trap, its effect will only be applied if Contract of Destiny is face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone when it resolves. If Contract of Destiny leaves the Spell & Trap Zone before its effect resolves, the effect is not applied.

Source

 

SD42-JP037 Numbers Protect

  • The effect that negates the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or monster effect is the effect that applies when this card’s activation resolves. (When a monster effect is activated, or when a Spell/Trap Card is activated, you can activate this card by chaining directly to it. It can also be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • The effect that Sets this card to your field starts a Chain and can be activated in the Graveyard. (It can also be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • You can only activate this effect if this card is already in your Graveyard when a “Number” Xyz Monster you control is destroyed.

 

Q: A Numbers Protect in my Spell & Trap Zone was Set by its own effect. If I activate that Numbers Protect, but my opponent chains Solemn Judgment or Red Reboot, is the effect of Numbers Protect that banishes it when it leaves the field still applied?
A: In this scenario, if Solemn Judgment is chained to Numbers Protect, the activation of Numbers Protect is negated, and it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. (A Spell/Trap Card destroyed when its activation is negated is not treated as destroyed while it is on the field, so it is not sent from the field to the Graveyard. Therefore, the effect that banishes Numbers Protect when it leaves the field is not applied.)
In the above scenario, if Red Reboot is chained to Numbers Protect, the activation of Numbers Protect is negated, and it is Set in the Spell & Trap Zone again. Therefore, it is not treated as having been Set by its own effect, so even if it leaves the field later, the effect that banishes it is not applied.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.