Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] October 2019 Promo Rulings

364 days until Halloween.

 

SJMP-JP008 Lingurboh

  • This card’s effect that negates the effect of an opponent’s Trap Card is a Quick Effect. (Tributing this card is the cost to activate this effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect does not target. (It is chained directly to the activation of an opponent’s Trap Card.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is a Quick Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Tributing an “@Ignister” monster in your Monster Zone that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck is the cost to activate this effect.

 

Q: If Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying, can I activate the first effect of Linguriboh in response to the activation of an opponent’s Trap Card?
A: If Imperial Iron Wall is already face-up on the field, as in this scenario, the first effect of Linguriboh cannot be activated. Note that if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying when the effect of Lingurboh resolves, the effect of Linguriboh will negate the effect of your opponent’s Trap Card, but that card is not banished. (If it is a Normal Trap Card such as Raigeki Break, it is sent to the Graveyard after its effect is negated. If it is a Continuous Trap Card such as Call of the Haunted, the effect is negated, but since it was successfully activated, it remains face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone.)

Source

Quick note here. Call of the Haunted is a bit of a unhelpful example because it doesn’t have a typical Continuous Trap effect. But if the card were something like Rivalry of Warlords or something, the effect that normally applies as long as it is face-up would not be negated – only the effect that applies when the card resolves.

 

VJMP-JP172 Primal Dragon the Primordial Dragon

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from taking any battle damage from battles involving it is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK and DEF is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Banishing 1 Dragon monster from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that allows a monster to attack twice during the Battle Phase this turn is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your Monster Zone, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect cannot be activated during your Main Phase 2 or End Phase.

 

Q: When I attack directly with Blue-Eyes White Dragon, my opponent activates the effect of Gorz the Emissary of Darkness and Special Summons it and an Emissary of Darkness Token. During the same Battle Phase, if I activate Guardragon Cataclysm by Tributing my Primal Dragon the Primordial Dragon, can I activate the effect of that Primal Dragon the Primordial Dragon and target Blue-Eyes White Dragon?
A: The effect of Primal Dragon the Primordial Dragon can target a monster that has already attacked once during the Battle Phase, as in this scenario. In that case, since the targeted monster already attacked once, it can attack once more.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.