[OCG] Promo Card Rulings

V-Jump, Legendary Dragons, and Promotion Pack 2018.

VJMP-JP148 Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon

Q: Can I Special Summon a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster with the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon?
A: A Fusion/Synchro/Xyz Monster that was properly Special Summoned and then sent to the Graveyard or banished can be Special Summoned by the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon. When that monster leaves the field, it returns to the Extra Deck instead of being placed on the bottom of the Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21914&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If I activate the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns that Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon to the Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: The effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon is one that Special Summons a monster to a zone it points to. In this scenario, if the Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon whose effect was activated is no longer on the field when that effect resolves, the targeted monster is not Special Summoned. (If you targeted a monster in the Graveyard, it remains in the Graveyard. If you targeted a banished monster, it remains banished.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21913&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activated the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon, and Special Summoned a Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. Afterward, if Book of Moon is activated and changes Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if a monster Special Summoned by the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dark Steel Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, the parts of the effect that negate its effects and return it to the bottom of the Deck when it leaves the field stop applying. Therefore, when that monster is flipped face-up again, its effects are applied normally, and it is not placed on the bottom of the Deck when it leaves the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11520&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VP18-JP001 Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon

Q: Can Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon be Special Summoned by the effect of Dragon’s Mirror?
A: When you Fusion Summon Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon, its materials must be monsters on your field or in your hand. Therefore, when Special Summoning Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon with the effect of Dragon’s Mirror, you must be able to use only monsters in your Monster Zone as the materials. (If the set of Fusion Materials that does not include monsters in your Graveyard is unavailable, you cannot activate Dragon’s Mirror to Special Summon Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21925&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon be Special Summoned by the effect of Super Polymerization?
A: When you Fusion Summon Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon, its materials must be monsters on your field or in your hand. Therefore, when Special Summoning Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon with the effect of Super Polymerization, you must be able to use only monsters in your Monster Zone as the materials. (If the set of Fusion Materials that does not include monsters on your opponent’s field is unavailable, you cannot activate Super Polymerization to Special Summon Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21924&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When choosing cards to be banished with the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon, can I look through a player’s entire Deck/Extra Deck?
A: When banishing a card from your own Deck with the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon, look through your entire Deck and banish 1 card of your choice. Since the card you banish from your opponent’s Deck is only the top card, you may not look through your opponent’s entire Deck. When banishing a card from your opponent’s Extra Deck, look through their Extra Deck and banish 1 card of your choice.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21921&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can I activate the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon if either my Deck, my opponent’s Deck, or my opponent’s Extra Deck has no cards?
A: Since the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon must banish a total of 3 cards, one each from your Deck, your opponent’s Deck, and your opponent’s Extra Deck, you cannot activate the effect if any of those 3 locations has no cards.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21923&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If a card effect is chained to the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon, so that there are no cards in my Deck, my opponent’s Deck, or my opponent’s Extra Deck when the effect resolves, what happens?
A: Since the effect of Trishula, the Ice Prison Dragon must banish a total of 3 cards, one each from your Deck, your opponent’s Deck, and your opponent’s Extra Deck, if there are no cards in any of those 3 locations when the effect resolves, the effect disappears. (You will not be able to look through each Deck.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21922&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VP18-JP002 Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon

Q: Can Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon be Special Summoned by the effect of King’s Synchro?
A: When you Synchro Summon Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon, its materials must be monsters with the same Attribute. Furthermore, the Special Summon performed by the effect of King’s Synchro is treated as a Synchro Summon, but the monsters banished by the effect are not treated as the Synchro Materials. Since King’s Synchro cannot perform a Synchro Summon using materials that all have the same Attribute, Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon cannot be Special Summoned by its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21920&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate the effect of Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon while there are 4 Tuner monsters with different names in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of their D.D. Crow and banishes a Minerva, Lightsworn Maiden from my Graveyard, how does the effect of Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon resolve?
A: The effect of Judgment, the Seraphic Dragon can only be activated if you have 4 or more Tuner monsters with different names in your Graveyard. In this scenario, if there are less than 4 Tuner monsters with different names in your Graveyard when the effect resolves, the effect still applies normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6296&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VP18-JP003 Dark Armed, the Annihilation Dragon

Q: Can I activate the effect of Dark Armed, the Annihilation Dragon if I have no cards in my Graveyard?
A: The effect of Dark Armed, the Annihilation Dragon cannot be activated unless you are able to destroy 1 card on your opponent’s field and banish 1 card from your Graveyard, meaning you cannot activate it if you have no cards in your Graveyard. (You cannot detach an Xyz Material to activate the effect.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21919&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

VP18-JP004 Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon

Q: Can Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon be Pendulum Summoned?
A: Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon must be Special Summoned from your hand or Extra Deck by its own Summoning procedure. It cannot be Special Summoned from the hand or Extra Deck by Pendulum Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21918&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Can I activate the monster effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon if my opponent has no cards on their field?
A: You cannot activate the monster effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon if there are no cards on your opponent’s field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21917&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon and a Security Token Special Summoned by the effect of One-Time Passcode are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the monster effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon, Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon itself is not sent to the Graveyard, and instead returns to the bottom of your Deck due to its second effect, while the Security Token disappears instead of being sent to the Graveyard. In this case, since no cards on your field were sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon, you cannot send any cards on your opponent’s field to the Graveyard or inflict damage to your opponent.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21916&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that negates the effects of face-up monsters on the field is applying. In this situation, if a Special Summoned Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon leaves the field, will it be placed on the bottom of the Deck?
A: Even if the effects of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon are negated by Skill Drain, the effect that places it on the bottom of the Deck will be applied when it leaves the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21915&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon that was Special Summoned by its own procedure is equipped as an Equip Card to my opponent’s Relinquished. If Mystical Space Typhoon is activated and Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon is destroyed, will it be placed on the bottom of the Deck?
A: The effect of Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon that places it on the bottom of the Deck is only applied when it leaves the field while face-up in the Monster Zone. In this scenario, if a Chaos Emperor, the Armageddon Dragon treated as an Equip Card is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, it is placed face-up in the Extra Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11511&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

18PR-JP007 Astra Ghouls

Q: My Vampire Sucker is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Astra Ghouls and Dhampir Vampire Sheridan are in the Main Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate the second effect of Astra Ghouls?
A: Since the effect of Astra Ghouls that changes monsters’ Levels based on the die roll also applies to Astra Ghouls itself, you can activate the effect even if you have Xyz and Link Monsters on your field. However, since Xyz and Link Monsters do not have Levels, the effect of Astra Ghouls does not apply to your Vampire Sucker or Dhampir Vampire Sheridan in this scenario, and only Astra Ghouls’ Level changes.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21932&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My Number 67: Paradicesmasher is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Astra Ghouls is in the Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the second effect of Astra Ghouls, but apply the effect of Number 67: Paradicesmasher so that the die roll result is treated as 7, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if you apply the effect of Number 67: Paradicesmasher and treat the die roll result as 7, your face-up monsters will become Level 7 by the effect of Astra Ghouls.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21933&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

18PR-JP008 Rain Bozu

Q: If my opponent has 14 cards in their Extra Deck, and I have 18 cards in my Extra Deck including face-up Pendulum Monsters, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Rain Bozu?
A: The Pendulum Effect of Rain Bozu increases the ATK of a targeted monster by 100 × the difference between the number of cards in each player’s Extra Deck. That not only includes situations in which your opponent’s Extra Deck has more cards than yours, but also when your Extra Deck has more cards than your opponent’s.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21930&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If a face-down Defense Position Rain Bozu on my field is destroyed by battle or a card effect, can I activate its effect that places it in the Pendulum Zone?
A: Even if a face-down Defense Position Rain Bozu on your field is destroyed by battle or a card effect, you can activate its effect that places it in the Pendulum Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21931&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

18PR-JP010 Link Party

Q: When I activate Link Party, can my opponent chain Solemn Warning?
A: Solemn Warning can be chained to Link Party. (Solemn Warning can be activated even if there aren’t 5 original Attributes among the Link Monsters on the field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21929&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: There are no monsters in my Monster Zone, and only 1 Link Monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate Link Party?
A: In this scenario, there is only 1 original Attribute among the Link Monsters on the field, so the effect of Link Party would apply the effect that makes Link Monsters on your field gain 500 ATK. However, since there are no Link Monsters on your field in this situation, you cannot activate Link Party.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21928&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My LANpholinkus is in the Extra Monster Zone, and there are no other Link Monsters on the field. In this situation, if I activate Link Party, but my opponent chains Call of the Haunted and Special Summons Borreload Dragon, how does Link Party resolve?
A: In this scenario, since Borreload Dragon was Special Summoned, the number of original Attributes among the Link Monsters on the field when Link Party resolves is 2, so the effect of Link Party applied is the one that makes your opponent’s Link Monsters lose 1000 ATK. (As a result, Borreload Dragon loses 1000 ATK, but the ATK of LANpholinkus remains at 1200.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21927&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

18PR-JP011 Matching Outfits

Q: If I activate Matching Outfits, but my opponent chains Hand Destruction so that either player has no cards in their Deck, what happens?
A: The effect of Matching Outfits is one that reveals the top card of both players’ Decks. Therefore, in this scenario, if either player has no cards in their Deck when Matching Outfits resolves, the effect disappears. (Neither player reveals a card.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21926&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.