[OCG] Pendulum Summon, MG04, Starter Deck 2014 rulings

03/21/2014 OCG rulings (oh so many)


Starter Deck 2014:

Starter Deck 2014: Astromancy Magician
•The Monster Effect that Special Summons a monster with the same name as 1 Pendulum Monster returned to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)
•The Pendulum Effect that prevents the opponent from activating Spell Cards does not start a chain.
•The Pendulum Effect that changes this card’s Pendulum Scale to 4 does not start a chain.

Starter Deck 2014: Chronomancy Magician
•The Monster Effect that prevents a Pendulum Monster from being destroyed is a Continuous Effect.
•Being only able to activate this card while you control no monsters is a requirement to activate this card as a Spell Card in your Pendulum Zone.
•The Pendulum Effect that prevents the opponent from activating Spell Cards does not start a chain.
•The Pendulum Effect that changes this card’s Pendulum Scale to 4 does not start a chain.

Starter Deck 2014: Magiquipped Dragon Aetherweapon
•The effect that returns a card to the owner’s hand is a Trigger Effect.
•The effect that returns a card to the owner’s hand targets 1 card on the field. (This card can also target itself or a face-down card on the field)

Starter Deck 2014: Magiquipped Warrior Ventdra
•The effect that allows this card to attack directly is a Continuous Effect.
•The effect that adds 1 monster from the Graveyard to the hand is a Trigger Effect. (It can be activated even during the Damage Step)
•The effect that adds 1 monster from the Graveyard to the hand targets 1 Dragon-Type, Warrior-Type or Spellcaster-Type Normal Monster in your Graveyard.
•The effect that adds 1 monster from the Graveyard to the hand can be activated even if this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard while face-down.

Starter Deck 2014: Magiquipped Warrior Arnis
•The effect that Special Summons a Spellcaster-Type Monster from the Deck is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)

Starter Deck 2014: Magiquipped Warrior Terriger
•The effect that Special Summons a Normal Monster from the hand in Defense Position is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)

Starter Deck 2014: Magiquipped Warrior Hydrotoise
•The effect that destroys 1 Spell or Trap Card on the field is a mandatory Trigger Effect that activates if this card is flipped face-up. (This effect will also activate during the Damage Step)
•The effect that destroys 1 Spell or Trap Card on the field targets 1 Spell or Trap Card on the field.

Starter Deck 2014: Yellow Dragon Summoner
•The effect that returns a monster to the owner’s hand is a Ignition Effect. (Tributing a monster you control is a cost to activate this effect)
•The effect that returns a monster to the owner’s hand targets 1 monster on the field. (This effect can also target a face-down monster on the field. Furthermore, as long as you tribute a different monster, this card can also target itself)

Starter Deck 2014: Azure Dragon Summoner
•The effect that adds a Normal Monster to the hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect will also activate during the Damage Step)
•The effect that adds a Normal Monster to the hand does not target.
•The effect that adds a Normal Monster to the hand can be activated even if this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard while face-down.

Starter Deck 2014: Vermilion Sparrow Summoner
•The effect that Special Summons a Warrior-Type Monster from the Deck is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)

Starter Deck 2014: White Tiger Summoner
•The effect that Special Summons a Normal Monster from the hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)
•The effect that increases the ATK and DEF of monsters you control by 100 is a Continuous Effect.

Starter Deck 2014: Black Tortoise Summoner
•The effect that destroys 1 monster the opponent controls is a mandatory Trigger Effect that activates if this card is flipped face-up. (This effect will also activate during the Damage Step)
•The effect that destroys 1 monster the opponent controls targets 1 monster the opponent controls.

Starter Deck 2014: Anti-Evil Spell Barrier
•The effect that increases ATK or DEF does not start a chain.

Starter Deck 2014: Supply Unit
•For the effect that draws a card, if a monster you control is destroyed in battle or by a card effect, activating the effect of this Spell Card starts a chain.
•Activating the effect that draws a card is mandatory once the conditions are met.
•The effect that draws a card cannot be activated when a monster treated as an Equip Card or a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone is destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/card_search.action?ope=1&sess=1&pid=2202008&rp=99999

Starter Deck Strengthening Pack

Starter Deck Strengthening Pack: Odd-Eyes Dragon
•The effect that inflicts damage to the opponent is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)
•The effect that inflicts damage to the opponent cannot be activated if this card is destroyed in battle with an opponent’s monster.
•The damage inflicted by the effect that inflicts damage to the opponent is equal to half the Original ATK of the destroyed opponent’s monster written in the card text.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/card_search.action?ope=1&sess=1&pid=111115000&rp=99999

Master Guide 4:

Master Guide 4: Number 39: Beyond the Hope
•Treating this card as a “Utopia” card is not an effect.
•This card’s name is only treated as Number 39: Beyond the Hope, but since this card is also treated as a “Utopia” card, it is possible to equip it with cards like ZW – Lightning Blade.
•The effect that reduces the ATK of all monsters the opponent controls is a mandatory Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target)
•The effect that banishes an Xyz Monster you control, Special Summons a “Utopia” monster and increases your Life Points is a Quick Effect. (This effect targets 1 Xyz Monster you control and 1 “Utopia” monster in your Graveyard, for a total of 2 targets)

Master Guide 4: Cxyz Barian
•Xyz Summoning this card using a “Number C” Xyz Monster as the Xyz Material is not treated as the effect of an Effect Monster.
•Xyz Summoning this card using a “Number C” Xyz Monster as the Xyz Material is considered to properly Xyz Summoning this card.
•The effect that increases this card’s ATK for each Xyz Material it has is a Continuous Effect.
•The effect that changes this card’s name and makes it gain the effect of a “Number” Xyz Monster is an Ignition Effect. (This effect targets 1 “Number” Xyz Monster in your Graveyard)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/card_search.action?ope=1&sess=1&pid=121215019&rp=99999

Promo Cards:

Promo Cards: Line Monster Spear Wheel
•The effect that changes the Level of this card and the targeted monster is an Ignition Effect.
•This effect targets 1 Level 3 Beast-Warrior-Type monster you control.

Promo Cards: Pallbearer of the Radiant Ring
•The effect that Special Summons a monster from the Graveyard is a Trigger Effect.
•The effect that Special Summons a monster from the Graveyard targets 1 Level 1 LIGHT Monster in your Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/card_search.action?ope=1&sess=1&pid=121215020&rp=99999

Assorted rulings:

Q: If at the time of the declaration of a Pendulum Summon Mystical Space Typhoon is activated, destroying a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone, what happens?
A: A Pendulum Summon is a Summoning method determined by the rules, and it is not a Special Summon that starts a chain.
Therefore, since it is impossible to activate Mystical Space Typhoon at the time of the declaration of a Pendulum Summon, the Pendulum Summon is performed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13130&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone be destroyed by the effects of Heavy Storm, Mystical Space Typhoon, Spell-Shattering Arrow or Tornado Bird?
A: A Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone can be destroyed by effects that destroy Spell or Trap Cards on the Field like Heavy Storm, Mystical Space Typhoon, Spell-Shattering Arrow, etc.
Furthermore, a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone cannot be destroyed by an effect that destroys cards in the Spell & Trap Zone like Tornado Bird.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13131&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent Pendulum Summons a monster with 1500 or more ATK and a monster with less than 1500 ATK simultaneously, can you activate Bottomless Trap hole?
A: As long as a monster with 1500 or more ATK is Special Summoned as a result of a Pendulum Summon, Bottomless Trap Hole can be activated.
In that case, all monsters with 1500 or more ATK are destroyed and banished by the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole. Also, monsters with less than 1500 ATK remain on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13132&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh or Black Horn of Heaven be activated in response to a Pendulum Summon?
A: Since the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh and Black Horn of Heaven negate the Special Summon of 1 of your opponent’s monsters, they cannot be activated when 2 or more monsters are Pendulum Summoned simultaneously.
As long as only 1 monster is being Pendulum Summoned, the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh or Black Horn of Heaven can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13133&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the time a Pendulum Monster is activated from the hand as a Spell Card, can it be placed in the Spell & Trap Zone or in the Field Zone?
A: In that case, it must be activated by placing it in a Pendulum Zone. (It cannot be activated as a Spell Card from the hand by placing it in a Spell & Trap Zone or in the Field Zone)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13134&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you have Pendulum Monsters in your 2 Pendulum Zones, can the opponent Pendulum Summon even if the oppnoent does not have any Pendulum Monsters in their Pendulum Zones?
A: For a Pendulum Summon, it can only be performed by the player who has Pendulum Monsters in their own 2 Pendulum Zones.
If you already have Pendulum Monsters in your Pendulum Zones, this does not allow the opponent to perform a Pendulum Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13135&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can 2 Pendulum Monsters in the hand be activated simultaneously by placing them in the Pendulum Zones and declaring their activation?
A: If Pendulum Monsters are activated as a Spell Card, they are placed in a Pendulum Zone one by one and declaring their activation.
2 Pendulum Monsters cannot be activated simultaneously by placing them in the Pendulum Zones and declaring their activation.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13136&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Special Summon monster with a Special Summoning procedure like Dark Armed Dragon be Special Summoned by a Pendulum Summon?
Also, can a Level 5 or higher monster be Special Summoned by a Pendulum Summon?
A: The monsters that can be Special Summoned by a Pendulum Summon are monsters that can be Normal Summoned or Set.
Monsters like Dark Armed Dragon cannot be Special Summoned by a Pendulum Summon.
Also, if the Pendulum Monsters placed in your Pendulum Zone are Chronomancy Magician and Astromancy Magician, the monsters that you can Pendulum Summon are Level 2 to 7 monsters. Providing that is the case, you can special Summon Level 5 or higher monsters that can be Normal Summoned or Set by a Pendulum Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13137&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 or more monsters are Special Summoned by a Pendulum Summon, are they considered to be Special Summoned simultaneously?
A: In that case, those monsters are considered to be Special Summoned simultaneously by a single Special Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13138&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you already have 2 Pendulum Monsters placed in your Pendulum Zone, can you activate a new Pendulum Monster as a Spell Card?
A: In that case, they cannot be replaced by sending the old one on the field to the Graveyard and placing a new one, like you would with a Field Spell Card.
Once a Pendulum Monster has been placed in the Pendulum Zone, as long as it is not destroyed by effects like Mystical Space Typhoon, they remain placed in that Pendulum Zone.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13139&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: What are Pendulum Monsters to begin with? Are they Spell Cards or Monster Cards?
A: At the time they are placed in the Pendulum Zone they are activated as Spell Cards, and they are as treated as Spell Cards while they are placed in the Pendulum Zone, but if they are in the Deck, hand or Graveyard, they are treated as Monster Cards.
Since Pendulum Monsters can be Summoned like a monster, they can be Normal Summoned, Set, Special Summoned, etc.
Basically, they can be used as a Monster Card like any other monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13140&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Pendulum Monster leave the hand as a Spell Card and be placed in a Pendulum Zone by setting it in the Pendulum Zone?
A: If a Pendulum Monster leaves the hand as a Spell Card, it must be activated face-up. (It cannot be set from the hand as a Spell Card)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13141&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does placing a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone start a chain?
Also, can placing a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone be negated?
A: Since placing a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone counts as an activation, this starts a chain.
Also, in that case, since that Pendulum Monster is treated as the activation of a Spell Card, Magic Jammer can be activated in response to that activation, negating the activation of that Pendulum Monster treated as a Spell Card.
(A Pendulum Monster that has its activation as a Spell Card negated is not treated as being a card on the field, and is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13142&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons